We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic apartments, facilities and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sa Coma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartments, facilities and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

Stayed at hotel from 9 sept to 19 sept 2009.
Danish family, mother (34), father (29) and son (2).

Apartment
Bright and nice furnised apartment, well equiped with toaster, microwave oven, waterboiler, hand-blender). Good sized balcony and very safe for kids.

Facilities
The hotel is mostly used by Thomson as a Family Extra hotel. This means childcare, two fantastic playgrounds, greatly sized (adult) pool, greatly sized 40 cm kids pool.
As mentioned by other reviewers some of the sunbeds was unfortunately "reserved" by other guests. This was though no big problem as this was only the first row around the big pool.
Nice entertainment from the Thomson crew and Thomson the dog :-)
Softplay, which is a fantastic "pillow-room" where our son enjoyed to play around. Babyzone which was a perfect playroom for children from 2 years and down.

Service
The service at the reception, poolbar, restaurant and the cleaning personel were all outstanding.

Restaurant
The food was not amazing, but there was a good variation of the dishes (buffet). The best was the many fish salads and fish dishes and the huge desert buffet. We had breakfirst all days and dinner 7 days. The waiters and chefs (showcooking) were exeptionel and very child friendly.

All in all it was a fantastic stay and we are looking forward to the next stay !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    431
    138
    38
    20
See reviews for
1,007
126
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

we had a fantastic holiday we travelled with 4 adults and 3 children 1 child 3 1 child 10 and a teenager 16 and i can say all of them were very entertained ...all thomson staff worked very hard i dont think people fully appreciate how many hours them reps actually work some work 60 hours a week thats some going !!!! and they still smile at the end of the night .when we arrived we were greeted by a rep and he helped us in with our luggage which was a good start.Then when we got to our room it was spacious the kitchenette was more than we needed microwave kettle pans cutlery even a little freezer in the fridge which came in handy 4 ice cubes!! We had a one bed apartment and the 2 sofa beds in the livingroom were very comfy the bed in the bedroom was spacious because even my youngest son fitted in between me and my husband and still room!! the area around the hotel isnt as big as i thought it would be but enough we had a couple of shopping trips to cala millor we went via the train you can pick it up by the burger king that only cost buttons for a return trip! the beach is lovely very shallow and clear ...spotless...it was a 2 minute walk from our hotel . we ate in the atlantic and well worth the money your meals are massive and we ate at royal oak ..lovely.. and jj,s they were nice meals and the brittania have good shows if you fancy a night out!! as for the sunbed sager you get that in EVERY hotel abroad we never had a problem and we stayed last week in august and first week september ..the pool was big enough and the baby pool was fair size ....i like to say all the reps made our holiday a lovely and fun holiday to remember ...THOMSON THE DOG had the most amazing voice ..very funny..and the kids loved him ...so all you BORING people who have NO SENSE OF HUMOUR AND FUN dont go to this hotel because thats all this hotel is about ENJOYING yourselves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!....My kids say a BIG THANKYOU to adreinne ,haribo,harry disco dan and all the entertainers that made it FUN, FUN, FUN ,FUN.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scousemouse15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

If your idea of a great two week holiday is to get up at 6.45 in the morning and queue to put your towels on a sunbed then go back to bed, then this holiday is for you.
If on the other hand you prefer to rest during your holiday, get up and out to the pool area at tenish, then expect not to be able to get a sunbed .. forget it. If you are travelling with a party of more than just the one of you, chances are you will not get sunbeds within 20 feet of each other ... unless of course you got up at 6.45, queued and reserved, then resturned to your "restful" sleep.

The hotel management and Thomson reps are FULLY aware of the problems. On arrival the hotel even hands out a leaflet asking people not to reserve, however does absolutely ZERO to prevent it. One of the reps actually conceded that the hotel has enough sunbeds for all the adults ! Astounding, a so called family friendly hotel etc. etc. but only caters for the sunbed needs to 50-60% of those staying at the hotel.

So, just to recap ... if you are travelling on your own, this hotel is great. If you are travelling with children and you want to sit with them by the pool, dont bother resetting your alarm clock to a later time so you can actually rest ... set it early, get in that 6.45 queue ( which by the way is still dark outside )..book your sunbed, then go back to bed.

For a great view of the pool area, get up around 9.00, look out over your balcony and see how every single sunbed has a towel on it and there is absolutely no-one in the pool area at all.

i will never go there again ... AWFUL.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CLGCLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Just spent a week here (the last week in August.) I read a review that said don't go if you don't have kids, and I couldn't agree more!!! We had 3 kids with us (one 12 year old 2 x 8 year olds) and hardly saw them!! Apartments great - yes just occasional noise from open corridors and adjoining hotels, etc, nothing too horrednous. Very clean hotel, great staff. Sa Coma is built for Brits, English food in all the restaurants. We ate at Chinese near hotel (it was OK), Royal Oak (enormous portions), Dolphin Cafe near the beach was great (very friendly owners), Juan's Steakhouse (excellent), but the highlight was Restaurant BIA which has an open grill in the restaurant and the steaks were awesome.
My hot tip for visiting - Go to La Reserva. The owner of the Dolphin Cafe told us about it when we ate there. It is an oasis away the rammed pool at the Coma Gran. Its not advertised in the resort anywhere and the Thomson reps don't tell you about it cos you won't spend money going on their overpriced trips!! La Reserva is a massive freshwater pool with sunbeds around, a couple of water slides and a great kids area. It cost us €30 adult €5 child, and its all inclusive!! All drinks meals and snacks inlcuded. (incl alcoholic drinks and cocktails). Its open 10.30am-5.30pm and you book and pay the day before. Head towards the big Erodski supermarket and turn right just before. The signposts are for 54 hole golf course. Go down there and go to the Clubhouse and pay - its worth every penny!!
The Thomson reps are predictable - get friendly with them and believe me you'll win all the competitions/prizes - the same woman won the Aquasplash in the pool 4 days out of the 6 we were there!! A lot of the reps/entertainers left half way through our week (end of the summer hols), but replaced with Harry who was a good laugh. Giggly Greg was missed by our kids very much he was the only one who put his heart into entertaining the kids. The others were OK but he just had that extra enthusiasm.
One more tip - the pool has a chemical in that has turned all our swimear yellow/green and I've had to throw them all away. So Primark £2 bikini's are the order of the day - and bin them when you leave!! Some of our shorts/sundresses are also badly stained.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettypinkBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Great holiday with children.
We stayed at the Coma Gran half board for 2 weeks with 2 girls Age 7 and 2 and had a fun and also relaxing week. Kids Clubs meant I read a whole book, something I rarely have time to achieve!
Rooms- Clean, great bathroom (nice powerful shower, bath, hairdryer).. We had a one bedrooom with a comfortable pull out sofa for the children. A small kitchen with fridge, cooker, microwave, table and chairs. Small balcony. We overlooked the back of the hotel (which we did not find noisy) and enjoyed the outlook we had.
Restaurant: - Excellent( better than other hotels stayed at with higher star ratings) - Good variety and varied each night. (OK some repeats but always something new) lotsof fish, meat, salads, pasta, veg, hors d'oevres, puddings etc..... the staff were also very helpful and friendly.
Pool: A small pool for younger childred was perfect, also nice larger pool (not the biggest but was Ok). Sunbeds- yep if you want a front row , with umbrella unfortunately you have to get up at daft oclock. We said we would never do this but succumbed as with a 2 year old you want to keep an eye on them in the pool while still relaxing a little!
Entertainment: Great for the children. Some of the adult acts were not great, the kids disco, entertainment was good. KIds Club was well organised and all the chilkdren enjoyed this. Added extra was the stage acadamy (Razzamatazzz) which the children who did this loved and got to perform on stage at the end ( Our Daughter loved this:))
Thompson reps, entertainment team and kid club leaders worked very hard to make peoples holiday fun.
Pool bar: This is the one area that let them down. The staff were not very friendly and seemed very jobs worth. ( Ok some werent too bad)but in the past I have found Spanish bar staff to be much more fun and helpful.
SWAP BOX--- Great idea- our children loved it, we were swapping lilos, boats, inflatable dolphins everyday it seemed, buckets, spades, beach umbrellas .............
Local area: We were a bit worried before we left cos we arent into English pubs all the time and like to find a little more traditional. There is some, we recommend the Cala del Mar restaurant serving kebabs, steak etc on open grill- also take a walk to S'illot- approx 20 minutes along the promenade behind the beach.
Beach: Lovely sandy beach and clean sea- nice and shallow child friendly beach.
All in all a good holiday, great with children.
Boat trips: We booked these from kiosks along the beach and we enjoyed. We visited Cala Romantica for 2 hours (beautiful beach with crystal clear waters) and on another day Cala Ratjada (more of a port/harbour town) but nice. Many people go on a Saturday when they have a weekly market.
Would recommend this hotel but may not go back ONLY beacause we like to see new places. We like the anticipation of a new hotel/ area to explore.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tennisdog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We have just come back from a week at the Coma Gran. We had 3 children aged 4,5 & 7 with us and each one had the most fantastic time. The reps can't be faulted and entertain the kids in and out of kids club. Kids club is split into 3 - age 3-5 (tots), 6-8 (Team) & 9-12 (Tribe). Each Club is at a different time during the day but there are also 2 drop in sessions during the day when you can leave children aged 3 -12 for up to 2 hours.

The entertainment is very much geared towards the children but if they are happy that suits me. Each rep has a nick name - Giggly Greg, Haribo, Awesome Adrienne, Disco Dan, Dizzy Dee, Jazzy Jemma, Sunshine Steph and so it goes on.

The pool was smaller than I expected as the picture in the brochure is a little deceptive but with such a fantastic beach near by it didn't matter - a 5 minute stroll to a gently shelving golden sand beach with shades and sun beds if required. Water sports were also available - we hired a pedalo for 2 hours (20 euros).

Food in the hotel was great (we were half board). Huge selection at breakfast and bigger selection at dinner - even the children have their own food station.

As most people have mentioned you do have to put towels down early if you want a front row seat by the pool but beds become available during the day.

There are plenty of shops to by inflatables and there is a well stocked Spar shop right next door to the hotel. As we were Half board I can't comment on the restaraunts but we saw Chinese, Thai, Pub etc.

Rooms were great and the pull out beds in the lounge were the most comfortable we've experienced. The air con worked well and the hair dryer is great (3 speeds) and so much better than your normal hotel attempt!! Pool towels are also provided at reception.

All in all I would definitely go back and I don't normally go back to anywhere. The kids were happy and well entertained which meant we were relaxed and happy. Thank you Thomson reps for all your hard work;-)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wormy234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crosby
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

just returned from a great holiday with family and friends at the coma gran included in our group are 6 boys aged 10-17 all of whom had a wonderful time. Teens are very often not catered for on family holidays but this is not the case here. The grid is a great place for teens to meet up and make new friends. Reps are excellent, very enthusiastic. Hotel is very clean, staff very pleasant and food very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank endbutt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#9 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa
Protur Palmeras Playa
#3 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Globales Bouganvilla
Globales Bouganvilla
#13 of 29 in Sa Coma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel

Property: Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel
Address: Cards, s/n, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sa Coma
#4 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern apartment complex situated at 100 m. from the nice sandy beach of Sa Coma. The building consts of 17 studios, 187 one-bedroom apartments and 6 two-bedroom apartments. All equipped with complete bathroom, telephone, sat-TV, kitchenette, safety-boxes and balcony, lounge with sofa-beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coma Gran Aparthotel Hotel Sa Coma
Coma Gran Aparthotel Sa
Hipotels Coma Gran Aparthotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing