We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location; you get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel Piscis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Piscis
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We read some of the reviews prior to travelling and were expecting a cross between Fawlty Towers and a soup kitchen! What a pleasant surprise we got: all the common areas, bedrooms, etc were spotless, the food was varied and fresh and tasty, the all inclusive facilities were available for 14 hours a day, the staff were fantastic, the air-con was a blessing as it was roasting hot and the pool was fine.
The hotel is a five minute stroll away from the centre of Alcudia, with its shops, bars and restaurants and the same distance to the lovely beach and marina. If you are looking for a good value holiday, you can't go wrong. Thanks to all at Piscis!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

i have just returned from a week at the hotel piscis. the hotel was clean all through, pool especially. the food was ok but can be a bit repetative but theres always something you can eat, only one night we ate out. bar staff are freindly but bit misrable on reception but always helpfull. pool only small but was never a problem for us kids loved it but one warning if you want a sun bed get down there at 8.30 or all will be gone, but we had one everyday as you dont want to lay in bed all day anyway. the hotel is in a fantastic location beach five mins away. there is no entertainment apart from bingo n karioke once aweek til 12, only only 2 drinks at a time but not really a problem cause no queing. overall we have a great time

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

anyone considering staying here please think twice its not wha tit tells you it is ts dirty never changed the sheets the whole time we were there, food was a total washout they dont believe in gravy. i advise anyone going to book please please think twice, yes its cheap but we spent 1500 pounds the time we were there all in clusive aswell theres no entertainment at all, the pool tiny. staff very un freindly honestly i wouldnt let my dogs stay there please take note !!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tylerjay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Having paid almost £550.00 each for a 1 week all inclusive holiday (including flights & transfers), we expected good things. We’re still waiting ….. This is not a 3 star hotel and would be lucky to be considered 1 star! Never again!!!!!

The best and only thing going for this hotel it it’s location. It’s in a gorgeous resort and only a 5 minute walk from the beach, shops, restaurants etc.

The outside of the hotel is partially derelict and unkempt with graffiti, broken glass, broken tiles, overgrown weeds, rubbish and a concrete waste ground area at front (see photos!). The problem is you do not see this until daylight which comes as a major shock the day after arrival, especially since the brochures just concentrate on the front steps and a clever snap of the pool.

The interior is only slightly better with a sizeable reception area, seated lounge area with a tv in the corner, 2 pool tables, a children's play area, unlocked left luggage room for late departures and 2 computers with internet access but no privacy(!). Largely unhelpful and unfriendly staff manning reception although they did fix our broken shower rail (the first time with sellotape!!!) within 24 hours.

Bedroom: Dirty and of average size with free air conditioning. Small balcony with table & 2 chairs. No television or tea making facilities. Limited storage and hanger space. Beds had very hard, thin mattresses with protruding springs. Room noisy at night as hotel has thin walls and faces on to a busy road. Sheets were not changed during our 7 night stay.

Bathroom: Miniscule and dirty (look closely at floor around toilet brush in photo). On arrival, the shower rail was broken, there was no cold water and the toilet didn’t flush for around 12 hours! Water problems and power cuts are the norm according to reception. Maybe it depends on the cleaning crew on the various floors of the hotel but our towels were only changed twice during our stay and the bath, toilet and sink often went unwashed. There was visible dirt edging all bathroom appliances and lying thick behind the door. Toilet roll must be 'rationed' as it was not replaced even after it had run out and no spare roll was ever left even when it was about to run out so we had to ask at reception for a replacement.

Pool: Small with extremely cramped sun lounger area around pool. Loungers all ‘reserved’ before breakfast even though it was in shade most of the day. Also tiny children’s pool and dirty play area.

Sun terrace: available on the 2nd floor which could only be reached by climbing 2 flights of steep external stairs, which were wet and slippery (see photos). In my view this is a distinct health & safety concern for the elderly or families with young children. The hotel keeps the internal door to this area locked at all times.

Sun umbrellas: the hotel offers a pitiful 8 sun umbrellas (4 by the pool, 4 on the sun patio) to accommodate all it’s clients!

Restaurant: queues reminiscent of a school canteen, soft drinks flat, tables not properly cleaned, kitchen units and work surfaces dirty, floor extremely dirty and sticky (watermelon seeds spilled by a young child remained on the floor for 3 days!), evening menu very similar to lunch menu which was repetitive and included rabbit (given a wide berth!) un-named fish and a selection of beef, pork and occasional turkey dishes. On our last day, an unwelcome cockroach visited our table. Indoor smoking area directly outside whch was far from ideal as the dining area smelled strongly of cigarette smoke.

Bar: endless queues to be served by the 1 bar man in attendance. Drinks served in tiny child size plastic cups. Bar floor always sticky and dirty.

Postal Service: Postcards can be bought in reception or elsewhere and for a payment of €0.65 the hotel will add the postage and post the cards. Don't use this service unless you're in no rush as we were home more than 3 weeks before the cards we gave them at the beginning of our week away arrived!

Equipment/Service Hire: Safe €17.70 + €6.00 deposit, Fridge €20.00 + $10.00 deposit, Late check out: €30.00 regardless of whether it is for 30 minutes or 3 hours.

DISREGARD THIS REVIEW AT YOUR PERIL AND EXPENSE!!!!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. THE CAMERA NEVER LIES .........

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thirtysomething2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Having read some other reviews before going away, I was quite concerned at the negative comments. Having stayed there for 7 nights, I wonder if this is the same hotel!! No complaints about the food, plenty of it, lots of salad at every meal, at least one fish dish, 2 meat dishes, lots of vegetables. How some people can say all they ate was pizza and chips is beyond me as pizza was only served twice! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the proximity to the beach was perfect, about a 2 - 3 minute walk away. Only downsides were the noise from traffic and the small pool, but we were happier spending the days at the beach as it was so close and it is beautiful. Was there with 2 teenage boys, who were more than happy playing on the X-Box when not at the beach, and a younger girl who made new friends every day splashing around in the pool. Would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tugs_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I have Just returned home from a week at the Piscis with my husband and two children aged 8 and 3. I did read some reviews about the hotel before we left but i thought if its clean and the food is ok then it should be fine...but it wasnt.
The rooms are basic but clean no real complaints about them. The location of the hotel is very good close to the beach and centre of Alcudia.
The main problems i found were: the food i have never stayed in a hotel with such a poor selection-my husband who usually eats practically anything was eating just plates of chips and bread like the kids. Anything left over from lunch was put out for tea and anything left over from that was used for lunch the next day. We ate out quite a few times,we have never had to do that before at an all incluive hotel.
The lack of entertainment,there isnt even a kids disco,nothing at all for kids. There are a few pubs next door to the hotel and every night they were full with families staying at the Piscis. The pool is in the shade most of the day and there are very few sunbeds so we went to the beach everyday. We spent a lot of money bying drinks and snacks through the day at the beach, eating out and at the pubs on a night, when you have booked an allinclusive this is not what i expected and children are not caterd for at all either with the food or entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUKE122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Look elsewhere if your looking to make the most of an all inclusive holiday. As a family with young children we mostly had to eat out because of the poor standard of food available, the menu from lunch to dinner from day to day was unchanged and really poor. Entertainment was practacally non existant forcing us to leave the hotel. The pool and lounge area is too small to cater for the size of hotel, we had to go to the beech every day. Hotel Piscis will make an all inclusive holiday very very expensive. SO PAY HEED AN AVOID.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jah6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port d'Alcudia hotels
0.1 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#11 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,479 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center by Melia Apartamentos
1.2 mi away
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
#7 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
HSM President Golf & Spa
HSM President Golf & Spa
#19 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
890 reviews
1 mi away
Alcudia Beach Aparthotel
Alcudia Beach Aparthotel
#29 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Magic Aparthotel El Lago
Magic Aparthotel El Lago
#36 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piscis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piscis

Address: Calle Teodore Carnet 41, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: £58 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piscis 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults Only cousy Hotel only 150m away from the beach of Puerto Alcudia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Piscis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piscis Hotel Puerto Alcudia
Hotel Piscis Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing