We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The people staying at the hotel made our holiday!!!”
Review of Som Siurell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Som Siurell
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The people staying at the hotel made our holiday!!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I have just returned from 10 nights at The Paraiso and feel a little guilty only giving it an average rating and would not like to put anyone off staying here, I just think you have to know all the facts first to make an informed decision.

Firstly, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are all very friendly and accommodating, the location is superb and although the choice of food is plentiful and all well cooked, it does get a little 'samey' after 10 days and the combinations are sometimes strange.

The pool is small but there are plenty of sun loungers on several levels and a smaller shallower pool for children. Again it is spotlessly clean.

The rooms aren't small but they aren't exactly what I call spacious as maybe some others have done, I have stayed in larger 'family' rooms, however if there are only 2 of you then they would be more than ample as there is a separate bedroom and lounge area with a walk through kitchenette between the two, again, there is more than enough apparatus there to enable you to do some light meals should you want to, those who want an oven need to get out a little more and sample some of the restaurants, who on earth wants to cook whilst on holiday?

The only grip, myself and everyone else in the hotel had (who was staying at the same time as us anyway!) was the entertainment or lack of it, the girl who runs it is lovely, don't get me wrong but I feel she isn't really cut out for the job bless her, she probably does have limited resources but even so I feel there could be a little more effort put in! I have two children (Aimee, 4 and Ethan, 2, who everyone would know had they been there at the same time as us!) and on the first day she sat down and did some painting with them for about an hour which they loved, however after that there seemed to be nothing during the day at all, it doesn't take a lot to amuse young children so even if they painted every day they would have been happy. There was an entertainment programme advertised on the board every day which included things like Darts, Killer Pool etc. yet none of it ever materialised! The kids did enjoy the mini disco but again this was the same few songs every evening, a little variety wouldn't have gone amiss, if I hear Chi Chi Wa or Humzumzum again I think I'll scream, lol. There was one act which for a hotel was good, it was billed as an acrobatics display but was more martial arts/magic and they were entertaining, apart from that though we either had bingo or quizzes, in fact we had the same music quiz twice whist there, again there are plenty of quizzes on the internet and it wouldn't have hurt to shake things up a little! There was supposed to be a clown show one evening but it was cancelled 15 mins after it should have started and another night everything was cancelled as the lady running the entertainment was apparently in hospital although she made a miraculous recovery for the next morning? Again we weren't told, it was only as I asked about the mini disco (the highlight of my kids evening) that we were told the entertainment was cancelled.

The thing that made our holiday was the people we met and the staff at the hotel and if any of the following people are reading this then THANK YOU all so much, the couple from North Wales, the twins from Yorkshire, the couple from Yorkshire who recommended a special book to me, the couple from Edgware Road, the family from Nottingham and the family from Oxford.

I would also like to thank all the staff at the hotel for making an effort for my Daughters Birthday, they gave her a piggybank wrapped up beautifully and decorated the table at dinner.

So, in summary, if you are a couple in your late 50's plus and are looking for a spotlessly clean hotel, are happy to book on a room only or bed & breakfast basis and eat in the plethora of restaurants in the area, want somewhere close to the beach, with a clean pool, in a quiet location but near to local bus routes to Palma, S'Illot, Cala Millor, Cala Bono etc. and aren't fussed out evening entertainment then this hotel is 110% perfect, however if you have children who need amusing (for you to get a minutes rest) then this is NOT the hotel for you.

As I said before, I can't really find anything at fault, it just wasn't the best choice for us, next year we will be sticking to First Choice Hoilday Villages which have tonnes for children to do during the day, that said, we still had a fantastic time and met some lovely people so I don't regret it at all, everyone wants something different and this just wasn't our ideal but you live and learn!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KirstyMarkAimeeEthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    49
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
116
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Having just returned from a 10nt holiday at this hotel with my mum I can say that it is truly worthy of all the good reviews. I was a bit sceptical before arrival but any doubts were quickly eradicated.

The room was really comfortable with good facilities for self catering including a microwave, toaster, kettle and hobs – it didn’t have an oven but I don’t go on holiday to cook and it would have been unbearable to have an oven on with the heat. The living space is very comfortable and the air conditioning works well (we were given 2 room keys on check in so kept one in the electricy slot to keep the air con on constantly) and is self controlled.

The hotel has entertainment most nights from 9:30 to 10:30 but doesn’t disturb you if you want a quiet night in your room. The hotel next door also has entertainment that you can hear but that starts and finishes earlier than the Paraiso.

The pool is quite small but perfectly adequate even with the odd person who didn’t read the welcome pack saying no inflatables and there are plenty of sunbeds available at all times of the day

There are plenty of supermarkets around and each of them has something different. The Hotel bar offers a good choice of snacks and drinks at reasonable prices.

Kenna’s bar is good for food but did lack atmosphere in the evenings if you’re just looking for somewhere to go for a drink. We found the Britannia Bar best for the evenings and they had some brilliant tribute acts esp the Rod Stewart and Jersey Boys nights.

All in all it was a brilliant holiday and I would go back in a heartbeat, I can’t recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea and pool views but the higher you go the better you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexx70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I am an experienced traveller and chose these apartments due to the good reviews already received, however, I can honestly say how amazed I am at the amount of good reviews this place receives?

Pros - good location (close to beach and shops) and could always get a sunbed by the pool if required. Bedroom and Sitting room pretty comfy and tidy.

Cons - kitchens and bathrooms were extremely tired and not altogether clean, I couldn't even touch the microwave. How you can you do full self catering with no oven? Plus no shops within walking distance where you could buy frozen food to actually cook, plus salad veg etc not of a good quality in any of the local shops.
Extremely noisy - there is entertainment outside the hotel each night at the pool, but coupled with this there is also entertainment at the hotel behind - both these combined make it impossible to even hear the tv in the apartment, yet alone get young children too sleep.

The lifts in the hotel are also hit and miss so be careful if you have walking difficulties. We didnt go all inclusive so couldn't comment on the food in the restaurant but did have a snack one evening from the bar - we ordered chicken cesar salad - which came without a dressing and the chicken was really thin and tough (overcooked) so we didn't eat there again - the manager actually provided us with some complimentary fresh melon himself when he saw the state of the meals we had been served.

Sa Coma is a nice resort with a lovely beach but choose another hotel to stay at please if you are planning on going.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cathyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the 3rd time can never fault it friendly staff. Very clean. SC facilities are really good. The beach 2 mins away. Would recomend this hotel for a nice break. Weather was really hot so the pool was used a lot which is nice and clean could always get a sunbed which are comfy (not like some you get at other hotels) We ate out as we were self catering but if we wanted you could upgrade to all inclusive daily

Room Tip: All Rooms have a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

When we first arrived atThe Hipotel Paraiso Apartments, we were a little underwhelmed as the entrance is in a side road and seems quite bland and we glimpsed the pool and thought it looked really small. BUT once we checked in - we cannot really find any fault with this aparthotel. Two families stayed for 10 days and we have children aged between 12 and 17. The hotel is really clean - the staff work tirelessly to make sure everywhere is spotless.
The apartments are large and we found the beds really comfortable and the rooms spacious - the kitchen facilities, if you needed them, had everything you could need.The rooms are also really clean.
The staff are all really friendly and the service is exceptional - we needed help with a couple of things to do with our journey home and Mario was amazing.All the staff work as a team and cannot do enough for you.
The food was lovely with lots of choice for an all inclusive. The restaurant staff again work so hard.
Our kids met kids of a similar age and a lot of people return year after year. We felt we were able to give our kids freedom in a safe environment.
The animation lady - Ania - was lovely - the entertainment is failrly limited but that didn't bother us really as we didn't want to be hassled all the time to join in.
The pool is completely adequate for what we needed and you can always get a sun bed. People do put their towels out early but there are still beds/umbrellas if you go down to the poll around 9 ish.
The beach is just across the road and is blue flag - really lovely. It can be windy as it is the east of the island but that was nice on very hot days! There are sister hotels near by if you want more action that you can use too.We definitely plan to return and would recommend this holiday.

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea and pool view as there are only 70. I would choose an upper floor room but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

we stayed at these apartments from the 26th aug to the 6th of september. We were given a room on the 4th floor facing the pool, our room was an average size, the walls are very thin and you can clearly hear your neighbours talking, laughing and moving chairs, taps running which can get very annoying. The rooms have a TV, air con (which you cant control its controlled by the hotel, not very cold, there's a kitchenette with kettle, microwave, fridge/freezer etc.. there is also no locks on the toilet or bedroom doors. The lifts are quiet small, only for maximum 3 people, eating at the restaurant you need 80 euros for a family of 4 per night, dinner only! The pool could have more sunbeds around it rather than tables and chairs to accompany the 175 people who may want to use the pool, there is only about 40 chairs but lots of space - if you want to go to the pool early afternoon you would be very lucky to get any chairs and people do leave their towels on them. There is no entertainment there and can be very dull at night.

The island itself is very nice with its sandy beach (about 5 min walk from the apartments) and lovely blue sea, there is loads of shops just as short walk away however it is very expensive to buy gifts, clothes and souvenirs etc. all the shops are the same - rip off! The restaurants have some entertainment at night 1 or 2 have a different tribute at each night (quite good) difficult to find rice to eat - strange for Spain! also be ware of children riding electric scooters on pavements - I don't know how this is allowed or legal but be careful it can be very dangerous. The weather on the first few days we arrived was lovely however quite windy, in late Aug early sept the weather was awful, we came for 10 days and 4 were dreadful NO sun and it rained which was a shame, overall a nice holiday but i would definatley not come to Majorca again in late august or September.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank az1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just got back from a weeks holiday. My partner and I stayed at the Paraiso in a one bed SC apartment. The hotel was really clean, our apartment was clean and spacious. The SC facilities were really good. The fridge was a good size which came in handy for storing large amounts of Sangria and San Miguel :-) The resort itself was really relaxing. The beach which was beautiful was a 2 min walk from the hotel.

If you are looking for a relaxing time away this is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rallydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sa Coma hotels
2.2 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#8 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#18 of 29 in Sa Coma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Som Siurell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Som Siurell

Property: Som Siurell
Address: Calle Dalia 10, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Som Siurell 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Som Siurell is a 3 star aparthotel located in the Majorcan town of Sa Coma, only 100 metres away from the beach. It has 75 fully equipped apartments and is the perfect place for enjoying holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Som Siurell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Paraiso Apartments Hotel Sa Coma
Hipotels Paraiso Apartments Sa Coma
Paraiso Apartments
Som Siurell Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing