We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel for Family Holiday”
Review of Zafiro Tropic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zafiro Tropic
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
York, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel for Family Holiday”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Overall a thoroughly nice place to stay. we had a Royal terrace 1 bed apartment which was nice & clean & big enough for couple with 2 toddlers. We fitted travel cot in our room & 3.5 year old had sofa bed in living area. Our terrace was what made it with garden table & chairs, garden seating areas, 2 loungers, hammock & Jacuzzi and enough room for kids to play on. there was a shade over half of it too so was nice for kids when it was too hot during day. Found room nice & clean throughout our stay. We stayed all inclusive and found the food & drinks better than most others we've stayed in, plenty of choice and dealt with my husbands gluten free diet very well (head chef personally cooked him gf pizza on request). All other staff were really happy to help with anything & great with the kids. Used kids club a couple of times and it was ok but quiet (due to start of season). Facilities were good - pools too cold but its only May, kids only went in pirate splash pool a couple of times as chilly but we used the indoor pool lots & they loved that (especially as not many others used it). Beach was only 5 minutes walk away and all close to bus stops & shops etc. They were doing quite a bit of work at hotel due to start of main season but this didnt really bother us much. Walls were a bit thin so my son woken quite early with people going down corridors. Did get bitten quite a lot but this due to using our terrace too much! Overall a lovely place to stay - would recommend.

Room Tip: Royal Terrace Apartments are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jujohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    404
    127
    41
    14
See reviews for
629
234
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location of the hotel was perfect for Ironman 70.3 Mallorca & room sizes are good. The mosquito nest in our room, hundreds of insect bites, lack of working air con and being woken up by noisy neighbours at all hours were less good. Without these faults, the hotel would be great value money, but as I sit here and write this review covered in bites, I would have gladly paid more for a cleaner room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt1973x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Tropic, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir,

As we consider guest comments and suggestions very useful to improve our services we would like to thank you for leaving a comment about Viva Tropic.

We are sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy your holidays as wished for. If we would have been informed at the time we could have given you advise which treatment to use to avoid mosquito bites. We would like to mention that a few factors such as being close to the coastline, having vegetated natural ponds nearby and temperature changes are the ideal habitat for mosquitos.

We believe that tranquility and being able to relax is one of the most important things for our guests; if we would have received the information about the noise in the surrounding rooms we would have taken the measurements needed to reduce the noisiness , though we like to mention that changing rooms to solve the inconvenience was not possible at the time as being fully booked due to the international event of the Iron man.

We hereby want to reconfirm that guest - comments and suggestions are taken seriously by the management and we hope you consider giving us another opportunity in which you can fully enjoy your stay at our establishment .

Kind Regards,
Daniel Martorell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is great, the staff is nice. When we were there it was quiet. That is good for the buffet. We did not have all inclusive, but the formula looked good. Our booked room was not ready yet, so we got a bigger one and a free dinner. No problem with that. We had a garden appartment with 2 bedrooms. The bedrooms are very small, too small to put a babybed in there. The pool was cold (beginning of May), the 18+ pool was nice warm. But with the baby you are not allowed in the 18+ pool. So no swimming for her.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reynoldino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Viva tropic over the Easter break with 2 young children. On arrival we were offered various upgrades - pool view, garden terrace etc but we decided not to take them up on this. I was somewhat disappointed with the view from the room we were allocated which was overlooking overgrown grass/waste land but as we don't spend a lot of time in our room, I wasn't too bothered. We had one issue with our shower but after speaking with the maid it was fixed by the time we returned after lunch. Our room was a good size, there was plenty of storage space, it had a good variety of toiletries (the sewing kit came in useful!) and was clean. The rooms are not cleaned on a Sunday or Wednesday.

The food was amazing, with lots of choice during the breakfast and dinner buffet. I consider myself a fussy eater but I managed to have something different at every sitting. Drinks have to be ordered with the waiter but they are branded drinks. Due to it being the start of the season, you have to go to the poolside bar for lunch. Their portion sizes are huge, especially the children's menu. You could also get slushie's, ice creams, cakes and fruit when all inclusive.

The pirate splash pool was a huge hit with our eldest child (5) but it was so cold our 2 year old was dithering after 10 minutes. He therefore preferred to play in the shaded playground. Hardly anyone used the other pools (due to the temp) which is a shame. We did use the indoor pool/Jacuzzi area a few times which is much warmer but unless your child can swim, they'll need to wear arm bands or be held as the depth doesn't graduate. My husband also used the spa, which you can book at reception.

We didn't use the children's club during the day, initially as we weren't entirely sure where to meet. They seem to be renovating a part of the hotel (near the pirate pool) so the kids Bufo club room was being used as a workshop. There was some noise but it wasn't too intrusive. There were some exercise classes to join in during the day which were done in the garden area.The evening entertainment was ok. The children's disco and games started at 8 and usually finished after half an hour. The 'adult' entertainment started at 9 and was usually finished by 10/10.30 depending on what was on. The magican and Elvis tribute nights were very good.

The location of the hotel is fab, 5 minutes walk to the gorgeous beach. Again the sea was freezing cold but it was nice for a paddle as its shallow until quite far in. There's also a company called No Frills excursions on the next street which we can recommend as we didn't have a rep at the hotel. Nearby you can also jump on the hobby train for a 40 minute trip through Alcudia or walk 15 minutes to Old Alcudia for market day.

All in all I would recommend this hotel, the staff were lovely with the children, the food was fantastic but it was quiet on the entertainment front (perhaps due to it only being the start of the season). Have fun if you choose to book!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tish064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at viva tropic with my partner and six year old son, who loved the pirate ship!! Room was clean and catered for just what you need, we were in a premium one bed apartment with a pool view food was excellent for all inclusive would visit again

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayneylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just got back from Viva Tropic after staying there for 4 days with my husband and 2 boys aged 2 and 9. On arrival to the hotel we was greeted by a very friendly receptionist who told us we could upgrade to the Royal Terrace room on the 1st floor of the main building. We was delighted because that was what I wanted originally but there was no option for them rooms when I booked the holiday.

The room itself was ok not very big it had a kitchenette, lounge with tv and sofa bed, shower room and bedroom with a double bed. The balcony was beautiful and big with a jacuzzi, hammock, loungers, and tables and chairs. Rooms were cleaned everyday while we was there although it said there will no room cleaning on Wednesdays and Sundays but they still cleaned our room on the Wednesday.

My sons loved the children's pool with the pirate ship and other equipment but the water was very cold due to the time of year and there wasn't anyone swimming in the pools but the indoor pool was very nice.

We went all inclusive, the food in the restaurant was buffet style with a wide selection of food but at lunch time we ate outside next to the pool ordering from a A la Carte menu.
The restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful, on one night my 2 year old was asleep in the buggy while we ate our dinner and I asked one of the staff if it was ok for me to take some food back to the room for my son when he wakes up. He didn't hesitate and told me to see him after I finish and he gave me a tray to take food to my room.

It was my birthday on the Tuesday and I was surprised by a bottle of champagne on my return to the room which I thought was very nice and thoughtful!

I will definitely return to Viva Tropic again!!! Keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Viva Tropic in the week running up to Easter. We stayed in a top floor one bedroom apartment with a Royal Terrace with our two daughters aged 12 and 16. The accommodation was great, not massively roomy but fine for our needs. The terrace facilities, loungers, dining table, easy chairs and a jacuzzi were great and the top floor terrace is a real sun trap. The staff were excellent from the reception, shop, dining and cleaners - always polite and did a great job. We only had a couple of snack lunches at the pool bar, which were fine, but I can't comment further on the quality of the food.

I hired a bike from another bike shop, although bike hire of some pretty decent bikes is available from the hotel (look on their website for more details). The storgae facilities were excellent, a locked room, locks on the bike hooks and video surveillance. There were also bike mechanics on site - I didn't need to use them but they seemed to be helpful to others.

There was also lots of family entertainment. We're not really into that sort of thing, but it's there if you want it and, certainly in April, was obtrusive if you didn't want to participate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.4 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
990 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#14 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Tropic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Tropic

Property: Zafiro Tropic
Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Tropic & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Tropic 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Tropic is located just 200 m. from the stunning beach of Puerto de Alcudia. Its services, facilities, gastronomy and friendly staff will make you have some unforgettable holidays in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Zafiro Tropic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Zafiro Tropic Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing