We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel and Staff but food is somewhat repetetive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed for 8 nights from April 11 on an AI basis - Daytime Weather Fantastic (22-28 degrees) but went of chilly evenings (only to be expected at this time of year !!) Totally Spotless with staff forever cleaning (eg 10.30 pm polishing brass bannisters on stairs !!) - Clean Towels every day (if required) and room kept immaculate - Restaurant and Bar Staff Amazing (Special Mention For Sebastian who always had a smile on his face and in the evenings never left us with an empty glass) - Breakfast wonderful but lunch and dinner(although Well Cooked) need more Variety !!
Sweets are to Die For (as a result of this i put on over 16 lbs) Shops and Eateries on the doorstep with a very nice Irish bar showing any footy tou may wish to watch about 5 mins walk away - One Small niggle was the lack of Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room (which having stayed in hotels all over the world i would expect in a 4* Hotel !!) - Overall A Wonderful Holiday and I would Return Like a Shot !!

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for a sea view - just email the hotel and 9 times out of 10 the hotel will provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brains1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

When i say quite a few, i mean there were 8 brits I counted to about 200 Germans. Not a problem, as Germans usually demand better service than us Brits!

Arrived in the rain, front of desk was a splendid chap. Asked for see view and thats what we got on the 7th floor. As previous people mentioned, 7th floor, rain, balcony is a death trap, i'm 6ft and balcony railing was below my knee.

Anyway, next day, sun out, happy days, breakfast, the main man in the restaurant is hard working and very pleasant, helped the older people to their table and even went and got their food. Girl at the omelette/pancake grill in the morning and chicken grill at night, was lovely and made the best omelttes and pancakes. The young male and female waiter were always nice and courteous. Food was good for me, two nights out of five the vegetarian food could have been for my wife, though ice cream and cakes were great.

We went half board, so for lunch, if you want the best lunch food or a massive baguette which you've never seen the likes of, go out the hotel, head straight down the road towards the beach and just about 20 yards from the corner near Burger King is the Dolphin Cafe. Whishi found it earlier, went their our three last days and also got a sandwich to takeaway for the plane.

Back to the hotel, we had the misfortune to be at the pool the same time as a german party of men, in early 40's who were let say tubes/wally's. "sa coma party on tour", well wished they toured when we weren't there. Never left the hotel once and roughly drank 5 drinks an hour from 11am till midnight, taking the p!ss of the all inclusive package.

All in all, nice hotel, nice staff, good food.
No police seen everon our stay, so for this is very safe, will i go back, no, think 6 days in this part of the island was long enough, if you want a quiet break, safe, good food, go for it

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, though remember balconies are very low if you have young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airdrie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Four of us stayed last week of April 2013 on an all inclusive package with flights and what fantastic value it was. We arrived at the hotel by hire car and parking was available within a few metres of the hotel entrance. Booking in procedure was quick, friendly and efficient. I had e-mailed ahead and requested 2 adjacent rooms with a sea view and that it is exactly what we got, rooms 512 and 514 on the 5th floor. The rooms were spacious, modern and immaculately clean with masses of hanging space (and hangers) complete with a large modern LCD television.
The public areas of the hotel were also very smart and clean, the bar/ lounge was spacious with plenty of seating. The restaurant was similarly smart and clean. We were all inclusive and I was apprehensive about the quality of food but I needn't have worried as the quality was truly outstanding with loads of choice of quality food and although buffet style, there was a 'show cooking' station where an extremely efficient Chef cooked a wide variety of fresh meat and fish courses whilst you waited, this was operational at all meal times and at Breakfast it was great to get fresh fried eggs and omelettes cooked to order. Drinks were served at the table and the waiters/ waitresses were very pleasant and efficient, special thanks to 'Pacqui'. It was my wife's birthday whilst we were there and the maitre d'hotel organised a special cake, drinks and table decoration as well as the hotel presenting her with a gift, brilliant.
The bar drinks service was excellent and the staff very friendly, special mention to Pedro and Sebastian, they are a credit to the hotel.
Evening entertainment was OK and everyone had a good time.
No fault of the hotel, but the weather was atrocious with rain everyday and for this part of the world, cold with temps between 14 and 17c.
The hotel has a nice pool and lounger area outside the bar but it was deserted due to the inclement weather. There is a very small indoor pool and gym.
Along with other reviewers the only thing we could find wrong was the lack of soap and shower gel replenishment on some days.
As you can tell I loved this hotel and the staff and I highly recommend it, I shall be back.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights half board out of season April. On arrival we were greeted by a very helpfull friendly reception man, the hotel really is spotless and quiet. Our room was on the 6th floor, the room was perfect clean tidy and had everything you could need. The only issue was the balcony rail, made me a little queasy as its very low, I'm 5'9 and it just came to my hip. It could do with being an inch higher.
Anyway the waiting staff were attentive, very helpfull, friendly and a joy. The food was brilliant, very wide choice everyday, the cake selection was very nice, usually foreign food can be dodgy but I was very pleased with the selections and choices. Proper bacon!!! Yum x
There is a lovely hot indoor pool to chill if the weather is roped, a full gym with squash court , sauna, spa treatments.
Wi fi access in the reception, you just ask or the code..no problem
The hotel is yards away from the beautiful white Sa coma beach, the shops are on your door step and there all all kinds of eateries if you fancy a snackette or steak x
I would defo recommend this hotel and we will be coming back very soon

Room Tip: Ask or a low floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iburntmytoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Spent a week at this lovely hotel. Absolutely no hassles. Spotlessly clean. Food great. We went mid April for a quiet break and that's what we got. Think the hotel must have been about 30% full whilst we were there. Staff said they expect the season to start properly by the end of the month. Only criticism would be that soap and shower gel was not refreshed regularly and we had to ask for this from reception whenever we needed it. Easy walks around. Beach to ourselves almost. Apart from that small point about the toiletries we would recommend this hotel at a quieter time of year if you want a total break from busy lives.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James and Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a four night all inc break with my wife to celebrate my 50th birthday.
Had a fantastic deal on ryanair flights, 86 quid return for both of us.43 quid each return, so we started to build our break around this.
Wanted a cheap and cheerful four star all inc, away from magaluf, and our army of brain dead, moronic,18 to 21 year olds, who think its cool to drink until they fall into a coma with vomit all over them.
We decided on the East coast,and happened on the Marfil Playa in Sa Coma.
We booked on the strength of previous reviews,
We were very happy with our choice.the hotel is spotless clean, has the wow factor, food is excellent, drinks package is really good, service is excellent, and really comfy beds.
Now the small niggles, The house wine is horrible, we tried white, rose, red, all vile, but a good wine list is available if you wish to pay. Approx 8euros a bottle.
The food is fantastic with good choice every meal, but not much Lamb , mostly pork and chicken.fish lovers are in for a treat.
The bar will allow you unlimited glasses of good San Miguel,approx half a pint, but if you want a pint, you have to pay! You can order five halves but not a pint. I thought that was silly. Also the all inc cocktails are from a machine, not fantastic.but you can pay for proper cocktails, which are expertly made by hand, I had a mohjito for 5 euros.superb!
The entertainment when bought in externally was really good, Michael Jackson tribute,brazil night with samba dancers, table magic, but internal animation team is rubbish. Two hours to play one game of bingo,with five minutes music between each number called. For the winner to receive a cocktail from the machine!!! Free anyway.
Don't let this put you off. Hotel is really good and positives greatly outweigh the negatives.
Position is fantastic , seconds from the beach, 1 minute from horse riding, and kids donkey rides.
Plenty of pubs, restaurants, and karaoke bars, right by, but all still shut when we were there.too early in the season.
I am looking to go again in June.one thing though, I tried to book direct with the hotel chain, and was quoted 550 quid for two adults for four nights.
Hotels4u did the same deal for 340 for two. Go figure?
On the last day we were being picked up early before breakfast started. A table had been set at 3am with coffee , juice, toast, cakes, ham , and cheese, and fruit. A lovely touch.
Sort the nighles and I would be a regular!! Hope this has been useful, happy holidays!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shaznand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed here in August 2012 with 2 other adults. We stayed in standard room with extra put up bed. Bit of a squeeze but perfectly comfortable. Room was clean and comfortable with daily maid service, balcony and air con. We were all inclusive and meals were all buffet style. Don't expect a great deal of choice but you certainly won't go hungry as all tastes are catered for. Drinks are served in plastic cups day time but table service after 8 and proper glasses! Be warned that the 2 lifts available are very small and you may have a long wait. For a 4* hotel I was disappointed to have to pay for use of room safe and pool towels. Wifi also available for a charge in reception area only. While the hotel is lovely, the beach is the selling point. Just a 5 minute stroll away. Clear blue sea and golden sand awaits you. Sun loungers and parasols are charged locally. Lots of charming local shops open late into the evening. Definitely recommend for families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.3 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 28 in Sa Coma
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,182 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#1 of 3 in Cala Mandia
1,900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seasun Siurell
Seasun Siurell
#16 of 28 in Sa Coma
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Marfil Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Marfil Playa

Address: Calle Card 1, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sa Coma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sa Coma
#5 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £52 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Marfil Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HIPOTELS Marfil Playa, a 4-star all-inclusive hotel in Sa Coma, Majorca with an indoor and outdoor pool and stunning views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hipotels Marfil Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Marfil Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Hipotels Marfil Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing