We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Amazing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed for 14 nights, a family of 6 adults and 1 child (aged 7) and had a fantastic holiday. The hotel was modern, beautifully presented and very clean. Our rooms had everything we could possibly need : comfortable beds, pristine decor and furnishings, fridge with free minibar (we were all inclusive) which was restocked daily, kettle with tea, coffee and milk, black out lining to curtains, lovely balcony with clothes drying rail and 2 chairs and table, flat screen tv with British channels, luxury bathroom with large shower area, hairdryer etc.

The food was excellent. If you are all inclusive you eat in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and evening meal, not in the eating area next to the pool. All drinks including cocktails and a selection of the ice creams are included (ice creams such as mars, kit kat and all ice lollies are not included in the all inclusive). This was disappointing as our daughter wanted iced lollies and not ice creams so we had to pay for these. Breakfast was cooked and continental with champagne, all tastes were catered for. Lunch was cooked or cold salads and meats, plus each day the chef prepared something fresh to order eg omlette, toasted sandwich, savoury crepe. Also full choice of deserts and fresh fruit, cheese and biscuits. Evening meal offered full salad bar with cold fish and meats, breads, olives, cheese. Several hot dishes with sides to suit all tastes, freshly prepared stirfry made to order by show chef every night, fish and meats cooked fresh on the grill continuously. Lovely deserts, chocolate fountain every night with fresh fruit and profiteroles, ice cream and fresh fruit and yogurts. Cakes were served in the afternoon and sandwiches at 23.00 for all inclusive guests.

The pool was warm, clean, plenty of sun beds at all times of the day. Beach 15 min walk away proved too much in the heat for us with bags, inflatables etc!!

Staff were all friendly and helpful, couldn't fault any of them. Chocolate was even left on our pillows on our final night! The hotel manager Chej was always present and nothing was too much trouble.

We went to the La Reserva waterpark which was 9 euros each (all inclusive rate) all food and drink included, pool bar in the water which was very nice, my daughter loved the day there.

The evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss, we enjoyed some of the shows but others were poor particularly the dire straits tribute band which were shocking!! we enjoyed going into cala millor (4-5 euros in taxi) and cala bona (8-10 euros in taxi). Both had childrens play parks with bouncy castles, trampolines, motorised cars on tracks which took a 1 euro coin etc. They also had lots of bars and shops (most of which were very touristy, not many authentic spanish goods to buy) but still nice for a look.

All in all a fantastic holiday and we can't wait to return. It would be hard to beat this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beverley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just returned from our second visit, and felt as well looked after and comfortable as on our first. All staff, from management down, are attentive, polite, and obviously enjoy their work .Rooms are extremely comfortable and housekeeping is carried out to a high standard, as it is to all areas. Food was exceptional with plenty of choice for all tastes. Bar staff never stop working, and always have a smile.
The whole area around the hotel has plenty of play areas and a small animal park to keep the children happy.
Can't wait to return.
One small observation, wife and daughter in law think that a baby changing unit would be handy, if fitted in the ladies or disabled toilet.

Room Tip: all rooms appear to be of the same high standard, never heard moans or complaints of any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billygibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I really should only give the hotel a one star so to keep this place a secret but that would be unfair on the management and his hard working staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they go out of the way to make your stay a memorable one. From the excellent standard of food(recommend the asador) and the quality of drinks on offer (main brands served) to the rooms which are modern and kept to a high standard can not find any faults with the Protur Sa Coma.
If you want a relaxing enjoyable holiday then this is the place to go for a top class stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cblan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We booked a last minute week away to the Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa at the end of June 2012. We were looking for high quality rooms, good food and a safe environment for our two small children to play. This is exactly what this hotel offers.

The area of Sa Coma is similar to many tourist resorts. There are lots of hotels catering for mainly British and German tourists with the typical English pubs and Irish bars dotted around the shops selling inflatable beach toys and towels. As a result it lacks old fashioned Spanish Charm and is not really to our taste but there really isn't any need to leave the hotel!

The Hotel is part of a group of three hotels, Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel and Spa (4 star and well deserved), The Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa (5 star and from what we saw well deserved) and the Protur Safari Park Aparthotel (4 star but from what we saw should be a 3 star at best).

The Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel and Spa offers brilliant well equipped rooms. We stayed in a standard room which was definitely large enough for our family (2 adults and 2 children aged 4 and 2). There was plenty of storage and the bathrooms were very large with bath tub and separate shower cubicle. The beds were comfortable but could have been a little softer. The blackout curtains were very effective, our kids are usually early risers but we had to wake them up for breakfast! The air conditioning was also very good.

The staff were fantastic. Paco especially was a real star, he should set up his own company teaching hotel staff and waiters about how service should be! The Deputy Manager Chej was also fantastic. He really helped to make our stay a memorable one. Considering he was a waiter there just 6 years ago we would imagine he will be a director next year. He should be very proud of the way he runs this fantastic hotel. The hotels entertainment team were also great and put on a mini disco every night which our kids loved (8.30-9pm).

We went all inclusive which we would recommend. From what we could work out there is only one hour of the day where food was unavailable! The buffet restaurant was good but I think any more than a week of it would be boring.

Breakfast was great, there was a good choice available from typical cooked English breakfast, cereals and pastries to the Majorcan corner serving up dishes from the island (The little Cornish pasty looking thing with peas in was great). The pancakes cooked to order with the crispy bacon won it for us though.

Lunch was a little repetitive but still a good selection of food with a live cooked to order option.

Dinner again had a good selection of dishes. There was a different dish cooked live each night, usually grilled meat or fish which obviously tasted better that the food which had been sitting under lights for a while.

There are however other options. We dined out in Es Moli D'en Bou Tomeu Caldentey, the Michelin star restaurant twice and found it to be excellent. Definitely worth treating yourself whilst you are there. We also dined in Asian which is located in The Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa. This was some of the best Japanese we have had anywhere in the world.

The evening entertainment was generally very good especially the magic act who performed on Tuesday evening. The entertainment ran from 9.30 - 11.30 every evening following the mini disco. All music was turned right down or off at midnight and despite being in room 003 just across the path from the main bar we didn't hear a thing beyond 12.

We used the Spa once whilst we were there. It was very nice but despite the 50% discount thought 14 Euros was a little steep. My wife had a treatment which she thought was great.

We booked everything separately booking the room directly with the hotel via there website and found it to be the cheapest way to go. Flights through Easyjet and transfers through www.holidaytaxis.com. (Thompson may be cheaper if you book well in advance?).

Suggestions to the management. 1, Install a small water slide for toddlers in the pool. 2, offer guests free entry to the Spa on their first visit. 3 – Give Paco a promotion.

Excellent Hotel, Excellent Staff, some Excellent food but average area.

Final word - Thank you Chej!

Room Tip: Lower Floors have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just really needed to write this review, It has been the best holiday to date. The staff at the hotel were so friendly at all time and made our trip so enjoyable. The hotel was so clean and very modern our room was lovely with great views of the pool room number 213. I was really nervous about going away because we were taking our 18 month year old for her first holiday abroad but there was no need we all loved the hotel and will be returning 100% one day. If you book this hotel you will not be disappointed No bad points just one amazing holiday. ;-)

Room Tip: 213 Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dom21_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We went as a family of 8 people and baby jack (6 months). All age ranges.
We had a brilliant time. Lovely rooms and the warmest pool we have ever been in.
The management couldn't do enough for us, and greeted us everyday with a smile.
The food was exceptional. Freshly cooked if you wanted it. or buffet style. We would certainly go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 471VALERIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. We had a fantastic time. The hotel was totally refurbished in 2011 so all of the surroundings were to a high standard. The staff were all very friendly and I found that their communication skills were all to a good standard. Christine was an English receptionist and very helpful. The hotel and grounds were all clean and well maintained. The rooms were very modern, spacious and the oversized shower was heavenly. We were in room 117 which was pool facing and one of the rooms next to the road. I've read other reviews which say that there was road noise (so was a bit sceptical when were we first went to our room). To be honest, we didn't notice the noise at all. The pool area was a nice size and well spread out. There were plenty of sunbeds. Some people did put their towels on the beds to reserve them, but this wasn't a problem - as there were lots of free sunbeds throughout the day. We went out of the school holiday season though - so this may change when the school holidays start. There are some 4 poster bed style shaded areas by the pool. We didn't use them, but they would be ideal for people with young children who want to keep them out of the sun or want to let them have a little sleep. The bar area was always very clean and comfortable and there was a shaded sofa area attached to the bar, where you could go to enjoy a drink, some food or just soak up the atmosphere. The food was very good in the restaurant. We always found something that we enjoyed. I'd say that breakfast was our most enjoyable meal. We were lucky enough to go to the Michelin star restaurant and Taitticlub (champagne bar). The food and experience was one which will stay with us for a long time. The evening entertainment was to a high standard. I enjoyed the irish dancers, magic show, singers etc.
Our holiday was a "kids free" holiday - so very relaxing for us. There were a small number of children in the hotel, mostly toddlers - all very well behaved. I would say this hotel is ideal for anyone. We had a very enjoyable "couple" holiday, but enjoyed it so much, that we have rebooked again to go in August - this time with our children and grandparents.
Chej the manager was a real asset to the hotel. He was very friendly with everyone. Speaking to everyone in their varied languages and being fun to be around with the children in the hotel. He always had a smile on his face and nothing was ever too much trouble. He made time to talk to everyone and was always visible around the hotel. He showed us around the various rooms - so that we could decide which type of room we may require on our returning visit. Chej answered all my numerous questions (and I had a lot!) and gave me good information about the various packages and what things were available for the children etc.
The location of the hotel is very good. It's only a few minutes to the beach. The beach itself is beautiful - just pure sand and sea.
All in all - fantastic hotel and great location. I will definitely be recommending it to all my family and friends and can't wait to back In August!

Room Tip: Ask questions to find out how to get the most out of your holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pjanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 28 in Sa Coma
1,049 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 28 in Sa Coma
393 reviews
32.6 mi away
Ona Cala Pi Club Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Eucaliptus, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £103 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel And Spa
Sa Coma Playa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing