We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
coventry
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings too”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Hotel was spotless, pool area beautiful nice metal silver sun loungers staff perfect loved children
Only bad was food was just not for English there was no full English stuff really it was sausages and beans scrambled egg was awful looked like plastic one day and soup another, but always something to eat tho. Area lovely
Manager was always around and very greeting too
Reception staff miserable but other than that had fab
Time xx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    189
    71
    17
    12
See reviews for
151
227
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel itself was ok. but the food on the other hand was really not nice, they served vegetables for breakfast, just cheap food. which i could only describe as frozen food. most food very bland. also the entertaintment in the hotel was not very good. we chose to go to a different hotel for entertainment each night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Joanna

We are glad to see that your stay with us was satisfactory overall. Although some details that seem have not been to your satisfaction. Especially we apologize if we have not reached the gastronomic level that you personally wanted.

The JS Sol de Alcudia Hotel is an international hotel. We have a spacious Buffet with a varied choice of food for all types and nationalities of guest. At breakfast you can find many varieties of bread, celeales, fruits, meats, cheese, and beans too. For dinner the variety of food is even greater, with different meats, fish, vegetables, salads, desserts and ice cream for example. And besides all this there is also a show-cooking where we cook fresh foods at time. And besides all this we also have a food line called "Vital" with healthy products. (everybody can seen the Buffet offer on our social networks of JS Hotels)

Still, we feel very sad for failing to reach your gastronomic tastes and we apologize for that. We will consider your feedback to try to improve it.

Regarding your comment about the animation. It is true that the animation in the hotel is not very powerful and alarming. We prefer to offer a soft entertainment, so guests do not feel disturbed during their time of rest and relaxation. We regret also that this aspect has not been to your satisfaction neither. If you prefer a hotel with more animation you can visit other JS Hotels where the activities and entertainment are more important. But in JS Sol de Alcudia we respect all other guests who want this kind of soft animation.

We thank you very mucho for positively valuing the rest of your stay at the hotel. Hope to see you again soon. Meanwhile we send a greeting from Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel at roughly 3am on the 17th August. We have left with mixed feelings regarding our stay in Alcudia and the hotel. Pros and cons of the hotel and area below.

Cons of the hotel;
-arrived at 3am to a grumpy hotel night porter who did not greet us well. The language barrier was an issue and we left the front desk feeling very uncomfortable.
-we we're not offered any free water following our long trip and as we were new to the country we didn't have any change for their extortionately priced vending machine. This meant we had to put our suitcases in the room and then walk to the nearest bar to get a bottle of water at 3am.
-the room had been repainted but they hadn't cleaned the excess paint from the skirting boards leaving a very poor finish. Rooms were very old fashioned with old patterns and artexed walls.
-rooms big enough for two adults sharing but a nice family we met had small children and were left with no space for their suitcases in the room and found it very difficult.
-our bathroom permanently smelled like stale Chinese food (the only thing we could liken it to!)
-breakfast was WEIRD. I've never been offered frozen mixed vegetables or prawn tossed green beans before. The scrambled eggs looked like something a child would make from plasticine as did much of the other food.
-dinner service wasn't much better- plain pasta was served two ways; mushy or crunchy and I'm pretty sure the cannelloni would have passed for baby food. The food wasn't always labelled clearly so you had no idea what you were putting on the plate if you were brave enough- this gamble didn't always pay off. I've also tasted better value pizzas from asda-I didn't think it was possible to ruin a pizza.
-waiters were very grumpy with people wishing to eat outside if their party was smaller than the number of placemats at the table and showed favouritism to some guests by allowing them to move the tables around and then shooing other couples back inside (actual shooing hand signals witnessed!)
-some waiters assumed you automatically wished to tip them and kept the money. In one case my partner had to ask the waiter for our change which amounted to 4 euros after ordering 2 cokes!
-the entertainment was shockingly poor- we sat through a "magician" who would have impressed five year olds in the 80s. Once the "entertainment" had finished the atmosphere died and you had to amuse yourself.
-no day time entertainment, sometimes there would be low level music but never any quizzes or bingo or pool games.
-after checking out at 12, the hotel told us we were not entitled to our meal that evening while we waited for our coach transfer although when in all other hotels organised by Thomson I have automatically received our last meal. This meant a 7 night stay with six meals-luckily we saved enough euros to buy a meal in a nearby bar.
-staff did not make the effort to know us by face as guests-we were asked several times for our room card when approaching the buffet by the same woman-all other hotels I have stayed in make the effort to at least recognise you!
-the hotel next door was noisy (not personally off putting but some may find annoying).

Pros of the hotel;
-entrance and communal spaces were undoubtedly beautiful. Very high standard of finish with a very modern feel.
-the pool was ample sized with varying depths and an excellent standard of cleanliness.
-our balcony view overlooked the pool and waterways which was beautiful.
-lovely solarium with sauna and jacuzzi which was always very peaceful and clean.
-attracted "nice" families-no tantrum throwing children or screaming adults.
-bar staff included two lovely waitresses-a blonde lady and darker haired lady called Anna.
-TV with 4 British channels and fridge for personal use in the rooms
-strong shower and acceptably deep bath.
-small play area for children, discretely located.
-pool table and ping pong table available along with a cabinet of games.
-Lovely outdoor seating area overlooking the stage area and swimming pool.
-excellent location for beach and restaurants.

Cons of the area of Alcudia;
-little English in the area, mainly German and Spanish speaking (younger service staff spoke some English)
-little to no night life- trip advisor reviews had stated an excellent area full of karaoke bars and discos- this was non existent. The karaoke bar had two patrons for the entire evening.
-each restaurant had its own "front of house" who would hound you hoping you would go to their restaurant - it's annoying after the 3rd night.
-ladies and "lookie lookie" gentleman everywhere- the men would approach single women with babies in prams late at night asking them to buy light up helicopters.
-bus drivers are often unhelpful and rude- be warned if travelling with frailer passengers as they do not take care when driving!
-the many "English" pubs decorated like the queen Vic is just embarrassing.
-not much for younger people to do in the area.
-ladies on the beach selling watermelon for 20 euros a slice!

Pros of the area of Alcudia;
-one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Clear waters, clean beach and no pebbles! You can walk out to sea for ages and still only be waist deep.
-there are lots of beds to hire on the beach but if you walk a little way there are clearer sections of beach with plenty of personal space.
-lovely boat trips and beach side fun; volleyball, inflatables in the sea, boats for hire.
-plenty of souvenir shops.
-visit the marina/Porto de Alcudia- absolutely beautiful day and night.
-nice ice cream parlours
-the Beach Bar (located near to main entrance walkway to the beach) serves excellent food with friendly service and lovely waiting staff.
-mini tourist train is reasonably priced for 45 minutes ride.
-located close to hidropark.
-lots of local buses and many excursion places.
-shops in C'an Picafort seemed very busy and extensive.
-not too far from Palma airport.
-able to travel to the Pirates show in Magaluf-a must see!

Room Tip: View is nicer overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mississippi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Mississip.

First we want to thank you the time you have invested to comment your stay in our Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia.

We are glad to see that your overall experience has been good, although some details are obviously not entirely to your liking and satisfaction

We take note about your comments and complaints. Especially we apologize for any incorrect action our night staff may have caused. Normally, we work hard to serve with maximum efficiency to our guests, we ask forgiveness if we have failed to do so.

Your writing is very extensive and detailed. maybe it will be useful for other travelers. For us it is very important, we will analyze it and read carefully to try to improve our services.

As you say the hotel has great things, and in general is quite ideal for a summer vacation. It is located near the Alcudia beach, surely the most beautiful in Mallorca as you well have said, and close to the shopping and leisure area. The facilities are comfortable and spacious. There is also a large garden with a relaxing outdoor pool.There are different types of rooms, some smaller than others and different situation. But overall the accommodation is well appreciated by most of our guests.

There is a wide range of food at the Buffet. It seems that this point has not been to your satisfaction. We apologize if we have not reached your taste. In general we try to please every type of customer, offering plenty variety and quality of food. (perhaps you may not like vegetables for breakfast, but maybe other clients wish). We also have a Show-cooking, where the costumers order fresh food at time. And a special line of cardio-healthy meal called "Vital" . We believe that the offer is in general varied and plentiful, but still , we take note of your suggestions to try to improve.

For the rest of your comments. We all thank you for your positive feedback. We will continue working to improve the points you considered negative. For us the most important is that the guest be 100% satisfied. We feel that in this case we have not reach it with you. We apologize for that.
Team Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a fantastic location, is very clean, and lovely pool area.it is a short walking distance to get to the beautiful beach. Unfortunately we have to agree with the comments on the food.I would also advise it is not really "geared" towards families. There's no children's menu, so if you have a fussy youngest (like us) you end up eatting out alot. There's no evening entertainment for children and again have to agree disappointed with the evening entertainment provided.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia_d1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Julia

Thank you very much for taking your time to evaluate our services and recommending our Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia (although this is not exactly adult only).

We glad to see that your stay with us was happy in general. Although some details that seem have not been to your satisfaction. Such as cooking and entertainment for children. We apologize for that.

The Hotel aims to provide a pleasant stay overall, both couples, families or singles. If you want a family hotel with a special focus on children, we recommend you to visit other JS Hotels in the company: such as Hotel JS Yate Hotel or Aparthotel Es Corso.

The Hotel Sol de Alcudia is ideal for people who want to spend a summer vacation at the beach, and at the same time enjoy the leisure, bars and shops around. The Hotel does not offer high animation because , we believe that most guests prefer light animation and not to be to much molested.

We apologize for the little mistakes that we have committed. Yet thanks to your feedback we will try to discuss how to improve these services. All we send greetings from Alcudia
Team Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Returned last week from here, clean but the food 2nd rate ,we got given raw chicken from live chef station ,and when told staff had no response ! bit into a baby potato which was rotten ,food bland no real choice,we ended up eating out most of our stay! NOT HAPPY !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 975fay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello 975fay

We apologize for not meeting the gastronomical level expected by you.

We are delighted to see that overall your stay was enjoyable and satisfying. Although it hurts us to know that you have not liked our buffet.

The Buffet in Restaurant is varied and extensive.
For breakfast is offered a very wide range of pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, eggs, beans. Well as cereals, fruit juices and coffee or teas, all that the host may wish. In the evenings there is an even greater offer. During dinner you can find much more variety of foods: meats, fishes, salads, vegetables. In addition to a show-cooking with fresh food cooked to order, or and healthy food on the line "Vital". We also have a wide range of desserts, fruits and ices available to all. (you can see it on the social networks of JS Hotels). Still, with all that, we could not meet your personal taste. We apologize for this and assure you that we will work for the service to be improved.

The overall the hotel has very good facilities, a large garden with swimming pool, dining room, bar, reception and other services for the guest to enjoy the stay at the Hotel.
We are glad that despite your displeasure with the food, the rest of your stay has been satisfactory
All we will send you a cordial greeting from Alcudia.
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel itself isn't bad. Lovely pool and outside area. However this is where it stops.

The food was terrible. The "scrambled eggs" were rubbery and looked plastic. Most of the food was over cooked. The pizza looked and tasted like a cheap frozen pizza from a supermarket which had defrosted before cooking. If you are allergic to fish then please do NOT eat the green beans because they contain prawns despite there being no mention of this on the very poorly labelled food counter.

Let's move on to the staff. On arrival at the hotel after 10 hours after leaving home we were met with a disgruntled night porter who was not very welcoming after we had to wake him up. He could not get us checked in quick enough and made no attempt to have any sort of conversation in either English or Spanish. Evidently so he could get back to his sleep. We arrived at about 3am and we were pretty thirsty after spending approximately 2.5hrs on a coach from the airport. The only water available to us was from a vending machine charging €2.50 a bottle. Having just arrived we had no change so had to go out to a bar at 3am after 10hrs travelling in order to get something that I think should be readily available to any customer on arrival weather it be day or night.

The waiting staff were polite enough but also made very little attempt at conversation. There was on particular member of staff in a white shirt rather than the black the others wore (possibly a manager or supervisor) who took my payment of two drinks totalling around €6.40, I gave €10.00 we finished our "food" and drinks, still no change. We waited another 10 minutes of so before I went to find him and asked where our change was. I was met with a dirty look that said either I was lying or he felt he deserved my change as a tip without my consent for a drink he didn't even fetch. He did get my change though.

It has to be said that there were two members of the waiting/bar staff who I felt were very good. Anna and Rafa. They were consistently polite, efficient and made conversation with us.

The evenings entertainment was absolute rubbish. Perhaps the hotel should use some of the money they save in serving substandard food to hire some decent acts.

On the day we were due to leave the hotel we were expected to vacate our room by midday as standard but as our transfer was not picking us up until 10:05 we expected to be able to eat in the hotel restaurant on our last evening but we're told if we wanted dinner there we would have to pay for it! So as a result we paid for 7 nights but we're only allowed 6 dinners.

Needless to say we will not be staying at this hotel or any other Js hotel again. Hopefully our awful and disgraceful experience will serve as a warning for anyone else too!

Also I would love a reply from the hotel explaining why everything was so terrible on this particular week, if they have the slightest respect for their customers

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danjtoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S Palma S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Danjtoms

We are very sorry not being able to reach your travel expectations. It is clear that some small errors in the operation of the Hotel have not been to your satisfaction and we apologize for it.
But as well, we believe that is not necessary to use so aggressive and impolite language, only to say you will not come back again.

And also feel sorry because due to these small details you have commented, you do not recommend the hotel to other travelers.

Luckily these little details only have happened to you and not to the rest of the tourists, who nonetheless believe that the hotel is good enough and often they recommend it.

About your specific comments, we can only say that the Hotel Manager is aware of them and he will make every effort to make the needed corrections to improve the service.

Especially you are very critical of the quality of the food. Obviously we have not been able to find your particular taste. It is not easy to please all international guests alike. But our buffet is precisely one of the best in the company. It is very large and offers plenty of variety. Besides also have a Show-cooking with fresh food every day. As well as a huge assortment of desserts and diferent assortment of breads .

Precisely these days have shown the images on our social networks JS Hotels. For everyone else be able to see the quality and variety of our food.

I think you are not a person accustomed to travel. Otherwise you would know that the half pension entitles you to breakfast on the last day of your departure. In any hotel in the world if you want an extra dinner, it is normal to be extra payed. In the same way also in our Hotel. So your complaint about, have no basis for us either.

With regard to Hotel animation, and your commentary that it is rubbish". Since most of our guests think otherwise, we understand that this is only your personal opinion. Surely you were looking for a different hotel, perhaps with more nightlife and nightclub every night. But our Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia, wants to offer tranquility and quality to its customers. We do not want to disturb the rest and relaxation of guests, so the animation is not very high.

Sorry again because it has not been your ideal hotel. Finally, we send a cordial greeting.
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely but the food is very poor! We stayed on a half board basis and were impressed with the range of food only to discover that every dish was bland and flavourless! The meat was very chewy and salty, even the pizza was poor (surely not a hard thing to make nice). I would not stay here again because of this reason.

On a positive note the staff we're very friendly and helpful, rooms basic but clean and pool was great.

The location is good. 5 min walk to beach and plenty of bars/ shops nearby. However after visiting the marina I would have preferred to stay nearer there.

Entertainment was typical cheesy hotel entertainment, what we expected! However the atmosphere died at around 11 when everyone seemed to go to bed. The hotel could have done with keeping some music on low later then we would have stayed drinking at the bar!

Overall gorgeous hotel! Food lets it down!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank beccy113456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#9 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#3 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grupotel Maritimo
Grupotel Maritimo
#4 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
654 reviews
2.3 mi away
HSM President Golf & Spa
HSM President Golf & Spa
#17 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia

Property: Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Address: Avenida Venecia 3, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#16 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our newly refurbished 4* hotel, brand new for 2016, with 219 rooms all of which have undergone a complete change for the new season. The newly improved areas of the hotel include: all the rooms, outdoor swimming-pool with children's play area, and the restaurant. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. This hotel also includes a wellness terrace on the first floor, with sunbeds, a sauna and a jaccuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Js Sol De Alcudia Hotel
Sol De Alcudia
Hotel JS Sol De Alcudia Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing