We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel double books!”
Review of Som Siurell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Som Siurell
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel double books!”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We have just returned from our second stay at Paraiso and it is a really lovely place,hence visiting twice. I agree with all the good comments written by others, and have graded fairly. We invited our children with their friends (17 - 21 years) this year as we liked it so much. We booked two apartments 7 months before. But rather than booking through Thomsons, i saved £1000 by booking seperate flights and accommodation. However, like some other reviewers, on arrival I was also told that the two apartments id booked were not available and that i would be accommodated in Calla Millor! Not even the same resort. Luckily,I had read previous reviews, and although never believing this would happen to me, I was very ready to stand my ground, even though i found it very distressing after hours travelling. Two rooms miraculously appeared along with two bottles of complimentary wine! The staff were all really helpful after this incident and we had an enjoyable stay. But, unfortunately, because of this we will not be returning again. I would say to anyone else in the same situation, if you havent booked through Thomsons and are told on your arival that there are no rooms, just stand your ground because there will be rooms that they obviously save for Thomson guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    59
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
127
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

OK, short and sweet.......double booked us despite the fact we had booked 7 months ago. Sent us to another hotel (which we deliberately hadn't booked because it wasn't what we wanted) at 7 PM having travelled 8 hrs with a 5 and 7 year old and told us we could come back at 1.30 the next day, ruining the first and second day of 7 day holiday. this happened to at least 6 other families that we know about in just that one week, all booked with Travel Republic, whilst families who ahd booked 1 week ago with Thomson had been given our rooms. The great Santino we had been reading about in all the reviews was rude and so NOT an entertainer. The entertainment was atrocious...drunken karaoke outside you room until 12.15 am, pool polo with the blokes every day monopolising the pool so you coudn't get in, the only children's entertainment, a mini disco was cancelled on 3 occasions, the most atrocious singers I've ever heard who couldn't hit a note if it slapped them in the face...........the sorry list is endless.
The pool is extremely small and not suitable for young children as it is 1.2 meters deep at its shallowest.. Unless you get up at 6 am every morning you cannot get a sunbed near the pool or with a parasol as these are reserved every day by fag smoking, tatooed, sun readers , sometimes before they go to bed, and the hotel does nothing to stop this. the food is poor at best, and I have never seen leftover chips and garlic mushrooms served at breakfast before and never wish to again.
Sa Coma is dull and simply a street of tat shops. the only saving grace is the beach which is lovely, but 2 sunbeds and a parasol will set you back 13.50 euros even at 4 pm!
The staff, Antonia, Maika, Gabriel in particular are lovely, but nothing they can do will compensate for the utter disappointment and frustration we felt at being told they had no room for us and sending us elsewhere. This happened to other families at 3 am incidentally.
All in all, we will never recommend Hipotels or the Paraiso to anyone and would not contemplate returning there if it were the last hotel on earth. Travel Republic were completely hopeless and did absolutely nothing to help. We will never use them again or recommend them either. As far as we know, all the other displaced families were with travel Republic also.
CONCLUSION: Book the Paraiso/use Travel Republic at your peril. You have been warned!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Whole heartedly agree with comments by Eb-kev.
Avoid the Spar supermarkets and take a 10 min walk to the Eroski Hypermarket where the prices are 50% cheaper and they sell everything!
If planning to visit the Caves of Drach - take the bus rather than booking an excursion - at €4.90 each way for three of us (15 min ride), we saved over €40.
The reception staff (Micheala and Antonia) are extremely helpful and the cleaning staff are on the go all day.
Usual sun-bed scenario - we were waiting for our coach to return to Palma airport at 6.30am and people were out putting towels on the beds!.
Evening entertainment finished by midnight which suited us - if you want to party until the early hours this is not the place for you!
Would not return next year as we want to go somewhere different, but would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OharaKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We have just returned from Hotel Paraiso and feeling sad we have left such a lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean, warm friendly staff and only 2 mins from the beach. We couldn't get our children, 9 and 7, to leave the hotel because of their love of the pool and friends they met. Santino is the star of the show with Jakkalo (kind of skittles games) at 9.45am, rifle shooting and water polo which is a huge hit. Some of the evening entertainers they bring in are not the greatest but it's all good fun. We went half board - something we have never done before - and was more than pleased with the choice. Ate so much - and the waitress was lovely. This is not our usual style of holiday - but more than happy with our choice. Beach is fantastic for young children with shallow water and some space for bat and ball etc. The shops, bars and restaurants in Sa Coma are okay but don't expect an authentic Spanish experience - they cater largely for the many British and German families that visit. I would agree with someone else who said they look a little tired. Overall though, Sa Coma is a great place for families and we would definitely recommend Paraiso.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eb-kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Second time at Sa Coma, first time at Paraiso Apartments. No stranger to Balearics. Can only say I was pleased with my choice. Rooms are spotless, staff are polite and friendly, Ate in the hotel three times no complaints. My only problem with the whole of the hotel was the pool sunbeds. There should be a time when towels are allowed on them or staff will remove them. The get a life guys and there were a lot of them, were up at 6.00 am most days to lay stake on the beds. It became a bit of the joke. Apart from that the beach is across the road. Loads of beds and parasols there costing 4.60 Euros a day. Plenty of shops and restaurants on the road or if you want more English food go nearer the town area. The supermarkets are all Spar and can be quite expensive. If you fancy a little walk go the Eroski hypermarket its so much cheaper. All in all a fantastic place and well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cags28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

These apartments are fantastic. Staff very friendly and go out of their way to help you with anything` Very clean. Pool area spotless and pool just the right size. Entertainment organiser Santino is one in a million he makes everyone feel special always so full of enthusiasm. My girls just loved him, and of course the lovely waiters. Would recommend to anyone. Will certainly return next year if possible.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

After reading various positive reviews before booking our holiday at the Paraiso, our expectations were high. I am pleased to say that our choice was fully justified.

The hotel is located a short distance from an excellent sandy beach ideal for children, although crowded mid July. The pool is small with a compact landscaped area surrounded with sunbeds. A roof terrace has further sunbeds however there were insufficient parasols for all guests.

Although the hotel dates back to the mid 80's. It has has been refurbished to a high standard. All the public areas and rooms are modern in appearance and maintained exceptionally well. The spacious rooms are cleaned to a high standard with efficient air conditioning installed that operated well.

Hotel staff were friendly and attentive, always providing a good service. We had problems with some of the bar food and had to complain to the management. However this was dealt with efficiently and courtesy with a complementary basket of fruit.

The Paraiso appears to be a well respected and popular hotel with numbers of guests returning year after year. Our grandchildren unanimously declared that they would like to go back again supporting this observation, Santino did a great job keeping all the kids entertained!

Regret that in our opinion some of the resort areas in Sa Coma were appearing a bit tired at this time. However we found that there were good pathways for pedestrians and cyclists to the resorts of S'illot and Cala Bona if you wanted to do some serious walking and explore on holiday!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sa Coma hotels
2.2 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
983 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
2.3 mi away
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
#10 of 29 in Sa Coma
692 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#17 of 29 in Sa Coma
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Som Siurell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Som Siurell

Property: Som Siurell
Address: Calle Dalia 10, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Som Siurell 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Som Siurell is a 3 star aparthotel located in the Majorcan town of Sa Coma, only 100 metres away from the beach. It has 75 fully equipped apartments and is the perfect place for enjoying holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Som Siurell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Paraiso Apartments Hotel Sa Coma
Hipotels Paraiso Apartments Sa Coma
Paraiso Apartments
Som Siurell Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing