We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 4* I have stayed in but a couple of (tiny) grumbles...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was a recon trip in advance of our wedding on the island in a few months time.

The hotel is lovely. I would wholeheartedly recommend it.

Food (half board) was exceptional - a fantastic buffet - breakfast and evening. i'm not normally a buffet fan.

Room - modern and clean (a few ants when we arrived - 5th floor! - were nuked quickly and didn't return until last morning).

Location - 3 minute walk to beach. 30 minute walk to the marina.

Staff - all friendly - special mention to Garcia who was very attentive and welcoming at breakfast and dinner.

Negatives:

Both pools (one leisure by the bar and a lovely professional style pool the other side of the hotel) were freezing. Neither were heated (and others in the area are at this time of year - May).
I'm usually happy to get in a cold pool - I love the water, but according to my divers watch the water temp was 21 degrees C at best. I went in the pools twice in 8 days and the pools were empty throughout our stay until the Ironman competitors turned up in their wet suits!

Its quite a noisy hotel - the floors in the rooms are wood (or similar) which means footfall from above echoes a bit. The cleaning staff are not quiet in the early morning. If you want to miss breakfast you will know it. There was also a bit of building work going on in neighbouring properties - I put this down to preparations for the start of the high season and it wasn't too bad - only heard

Room Tip: Odd numbers get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gppowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

thank you very much for your visit and to take time to coment on us, For the noise in the hotel, I will check it carefully, for the outside noise, we can unfortunately do nothing until the works end.for the swimming pool, we do not have heated system for the pool , usually th tºc of the pool is nice, I had no complains until now but at this period it still fresh because of the weather, people have bath anyway. we look forward to welcome you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,458 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

A very good hotel that lives up to its rating. Myself and my wife stayed at the hotel between 29 April and 7 May for my 50th birthday and were very impressed. It is one of the best hotels we have stayed at if not the best. The management have a great eye for detail and this leads to happy staff and happy guests, everyone has a smile on their faces. We would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Port d'Alcudia.
Port d'Alcudia itself is a bustling resort, even this early in the season, and has a lot going for it especially the beach which goes on for miles and is spotlessly clean.
With regards to the hotel we feel we can't give it a 5 stars for one reason, and that is the noise that seems to surround the building. We arrived at the hotel at 2:15 am on the first evening after a nightmare transfer with resorthoppa(no surprises there). We were looking forward to a nice late sleep, but we were awoken at 7 am to dumper trucks, pile driving and the noise of various grinders. This added to the noise of the busy main road that runs past the hotel leads to a lot of sound. We realise that is beyond the influence of the hotel and is in no way a criticism of the hotel, but we feel that everyone should be aware of the noise before making a booking.
I want to end on a happy note by thanking the staff for presenting me with a cake and some bubbly on my 50th birthday. I was really touched and it was much appreciated.
Thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower floors have better WFI signal. The higher floors have better view of the bay.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ladydaphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

thank you very much to take time to coment on us and for your visit. first I deplore the noise because of the works of the other hotel around, we have speak with them but we can unfortunately do nothing until it end. Take note too that it is a turistic place so it is usual to have trafic on the street, anyway we are happy to see that you enjoy your stay and hope you will come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed between 3-7 May for my wifes 40th birthday. The reviews written prior to our stay were very accurate. the hotel is spotlessly clean and the amount of staff tending to the grounds and hotel itself was impressive. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff who were keen to make your stay a pleasant and relaxing one. On my wife's birthday the staff quickly arranged a cake and bottle of champagne on the house during our evening meal, then later on in the evening produced another bottle to continue the celebrations!! The beds were the best I've stayed in abroad and the double luxury sunbeds were another nice touch. Food was very good, cooked nicely and presented well. We would definitely use this hotel again! The bar staff were all friendly, fun, and helpful. In fact all the staff members are a credit to the success of this well run excellent hotel. Higher rooms are the quieter rooms. Fridge in the room was also handy.

Room Tip: Higher floor for quieter room, 505 good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cris1973445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

thank you for your visit and your nice coment, it is gratefull to see that you are happy with our services. we hope to see you soon next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A truly excellent hotel, very pleasantly surprised. Staff are world class, the hotel is pristine and clean in all areas, offering good quality food and newly refurbished bedrooms.

We spent three nights there over a weekend in May 2014 expecting to be eating out in the evenings, but there was no reason to. Restaurant wine is very reasonable and of high quality, we were recommended an 11E wine by our very helpful waiter and it was very nice, we are quite fussy about wine. Reception staff are super helpful and all speak fluent Spanish, English and German. Bedrooms are all very modern but with twin beds, but each bed is wide and able to accommodate two people.

The beach is a few minutes walk away and again is very well kept and clean. A Spar is on the way and ideal for collecting water etc. The hotel supply beach towels for a refundable 10E deposit.

The hotel also provides a dedicated secure room to store bikes and bike boxes on proper hanging hooks, very impressive if you are a cyclist.

All in all, very highly recommended.

Room Tip: As someone has said before, odd number rooms seem to get the most sun on the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PBK_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

thank yo for your visit and your nice coment, it is gratefull to heard our guest satisfied with the quality of our services. we look forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Amazing hotel, the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. We had the most amazing and unforgettable vacation in Astoria Playa. Delicious food !!!! We loved and liked everything and would like to thank the hotel staff for making our trip so beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jurgitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

thank you for your visit and your coments. it is a pleasure to see our guest enjoying their holidays with us, we look forward to welcoming you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Absolutely brilliant hotel, I felt like I had been dropped into paradise, very relaxing atmosphere with lovely comfty sunbeds. All the staff were very helpfully and also happy. The rooms were lovely cleaned everyday whilst we were there ...the food was the best I have ever had in a hotel aboard very large selection hot and tasty ... would defiantly go back . Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

thank you very much for your visit and your coments, it is pleasant to heard that you enjoy your holidays in our hotel, foods, services, rooms...all seems to be perfect for you! we hope to welcome you again next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just back from spending 10 days at this hotel and we had a great time. The hotel was fabulous with beautiful white cane furniture round the smallest pool and bar and plenty of sunbeds and parasols round both pools. The bedrooms are great with a powerful overhead shower in the bathroom....but the best thing was the bed.......the best mattress we have ever slept on....we can honestly say we did not want to get out of bed in the morning...add to that lovely pillows and every nights sleep was better than the night before. The next good thing were the staff....so friendly and helpful and nothing was ever a problem(not that we had a problem) but it is nice to have chatty friendly staff who are willing to pass the time of day and have a laugh with you. The last thing to comment on is the food....it was delicious....there was such a wide variety...my husband's favourite was the pasta chef....he chose a different type every night....my favourite was the fresh fish....but there was something for everyone..even at breakfast the choice was vast.
So all in all we both love this hotel and can honestly say we really look forward to returning....might even go up market and book a suite!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you like sun in your room then go for an odd numbered room which overlooks the small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and your coments. it is gratefull to see that you are pleased with all our services.and that you would come back. I hope to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.8 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#11 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,472 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Can Mostatxins
Hotel Can Mostatxins
#1 of 57 in Alcudia
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
183 reviews
37.8 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
34.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults

Address: Astoria s/n, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: £88 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Playa Hotel****SUP with its wonderfully modern décor both inside and out, designed with luxury and comfort in mind, is situated only 150m from the magnificent sandy beach of the Bay of Alcudia. Style and comfort flows throughout the hotel and into the gardens where you will find the swimming pools, sun terraces, Jacuzzis, and Balinese loungers. It is a perfect choice for a romantic getaway or for those who simply wish to relax. For the more active guests there are lots of local cycling and hiking routes and for the golfers there is an 18-hole course in Alcanada only 15minutes drive from the hotel. Free WIFI is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Playa Puerto Alcudia
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing