We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even consider going to this hotel - Part 2.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

If you read our previous review you will know what we thought of this hotel in 2012.

We tried to keep this little gem to ourselves (as you can see from the title) but we failed miserably and people just keep booking, there will be no room for us shortly.

We visited for the second time in October 2013, and as we all know most second visits don't always meet up with expectations, but this can't be said of the Sa Coma Playa, it felt like we had never been away, even the management and staff were the same.

We were greeted like old friends by various members of Management and staff who remembered us from last year, even met quite a few returning guests from the previous year, doesn't this speak volumes.

Chej one of the managers, was not working on the day we arrived. When he came into the dining room on our second day he immediately greeted us at our table and asked if we were pleased with our room. We said the only thing that would make it better was a sun bed on the balcony as my wife is disabled. His immediate reaction - "There will be sun beds on your balcony when you have finished your dinner" and guess what, when we were leaving the dining room at 10.00 pm Chej said "sun beds are on your balcony" and they were.

Juan the other manager even remembered that it had rained the previous year when we had visited a show and his family had been there, I know it doesn't rain that much in Spain but this was ridiculous, what sort of memory do these managers have.

Miguel in the bar (who we consider to be a mini Chej in the making) was exceptionally kind, friendly and helpful especially to my wife who struggles to walk, again nothing was too much trouble he is just brilliant.

Yet again, cleanliness cannot be faulted, service cannot be faulted, food cannot be faulted, we are starting to get boring now but that's just how good it is, and we give full credit for this to the atmosphere created by the 'Brilliant' management and staff.

From Chej, the figure head, to Juan, the engine, (as we all know, all ships need a figure head and an engine and these two do this superbly) you can not buy this with a pay check, only with commitment to be the best. Chej and Juan make a fabulous combination both work seamlessly together with obvious loyalty and respect for all their team who work with them (not for them). Both of them seem totally at ease and happy to contribute to any aspect of the smooth running of this well oiled machine.

The entire experience of excellence, fostered throughout the unit, from top to bottom, showing loyalty, respect and commitment to their guests, it doesn’t get any better than this.

We even looked at the 5 star out of curiosity, as we were looking to book the playa for 2014 and the 5 star was showing at a cheaper price. The Gran 5* had no atmosphere, it was cold and clinical and definitely not for us - even at a cheaper price
if you wish to say you have stayed in a 5* (this would be OK) if you want a fabulous holiday with great atmosphere, a staff who’s only aim is to please you go and see Juan and Chej and their team.

We have to say Sa Coma is not the prettiest location in the world (the beach has been improved for 2013) we have stayed but it is within easy distance of more lively towns. Having said that, the hotel and the complexes around it make up for it, these hotels are suitable for everyone

Go and try for yourself, but please make sure you leave us a room for 2 weeks in October EVERY year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank sheldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
There are newer reviews for Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a fantastic few days here at the end of October. This was not our first visit and, as on previous occasions, we were not disappointed. There are several things that make this hotel stand out and have led us to return many times. First and foremost are the staff who, without exception, are welcoming, friendly and work hard to make sure guests have a great time. Special mention must go to the managers, Chej and Juan, who provide an almost constant presence and who set the tone for the rest of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and we have always felt that they really do care about providing fantastic service.

The hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere, from the bedrooms to the public areas and the pool area.

The restaurant offers a wide choice and, as one of our party has coeliac disease, special dietary arrangements were made and the chef couldn't have been more helpful in pointing out which foods were suitable and offering to cook special dishes.

I have no doubt that we will return next year - and the following year as well!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

stayed at this hotel from 23rd oct to 2nd nov and the weather was great, the hotel was excellent the cleanliness of this hotel was first class and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely each had its own balcony,the food was excellent and the choices that were available was for everyone i cant say enough good things about this hotel i would recommend this to anyone and i have every intention of going back well done thompson this was a great deal.

Room Tip: the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are great the showers are big and good for the disabled.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed between 26/10/13 and 31/10/13. I had been diagnosed with Coeliac's disease earlier in the year , on contacting the hotel they were fully aware on my needs, they provided separate foods at breakfast and in the evening they got the chef out to take me round all the dishes to confirm what I could eat.
No provision for coeliacs at the pool bar but I was able to eat my own food there with no problem. The managers Chej and Juan were brilliant, the long serving staff a delight. We cannot fault this hotel, well worth another visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are larger
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Protur Sa Coma 26/10 to 2/11 which was the last full week of the season. All I can say is the hotel is suberb , food excellent , service excellent ect ect. We really couldnt fault the hotel in any way. The resort was very quiet as expected but Cala Millor & Cala Bona easily reached and they were a little busier. Visited the spa on the one afternoon of poor weather ( the weather was superb apart from 1 day ) the spa was buy 1 get 1 free entrance so was well worth the 23 eu entrance for the two of us.
We visited the Safari Park which was ok , mini golf , free bike hire is great as we could cycle to Cala Bona along the seafront cycle path.
All in all this is about the best hotel we have stayed in.
If you are thinking about booking - go ahead !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlanTHull_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a super way to end our cruise...we stayed for 4 nights at the end of October '13, and it surely lived upto all expectations and beyond! From the excellent food to the friendly staff and not forgeting the free mini fridge in the room (much to our childrens delight). Everything was so clean and modern and certainly has tempted us back for a return visit.....Room 305...excellent view of the poolside and sun all day.....and the size of the bed was enormous :-)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking main pool have sun all day !!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Another relaxing week (mid Oct 13) My husband and I stayed in this hotel as we have done for the last two years. Having emailed ahead we had the same suite as last time and we were welcomed by a bottle of fizz and some lovely prepared fruit – yummy. We think it would be nice to have dressing gowns in the suites though.

All the old staff members seemed to be there (and a few guests from previous years as well!) and welcomed us back: they are all so friendly and hard working. The manager, Chej, was, as ever, a star and looked after us brilliantly.

A pity that the Michelin starred restaurant is no longer connected to the hotel but a session in the spa and a meal at the 5* hotel next door more than made up for that!

We pretty much agree with most of the other reviews. Internet wi-fi coverage is patchy and really only practical in the lobby area. I am sure we will be back in the future

Room Tip: pool facing rooms get the sun for most of the day
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elphinstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#8 of 29 in Sa Coma
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
20.9 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Eucaliptus, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £101 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel And Spa
Sa Coma Playa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing