We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort location and great for families”
Review of Zafiro Tropic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zafiro Tropic
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife 10month old daughter and parents booked this last minute as we had to cancel a previous holiday due to illness and to be honest wanted to avoid the family hotels as no doubt will be experiencing them in the future. we stayed on a B & B basis
However Alcudia and viva tropic are both place we would be willing to return to. Alcudia is great for families lovely shallow sandy beach lots of watersports nice marina and lovely old town near by.
The viva tropic is approx. a MAX five minute walk to the beach ten to fifteen minutes walk to marina (some lovely yachts to dream about) and a fifteen to twenty min walk to the old town (5Euros in a taxi)
The hotel is ideal for families the food is nice however we decided to eat our most nights due to the lovely weather and the abundance of nice restaurants near the port.
The viva tropic seem to do the most to entertain the children however think teenagers may struggle also adults of wanting a drink into the early hours may struggle too
My only main criticism of the hotel is the lift !
we stayed in the main block on the first floor but had to wait ages for the small lift and the amount of able bodied people not willing to use the stairs and those with push chairs been left ages waiting , little moans drink s a bit expensive
but would recommend the hotel for families they seem to try and cover everything for the children and the good mix of nationalities must also be good for the children.

Room Tip: if your children are not interested in the kid clubs or stating by the pool go B & B there are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lowfellluncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Booked this hotel after reading reviews on TA and happy to contribute to the positive comments afforded this hotel. After reading the reviews we asked for an upgrade on arrival but the very pleasant reception staff said we had a good room in the newly refurbished block 4 and we were not disappointed with the high standard of the accommodation. The new pool was an inspired addition for those wanting to get away from the bustle of the main pools. For those with younger families the pirate ship pool area and dry side park is brilliant.

The only comments on the room design: waste water pipes from the bathroom above came through the main bedroom/sound through AC vent which was like water torture (why not have external pipes?) and the little used second sink could be replaced with a door between the main bedroom/bathroom making it en-suite. Useful if using the lounge as sleeping accommodation.

The food at all times was excellent (we went AI) and we didn't venture out as wanted to adventure in! Activities during the day were pitched at just the right level and the evening entertainment gave a pleasant way to spend the evening.

Would highly recommend for those with families.

Room Tip: Block 4 - quieter rooms, quieter pool and afternoon sun on the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dunkydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Returned last week from a 10 day all inc stay with my wife and 12 year old son. Apart from a mix up with our room at the start the hotel stay was faultless. All the staff were friendly and polite and work so hard to please. Our son is autistic and he loved the pools, mini golf, volleyball but most of all the waiters who went out of their way to entertain him. He knows them all by name and still talks about them now. The all inc deal was well worth the money too as we found all the meals to be delicious with a very wide choice of food. The entertainment staff were also great and seemed to have endless energy and enthusiasm particularly with the kids. For a family holiday I think think this is probably the best you'll find in the resort.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, great food, lovely clean rooms. We stayed 1st week of july and we were very impressed. Hotel is just 5 mins walk from beach and restaurants. Though we didnt eat out much as the food was top quality and varied each night. Entertainment was better than the usual hotel stuff and our 8 year old had a ball in all the pools. Overall fantastic holiday at Viva Tropic booking for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ang3172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

what a lovely hotel , the staff , the price and the atmosphere all are perfect . also it situated just 2 minutes from the beach . They have nice and quite environment . and if you like sunbathing but dont want to go to the beach , dont worry they there is a park with vollyboll court just behind the hotel . highely recommanded

Room Tip: rooms on the west side ( in front of the park ) are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week stay at the viva tropic with my partner and our 2 and 6 year old sons and my parents.
From the moment u check in where they offer u the chance to view and upgrade your room (which is worth the 10 euros per night) till the time u leave u will not be disappointed with this hotel!
The splash pool for the kids is fantastic. The bigger pool is amazing and the adult only pool is lush if you are a couple without children!
We stayed all inclusive and loved the food so much we didn't eat out once!
The service is outstanding. The waiters do not stop and never leave u waiting long for a drink!
The hotel is spotless throughout! Hats off to the cleaners!
The location is fab. 5-10 minute walk to the beach, shops, harbour etc.
There is also the land train stop which is just up the road if u want to go over to the Bellevue strip!
We went to Marineland which was ok but don't think it's worth the money.
If you stay all inclusive you get pool/beach towels free for your stay so saves you taking some with you!
You can also hire a safe for a small fee.
There is numerous ice creams, lollies, slush puppies Etc available all day for the ones staying AI too which you just help yourself to!
There are plenty of options for drinks like all different spirits, cocktails etc which are all part of AI.
You honestly cannot fault this hotel and you will not be disappointed with your holiday!
If it was located right on the beach then I would of given it a 5 star!

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Meekster80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Me and my wife have just returned from our holiday at the viva tropic this Is our 5th visit in seven years . Me and my wife have read the reviews over the last couple of months and was surprised about the comments about the staff ? So here are thoughts about the staff and our experiences .
The staff was excellent from start to finish we was welcomed from front of house pep who was very friendly and excellent through out . The maids worked so hard and cleaned the rooms to a very good standard . The bar staff was friendly and always laughing . One thing that I will say
The bar is far to expensive 4.20 euro for a pint bars around and other hotels two euros ? The entertainment is not brilliant and there is no plan b as the weather turned a couple of days I think they could of done something even a little bit of music ? The main pool is overcrowded and struggle to get a bed . The adult pool is great for us and you can get a bed quite easily . The problem is that there are children using this pool constantly . If you are going to have a rule about the adult area but you don't manage it change the rule only when people complained you would get someone coming round for 30 seconds and that was it not good enough . This has gone on for years and still you don't manage it ? The hotel charges a lot more than other hotels in this area so need to up there game ? One of the hotel lifts was broke for three days ? The hotel roof just poured in when it rained just put towels down . All in all the hotel is good but charges 5 star prices which it is not ? Not sure if we will return after so many good times a bit let down ?????

Room Tip: Loads of good restaurants go self catering it's a must could eat in 10 good restaurants brunnel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.4 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#5 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
818 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#6 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,045 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Tropic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Tropic

Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Tropic & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: £47 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Tropic 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Tropic is located just 200 m. from the stunning beach of Puerto de Alcudia. Its services, facilities, gastronomy and friendly staff will make you have some unforgettable holidays in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Tropic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Zafiro Tropic Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing