We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would return”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here two weeks ago. Lucky to have one of the refurbished rooms with pool and lake view which was beautiful.(No 513) Small but plenty of room for two ( Don't think I would have liked another bed in there for a child) Cleaned daily and fresh towels daily. Staff very efficient and extremely friendly. Swimming pool area lovely and no rush for sunbeds in the morning. Food was catering for continental tastes eg. plenty of pastries, pancakes etc. for breakfast but limited English breakfast items. Evening meal a bit hit or miss. Fresh cooked fish, kebabs etc every evening and a selection of meat and fish dishes on buffet. Generally good but fish overcooked at times. Good salad selection. Hotel seems to cater for mainly German guests who were a pleasure to holiday with. Wifi available in rooms at a charge which was quite expensive and safety deposit box a little costly too. No kettle so take your own if you like a morning cuppa! Well positioned with main strip across a block ( Little noise from bars there) and marina a leisurely twenty minutes walk on promenade. Would stay here again if visiting Alcudia. Thank You JS Sol for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: High floor pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munchkin01792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello munchkin01792

Thank you very much for such a positive valuing of your stay in our Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia. Also , you are very kind for recommending us to other travelers, thanks again.

Indeed the hotel is quite ideal for a summer vacation satisfactory. It is located near the beach in Alcudia. A shopping and leisure environment with lots of activity and fun. Customers believe that the situation is very good about it.

Thank you very much for your loving comments about the staff and service. We try to offer our best work for the satisfaction of our guests. We are honored by your mention of it.

Especially lovely is your comment on the Buffet. The Cheff kitchen and all the rest of the staff , will be pleased to know that you enjoyed all the services in general.

So glad to know you'll be back someday. This is our main reason for our effort that the customer is happy and someday repeat with us. Thank you very much .

Finally we send a warm greeting and thank you for your positive recommendation. Team Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    174
    66
    17
    12
See reviews for
145
207
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hvidovre
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a very stay at this hotel. The room was ok and the beds very to. I could have needed my own pillow though. We had a balcony turned towards the street, and up on 4th floor. I am glad we did not live beneath this floor, because there was an Irish pub just down the corner, and they did not close untill 4 oclock in the morning. The breakfast was very nice to, and the staff was excellent. We did not eat on the hotel, but prefered to go out and tast the local restaurants.
The area around the hotel was very english and very lively. Many souvenirshops and restaurants all around. The beach was lying about 10 minuttes walk from here, but the pool-area at the hotel was very nice to. The shows going on in the evenings was very children-friendly, but after 10 oclock also for the grown-ups.

Room Tip: If you like the sun all day choose a room towards the pool, but we had one towards the street and hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneBaumannHvidov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Susanne Baumann

Thank you very much for such a positive valuing your stay in our Hotel. As well you are very kind, for recommending us to other travelers, thanks again.

Indeed the hotel is quite ideal for a satisfactory summer vacation. It is located in the center, next to the beach of Alcudia. In an environment with much activity and fun. We love to hear you liked.

We note your comment on the pillow. But we wonder if you have applied to a different on to the Reception deparment . Surely they could have help.

Thanks for your good comments about the animation, we try to provide quality entertainment while maintaining a level of calm to relax customers.

Finally we send a warm greeting and thank you for your positive recommendation. Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed for a week with my mother and daughter and we enjoyed our stay. Nice and very clean rooms with A/C and big flat screen (lots of channels to chose from), little bit small for 3 people but it wasn't big deal. Beds with good mattress ! Excellent location. Children friendly beach and pool. Pool itself is nice and clean with lots of sunbeds. Food was very good and tasty but keep in mind that you have to pay for drinks with your dinner. Very friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello Michal H

Thank you very much for your time to comment your stay in our Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia. And recommend to other travelers. You are very kind, we love having you as a guest.

We are proud to see your stay at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia was successful. And you and your family have spent a great holiday with us.

Your comments are very nice and positive. Maybe you are right to say that the rooms are small for 3 people. Children usually take an extra bed in the triple room. But the important is that they are comfortable and clean, making for a pleasant stay even. It is not usually a problem in general for the travellers , we are glad to see that it has not been a serious problem for your family either .

As you say, the hotel is ideal for a summer holiday. It is very well located and offers a quality service at an affordable price. Thanks for the recognition.

Finally, we thank you again for your recommendation. The entire team of the Hotel will send a cordial greeting Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for nine days with the two of us. We had breakfast and dinner included. We have been in plenty of hotels in general.

About 90% of the guests in the hotel is German, even though the beach is quite mixed (we met mostly German, Norwegian or English people). Guests are mostly families with kids. The fact almost all guests are German was no problem, apart from that we were cheering for another team at the world cup ;)

Personnel is very friendly, also for kids. They try to speak German to you by default, probably because of the well-represented nationality.

Supermarkets are practically next door. There is in fact one of the most cheapest Spars at the back of the hotel. Beach is 200 meters. Pool is nice and beds plentiful. There is a Jacuzzi and a sauna freely available for guests.

The rooms are decent (split bed, closet, balcony, furniture, laundry lines, airco, small fridge!) and cleaned daily. The room was a bit small in my opinion (15 m2) but that did not bother because you shouldn't be in a hotelroom anyways during the day. A bit troublesome were the glass container dumpsters across the street. The glass is picked up and dumped in a garbage truck either very early or very late daily. But you cannot expect a hotel a hotspot to be so silent. The choice of Tv channels is huge (see pictures for entire offer), which helped to watch the world cup. Spanish channels are in HD. Reception for BBC was abysmal though..

WiFi is paid (15 euros for a week) yet reception is excellent (also around pools). The access key you receive can be used on more than one device. If you only once need a connection, though, you can hop to the bar across the street, order a drink and use the WiFi over there.
Both at dinner and breakfast (which are both buffet based with some show cooking ) , there is a lot of variation. From baked sardines to grilled meat yet also pizza and fries or sausages. Choice of deserts also plenty of option. Yet, although it all appears very refined to the eye, it all seems to lack a bit of taste sometimes. The fact they re-use ingredients from breakfast in the dinner was no big deal for us. I appreciate it when no tons of food gets thrown away. For the price of the hotel it was really good though.

Nevertheless it is not hard to meet your daily calorie intake, because the chocolate is richly flowing. Think of chocolate on toast, cereals, pastries full of it, a chocolate fountain, ice, syrup for on pancakes, etcetera..

All in all a great time I would definitly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, pick a room not on the sea side (north). This is where the glass dumpsters are cleaned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brounzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello R B

Thank you very much for your very positive and loving comments about your stay at the Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia

We are glad to see that your holiday with us were happy. We also think that the hotel is ideal for a summer holiday. Thank you also to speak

Your feedback is very extensive and detailed. Sure to be useful to other travelers, thank you very much for recommending them, too.

We note some of their suggestions are important for us to improve.

Especially the kitchen Cheff thanks you for your very nice comments. All equipment we are proud that our work is valued by you.

Thank you very much again. You are a very kind person.
Regards from Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed a week with my toddler and my parents, hotel is cool and spacious in the communal areas, chic in design and very clean. We wen HB and wanted to upgrade to AI but was told it wasn't an option for some reason?! But the breakfast was really nice and enough to choose from, fresh made bread and pastries, staff and chefs present to help and top up the very nice and always hot food. This goes for dinner aswell, and I think it was the best hotel buffet food I have had in years, the kitchen staff really make an effort to make it different to other hotel food, and it shows. Also have chef cooking at a counter, a different cuisine every night, which was a lovely touch. I don't believe there is anything to complain about in this department, my almost 3 year old was catered for with the usual menu aswell. You have to pay for drinks with your dinner, €2.80 for glass wine, €2.50 med size bottle water. Bar during day and night very good, large beer €3.20 which is actually not too bad as Alcudia is expensive, bar food is also good, pizzas and sandwiches around €5-8, and good quality and size, and other lovely dishes available. Staff are lovely and I always tipped which was much appreciated by them, and they really looked after me. The pool area is serene, not very big but adequate and the pool itself is nice and room for everyone, enough sunbeds to go round on most days, but it could be a bit hit and miss, no problems with people reserving sunbeds though, event though the hotel is mainly German/Scandinavian. Yes, the rooms are a little on the small side but this wasn't a problem, as it had enough storage and great bathroom, balcony fine(although does not open from the outside-I got locked out). They aren't really in keeping with the rest of the hotel but perfectly functional and no problems with them. Air Con just about adequate, although we were pool side on top floor(5th) and the noise from the evening entertainment was very VERY loud until midnight, but this didn't stop my toddler from sleeping. I will add though that the neighbour hotel is EXTREMELY loud with their pool music and guests, and this is really intrusive. There are a few local bars within earshot of the pool side rooms aswell, so there was a couple of occasions of rowdy Brits leaving the bars which woke us up. Nothing to be done about that though. I would have preferred the other room option of road side view, I'm sure they would have changed my room if I had asked though, the reception are very helpful. TV channels in room are BBC1/2,ITV and ITV2.Staff are lovely and constantly made a fuss of my little girl with treats, they just couldn't be nicer. Location is great, away from the rowdier mainly British end of Alcudia, and maybe 1 min walk to the main road and beach etc. Small playground for younger kids, nothing else for kids though other than the pool, but the kids didn't seem bored at all as the pool suits all. I would recommend this hotel, but be cautious about asking for quiet rooms if you go to bed early. Very nice hotel, one of the better ones in resort and in the nicer part. Great.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms noisy until midnight, but get fantastic sun in the late afternoon. Patio doors don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate_M22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Kate_M22

Thank you very much for your time to comment your stay in our Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia

You really are a kind person for your very positive comments. And for referring other customers too. Your information is very useful for future travelers. Thanks again

We are glad to see that you and your daughter have tended a happy stay with us.

All your comments are detailed and positive but for us the most important is about service.
Our team is very efficient and put all the "heart" to be friendly and provide an excellent service to our customers. Personal service is one of our core values. We are proud of you to be part of our little family .

Finally thank you very much for recommending us to other customers. Hope to see you soon again.
Meanwhile, our entire team sends warm greetings Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've stayed for a week in summer 2012. Great location - it's that WOW factor when you cross the little tree-lined patch of sand and the sea comes out from nowhere! Drinks were super-strong, which is a bonus! Staff very friendly. One of the downsides (maybe it's fixed now) was a lack of WiFi in the outside sitting/pool area.
The main downside was the food served. Very predictable, very english-a-like - it was a Sunday roast every single day. HAVING SAID THAT...the location, plus the staff, plus the not-average-drinks strength, plus the relatively small price we've paid made this trip and hotel stay very very enjoyable. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertDonPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello AlbertDonPedro

Thank you very much for your time to comment your stay in our Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia. You are a very kind person, thank you so much that you refer us to other travelers, too.

We are delighted that your stay was successful. It is important for us to know if we are doing well to even be able to improve it.

We take note of your suggestions on Wifi in the common areas. Normally this is not a problem, but will be reviewed it again. We apologize if we have not met your culinary tastes. We try to achieve the taste of all international customers, but sometimes it's difficult to do. We will review the menus in this sense, maybe it is needed to change something.
Moreover, I thank the rest of your information. Sure to be helpful to other travelers.

As you say, the Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia is ideal for a summer holiday. It is very well located and offers a high quality service for an affordable price. Thanks for recognizing.

We would love you to come back to our hotel on your next vacation to Mallorca.
Until then the whole team of Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia sends you warm greetings .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights at the end of May.Very friendly check in and hotel details explained to us.
Nothing could be faulted, lovely room, exceptionally clean, very friendly staff.
We were booked in on a Bed and Breakfast basis with a cost of 56 euros per night ..great value. Dinner was available at an extra 8 euros..great choice and everything hot and fresh.
Pool area was spotless and plenty of comfortable sun beds.
Would definitely return to Alcudia and this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheekers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello cheekers1

Thank you very much for your time to comment so positively your experience in our Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia. You're very kind to rate so highly and for recommending our services to other customers.

But what makes us happiest is knowing that one day return. You are very welcome. Thank you.

Truly, the Hotel has great facilities and services. And the entangled relationship quality and price is very high. Our rates are also good for all the services we offer, not only in the dining room as you say, but also in the bar and other services. In addition the hotel is near the beach and in a shopping area full of activity with good deals for everyone.

Thanks for comment , as well for commenting on our staff, you're very kind. This really makes us happy and gives us more encouragement to continue improving the service.
For us the most important is the pesonal service and treatment. We glad to see if we have succeeded.

Thanks again for Recommend us and visit us again someday.

Greetings from all the team at our Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#9 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#3 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
482 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grupotel Maritimo
Grupotel Maritimo
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
634 reviews
2.3 mi away
HSM President Golf & Spa
HSM President Golf & Spa
#16 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia

Property: Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Address: Avenida Venecia 3, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#16 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our newly refurbished 4* hotel, brand new for 2016, with 219 rooms all of which have undergone a complete change for the new season. The newly improved areas of the hotel include: all the rooms, outdoor swimming-pool with children's play area, and the restaurant. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. This hotel also includes a wellness terrace on the first floor, with sunbeds, a sauna and a jaccuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Js Sol De Alcudia Hotel
Sol De Alcudia
Hotel JS Sol De Alcudia Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing