We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and a smart Hotel”
Review of Zafiro Tropic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zafiro Tropic
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great location and a smart Hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2009

My wife and I stayed here the week before Easter and had an absolutely fantastic time. A clean and modern looking hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Our studio apartment was very clean and comfortable with the kitchenette coming complete with Toaster, Kettle, Fridge, 2 Hobs and pots and pans. It may be worth taking a couple of plastic cereal bowls if that's your morning start as we struggled to tell the different between the plate and very shallow bowls! Our North-West, road facing balcony was perfect for the evening sun and was fairly quiet with little passing traffic. Some readers may be interested to learn that our apartment overlooked the beach volleyball court, much to my 7th month pregnant wife's dismay! The 3 pools are all well presented with plenty of sunbeds to go round. We did notice signs going asking a daily charge of 14 Euros a day per couple for the adult pool. This included fresh fruit, soft drinks, towels and the use of the double sunbeds. However, the other 2 pools are well separate with one having a much greater appeal to kids. The entertainment and animation programme began half-way through our stay and catered well for kids and adults with a nightly 1 hour live show and kids disco.
The Hotel itself is in a fantastic location, 5 mins walk to the beach and 10mins walk to the main part of Port D'Alcudia. Plenty of restaurants, a little cheaper if you stay of the main drag. Local buses are really reasonable and most drivers speak good English.

Would recommend for Families and Couples alike. Not suitable for night owls as most entertainment in the hotel finished at around 11pm.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_and_Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    404
    127
    41
    14
See reviews for
629
234
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Stayed in a studio at the Viva Tropic in April 2998, Room was clean but basic. Bath had been chipped and painted over. We were on the first floor by the road which we found noisy. We asked reception if we could swop rooms but they only had a room opposite us, which was also by a road and would cost 10 euros more a night or one overlooking the pool for another 40 euros a night. Decided it wasn't worth it. The beds were hard but we did get used to them. Fridge noisy so turned it off in the night. Strange tin opener - like a rusty blade! Only english channel on tv was BBC world news and CNN, the rest was Spanish (fair enough) and German. To hire a safe for the week cost 15 euros. The indoor pool was good. Outdoor pools and sun bed area nice, but too cold to go in there. No information in hotel foyer for things to do, but reception helpful. Eroski is a good supermarket only 60c for 5 litre of water. Turn right out of the hotel and it is 3 min walk on the left. Close to the beach which is nice and good for children. Restaurants and gift shops nearby. Watch your change, on two occasions we had just a coffee and once they shortchanged us and another time didn't bring us change at all. Obviously thought we were giving a tip! Probably good hotel if you have children and have one of the apartments looking over the pool, but I wouldn't book a studio apartment again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Went to this hotel in the week before Easter 2009 with my wife and two girls (5 and 3 years old). The rooms / apartments were excellent and well designed with plenty of room, storage space and a decent well kitted out kitchen. Position is great and is only a few minutes walk from a great part of the beach and only a few minutes more to the Marina / main part of Port D'Alcudia.

The week we went was very quiet probably because of the general recesssion but was very enjoyable and they had their annual Boat and Sepia (cuttlefish) festival over the first weekend which was a laugh and a bonus. Nice feel to the whole Hotel ... although definitely seems to be a cycling mecca!

Positives:
Apartment size, condition and layout
Price
Location
Beach is close, huge and very nice
Proximity to the Port / marina and all the restaurants
Overall experience

Negatives:
Entertainment - harsh, but it didn't start until the day before we left and yet there was nothing in their advertising saying it was seasonal in any way. Having said that, when it did start it was excellent and I can see why other reviewers think this is perfect for kids - the staff were very good and the kids loved it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. It has 3 pools, a relax area for adults,restaurant,Internet access,a shop,a indoor swimming pool that is used only if the weather is bad, a fantastic gym at no extra cost, a bar, crazy golf an site, an all i one sports area which has a tennis court, basketball court, soccer pitch and a place to do archery, and a kids club. One of the three pools is a place where kids can go and play in the pirate ship which has all the slides and also in the kids area is a bouncy castle and a trampoline. The relax area is for over 18's and has double sun chairs with mattresses and a pool just for adults. there is activities on all day which include archery, cycling and aqua aerobics for the adults for the adults also one day of the week a person comes in and gives you a trial run at diving for free!!! swimming pool games soccer plus many more things to choose from for the children. there is nothing bad about this apartments except I would advise you to book the cycling the day before and don't get your shopping in the shop in the hotel as it is very dear so i would advise you to go to the eroski shop which you can get to by going out the gate at the swimming pool and going down the road as it a lot quicker than going on to the main street. i will definitely be coming back here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basketball369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My boyfriend and I were a bit worried before leaving about Viva Tropic although we read many good reviews on the hotel before we left. We booked the hotel on alpharooms.com and the apartment for the week worked out at €138 which was incredibly reasonable, the flights ended up being the most expensive part of our trip! When we arrived at out hotel we were far from dissappointed as it looked very impressive! The check in was fast and we were up in our apartment in less than 10 minutes I would say. There are 3 lifts in the hotel all together so waiting for one rarely takes long. The apartment is small but basic and sufficient and spotlessly clean.The maids came nearly everyday and also changed our towels. The hotel has much to offer couples and families alike with a pool dedicated to children with slides and a playground near by. It also has mini golf,table tennis and tennis which are all free, all you have to do is ask at reception for the equipment!
There's also is an 18+ pool with luxury beds to relax on, which is a nice alternative to the hussle and bussle of the other pools.
Ofcourse then there is a pool for both children and adults which is the largest pool of the 3. Inside there is another pool and a gym incase of a rainy day,the inside pool can get busy sometimes with kids but generally we found the evening time to be better.
There are plenty of sunbeds outside for everyone to use and part of the beauty of Viva Tropic is that it isn't as large as some of the other hotels you get.
The hotel offers a buffet dinner for €15 per person which is great value as you can eat as much as you please, the earlier you go the more there is on offer!
There are numerous Spar Supermarkets dotted around Alcúdia and they are a complete rip-off. Don't waste your money there! If you come out of the hotle and walk right you will fing an Eroski supermarket where everything is cheap and handy if you want a few bits in for the duration of your holiday.
We found Majorca to be extremely expensive, with the price of drink in bars being very high (which was unexpected) e.g. €5.10 for a bacardi breezer. Food in restaurants was also sky high.
If you do have a loose budget then try Carabela Stake House, the service was the best we experienced during the week and the food was top class.
For some good tours without all the extras (prices) ask at reception and they will give you a leaflet for 'No Frills Excursions' which do tours to all the normal touristy places but at a cheaper price. We had a great day out at the Caves of Drach and Liqour tasting was included!
Overall Alcúdia and the Viva Tropic were lovely but the prices have gone sky high from when I was last in Majorca, if you are looking for a cheap holiday then this is not it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMaker0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelleborg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Nice hotel, fresh, friendly staff. Great shows & entertaining. Good & tasty food.
Cold pool was the only thing that I can complain about, but I knew it when i went there.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusselusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My fiance and I stayed at the Viva Tropic for a week S/C in June 08. It was fantastic! The hotel was spotless with what seemed like an army of cleaners. The rooms were typical twin beds with a small kitchenette, bathroom, wardrobe and balcony. Just what you need on a summer holiday. Free air con was a bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The over 18's pool was where we spend most of our time relaxing on the double sun beds. Only one day did some chav teenage English kids try to use the pool but the hotel staff soon had them out, it was so peaceful. The hotel shop was well stocked with fresh bread and pasties everyday.

Lots of things for families to do too with the pirate pool, crazy golf, cycle hire. A short walk from the lovely beach and harbour...try Chilli Pizza on the harbour, the best pizza I have ever tasted.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone.....couples, families, elderly. I think there is something for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.4 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
989 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#14 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Tropic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Tropic

Property: Zafiro Tropic
Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Tropic & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Tropic 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Tropic is located just 200 m. from the stunning beach of Puerto de Alcudia. Its services, facilities, gastronomy and friendly staff will make you have some unforgettable holidays in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zafiro Tropic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Zafiro Tropic Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing