We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, but book a 'one bed apartment' not a 'studio'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Alcudia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden Alcudia
Ranked #44 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but book a 'one bed apartment' not a 'studio'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Good hotel, friendly staff, quiet location, great for kids as near beach and has kids' pool.

Food: Generally good food - breakfast was great with wonderful choice of pretty well everything you might want for breakfast including eggs cooked on demand. We stayed half board and dinner was generally good, veg sometimes overcooked, again lots of choice.

Rooms: it's an 'aparthotel' so even if you're full board you have a room with a small kitchen area. don't book a single studio!! The rooms are arranged in pairs so a 'one bed apartment' is actually two studios with connecting door ie two bathrooms, two kitchen areas. One room is set up as a bedroom with 2 singles or a double bed, the other room is set out as table and sofa either side (with proper mattresses on the sofas so they can become beds). however, you get a lot of noise from one room to another as the connecting door is very thin with big gap at the bottom! I could lie in bed with door shut and hear someone sitting on the sofa sneeze and we could have a conversation with only slightly raised voices. You hear pretty well everything from one room to another.

So.... if you're travelling as a couple, would advise going for a one bed apartment - you'll have lots of space but importantly some privacy. For a family of 4, a one-bed apartment would give enough space and 'visual privacy' but you'll hear everything from one room to the next.

The kitchen facilities are v. minimal - 2 hotplates, sink, no kettle. Good to be able to heat milk but wouldn't want to make a meal there other than v. simple one.

Half board: if you're full board you have 3 meals and all drinks (tho are pretty well confined to the hotel then). If you're half board you get breakfast and dinner but no drinks with dinner (not even water as it's bottled) - be careful as if your kids help themselves to coke etc from the coke pumps you'll be charged for it. Better to buy the larger bottled drinks on the menu. Dinner is from 6.30-9 but it's better to go early as food is kept warm for a long time.

Extras: Have to pay for TV remote - we didn't bother. No free wifi anywhere in the hotel. Can borrow beach towels for deposit only (but hefty deposit so don't lose your receipt!)

Time of travel: we went for UK half term ie last week in October. The hotel was pretty quiet - and in fact was closing on the 1st November. Lots of German visitors so you could get kids practising German and also Spanish with the staff! There wasn't a lot going on in the evening as the hotel seemed to be winding down - quiz, bingo, kids' disco. The street is quiet at night - not much to look at tho there are a couple of nearby bars.

Out and about: Consider hiring a car from Palma so you can use it for airport transfer. We went on great outings eg northern and easterly points of the island. Alcudia town is interesting to look round and walk along the walls - it's 5 or so km from the hotel. Watch out for the car hire policy of charging for a full tank of petrol and asking you to return it 'as empty as possible' - we went for a 4-night stay and paid over the odds for petrol as no refund.

Overall - a good place with friendly staff, clean rooms and generally good decor. Great to walk out of the dining room down past pools to the beach. Beach was excellent - clear, warm even in late october, long stretch of sand. Room arrangement seems a bit weird as if you're not careful you could end up knowing a bit too much about the personal lives of a pair of strangers!!

Room Tip: Book rooms in 'pairs' ie a 'one bed apartment' not a 'studio' as studios get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    84
    47
    10
    13
See reviews for
99
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at Eden Alcudia for 5 nights and had a fantastic time. The rooms were very clean and has just been refurbished. We were pleasantly surprised how nice the accommodation/hotel was for how little we had paid. There was a noticeable noise in the mornings when children were running around but this was the only downfall really.

The pool area was lovely. We spent most of our time here found it nicer than the beach, beware the freezing cold pool though! We didn’t eat in the main restaurant but we ate at the pool bar most days and the food was great. It was simple but large portions and a good choice and very cheap too! The pool bar also served cheap cocktails and they were very tasty and full of alcohol.

The local area was nice, there were some nice restaurants nearby and the Chinese next door was delicious and cheap too.

We would defiantly go back here for a quick break away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Me and my family stayed here this August gone and had a fantastic time here. Decent hotel, you get what you pay for at the end of the day. We had a studio room, which was fairly small and our bed was a sofa bed with two pushed together, however it was more like a cot as you had to jump over the sides to get in, although it was quite comfortable. Dont be alarmed by this as by the look of everyones room we were the unlucky ones with the cot bed. We had no problems with staff, they were all very helpful and friendly, and one of them is the spitting image of "The Beast" from the chase! The pool is very cold but you do eventually get used to it. I would definitely recommend The Swan - British pub, great food, people and there's this guy who works there that is hilarious "Dolice and Gabbana woooowwww!" trust me you'll know what I mean if you go! lastly I would like to comment the beach which is beautiful and just at the back of the hotel! And if you are a fan if sangrias you have got to try the beach cafe's special sangria it is only 2€ 50 and you get a huge glass with every fruit you can think of in it and a huge melon slice to decorate, they are to die for and so worth the money! I had one just about every day! To sum it up great hotel but more than anything great location!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eparker1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

a fantastic place to stay! the rooms are clean and plenty of storage space. the staff are all incredibly polite. the pool area was cleaned every day and the kids pool is brilliant! ok so the self catering facilities are small but as we only used it for cereal at breakfast and making picnics it was fine. ok so its a mainly german hotel but after 2 bad encounters with english yobs during our week long stay i was happy about the quiet well behaved germans! the kids absolutely loved it here and would recommend it to anyone! i think maybe some people expect too much for their money but i can see no reason at all to complain about this hotel!!!

Room Tip: pay to upgrade to a 1 bed apartment - 2 connecting rooms makes things easier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Firstly - what do you want from a holiday? Thats what you need to decide! Let me tell you a bit about me and why I chose this hotel. I went with my financee and we are both 25 and live in UK. I read many reviews about ALL hotels in alcudia, and deciding on this one because reviews said it was quiet, clean and near the beach. We noted it was predominently German customers, but that was a benefit in our eyes as the last thing I want on holiday is a load of noisy drinking british people.
The hotel is about 30mins walk from the 'main drag' which we visited only the once. The hotel is situated far enough away from the humdrum from both alcudia and can picafort which is also about 30mins away. There are shops/cash machines all around, they all sell the same stuff but we found superspar on opp side of road +5 mins to be best for alcohol San Miguel at 65cents. Don't buy from the Eurospars, they are a joke. If you go self catering, best eat out for breakfast lunch and dinner - it is cheaper! We went to Euroski supermarket to look at prices in a reasonable shop, and its still expensive compared to the UK.
We arrived at 10PM +were greeted by a smiling receptionist who handed over paperwork +room card. We were told of the canteen times +that we had missed dinner but there was some food left in there which we could have. There wasn't much there but fruit and bread. I requested a quiet and high room but got 3rd floor (out of five)
* Internet and WIFI is a RIP OFF! Go to Smiths' bar around the corner, get a nice cup of tea and the WIFI is free!! Smiths is round the corner, and a bar called posh paddys opposite are both fantastic, great staff, lovely drink and amazing food!
We stayed all inclusive so we got a studio apartment. The rooms have doors to next door which are locked, but you can just about peek through which means you can hear everything from your neighbours, so if you have a screaming baby, or kids that like to 'run riot' this is not the place for you! The room was acceptable, the size was fine for us. Twin beds as standard, a bit firm, but not a problem for us. Big sliding doors to a small balcony area which had two plastic chairs and a table with ashtray. The room's are no smoking and if your neighbour disobey's this you can smell it! The bathroom was clean but small. The shower was good, gets hot and powefull! Towels changed whenever you leave them on the floor. The room was cleaned everyday except Thursday, which we were informed about beforehand. The maids are friendly and do a great job. I did complain about the room due to the fact I'd asked for quiet +high, but I was not moved +was told the hotel was nearly full, which was clearly a lie, as it wasn't that busy at any point! You can leave deposits for many things, hairdryer, beach towels, toasters etc. The receptionist Catalina was always very helpful. If you want to use the gym or sauna, you get a card from reception
Onto the swimming pools, the kids area is just across the way from the hotel, and is for guests use only. It was great for kids who like slides etc. There are also lots of sunbeds around this area, and its non smoking which is a good thing. The miniclub is also situated in this area. The pools were FREEZING! When we tried them, we had just been to the beach on a nice sunny day about 25degrees, but the water was so very cold in the pools, we did not swim in them at all. The areas around the other main pools, were always clean+there are lots of sunbeds, you may need to move around to follow the sun. If there is no poolside room, no problem, you can take your bed to the grass area at the back of hotel grounds. Beach is very near and it was lovely.
Onto the food-Breakfast, chefs make scrambled eggs and omlettes to order and they are fantastic! The pancakes and fried eggs are made fresh here - also great. the continental selction was ok, some ham looked a bit rubbery. The bacon was streaky and i didn't like it. The sausages were little bockwurst and were like little hotdogs and not good at all. Other items, beans,hash browns,yoghurt,eggs,fruit. Tea +coffee from machines not good at all. Fruit juices are cheap - draught OJ, apple+pineapple. Soft drinks on tap ok.LUNCH/LUNCH Throughout the week 'veal' was served. The beef, was ok, served a lot in ragu or tomatoey sauce/gravy.There was always salad and eggs and chips/rice. Pork was nice, sometimes sweet and sour, sometimes plain or in gravy. Chicken was never breast, legs/wings/bits which i was unhappy with. One time duck in orange sauce was good. Potatoes were served daily in diff formats, always nice. ****Big point to note. Veg, mushrooms are all tinned! Bigger point to note - the food deterioated throughout the week and gradually got so salty I didn't eat it!*** Desserts were typically european, creamy sponges, angel delight stuff, fruit, cheese +three flavours of ice cream.The wine served at evening was not nice. White/Rose/Red on draught somewhat vinegary but better than what is served in the bar.
Onto the BAR!
Sangria/beer/soft drinks/juice/frozen slush/water - on tap self service and some cheap but nice ice cream.The service at bar is slow,hunt bar staff down! Then order a drink to find that the alcohol is cheap +they don't do measures, so watch out before drinking. We went out a lot for drinks because we found the drinks terrible. Premade horrid cocktails. Too sugary!

Snackbar - was awful food, cheap hamburgers, cheap hotdogs, really kids food but if I had a child, I wouldn't feed it that rubbish...

Entertainment was not great but they try their best +were friendly.
The road outside the hotel in my opinion was not overly busy but be prepared for a little road noise if you are situated over that side and be prepared to hear your neighbours next to you!
This hotel is best for quiet people, with quiet children who like to go bed at about 11 as thats when drinks for all-in finish. We wouldn't go back due to the drinks and thin walls, but we know this is not a problem for some people so would recommend Eden.

Cost point... we paid about £370 each including flights and transfers which on paper is a cheap holiday but by the time we did two trips and got a few drinks out and ate lunch out 3 times, it racked up to over £1200. Also like to say that we don't really drink much, so if you are a big drinker, then it would be much more! All said and done, if you are a couple, do go all inclusive as it still worked out cheaper than getting an apartment/villa/room and eating out daily! Just be prepared to spend money outside for food and drink also.

As for excursions... staying up north means travelling down south to most of the attractions. Marineland was overpriced and not much there, do not go for a full day, as there is not much there!! They try to sell you pics of you with parrots, dolphins, sealions, anything and it is a rip off. A pepsi was 4€ so I had an ice cream at 2€. Take your own food and drink. We calculated that an average family with 2 kids could easily and i mean easily spend £200 here.

We did the no frills island tour excursion - I would recommend that as it was a nice day out, but a little overpriced at 57€

Room Tip: Studio apartments are all the same so if you can afford it, pay extra for better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

A good place to stay. Close to the beach and also close to shops and restaraunts.

We went self catering for three people (myself and two teenagers of 13 and16)

We had and appartment with a double bed (which was actually two singles pushed together, much to the delight of my daughter who was dreading sharing with me) and there was a seating area in the main appartment that my son used as a single bed.

The room was clean, fresh and modern and there was a fridge two electric rings and a microwave,ketlle and adequate cutlery and crockery if you wanted to make a quick breakfast or lunch. There was a small balcony with a drier good for hanging out wet swimming stuff and nice to sit out while waiting for kids to get organised

The surrounding area was quite touristy with lots of shops selling lilos and sunglasses and at first we thought at first it might be a bit tacky but look beneath and the town was well kept and pleasant and the beach was spotless.

Little bit of noise from room next door and road but this wasn't a problem.

We tended to use the beach rather than pool as the pool water was very cold.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we were self catering but did have one drink at the bar which was very pleasant but not out of the ordinary.

Overall it was a good stay and we would reccomend it and will probably go again

Room Tip: We had a corner suite and it worked out well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Hilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We booked this hotel after reading the good and bad reviews and decided to believe the good ones!

We travelled with a 3 year old and a 5 month old and booked into a one bed apartment which overlooked the children's pirate play pool. The hotel is on a very busy road one side and the other just 1 minute from the very nice beach.

The apartment had been refurbed and on first appearances looked good. By night however we soon discovered that the double bed was in the bedroom and only a 3/4 length part of the sofa turned into one small bed in the lounge area. This meant with small children who go to sleep before us they had the bedroom leaving no choice but for one of us to sleep in the lounge and one of us to sleep in the bedroom.

We were told all apartments are in the same block. They have traffic noise from the lounge & large single glazed windows from the bedroom onto the corridor which means that the bedroom is unbearably noisy. The bedroom felt like about 5 people were talking in it most of the time as the noise from people waiting for the lift or walking past was so loud! not my idea of a relaxing holiday and to make it worse this noise kept the children awake. I believe the conflicting reviews come from the fact that when the hotel isn't full they put some people who have booked 1 bed apartments into 2 studio apartments with adjoining doors and these apartments don't have the window onto the corridoor and mainly look over the adult pool area away from the road.

We complained and on the third night were moved into staff quarters behind the stage area. This was much better athough would not rely on this being avaliable and for this reason i would not return as the noise and lack of sleep would ruin the holiday.

Plus points- food was great we went HB (no drinks included with meals) good children's selection. Staff very friendly, good maid service, 17E deposist for beach towels and 1 E to exchange for clean ones. 3 E a day for a travel cot so bring your own! long transfer time to airport, great beach for children. Would return to Alcudia but not this hotel....looked around sister hotel eden lago and this looked quieter despite being a few minutes further from beach and on other side of the busy road. Pharmacy next door to hotel sells all baby goods formula, nappies baby food etc. You are allowed to use the facilities in the Eden Lago also.

Our 3 year old loved the entertainment with a mini disco each night and great children's splash pool. There is a children's club with great enthusiastic staff however the other guests appeared to all be German so the children are spoken to in German mainly which put our son off going as he couldn't understand games etc.

Room Tip: Apartments are all noisy if you do decide to go try to get 2 connecting studio rooms but if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.1 mi away
Viva Eden Lago
Viva Eden Lago
#24 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grupotel Maritimo
Grupotel Maritimo
#3 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#4 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
#14 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea Playa
Aparthotel Orquidea Playa
#32 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Alcudia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Alcudia

Property: Eden Alcudia
Address: Ctra. Alcudia - Arta, 135, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Alcudia 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Eden Alcudia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Alcudia Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Eden Alcudia Puerto
Eden Alcudia Hotel Puerto
Eden Alcudia Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing