We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best staff in town!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best staff in town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We have just returned from a very pleasant holiday at J S Sol Alcudia hotel (not the aparthotel next door!).
The hotel staff from Reception to Bar are extremely helpful and friendly and go out of their way to assist. Sebastian and his team in the bar were great and also the Dining Room staff. We had no problems with the food and enjoyed all of it.
The foyer, dining room and bar (photo's of bar do not do it justice) have all been refurbished and are really nice and modern. Yes the rooms are looking tired and the furniture a little old but the facilities in them are good. Each year when the hotel closes for the winter some renovation work takes place. This year it's the turn of the rooms or bathrooms. The room and bathroom doors have already been done. SO IT CAN ONLY GET BETTER! .Poolside rooms are better because of a bar called The Peach Pitt, full of inconsiderate Britts
Hopefully, we will be returning next year!

Room Tip: Choose a poolside room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cyndy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    165
    66
    16
    12
See reviews for
140
189
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Booked this hotel for 12 days,(flights with Easyjet, Hotel with Venere), after reading previous reviews on TripAdvisor. Firstly I have to compliment the hotel Staff, from Reception to Bar to Restaurant they are all extremely courteous, friendly and pleasant - a credit to the Hotel. Overall I would say we had excellent value for money. The rooms are small but adequate, if somewhat old fashioned - ours was on the 1st floor overlooking the pool. The food is average, perhaps breakfast better than dinner, but we always found something to eat, although it generally all seemed to be a little bland. As we stayed late in the season we found it very peaceful and particularly pleasant around the pool, with no shortage of sunbeds and some good music playing quietly in the background. The hotel is in a very built up area, but again, being late in the season there wasn't much noise from surrounding buildings. Local buses from stops 5 minutes away will take you almost anywhere around the island at a very reasonable price. We would recommend the bus to Soller, which for under 10 euros takes you on an amazing 2.5 hr trip around the mountains and down the west coast - superb! Sorry, I nearly forgot the nightly entertainment, which was mostly tribute acts - Abba, Beatles, BeeGees etc. We found them pleasant enough to sit and watch with a glass of wine after dinner. The Elvis tribute is a must see - a few weeks with Weightwatchers would do him a big favour! All the noise and music stopped at midnight each night and we both slept really well

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MerrySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

When I booked for my elderly mother and I (both pretty young at heart in our 70's and 50's), Trip Advisor rated it 80% in favour. I did notice a mention of the bedrooms being tired but it sounded good in other respects and it is that. A tip was to ask for a high room with a pool view as you would be likely to get a good nights sleep. Apparently, on the front of the hotel was the road which was noisy. Hmm, not so sure now as the road wasn't a main road. We stayed on the first floor which overlooked a lovely pool BUT the entertainment was near the pool and very loud if you wanted an earlier night although to stay on the front of the hotel is to overlook a highrise set of hotels so not a great view. The pool was lovely with good quality sunbeds and parasols BUT BEWARE! Unfortunately, the hotel is enveloped with other hotels and buildings which unfortunately affects a nice peaceful read around the pool as the hotel directly at the bottom was SOOO noisy. Disco music and screaming kids blaring out the whole day long. Not the hotel's fault of course but take this into account.

The hotel served half board. The food was very good and varied, breakfasts being the best. No free tea/coffee/juice/water in the evenings. House wine very poor. In the bar, drinks very good and staff very nice. Hotel is very modern around the bar and foyer area but when you get upstairs to the rooms, a different story. Very small and tired. Poor quality furniture with wardrobes not fitting properly and items of furniture shoved in which cluttered the place and made it unsafe to get out to the loo at night for fear of walking into something! Bathroom was also tatty and not a proper shower but a hand held head screwed to the wall. Just a trickle of water albeit nice and hot which meant it took an age to shower and wash long hair.

They made a real effort with the entertainment. A show every night (run of the mill tribute bands ie a German Bee Gees band, Welsh Elvis, English Abba and then a young sexy "Girls aloud" band). In a side street off the main drag and not too far to the sandy beach. Usual gift shops and Spar supermarkets along the centre but pleasant enough. Would imagine it's packed in the height of the season with families and one sex groups of youngsters but more middle age people or families with toddlers in late September.

All in all a good 3 star hotel but bedrooms/bathrooms need serious attention.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Memyselfi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel is confortable, rich buffet breakfast is included and dinner is available at 6 euro per person. There in nightly entertainment at the hotel and more of it at restaurants on the promenade, located one block to the west. There is a safe in the room, free of charge. (most hotels charge 2.5 euro per day). The beach is 10 minutes walk away from the hotel and there is no parking close to the beach. You can park a block or two from the beach or leave the car near the hotel, which is four blocks from the beach. Parking around the hotel is usually available. Internet costs 5 euro per day

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacob432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Returned from here today, great staff and lovely hotel. Poolside room is a must as next door to an English bar. First night we had chants of "we love you Norman,we do!!!!" until 4:30 in the morning. Thought we were going to have to change hotels.
They moved our room to poolside and was great from that point.
Not too many Brits either

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lobsterinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The mission for this trip was to get som sun. Nothing else. However the hotel will get a review.

The good thing s first: A few things with this hotel were good. The breakfast for one, the staff, the climate(sunny and nice temperature). The room-standard was pretty OK. Good beds. Not rock hard like everywhere else in the mediterrainian.

However: There where a few things that overshadowed the good things. The walls between the rooms are made of paper. You can hear your neigbour speak, do their business on the toilet and even fu¤%. Oh yes. we cuold hear them. Twice! But i guess thats just the way they build hotels in Spain.
The second thing i would like to comment about the hotel i the entertainment.
There is something going on every night in the pool area, and because of the bad sound isolation you have to wait until the last shouting person in the bar goes to bed before you get some good sleep. I would recomend the management to cut out a couple of days a week with entertainment. That would give the guest a breake. Espescially the guests with children. In other words: if you get a bit grumpy if you lose sleep. Dont come here.

Alcudia in general is an OK place to get some sun. Not the most exotic place in the world, but the climeate in September is very nice. The occational rainshower will appear, but it blows over very fast. Go to the harbour. Thats were the best resturants are. Only a 5 Euro taxitrip away. The beach is rather nice. Water is clean and so is the beach.

All inn all: the place is good to get some sun and heat, if you dont mind noisy guest at night, and there personal habits, kinda outdated loud entertainment, paperthin walls, little sleep, and a good breakfast after a long night this is a good hotel.

PS: hotelscloser to the harbourand beach seemed nicer and more quiet.

Room Tip: Get a room above the reception towards the street, if you must stay here! No pubs or liveshows here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationisgoodforU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

My wife and I stopped here for a week in September 2011, and were delighted when we got there, it is lovely, marble floors, lovely reception, rooms were spotless as was the whole hotel, the bar, poolside were all very chique and spotless, the decor being contemporary and perfect, the toilets in reception were out of this world. The breakfast was varied and well presented, but catered mainly for Germans. Evening meal was only 6e each for a buffet all-you-can-eat and was very nice (if you're German), but was ok for the price. Now the fatal flaw for this hotel is the noise, the pool entertainment will end at 12 but there is a bar across the road called the peach pit and is full of shouting, screaming, chanting, idiot Brits till 3.30am, so we had to move our room, the receptionists were very nice about it and give us another room, so if you go ask for a room facikng the pool or you won't get any sleep. The location of the hotel is ok for the beach, but it is a good half hour walk into Alcudia, the place is NOT in Alcudia it's in a town called Cuidad Blanca and is a good 2 miles into town. The public buses are attrocious, they come every 15 minutes but are always crammed full, we waited an hour and a half till one stopped then it was faces against the windows, pathetic, and this is not full season?? All in all we had a great time and there is plenty for families to do here, it's a bit Blackpooly in places but ok, all the food in the pubs and bars is not good, we didn't have a decen't meal anywhere except in the all you can eat chinese restaurant

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool or you won't get to sleep till 4am
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gcoochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
0.0 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#13 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#4 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.4 mi away
BQ Delfin Azul Hotel
BQ Delfin Azul Hotel
#8 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia

Property: Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Address: Avenida Venecia 3, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#16 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our newly refurbished 4* hotel, brand new for 2016, with 219 rooms all of which have undergone a complete change for the new season. The newly improved areas of the hotel include: all the rooms, outdoor swimming-pool with children's play area, and the restaurant. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. This hotel also includes a wellness terrace on the first floor, with sunbeds, a sauna and a jaccuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Js Sol De Alcudia Hotel
Sol De Alcudia
Hotel JS Sol De Alcudia Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing