We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to its brochure blurb and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

As I said it lived up to its brochure blurb, which isn't always the case. Cleanliness far outweighed any other hotel we've stayed in...even the pool loos were spotless! Rooms were good size and we could even get the free wifi in our room as we were 1st floor facinng the entrance and reception. TV had all the 5 English channels. Food was very good and service in the restaurant was A1. Little things make all the difference and being served a large pot of coffee instead of the tedious back and forth to the coffee machine at breakfast was fantastic! Freshly cooked grills and the "healthy" counter together with the great waiter service and the meet and greet by the restaurant manager or his deputy made it feel more like a 5* than a 4* hotel. Ellen, the Thompson rep was very helpful and the waiter service in the concert lounge was brilliant, even though we were all inclusive. Tips were gratefully received but never treated as expected. There are just too many good things about this hotel to list them all. Even alternate dining experiences though we were quite happy with the on site restaurant and didn't fancy queing at 8am to book the others.

Room Tip: The rooms looking out to the entrance square have sun all day on their balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinawill20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Recently returned from sa coma playa, with my husband and 9 year old, wanted a hotel that suited us all, we stayed half board deciding we didnt want to stay at hotel all the time, glad we did this loads for breakfast and dinner didnt really need lunch, and if you were all inclusive you had to have lunch in main restaurent not the terrace.
if you are are bigger family then all inclusive is probadly better.
rooms lovely refurbished excellant air conditioning, showers great.
sa coma is abit shabby, typical shops and cafes,, but cala bona lovely worth a visit and lunch in the many harbourside restaurants, .
Back to hotel review,entertainment not good and generally finished by 1015,hope this improves by next year in fact the kings head had far better entertainment!

only gripe couldnt believe people were putting towels on sunbeds by 7am, the hotel does nothing about this, so in the end you end up resorting to same devious behavior, then some beds stayed empty all day!
the hotel could do with having spare stack of beds somewhere , as its horrible if you walking around looking for a bed.
The water park was great, excellant value if you are all inclusive, very clean excellent food.
Lots to do bikes etc , but shooting archery only if you are 16 and over
Didnt use spa, but all looked lovely..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexiHantsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your constructive comments. We look foward to welcoming you again in the future. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Sa Coma Playa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks with my husband and our elderly parents, 2 of which had mobility scooters due to their impaired mobility.
The staff assistance in the hotel was brilliant, from the reception staff who were always most helpful and obliging, the restaurant staff were absolutely out of this world, we had the best ever service, the restaurant manager always kept our same table and our usual wine was waiting for us every night and we were always greeted into the restaurant by warm, friendly staff.
The pool area was lovely and clean and plenty of sunbeds and parasols to go round, The bar area was pleasant although we weren't over impressed with the evening entertainment acts and visited other places with better acts at night.
The rooms were very modern and spacious and cleaned daily by friendly staff. The bathrooms were untra modern and very clean and the balcony was very spacious also.
The area of Sa Coma itself is very clean and very flat, which was good for us because of the mobility scooters but the pavements lacked ramps and there were not many lowered curbs for wheelchair access.
The food quality in the buffet restaurant was very good and plenty of it.
We would definitely go back again and recommend this hotel to anyone but if you are a young couple looking for "lively" then this area would probably not be to your taste as it is definitely, (thank goodness) a Magaluf!
A big thank you to all the hotel staff and in particular the restaurant manager Yosef?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poodlehead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thank you for your comments. We will pass on your kind words to the staff and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our family of 3 adults stayed at this hotel after seeing bad reviews on here were very sceptical of staying here but we are so glad we stayed it was brilliant and believe me we are very fussy ! The waiters and restaurant staff were so polite, helpful and nothing was a trouble to them. The management were visable at all times ensuring standards were maintaned.They were more than helpful and were contiunously ensuring customer satisfaction. The food was of a high quality and was always a good selection of food to choose from to meet any ones taste. The cleanliness of the rooms was of the highest standard and were spacious and comfortable. The pool area was clean with more than enough seating and no just your standard sun loungers. The all inclusive alcohol is of a high standard not watered down like in many hotels. I cannot express how much we liked this hotel and we plan on returning year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imagewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you were very pleased with your stay and look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

It goes to show that it can be done. And Protur do it remarkably well at the Sa Coma Playa. We stayed for 10 nights on All Inclusive, having booked direct with the hotel (always best I find to forget the agents).

It was our first trip to Majorca - we were always hesitant at the prospect of being surrounded by British Pubs, Restaurants and Holidaymakers; why go abroad for that when it's all so plentiful here !

While the small town of Sa Coma didn't do much for us (we preferred to head to Cala Millor), the Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa certainly did. Populated mainly by German tourists with a smattering of Brits, it was an ideal holiday haven.

Hotel
Incredibly clean and bright. Very well looked after. Contrary to a comment from a previous reviewer, we found the whole complex very secure and free from "incomers".

Rooms
Very spacious and nicely furnished. Lovely shower.

Food
Very good quality buffet-style meals. I'm sure the usual moaners could find fault, but we were very happy with the incredible range and style of dishes. Anyone who's not impressed, best to stay at home.

Staff
Without exception, professional helpful and friendly. The managers who station themselves at the entrance to the restaurant do an incredible job.

Facilities
Great swimming pools (especially the smaller one to the front of the hotel). Brilliant tennis courts, bikes for free hire, minigolf etc.

All in all, the Sa Coma Play was fantastic for us and the All Inclusive basis gave tremendous value for money. We highly recommend and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C4R4V3LL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear that you had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Just back from a wonderful 11 nights in this hotel with my 15 year old daughter. Nervous about our safety as first time away on our own. No need, every part of our holiday went trouble free. Hotel beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, plenty space in room. Staff cannot do enough for you, especially the management. Very quiet, we were on the 2nd floor, at the back of the hotel. Food very good and plenty of choice. Pool area lovely. Entertainment cheesy! Sporting facilities suited us well. We stayed close to the hotel but did take a walk into the resort, very typical holiday shops...hard to spend our money on anything decent. Perfect for what we wanted.

Room Tip: E mailked Thomson who put my request in to be on a high floor, as was concerned about safety of low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holidaygirl2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We're not long back from this hotel, staying 11nights from 5th July. We booked the hotel directly rather than with Thomsons as this meant we could book one of their gorgeous suites rather than just a twin room, to accomodate my husband, teenage daughter and myself.
Check in was very quick and efficient, almost seemed to quick as we were in such awe of the hotel reception that it took time to take it all in. Once we worked out how to get to our room on the 3rd floor, we opened the door to have all 3 of our jaws drop! This room is absolutely gorgeous and I believe that each and every other room is decorated in the same manner and style (my mother in law was also staying here in a twin room and hers was just as gorgeous). As you walk in, there is an extremely large bathroom to the left, this is decorated and styled very modern, just exactly what we love. The bathroom was in two halves, witht he first area being the sink and large mirror, large vanity unit with drawers to keep things and to the other side a large jacuzzi bath. Through a door way (no door) is a toilet, bidet and a very very large walk in shower, which has a large monsoon shower head as well as a hand held power shower, all I can say is - wow!! This is better than many hotels in the UK, and well worth it's 4 starts, if not another one!
To the right of the way in we had a large walk in wardrobe/dressing room. This has a long rail with as manay hangers as you could need, loads of shelves and drawers for all your things as well as a seat, plenty space to store your luggage and the safe (which has to be paid for at reception).
The next area is the living area of the suite, this already had the sofa pulled out and the bed made for my daughter. This was a large room, with an extra comfy seat and a coffee table. The mini bar is fully stocked in here and there is a large glass patio door leading out to the balcony. The final area of the room is the bedroom. This is entered by two large sliding doors from the living area and we were greeted by the biggest bed we have ever seen in our lives! It was well made and the decor of the whole room was gorgeous. There was a mirror, dressing table with a stool and drawer as well as a good sized flat screen telly, which had plenty UK channels, should you want to keep up with the soaps, or otherwise. There was another large patio door leading out to the other half of the patio - this was double the size of the regular rooms and had 2 lounger seats, 2 armchairs and table on it. Stunning view out towards the sea, and we could see the larger pool and the road leading up tot he hotel which had some shops on it.
Room perfect - until night time unfortunately. There was a bit of hustle and bustle noise from the street at night, also we were above the kitchen area of the restaurant and there would be a constant motor noise which you could hear when the doors were shut. We also heard the bin men at nights, which wasn't too bad if you are not an early sleeper, but some nights you just need to get to bed early and this didn't help. A few nights there was noise from the other hotels, they seemed to have outdoor entertainment, which went on til about 11pm - not a big problem, but again if you wanted to sleep early it was noisy. Don't be shocked if you are woken at 6am (or earlier) either as there is a family of hens that wander round the hotel and the cockerel likes ot hear the sound of his own voice very early in the morning. Al this room needs to improve on this would be better glazing in the windows so that it sound proofs, then I would have called it perfect.
The room was cleaned daily, I think they change the bed clothes every few days and will change the towels if you need them changed. We didn't have any tea making facilities (and MIL did), so my husband asked at reception and apparently you only get this when you book through Thomson, and it is an outside company that comes in to supply these. We were willing to pay for it, but the receptionist told him she would ask around the cleaners and see if they had a spare kettle in a cupboard that we could have. We didn't hold up much hope, but when we came back we had a full tray with everything we needed, and weren't charged for this.
The hotel has 2 pools, although we never went near the large pool at all. It did look very busy at times and we expected a bit noisier than the smaller pool round the other side of the hotel. This pool was perfect, always easy to get a bed and really nice and peaceful most of the time. It was very clean and very well looked after and the lifeguard does a patrol of it every so often.
The food was a buffet service. I think at first you go in with a bit of caution as you don't know what some of it is, but as time passes you become more confident at what you are getting. We tried to book at the Italian a couple of times, but had no luck at all. This is something that really needs to be looked at. My husband went down to reception at 7.15am on our second last day to try and fit the 5 of us in to the Italian. The reception don't take bookings until 8am, and then everyone just starts forming a queue. My husband was about 4th in the queue and really thought he had a chance. 1st people booked a table for 6, 2nd booked for 4 and the person in front was a 2. By the time he got there he was told there was only a table for 2 left. I am very surprised that this hotel only has an allocation of 14 seats at the Italian restaurant, and this really really needs to be dealt with. There should be a direct booking service with the restaurant where you can call to book for whatever night you want, not just the same day you book. It is very unfair that a gorup of people staying for 11 nights, who tried to get a table at least 7 of those mornings don't manage to get one. It's very badly run and I do hope they make some changes to this. We did however, get a table at the Country Grill one night. This is over at the Safari Park Hotel and is basically a BBQ buffet. But the best bit about this meal was that the drink was self service and you could take as much as you liked. There was Lager, White, Red & Rose Wine and all the soft drinks and water. We really enjoyed this meal and went back a second time, however this wasn't as good this time and there was much more queuing, so I guess it just depends what day you pick and how busy the hotel is. Back to the buffet in the restaurant, it was very nice. Maybe a little samey some nights, but always a lot of choice and very fresh food. I'm not sure i'd want to be AI as the buffet lunch looked very similar to the evening meal.
Evenings are quiet and there is entertainment in the bar, which was always full, but we were quite happy to get a drink eithe rout at the pool bar or just take one to one of the comfy sofa's in reception (this meant my daughter could use the free wifi on her ipod, so kept her happy)
Sa Coma itself is a bit boring after a few days as there's not much to see really. All the shops are selling much the same thing, but don't let that put you off as you can head to Cala Millor which is probably walkable, although we took the Badia Express Road Train through and this is a much bigger place with much more restaurants, and very very long and gorgeous beach and many many shops. Had we known, we may have gone there earlier and as it was we only went in our second week, and didn't want to go again too soon.
The beach in Sa Coma is very pretty, the sea is a gorgeous colour and it is quite busy. The day we chose to go turned out to be our one morning of cloud and to be honest it was a bit of a dull place to be, but with the sun out, it was perfectly good.
Supermarket wise, there is a small Spar just across the road from the hotel, this has most things you could need including lovely fresh baked bread and croissants. If you need a larger supermarket there is the Eroski, this is a bit like an Asda, it has clothes, toys, gardening stuff along with all the usual groceries. It is on a main road on the way in to Sa Coma and if you walk round by the road it can be a bit of a walk, but luckily we worked out there was a shortcut up the side of the Safari Park hotel, this meant it was no more than 5 mins walk.
The staff I cannot fault at all, they were always very pleasant and smiley. They seem to work very very long hours and practically every day too. And I was extra surprised by a complimentary bottle of 'champagne' left in our room on the 2nd night from Chej, the manager, who I had asked a few questions via Facebook before we left and had left me a note to say this was as promised on Facebook. I never expected this at all, and I was really happy he had bothered to do it.
Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday, I would love to come back to this hotel, although would probably make more effort to find trips to other resorts to fill my days. If the hotel could be moved to a perfect location (and they could get rid of the slight noise issue and the restaurant booking process) then I would class this as a dream holiday.

Sorry for the very long review, I like to paint the picture as best I can for people who are unsure and hopefully there may be some tips in there that can help you enjoy it as much as I did.

p.s. - I should say that my MIL's room was just as beautiful as ours although a little smaller of course, they had a ground floor room with a terrace that came straight out to a grassy area which was right beside the small pool. They also didn't have any complaints of outside noise, so perhaps having a room round this side is more peaceful and it's possibly something we'd look into if we do get to go back.

Thanks for reading, hope it helps :-)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can afford it - it's so worth it! Possibly try for a room round other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank magfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

We thank you for having taken the time and trouble to write such a detailed review that we are sure will be very useful to other holidaymakers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 28 in Sa Coma
1,049 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 28 in Sa Coma
393 reviews
32.6 mi away
Ona Cala Pi Club Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Eucaliptus, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £103 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel And Spa
Sa Coma Playa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing