We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Congratulations Marfil Playa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hipotels Marfil Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Congratulations Marfil Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

8th August 2012

Just returned home from a one week break at Marfil Playa all inclusive holiday. We were a party of six, 3 adults and 3 teenagers (16-19). Every one in the party enjoyed the facilities at the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly making everyone feel welcome. The rooms were very clean and the rooms were tidied every day (to an exceptional standard). The pool area was well kept and you could always get a sun bed. The food was very fresh and there was a good choice of beautifully cooked food with plenty of tables at all meal times (no waiting around). The bar staff were exceptional with a smile and warm greeting every time you met them, and they knew our drinks order without us asking. There was lots of activities for younger children and seemed to be well catered for. The reception staff were very helpful and made my teenagers feel welcome and safe even though they were coming in at late hours. Sa Coma has a beautiful beach just 5 minutes from the hotel with lots to do, para sailing, boat cruises, banana rides, pedalos and the list goes on. The sand is white with no pebbles or stones. The sea is warm. There is lots of little shops to browse for trinkets, clothes, shoes, groceries whatever you could possibly want on holiday. There are lots of day trips that you can book with ease. The Aqua water park was a hit with plenty good thrilling rides. There was noise from the bar across the road but it was fine just back ground noise. I definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return (so would the rest of the party) - may be next year.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms would definitely be quieter at night time (avoiding the bar across the road from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A-M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    109
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
146
114
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Just returned from a 2 week all inclusive stay at the Marfil Playa. We thought the location of the hotel was excellent; in the middle of Sa Coma, with restauants and shops nearby and a pleasant 3-4 minute walk to the beach. The hotel is spotlessly clean, in all areas. Excellent maid service every day, with fresh towels whenever you wanted them. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and importantly for me, are quiet at night after the entertainment ends at 10.45pm. The entertainment team work very hard, all credit to Roy, Boy and their team and the day time activites are varied; water polo, volleyball, rifle shooting, aqua gym etc. The younger children seen to well catered for too, with mini club and mini disco. Evening entertainment is OK, some good professional shows and some others that were a bit lacking. All the staff (apart from the head receptionist) are very pleasant and helpful. The bar staff deserve a special mention, as they are all so very pleasant and eager to serve and please.The food here is good, nice quality but very repetative, especially when staying for 2 weeks, so we ate out quite a few times. If we were to come again, I would only book bed and breakfast, as there are plenty of nearby restaurants, that are very reasonably priced. The pool area is well maintained with plenty of comfortable sun loungers and brollies. Some days we didn't go out until 11.30am but you could still get beds and shade. The pool itself is a bit on the small side and could get a bit busy, making swimming difficult but nice for a dip and a cool off. Now for the niggles; although the rooms are airconditioned, it is centrally controlled and very ineffective, which made a couple of nights uncomfortable as it was so hot and stuffy. They have 2 small lifts that are very slow, which meant you could be waiting some time for them and when they did arrive they were already full. Didn't bother us too much as we were on the 2nd floor, so used the stairs. The only other thing we found lacking, was not having a mini fridge in the room. We enjoyed our stay here at the Marfil and would return again but only on a B & B basis.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the pool. The higher you go the better sea view you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazzaStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My friends and I returned here on 6th July 2012 for the second time and we were not disappointed. The food is excellent with a wide variety of fresh dishes and the option to have certain items (such as omlettes and fish) cooked to order. The accommodation is clean and the staff were very helpful. We booked a short 'all-inclusive' deal, which is great value for money - there is no skimping on bar drinks! The beach towels for hire (can be changed daily) are a great bonus when packing light on budget flights. The only slight negative is the small pool but the lovely beach is just a short stroll away. We hope to return next year!

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VBLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Excellent choice of good quality food. Good range of activities organised by the animation team (especially good for younger children). Evening entertainment was varied in quality, but generally good fun. Always found the staff very helpful. This hotel seems to cater mainly for German and French visitors. There were only a few British families, but it did not matter to us. Sa Coma is a lovely location and there is enough to do. We walked up to the Castell Pont de Ner which is on the headland, only about 2 kms, and enjoyed fantastic views of the coastlines. Another good day out can be had on the boat trips that take you up and down the coastline, assuming you have got your sealegs (it can be quite a choppy ride). We called in at porto Cristo on the way back and walked the 15 mins to the Caves de Drach. Amazing!! Other evenings we enjoyed just strolling along the promenade that runs the whole way along the beach.
Overall I would definately recommend this hotel and resort and would love to return.

Room Tip: We were put in rooms overlooking the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor, but we found them too nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was a lovely size hotel, not too big and not too small. Not too far from shops or beach. We had a very nice time here.
In the main the staff were very helpful and friendly, in particular we were given the 6th floor and one member of our party suffers with claustrophobia, therefore couldn't use the lift, but 6th floor was far too high to walk, we asked to be changed and straight away without any problem our room was changed.
The showers were very poor, the water was either extremely hot where we burnt ourselves on more than one occasion (there was no warning) or it would change to freezing cold. We were permanently jumping and shouting where it took our breath away. Also, two days we were given two towels instead of three (we were a family of three) and the receptionist was extremely rude and not very helpful. We asked a second time and then got the towels. We later found out this was the Head Receptionist!! pity he wasn't as polite as the rest of the staff.
Food was very good, but they should think about having more for the vegetarians....I got by but if you are a meat eater, it is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and I booked to stay at the hotel, half-board for fourteen nights. After seven nights we switched to all-inclusive. Why? Because everything about the hotel is first rate - the room, postiion, food, drinks, pool area, staff, varied entertainment, cleanliness, etc. No need to say more - one of our best holidays.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank wet2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Despite the long transfer, the decision to stay in Sa Coma was a good one. Enough going on but not noisy and rowdy like some other resorts. The hotel was very clean, was always seeing the cleaners polishing, mopping etc.Range and quality of food and drink was fantastic. All staff were very friendly. Entertainment wasn't great but was enugh to keep us going. Would definitley return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lexig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sa Coma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa
Protur Palmeras Playa
#3 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
0.1 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#18 of 29 in Sa Coma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Marfil Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Marfil Playa

Property: Hipotels Marfil Playa
Address: Calle Card 1, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sa Coma
#5 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Marfil Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hipotels Marfil Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Marfil Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Hipotels Marfil Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing