We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our third stay at the Sa Coma Playa, and it remains as good as ever.

This time, we had a swim up room, with access to a pool shared by 10 rooms. It was almost like having the privacy of a villa with all the facilities of a hotel. The rooms are excellent: clean, good air conditioning, good tv channels, etc

We used the spa once, and wished we'd had time to use it more. The spa pool is huge, with a range of jets, etc.

The staff in the hotel are the best we've had when compared with other hotels we have stayed in, some of them being 5 star.

We stayed at the same time as the recent reviewer 'Average hotel', and I don't recognise most of the Bad points noted. We didn't arrive at the pool until about 9:30 am each day, one day not arriving until after 11am. We managed to get 4 loungers and a parasol each day and had a choice.

We ate in the restaurant around 8pm each night and there were always tables available and very few, if any, queues.

I thought the location was fine. It's not on the beach, but is a 10 minute walk one way to Sa Coma and 15/20 minutes to Cala Millor, both routes on pavements. There is a dusty nature reserve with access to the beach, but that's not the route to take. The club house is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel - we used it very day for tennis, paddle and cycling. These activities are all free and there is no charge for equipment hire.

The Wifi is still poor, with very slow download speeds. That's the only criticism I have of the hotel.

All in all, another great holiday and I'm sure we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaytraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
There are newer reviews for Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked this hotel based on reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel was first class - very clean, spacious and excellent customer services. We booked a suite 2 adults, 2 children and an18 month old baby. It was the biggest room we have stayed in abroad. There is firstly a dressing room which took the pram, clothes suitcases etc so the room was uncluttered. There was a spacious bathroom with a massive shower and jacuzzi bath. The children's beds were very comfy as was the super king bed in our room with a separate cot for the baby. The balcony again was large and also had sun loungers. The mini bar was stocked up daily and we got a paper daily in the room so we found we were not spending much money buying crisps, papers and juice for kids as it was already in the room.
The food was excellent, especially breakfast where omelettes were made to order and there was delicious freshly made pancakes. The lunch and dinners were also great and there was a very good choice each evening.
The kids also loved the mini club ran by Protur. They went to the Protur farm, mini golf and the kids water park to name a few and were keen to go each morning. Aurora who ran this was excellent with the children.
The free bike hire was also good and the pools at the hotel were always clean and the kids loved them.
All in all it was an excellent holiday and definitely the best hotel we have stayed at so far :)

Room Tip: We went for the suite and the extra space was worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tower343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have a long held view that any holiday accommodation/hotel lives or dies by the quality of their staff. If you stay at the most amazing modern hotel and are greeted by miserable or rude staff you will not have a good experience. The Sa Coma Playa does not need to worry about this.

The hotel is modern and very clean. It surprised us to find out that the hotel has been operating for 25 years because everything feels fresh and new. All the areas are well maintained and the rooms are fresh and modern. We booked a suite which I would recommend as it gives you the best experience.

We stayed at the Safari Park which is next door, two years ago and the Sa Coma Playa struck us as just being a step above. We were right - but apart from the modern, clean hotel what made this so special were the staff.

Jose Carlos who runs the restaurant is extremely professional and very dedicated to service. I have always believed that client service is very important and he exemplifies this. But the other members of staff make a huge contribution. Paloma greeted us in the restaurant on our first day (we arrived at 21:30 shattered) and she made sure we were well looked after. Aina looked after us on our last day and had a friendly smile and a beautiful demeanour. Rafa served us in the bar and was friendly with the kids and professional with us. I take my hat off to all the staff especially those named here as they really made this our best family holiday to date.

We are already planning our next holiday to Majorca and will definitely be staying at this amazing hotel. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Congratulations Sa Coma Playa!

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you can.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmbianceVIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My family and I spent a week at the Sa Coma Playa, from 23rd July.

#Bad points
Pool area
Restaurant
Location
Club House
Thomson Rep
WiFi

Pool Area
The main thing about the hotel was there was no shade around the pool, and unless you got your towel down before the crack of dawn and claimed your sunbed and umbrella you had no chance, in fact it may have been the worst hotel for it I have stayed in, so much so I asked at reception and the Thomson Rep if there was any thing that can be done and they both shrugged their shoulders.

Restaurant
The queues at the restaurant were really bad and you had to wait a long time for everyone else to select their food,

Location
The hotel is a long walk to the beach, either through a dusty track or across a very busy road.

Club House
The Club House was quite a bit away from the hotel and this distance must have turned people off joining in the the group events.

Thomson Rep
The Rep was occasionally at the hotel and although she was not unpleasant her manner left you feeling she was not overly interested in you and your holiday, maybe a little customer relation training is needed.

WiFi
Despite reports that the hotel had an upgrade to the WiFi it was very difficult to pick-up a signal away from reception in your room.

#Good points
Rooms
Food
Aircon
Range of free activities

Rooms
The rooms were smart and tidy.

Food
The food in the restaurant was very good with a wide selection to suit everyone.

Aircon
The aircon in the rooms worked very well.

Club House
The range of activities in the Club House was very good with most of them being free.

Despite the bad points mentioned above my family had a nice holiday at this resort. Many people have already posted how wonderful it is, though having stayed at many hotels around the med I would put this one as average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

24th. July 2013. This was our 12th. stay at this hotel, we love it so much. The staff are very pleasant and can`t be faulted on service, advice, helpfulness etc. We were so pleased that they had won a couple of awards in 2013 (Trip-advisor and HolidayCheck.com). The pool areas and lounges are kept impeccably clean as is the well-run dining room. Queuing was never a problem for us (round about 8 o`clock dinner time) although the serving areas can become busy at this time. But......what can you expect at peak season in a hotel which is so popular that occupation is at maximum. Apart from that, the turn around time to reset a table (always fresh white linen after every guest) was less that 3 mins ! A huge effort is always made to cater for differing nationalities and tastes including fresh food and plenty fruit. We found that, if the entertainment wasn`t to our liking.... a 20 yard walk to the sister hotels of Vista Badia or Safari Park enabled us to find something. Although we always visit in early June or September, business dictated that it would have to be July this year and we found the weather at that time just a little too hot. Special mention for the two senior managers who always find time to speak to all the guests and are usually on first name terms as much as possible. Mature couple from Scotland

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILLnJUNEScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel is great for families we travelled with our Son Daughter in Law and Grandaughter - we wouldn't have chosen this type of vacation if traveling alone.
The hotel is run really well and the staff every one of them are fantastic - nothing is too much trouble, It's also very clean.
The hotel is situated on a huge complex with so much to do. There is a nice beach about 15 minutes away there are also plenty of buses to get on to the next couple of resorts one day we got a bus to Cala Bona €1.85 each and came back by catamaran €10 each.
We were all inclusive so they had no objections to us taking wine in as they only provide one brand of wine themselves but I guess if you we're half board this wouldn't be acceptable.
The hotel provides beach towels which they ask for a €15 deposit for so be careful as we lost one - it's easy done as someone can make a mistake and pick yours up.
The lunchtime menu is a bit limited but we always managed to find something - food is replenished frequently.
The only criticism we would have is that the entertainment was really awful most nights this is why I've not rated this a five.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the main pool which was great
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EastendersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Blown away by the people working here. Fantastic and very personal service made us able to really relax and enjoy our first holiday with our baby. The hotel is a good 4/5 star standard, certainly well worth the price we paid (£2200 for 14 nights HB for 2 adults and a baby). I love my food, my wife's fussy, and we were both more than happy with the choice, quality and quantity of breakfast and dinner in the hotel every night. There's a Chinese stir fry station, a grill with different fresh fish and meat being cooked, loads of varied local and international hot dishes, a large and varied salad / appetisers bar, and a huge selection of desserts and cheeses to enjoy. Breakfast is great too with a choice of fresh fruits, fresh pastries, cereal, a fry up, pancakes, Juices etc. You really can't complain.
The facilities are good on site, 2 outdoor pools, a pool side cafe/bar, a large residents/entertainments bar, and an indoor pool and gym. Town is a short stroll away and the beach about a 10 min walk but well worth it as it's very clean and shallow for a hood 50m or so.
Top tip would be to avoid the local spar for groceries...the main supermarket (tesco superstore size) is only 15 min walk away and less than half the price. Also I'd recommend the pool bar for lunches...cheaper and much better quality than when going into town.
Really enjoyed this place...would go back again and I don't say that lightly. Fantastic staff make this place the best on the island in my opinion. Chez, Paco and Jesus are stars...they care and it shows.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sg197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#8 of 29 in Sa Coma
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
20.9 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Eucaliptus, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £100 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel And Spa
Sa Coma Playa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing