We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel! Going back next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Just spent 10 nights at the Protur Sa Coma Playa hotel and had a fantastic time. We travelled with Thomson and the only thing not delivered was the refurbished rooms (it looked like only part of the hotel had been refurbished so far), but still comfortable rooms cleaned every day.
Great staff, great relaxed atmosphere and magnificent food in the buffet restaurant (fresh fish, meats, fruits, cheeses etc). We didn't feel the need to try the other restaurants within the resort! The pools areas are clean and attractive, and not too busy this year! Easy to get loungers.
The evening entertainment was fine and a good variety (the Friday night band Sonor were particularly good).

As a resort, Sa Coma is not really busy, many supermarkets and restaurants/cafes along the main road (we found the Atlantis was great for lunches).

We booked a car and saw parts of the West of Mallorca - scenery is superb in the mountains. Many trips are available from the Thomson rep too.

One thing worth mentioning is that Protur hotels have their own Protur Cars hire firm with an office in Sa Coma (Thomson weren't aware of this and booked us a car to pick up in Cala Millor!)

Altogether a great relaxing stay and a hotel which we would very much recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjh1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

This is our third trip to this hotel and the reason we keep coming back is we have such a wonderful time.Since our last trip in 2007 the hotel has been partially revamped.The bedrooms have been upgraded and so has the pool area and pool restaurant. Speaking to the manager it is being closed again this winter to revamp the reception area and the ballroom.What I really like about this hotel is the food is brilliant.The entertainment in the evening is good the staff are so helpful and always have a smile on their faces.We have a 13 yr old son and he made a group of friends within hours.The clientele are from various countries and they all mix together so no one country seems to dominate this hotel .Sun Beds are a big talking point when you go to a hotel ,but I can say you can go down to the pool at 11am and there are still some sunbeds left and if not staff will bring more out.If you want to .If you want to save a sun bed then no getting up at 6am.I went down at 9am most mornings and had my pick. There is a good kids club for younger kids and a mini disco in the evening for them .Adult entertainment starts about 9.30pm.This year I met some wonderul people and all our children got on so well .We saw a lot of people from previous years and everyone I spoke to on their first visit were full of praise for the hotel.The only down point is the resort itself not very interesting purpose built for the tourist but if you are quite happy to stay in the hotel keep the kids happy and enjoy the good food and entertainment then this is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaAmershamBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Sa coma playa is a really good venue for a holiday, we have a 7 year old but prefer a quieter holiday. This was ideal, the kids still had fun but it wasn't over populated with loud children. The hotel also provided you with a plastic card (bit like a credit card) so everytime you buy a drink or ice lolly etc. you hand in your card a pay at the end of the holiday, really useful, no need to carry money around the resort.

Our room was really nice... recently refurbished, classed as a superior room, really comfortable and stylish.

The ONLY ONE complaint is that it advertised all the different restuarants, which is one of the reasons we chose that hotel, what it doesn't tell you is that you need to get up at the crack of dawn and walk up to the club house and stand in a long queue to get into the Italian, I tried on 2 occassions and gave up! Complained to the thompson rep who wasn't overly helpful, wanted myself and the other guests who complained to come up with an alternative solution.

The mini supermarket across the road is really expensive... if you turn right onto the main road and walk a couple of hundred yards you will come to a hypermarket which has a greater variety and is far cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liverbird67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Myself and my husband took our 23 month old daughter to the Sa Coma Playa and had a fab time !
I agree with most reviewers that the decor needed updating and when we first arrived didn't think it was worthy of 4 stars, however I soon changed my mind.
The food was excellent we had both delicious breakfasts and dinners. The pool and surrounding areas were clean and well presented.
We went to the waterpark twice and with food and drink on tap, was excellent value!
We have just booked up again to return this August.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Hotel rooms were basic but clean, food was good, but entertainment at night wasn't up to much over 14 nights it was good about 3 or 4 times when they hired in some acts but the german reps were hopeless and they were on at least every second night. We had a reasonable room but there was a lot of noise from above like a fan running or something like that so had my ear plugs in to sleep after the beer sleep had worn off. The all inclusive beer was very weak in alcohol and after a few days you longed for a decent pint. The all inclusive wine was cheap crap. Sa coma resort is pretty dead with only a handful of pubs with entertainment at night. it was about 4 euros a drink in the outside pubs so you are lookinh at £4 a pint now due to the euro exchange rate. I wouldn't go to sa coma again as it was too quiet for me.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kingmunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Not bad but could be better.Due for refurb. in winter. Dated building, pool area not cleaned regularly sunbed cushions dirty ,rest of building cleaned daily maids cleaned room every day.All staff nice and polite,food good choice buffet style in main restaurant Evening shows ok .In a group of hotels.The surrounding streets are not brilliant usual bars just along the way with plasmas for footy fans i also saw some motor racing on !he Sa coma beach was better than i expected busy but most of the sea is clear blue and the sand is finer than the neighbouring cala millor bona resorts.The Biomar is next door which we visited daily.Pools are fantastic {5 Star Hotel} it is new so was virtually empty. If you go dont disrespect the facilities as it is very wellkept. We ate in one of their restaurants one evening, the food was lovely, not cheap but excellent service, go if you want a nice quiet 5 star meal.Back to the Sa coma playa ,it was ok but not a 4 star as Thomson rated it more a 3 but refurb. should bring it up to that level.Transfer is about an hour from airport . We enjoyed our week but would look for better accomodation next time.Not bad for £425 each though.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChopsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We booked a family suite for 2 adults & 2 kids through Thomson Platinum for 1 week. We had to book it early as the family suites are snapped up quickly so didn't get any discount.
ROOM (Rm 383) - Corner suite so it had 3 balconies knocked into one from which you could see the far end of the main pool over the roof of the bar. Near the end of a corridor so no through traffic or lifts. Noise from the bar was never too loud as to keep us awake & was always over by 23.30. It had a separate bedroom with 2 single beds & a lounge with 3 fold away beds (2 chairs & settee.) It also a had a bathroom with 2 sinks (ideal with having 2 kids) which led to a separate toilet & bath with shower. There was also a large walk-in wardrobe which my wife found fantastic. Apart from dated furniture & a few stains on the carpet the room was clean & serviced every day. We moved the contents of the mini bar around & manage to fit in 2 x 1 ltr bottles which we topped up from large bottles of water bought at the nearby supermarket. There are limited English channels on the TV 1 sport, 1 news, BBC 1, 2 & 3.
Room safe 2 Euro/day + 5 Euro returnable deposit
Mini Bar - Keep it locked if you've got kids and visit cheaper supermarket
HOTEL - We were half board & meals were buffet style taken in the main restaurant. There was always plenty to choose from & you could eat as much as you could carry. We all ate hearty breakfasts which lasted us throught till dinner at 7pm. Staff in the restaurant were polite & friendly but when it came to leaving that's when it all fell apart. When we checked in we were given a charge card to pay for drinks/snacks& used this to pay for the drinks with our evening meals. At the start the staff were very attentive but towards the end of our stay the staff were blatently ignoring us & serving other tables. On our last night I had to get up & catch a waiter near the till thrusting our bill at her after sitting at the table for 15 mins being ignored. We were going the leave a substancial tip for the staff who served us during the week but thought otherwise at the end.
There are 2 pools but we only used the small one with the kids play area situated to the left of the main access road up to the hotel. There were plenty of sun loungers but a shortage of sun parasols. If you like a good tan you'll be ok, if not then either get up early with your beach towels or wait until after 2pm when people start to move away & the shadier spots become free. All communal area clean & reception staff very helpful.
As a guest you have use of the facilities at the other nearby Protur hotels. We used the small play park with electric cars & the mini golf. Cars are 1 Euro for 2 mins, golf was free. Both of these are behind the Safari hotel. When we went to use them I was gobsmacked at the sheer number of people crammed into a small area around the pool at that hotel. Sun loungers everywhere, 8 rows deep from the pool in places. I wouldn't stop there even if I won a stay.
There was also a Hotel Club house where you could book activities separate from the tour operator. Our eldest who is 12 wanted to try golf, diving, archery, snorkeling & shooting but couldn't due to the age restrictions. You had to be 14yrs to do the majority of the activities even golf ! but pistol shooting is 12yrs ?
We only saw 1 half of an act and were so impressed we never stayed for second half or any others. Only went for kids face painting then quickly left
LOCATION - One end of Sa Coma beach is opposite the hotel and can be reached down a track. My wife had been told all these wonderful stories about a great beach but I don't agree. Yes it's nice and scenic but the sand is littered with cigarette ends and rubbish. There is very little in the way of sun protection on the beach and I could not find any showers to rinse off sand/salt. There is an Eroski supermarket about 10 mins walk from hotel which was much cheaper than closer shops.
TOUR OPERATOR - Thomson rep for hotel was new & very elusive over the weekend we arrived (left to book a massage after welcome meeting promising to return & not seen again for 2 days.) Had to go to second welcome meeting to get kids registered for kids club & full details of excursions. The Thomson kids club was situated in the grounds of the dreaded Safari hotel & by the time we found a rep to get eldest booked in he went twice before we left.
Went on 1 trip with thomson to Marineland & we all enjoyed it. Sea lion/Dolphin display great. Parrot show very funny. If going take beach towel & cozzies. There is a very small beach & water play area in the park. Don't go on combined Marineland & Katmandu trip there were complaints of people missing shows and being pushed for time on our trip. The Platinum lounge at the hotel is part of the reception area & open to everyone, far from exclusive.
SUMMARY - The hotel was as good as the Copthorne we stopped in recently and we have not been to another Platinum hotel to compare standards but I think The hype made by Thomson about this being an exclusive top of the range hotel is pushing it a bit. The kids enjoyed the play park and the pool after I got up at 8am and went down with me towels ! We are trying to book another stay already as my wife wants to go again for longer to get a better tan. For me it was expensive at £2,800 & I can take it or leave it but would go back with family as there was nothing really bad about the place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,044 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#6 of 29 in Sa Coma
392 reviews
20.9 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Globales Bouganvilla
Globales Bouganvilla
#13 of 29 in Sa Coma
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Eucaliptus, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £98 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel And Spa
Sa Coma Playa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing