We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Hotel Hostatgeria La Victoria
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Alcudia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I would like to say that we are really enjoying this hotel!
Very nice location and service excellent! Staff is very helpful and are very much trying their outmost to make sure everybody is happy.

Only this is that their breakfast is very poor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    29
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
9
50
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cala Ratjada, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Living on the island i usually try to get away from all these tour operated resorts and try to find these small little hotels. I only had two nights here but it was definitely worth it. Situated on the tip of the mountain the place has 12 rooms, a little shack below where you check in and buy snacks + drink, this very nice woman attended us and showed us into our room. The rooms are very simple and perfect for someone who wants to disconnect. (no tv, no aircon but fans, no wifi). A few tips for future visitors: I would advise to have breakfast in the village nearby as i think the value for the breakfast was not really worth it. There is a restaurant a minute away if you wish to have dinner if not they also offer so that you can cook yourself, but buy all ingredients as they don't even store any salt or pepper. Do not park your car underneath the trees in the car park as there are wild goats and they will get on-top of your car bonnet to eat the fruit off the trees. Also do not forget your room key as from 6pm the doors are locked into the main building and will not be opened until the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mallorcantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

Driving to the Ermita de la Victoria is already a pleasure. Leaving the medieval town of Alcudia you head to a peninsula called the Cape of Pines, which divides the bay of Alcudia and the bay of Pollenca. Once you passed the village of Mal Pas and its little harbour, the road winds along the coast and offers beautiful views of Cape Formentor. After a total of some 4 kilometres, you reach a stunning remote location in the middle of a sweet smelling pine forest, 200 meters above sea level – which of course can be seen from up there. The huge parking lot caters to visitors to the chapel or the nearby restaurant. The building of the Ermita is several hundred years old but has almost a modern appearance as it is a clear cut cuboid. The lower half hosts the church whereas the 12 rooms (8 double, 4 single) are found on the two upper floors. An impressive outside staircase on the back of the building leads to the entrance. There is no lobby or reception – mind you, we are in a former cloister – but just a long corridor with a table next to the door and a window at the far end which offers a stunning view on the bay of Pollenca. Opposite the front desk is a kitchen that every guest can use off breakfast hours. I had a single room on the lower floor, where all rooms have just one tiny window of approximately 30 by 30 centimetres. But then, the rooms are very small as well – just as you would image in a monastery. Frankly, I did not mind the size of the room, where I only spent the nights. The few pieces of furniture where really nice as was the shower/bathroom. However, I can imagine that ventilation (there is just a ceiling fan) can be an issue in summer.

The whole setting and the location are amongst the best experience I had in decades of travelling. But then, I needed a quiet, remote place in the middle of nature. Thus, I was really worried when other guests told be the restaurant had a wedding party the other night, and the guests were bawling until 2:30 in the morning. Also, the fact that tourist start sneaking around at 9 in the morning can be bothersome – especially because they would love to visit the inside of the building and find it difficult to understand that you don’t want to share your breakfast, the lobby or your room with them. In the light of this, some travellers might want to avoid Friday and Saturday nights. Also, you should be aware that it’s a hostegeria, which is similar to a hostel. The reception is only staffed from breakfast time until 6 p.m. max. You don’t get shower gel, and there is no bar or anything to cater you – other than the restaurant which is 100 metres away, and I’ve heard that the paella is good, but the view appears to be the best the place has to offer (btw. it’s closed on Mondays). The good thing is, you can buy some gambas, tapas or a steak and some potatoes in Alcudia and prepare your own dinner in the kitchen. You can be sure that some other guests (the place draws a nice clientele) have the same idea, and it is sooo nice to sit outside this old church in the middle of the night and get drunk with travellers from Germany, Great Britain, Switzerland or even Spain. It’s great that chairs and tables stand outside (on the staircase) so guests will naturally mingle as they sit outside while others return home. Sitting there in the evening, you will watch wild goats strolling around and bats hunting in the night, and listen to all kinds of birds and insects. Apart from that, it’s really quiet when there are no tourists or locals chatting in front of the church or on the parking lot (even in the late evening…).

The Ermita is a great starting point to hike on the peninsula or discover the whole Northern/Northeastern part of the island. The staff I met spoke only few words of English or German. Breakfast costs a couple of Euros extra and is quite good. A variety of Spanish sausages, ham, cheese and toast. The jam and the sweets where all packaged which I think is a drag nowadays. All together: A perfect location, basic yet good accommodation, extremely good price. Given this mixture, the little flaws take away only one point off the maximum rating. The hotel forms part of a small private chain of hotels, which also runs the Santuario de Sant Salvador, another hostel in a former monastery.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanDiversity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We found this address on the magazine "Geo Saison" and phoned already in January to book the suggested room with view on the sea (room Murta); despite being very well in advance we were told that the room was not available but that we would have received a similar one. When we arrived we received instead a room with view on the adjacent parking (thus with cars instead of sea; is the concept of similarity culturally based?). We complained immediately with however no results (the complainig was difficult due to the fact that the receptionist spoke only Spanish). We do not go into the details of our staying (no wardrobe, noise, bad breakfast) because we have seen similar experiences already well described. The hotel is cheap considering the high Mallorquins prices, the quality/price ratio not really convincing. For us once is enough.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank HeiRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port d'Alcudia hotels

UK
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

A stay at the Petit Hotel Hostatgeria La Victoria could be delightful or it could be rather a disappointment. It depends which room you get.

Beautiful setting
=============

La Victoria is a small chapel up in the hills on the promontory six km east of Alcudia. The hotel, which has 12 rooms, is on two floors above the chapel. The view from the top floor facing west over the bay to Puerto Pollensa is spectacular. Unfortunately, only two of the rooms have this view.

A narrow winding road with a steep drop down to the sea takes you up to the hotel. Nervous drivers might not be comfortable with the route as you sometimes have to stop to edge past cars coming the other way and on two hairpin bends you have to change down to first gear because it’s so steep.

There are no staff at the hotel after 6pm so if you arrive after that time, as we did, the hotel’s door key and your room key are under the plant pot.

The chapel’s main west door opens on to a square, dotted with trees and bounded by a low wall, beyond which is a marvellous view through the pine trees over the bay. High above the door is carved the date 1694. Being set on a hill, wide steps take you up by the side of the chapel to the back of the building. At this point you are about 30 feet (10m) above the ground level down at the front. More steps then take you up to the entrance to the hotel, where a small terrace has four tables that are used for breakfast. At this point you are about 50 feet (16m) above the front ground level.

Large wooden double doors open onto an elegant hall, which runs the full length of the building and has a large window at the far end overlooking the view, with two stylish chairs either side of the window. (A picture on the hotel website shows this.) The upper floor also has a wide hallway running the full length of the building, this time with a smaller window at the end but with a better view because it looks out above the trees rather than through them. There are three rooms on either side of each hallway, making six on each floor. The two next to the end window on the upper floor are the only ones with a view looking out over the sea.

Some rooms have tiny windows
=========================

The rooms are quite austere – no air conditioning, television, telephone, bath or wardrobe – but our bed was comfortable and the shower was fine. Our room also had only one small chest with four drawers each about 1ft wide x 3 ins deep (30x8cm) – not enough for two people’s clothes. It was only at the end of the stay, checking for lost items under the bed, that I found a storage box on wheels under the bed. The rooms are quite small, too; barely room to open suitcases on the floor if you haven’t found the box under the bed to store your clothes. Our room did have bedside tables, though our daughter’s single room didn’t. And we had one wooden upright chair.

None of this austerity would matter, you would think, when you have such a spectacular outlook. However, the key problem with the hotel is that while the rooms on the upper floor have medium sized windows, letting in plenty of light, the rooms on the lower floor have just one tiny window measuring about 10ins x 18ins (25x45cm) and none of these look out towards the sea. (See picture with three of these windows a third of the way down the building.) These are evidently former monks’ cells and they look like it.

On the north side of the building, where we had a room, so little light comes through the window that it’s scarcely possible to read without electric light even in the middle of the day. The hotel’s website doesn’t mention or show the tiny windows on the lower floor. The only rooms shown are the ones with normal sized windows on the upper floor.

The size of the window also means there’s little ventilation. Our room was around 27C all the time during the July week we spent there. The two-foot (60cm) thick walls mean that the temperature in the building changes slowly. Whether it was 18C at night or 35C during the day, our room stayed at 27C. The electric fan made little difference to the temperature. The thick walls also make it almost impossible to reach the window to lean out and get a view of anything outside.

If you’re a recently released prisoner suffering from agoraphobia you might like these rooms. Or perhaps you might like it if you’re seeking ecclesiastical surroundings for a few days of quiet contemplation. But even in the latter case, the hotel might not suit you. The lady who makes the breakfast, and later cleans the rooms, turns on a loud poor quality portable radio playing strident Spanish pop music when she arrives at 0800 and later switches on the television for the afternoon. Religious devotions might be a little difficult with such a background.

You can’t book a specific room
========================

You may say that the answer to getting a nice room is to request one in advance. We thought this, too. We requested a view in writing on our internet booking and we subsequently phoned up to confirm whether it would be possible to have a room with a good view. We were told this would be fine and were told the names of the rooms – Mata and Romani. Each room has a name rather than a number. I’ll list them later with their locations within the hotel.

However, when we arrived, instead of the two rooms on the upper floor with normal sized windows, overlooking the hills (not the sea, admittedly) which we had been told we would have, we had two rooms on the lower floor where all the rooms have tiny windows and none look out towards the sea. We asked to change to the ones we had been originally allocated but were told this was not possible.

It’s not clear why it was not possible to change, as people vacated the rooms we should have had while we were there and we could have moved rooms then. However, the breakfast/cleaning lady told us that it was not possible to reserve specific rooms. (There are no other staff – we spoke to the management by phone and they also said we couldn’t change rooms.) All a bit confusing since we had been told the names of our rooms over the phone previously. Our guess is that the two best rooms are block booked by a travel agent and that if you book on the internet you will automatically be given one of the remaining rooms on the lower floor that the agent doesn’t want to use. If this isn’t the reason it’s hard to think of another plausible explanation. In the absence of any other explanation, it’s probably best to avoid internet booking and phone directly – they speak good English.

On balance, if you can get one of the two rooms with the view, it will be delightful. Probably any of the rooms on the upper floor will be acceptable. But the six rooms on the lower floor, particularly on the north side are best avoided. Since it seems they don’t let you reserve specific rooms in advance, you could consider a one or two-night booking to see what you get and perhaps stay longer if you get a good room.

The room names are as follows.
Upper floor, south – Alzina (view over sea), Romani (view over hills), Mata (view over hills).
Upper floor, north – Murta (view over sea), Morera, Pi.
Lower floor, (all tiny windows) south – Aritja, Lledoner, Ruda.
Lower floor, (all tiny windows) north – Xuclamel, Aloc, Ullastre.

Food
====

The hotel serves breakfast between 0830 and 1030. It was eight euros each when we were there. Since they didn’t have any fresh croissants or bakery items the day we tried breakfast – only supermarket sliced bread – or fresh fruit apart from watermelon it didn’t seem worth while and we skipped breakfast after the first day. Cooked meats seemed plentiful, though – salami and suchlike. Some days we drove the three km down the hill to the nearest café for breakfast, where they did have fresh croissants and their Mallorcan equivalent, which, with coffee, was less than half the price.

Outside the hours of 0800 to 1100, the kitchen is available for use by guests and a refrigerator is set aside for their food. The kitchen table seats about eight or you can eat food on the terrace where each of the four tables seats four people.

A little further up the hill, perhaps 50-100 metres, the neighbouring restaurant is reached by a succession of slopes and steps, through trees and bushes. It has a magnificent view across the bay from its large terrace.

Housekeeping
============

On our first night, our double bed had a single-size sheet which wasn’t big enough to cover the top of the mattress, let alone tuck into the side. Naturally, you end up lying on the bare mattress when the sheet is too small and there’s nothing to secure it. As there are no staff there after 1800 there was nothing we could do about this for the first night.

But the next day, we asked for the sheet to be changed. We also asked for a broken lightbulb in a bedside light to be replaced. The sheet was changed for the second night but the lightbulb was never replaced during the whole week.

Miscellaneous
============

For the first part of our stay there was a party of around 60 children aged around nine staying in what looked like a community hall behind the hotel. (This and the restaurant are the only other buildings in the area.) One of the other guests complained of being kept awake by the children still running around at midnight, screaming and shouting. Northern Europeans may not always be sympathetic to the sleep pattern of southern Spain. The children were up at 0730, running around the outside of the hotel. But there was no sign of them during the afternoon – I would guess it was their siesta time and they didn’t reappear until around 1700.

Summary
========

If you get one of the two rooms with a view, if you’re not wakened by the maid’s radio in the hall and if your visit doesn’t coincide with holidaying nine-year-olds rushing around at midnight, then this hotel could provide a spectacular if austere holiday. On the other hand if you get one of the rooms with the tiny fortress-style windows, you may want to limit your stay to one or two nights. I’d guess that avoiding internet booking might help get a decent room. Just phone them direct.

  • Liked — Marvellous views outside the hotel
  • Disliked — Tiny fortress-like windows in half the rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MisterMicawber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrésy, France
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2007

This hotel is an old hermitage above a chapel. It is very simple and service is minimal. After 6 pm there are no staff and one has to lock & unlock the front door with one's own key! The rooms are small and very basic. There is a tiny window, natural stone walls, beams on the ceiling, a bed and a chest of drawers. There isn't even a wardrobe. No television either, although there is a small public sitting area if you really can't do without. The compact shower room has plenty of really hot water and the shower pressure is excellent. What this hotel lacks in facilities it more than makes up for in charm. There is an excellent breakfast buffet with local products such as sobressada which you can either eat round a table with other guests inside or outside on the terrace. Outside of breakfast times guests are allowed to use the kitchen to prepare their own meals. There is a restaurant with no connection to the hotel just a few metres away up some steps. Just a word of warning - this hotel is completely unsuited to the handicapped as access is via steep stone steps and some form of personal transport is necessary as it is 6km from the nearest town, Alcudia.

  • Liked — Charm, peace & splendid isolation
  • Disliked — Having to lock/unlock front door when no staff around
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tradeform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ca'n Pere
Hotel Ca'n Pere
#40 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Som Far
Hotel Som Far
#24 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
87 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
#29 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Prinsotel Mal Pas
Prinsotel Mal Pas
#39 of 56 in Alcudia
83 reviews
3.1 mi away
Can Tem
Can Tem
#38 of 56 in Alcudia
75 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#9 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Hotel Hostatgeria La Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel Hostatgeria La Victoria

Property: Petit Hotel Hostatgeria La Victoria
Address: C/ Cap del Pinar | Ermita de la Victoria, 7400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Hotel Hostatgeria La Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Hotel Hostatgeria La Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Hotel Puerto Alcudia
Petit Hotel Hostatgeria La Victoria Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing