We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel with bad air condition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aparthotel Orquidea Playa
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Sørumsand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Hotel with bad air condition”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

To be a "4 star" hotel, is to stretch the definition of "star standard" very long. This hotel is at it's best a "3 star" hotel. The hotel location is nice, and located at the beach. The rooms was ok, but the beds was a bit hard to sleep on. We came to the hotel on a Tuesday around 00:30, and already the first night the air condition had a problem. The following morning, we complained to the hotel staff, and they would look in to the problem. That day, the AC worked ok, but the following night the problems came back. Our stay was for 7 nights, and 4 of the nights the air condition did not work. It seems that there was a fuse that failed now and then, "maybe due to to many people using the air condition" was one of the theories given by the hotel staff. The rest of the hotel gives also the impression of have seen better days.
My feeling is that the whole hotel needs to be upgraded technically and aesthetic. If you accept that this is a 2-3 star hotel, then I would expect that you will be pleased with your stay.

Room Tip: Don't select the rooms on the ground floor because you will wake up to people having brekfast ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    57
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Booked here as it was rated four stars by both Tripadvisor and TUI, but must say that definately not worth the four stars by any standards. Maybe three.

Nothing to complain about the service, location or breakfast (didn't book All inclusive). But everything in the hotel was worn out. We had even ants in our room which I wouldn't expect in a four star hotel.

This hotel is all about location. The beach is literaly a stones throw away. Also the staff was very polite and helpfull.

But the hotel needs to remodel really bad. Some of the furniture was very worn out, sun has burned out lot of the paintwork etc. Also the pool is not very clean (that of course is in part the guests fault as well). Some of the facelifting could be done rather cheaply, just remove the worn out furniture from the public areas and replace them, 10.000 - 20.000 euros voila !

Room Tip: Don't book a room in the first floor ! Best rooms are on 2nd and 3rd floors by the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetriS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

No complaints, great location.
We stayed in mid April. Very good value for money. Virtually on the beach - which is sandy with shallow water.
We took all inclusive option and had plenty of choice at meal times.
Staff friendly and helpful. Nice range of different nationalities staying at the hotel. Seems like a great location for serious cyclists.
Not much entertainment this early in the season but that was no problem for us.
For those who can't live without junk food there is a KFC and Pizza Hut a few hundred metres away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Inga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is really nice, good service. Some furniture seems to be a littlebit old. In April it's not a good time to go to Mallorca (only retired people and cyclists). For a younger couple it could be boring. Beach is very nice but the water is too cold in April.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marco151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A small, friendly hotel representing good value for money. We stayed for a week as a family with 2 young children on an all inclusive basis. Our room was adequately equipped. The bathroom was a little dated but had good, hot shower and hairdryer. The beds were hard in the living area but the children slept well in the bedroom. The room was cleaned, beds were made ,towels refreshed, every day except Sunday.
We had no problems with the choice of food in the restaurant with fresh fish, pasta, salad, cheeses, etc. every mealtime. The freshest ever doughnuts at breakfast and fresh bread all the time! Catered well for the children.....Just don't expect chips and chicken nuggets every day!!
The hotel is located a stones throw from the beautiful beach. It also has a quiet pool area and gardens with plenty of sunbeds available. It was too cold to use the outdoor pool but the heated indoor pool was great for us as the children are still learning to swim.
Yes, it is small but it was better than nothing.
The hotel staff were mostly, very friendly and helpful, making for a welcoming atmosphere. Entertainment was not high on our list of priorities so, as it was limited, this did not matter to us.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeborahP706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Spend last week in March at Apart. Hotel Orquidea. Location, service and "value for money" was very good. Ask for a room facing the sea on second floor and you will get a nice sea view.
Food was good with large selections (we had all inclusive) but bar selection included was quite limited. The hotel is due for a refurnase and a face lift, but this is probably why the price could be held at a low level without a cut back on service...
The gym had old equipment that hardly could be used. As so often in Spanish hotels, the beds where stone hard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micke580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Orquidea Playa Hotel has a very faminly-friendly location an environment.
All the secessary shops, restaurants etc. are very close near-by, as well as the famous 14 km`s long beach. You just have to cross the samll chanel around the hotel area an you`re there.
Pool area is cousy an perfect place to get relaxed.
Ouquidea Playa suits anyone who appreciates easy vacation close to the white sand beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
1.0 mi away
Botel Alcudiamar Hotel
Botel Alcudiamar Hotel
#15 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#3 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
#27 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
#11 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magic Aparthotel El Lago
Magic Aparthotel El Lago
#42 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Orquidea Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Orquidea Playa

Property: Aparthotel Orquidea Playa
Address: Canyes 3 | Lago Esperanza, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#20 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Orquidea Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aparthotel Orquidea Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Orquidea Playa Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Aparthotel Orquidea Playa Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing