We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, clean and great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grupotel Maritimo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grupotel Maritimo
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Myself, my partner and our daughter visited this hotel in May 2013. (note I have only recently joined TA and it doesn't let me go back this far hence it saying June 13 below)

It was our second stay in this hotel, we came as a couple on our first holiday abroad before our daughter was born. This was why we chose to stay here again. We had a great time first time around.

The hotel facilities were great. Two outdoor pools (bit cold in May), one indoor pool with gymnasium, sauna and steam rooms plus jacuzzi underneath the hotel.

The hotel itself is situated just a short walk down the main road from the main resort area in Alcudia. Far enough away to be away from the late night noise but close enough to walk up in say 20 minutes. (Depends on how fast you walk I suppose).

If you cross the main road to the right as you come out of the hotel you will see a roundabout and road that will lead down to the beach. I would say the hotel is only about 100 meters away from the beach in total, give or take. the beach itself was lovely. Can imagine though it does get busy in the summertime.

There are a few bars close by which were fun too. There were also plenty of bouncy castles for children and just a bit up the road going away from the main resort are of Alcudia there was a few shops and places to eat and more bars.

The hotel reception area and grounds around the hotel was very clean and well presented.

The room was nice, two single beds, a tv, wardrobes, the usual stuff. We also had a children's cot in our room as our daughter was just under two at the time of this particular stay. Our balcony overlooked the pool just to the side of the main entrance area and had a table and chairs.

There was an entertainment are at the rear of the hotel. We didn't really see much of the entertainment so I can't comment much on this but from what we did see they had some activities for children during the day. They also had night time entertainment but as mentioned, we didn't really see this as we were always out and about.

The dining area was always clean and well presented too. The same staff were there from our previous trip three years earlier which was a good sign to me as they obviously enjoy working there!

The food was great and each night was different. We only went for a week but I remember from our first stay which was 2 weeks, the menu does repeat in the second week. There was always something to eat for breakfast and tea. We didn't have lunch because we only went half board.

All of the staff were very friendly and were great with our daughter.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a trip to Alcudia. However, if you want to be right in the thick of it, stay a bit further up the road in the main resort area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    153
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
182
292
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is unquestionably a very good hotel and the food here is also exceptionally good with a variety thereof each night. In fact you are spoilt for choice.Our 4th time in the last 5 years too. It's a hotel for sheer relaxation. The Pool Bar and space at the back of the hotel is a sun worshipper's sun trap. The staff are attentive to detail and always polite. Most evenings as you walk into Dinner they line up, sometimes with the hotel director, and greet everyone as they walk in. You are allocated the same table in the restaurant throughout the duration of your stay. From Manolo, to Manuel and Alexandra at the pool bar to Rosa our waitress in the restaurant-they were all great.

I would say that the average age, from what we saw this year was around 50. You get Half board as a result of which too there are hardly any children there-Most will frequent the all inclusives which makes sense for the majority of families with kids. The entertainment is average-take it for what it is though-it's Ok though.

I could you into adjective overdrive about this hotel but I won't. You need to experience it yourself and no doubt we will pay another visit in the not too distant future

As afar as transport for getting around is concerned the buses are a nightmare especially on Alcudia Market days. You are packed in quite literally like sardines. A Taxi to Puerto Pollensa is around 23 Euros and to C'an Picafort it is around 10 euros. If there's more than 2 of you get a taxi and share a more comfortable and speedier mode of transport

Room Tip: Rooms on the top Floor looking out to the sea are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Hopscotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our 5th visit to this hotel and I continue to rate this hotel as one of the best for a chill-out holiday. The first impression of any hotel is the reception and the young lady who checked us in was exactly what you want as a first contact. She was smiling, courteous, efficient and a tremendous credit to those who were responsible to adding her to the team in Autumn last year. The staff at this hotel from the maid service to the management are the optimum example of how it should be in the service industry. All hotels have a choice as to how much of the overall budget is spent where and in this establishment a very large lump goes on food. WARNING don't go here if your on a diet. The standard and variety of food on offer is mind boggling. Got to admit it's part of why we've visited so often. Entertainment is only so-so but the best costs money and I'd rather have the food choice. Anyone wanting a meal out for a change can get a taxi up to Alcudia Port and try "The Jardin" restaurant with it's Michelin star. The beach is 150 m away on the other side of the road and a left turn takes you to Alcudia port 50 Min walk or left to
Ca n Picafort for a lovely beach walk (1.5 - 2 hours) This walk will take you to the outlet from the nature reserve which you will have to cross via the bridge at the main road. The entrance to the wildlife reserve is opposite at this point and well worth a visit (FREE). See my other reviews for more details.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2012RKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Amazing food, great staff, brilliant facilities in a super location. We were thinking of reasons not to give the hotel a maximum of 5/5 and all my wife could come up with was "there was a bit of dirt under the bed" and she is the pickiest person in the world. Would highly recommend a stay for young couples!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have the best views and more sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Christo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bremen, germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for 11 days solo in October for sun and a rest.
Negatives: on main road( loud roadnoise daytime-also in outside areas and on balconies ),although quiet at night.Soulless area-no local character just shops with tourist usuals and restaurants with all-day Brit breakfasts. Boring pools + outside areas.
Lack of privacy: balconies are inches apart, very small, so no prob to hear neighbours. Tables in restaurant,especially for singles and couples are very close and you're stuck there for your whole stay(possible to change but not always welcome.)
Average: Food, ok but lots of recycling, bland flavours.

Plus factors: really good staff-helpful,polite and ready to go the extra step.
Very clean.

Facit: Hotel should uproot this super staff(also the laundry ladies) and install them in a hotel more suitable to modern holiday expectations.

Room Tip: Go for 4th/5th floor with mountain view to avoid the worst road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you like cheap and cheerful this hotel is for you, but the locality leaves much to be desired. Local eateries are of a poor standard and evening walks were uninspiring. The food on offer was vast in quantity, but towards the end of the week felt rather boring. You could eat youself into a stupor if so desired! Facilities for bicycles were good. The evening entertainment was dreadful!

Room Tip: All rooms were of the same standard. Noise levels average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We previously stayed at the Maritimo in 2010 and decided to return in October of this year. When we arrived on October 6th we were checked-in very quickly (as we were already on their system) and allocated Rooms 104 and 105. We paid a charge of €2 a night for use of the safe and a returnable deposit for pool towel; towels could also be changed for clean ones. We requested an extra pillow each and these were provided, unfortunately, the beds were far too hard for my wife and I. There was a fridge in the room for our use. When we went for Dinner on the first night we were seated at a temporary table. The following morning we were allocated a table for the duration of our stay. Everything about the hotel was great, facilities, the staff, and the food, which there was always a good selection. The hotel must treat their staff very well, as most of them were working there three years ago. This shows in the professionalism of the staff. The entertainment was good, except for the "Bingo" night, we are not Bingo people. Overall, my wife and I and the other couple had a good holiday and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heilanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#4 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
1.2 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#3 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Maritimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Maritimo

Property: Grupotel Maritimo
Address: Carretera Arta - Puerto Alcudia S/N, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#3 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Maritimo 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 150 m away from the beach, surrounded by big gardens. Rooms: Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Terrace. Sport & Leisure: swimming pools with children's splash pool. Swimming lessons. SAP with heated indoor pool. Jacuzzi. Sauna. Turkish bath. Massages. Gym. Tennis courts. Beach volley Table tennis. Miniclub. Nursery. Children's playground. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast buffet. Hot and cold dinner-buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Snack restaurant. Services: Shop. Car, bicycle and motorbike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Grupotel Maritimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Maritimo Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Grupotel Maritimo Puerto Alcudia
Maritimo Hotel Alcudia
Hotel Maritimo Alcudia
Grupotel Maritimo Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing