We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Me and my friend spent 5 nights at the Marfil Playa at the end of June. We stayed last year and enjoyed it so much we booked again. We requested a sea view; our request was granted and it was amazing. Food is good but I think all hotels in Sa Coma are feeling 'the pinch'. Salads and cold dishes beautiful but I would have liked better quality fish/meat. Staff, without exception, extrememly helpful. Have holidayed in Sa Coma on and off for years but this year we did realise that there are no nice bars to sit and watch the world go by. We preferred to walk into S'illot (which is a bit more traditional) to have a drink overlooking the beach. Unfortunately, in Sa Coma all the bars/restaurants are on the back streets so no nice pavement cafes. Couple of 'English' bars with tribute bands but even these are cutting back on showing quality acts. Sad really but AI is killing Sa Coma.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pargaluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just had 10 days here the hotel was in a great location,lots to do just outside the hotel if you wanted to,it's not traditional spain granted,but bus,taxi,bike hire all right outside the hotel means you can explore as much or as little as you like.
The hotel does bike hire too.a bit more expensive than just up the road though
The staff are all great without exception,the lady that cleaned our room did a fab job, thanks again Lina.rooms on the higher floor have a great view and I would not like to have a room overlooking the front of the hotel,facing the music bar etc, not that it got too loud or late even,but the pool and sea view is nicer we had 307 and it was ideal,nice big balcony and very spacious room.would choose higher floor if I booked again
I did have concerns about the trouser rule for evening meal,which is on Marfil Playas own website(I found this out after booking),but,this wasn't an issue because the dining room,'as well as the rest of the hotel has great air con.our room was lovely and cool.
The entertainment was good the team do a good job and work very hard they don't mither you to have a go at stuff either, which makes a change,aqua gym a right laugh,you need to work off some of that all inclusive food,i think all has been said about that before,brilliant.
Beach is a few minutes walk away and some lovely coves if you walk on round a bit further.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back.one more thing it isn't full of old folk !!!! Perhaps saga only book it out of season

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mrssmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel in excellent position in centre of sa coma. Rooms good size, cleaned daily. It was my first time at this hotel, was slightly disappointed with the facilities for any guests who where not all inclusive. I booked bed & breakfast as we like to have the freedom to go out to the local restaurants. The hotel did not have a bar snack service at lunch, so if you were using the pool you had to go out to have lunch, which meant changing. When wanting a drink you had to have the bill put on your room number, no facility to pay if wanted to. Didn't find staff friendly unless as stated all inclusive.
I have stayed in sa coma on numerous occasions and have been to better accommodation for people who don't want all inclusive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just come back from a week on this fabulous hotel. Staff was amazing and helpful, food gorgeous and the facilities were clean and well kept.

Not a massive hotel, which means everyone knows you by name and try the hardest to serve and please.

Don't normally write reviews, but this hotel deserved a nice review after their hard work needs to be complemented.

Room Tip: Nicer views and less noise on top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred_Poss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked AI at this hotel and were there in June. We found the food absolutely fabulous, not only the choice but the fact that they cooked a lot of the meat fresh in front of you. The hotel is in a great location, especially if you have difficulty walking as it is all on the flat, you literally come out of the hotel right by the gift shops and bars (we never found it roudy) and are just 5 minutes to the beach, with a lovely promenade. The bus stop is just across the road and the buses were mainly on time so we found it easy to get around. The hotel was spotless and the staff very helpful. There is no tea/coffe making facilities in the room so need to bring your own travel ketttle. Ok the entertainment is not the best, but what else would you expect, it is just nice to relax & sit on the terrace and watch the shows and have a laugh. We are hoping to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank suehanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

2nd time at this hotel, once again couldn't fault it. Ok, entertainment in the eve wasn't very good but you cannot fault the reps for their hard work in trying to make it enjoyable.
The head entertainer is very funny and keeps the adults & children busy with daytime activities.
The staff here will do their upmost to make your stay comfortable, from the reception staff to the cleaners and everyone in between, they are fantastic.
Ideal place for families.
The hotel is spotless and well worth it's 4*s
We plan to return again soon.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Friendly staff and very welcoming. The hotel is in a good location with plenty of tourist shops, bars and restaurants around. Sa Coma is not traditional Spanish at all, highlighted by the nearby pubs Britannia and the Kings Head. My wife asked for a room with a seaview prior to our arrival which we weren't given until the third day of our holiday. You want Rooms 1 to 15 on the 5th Floor and above to get the best views. Rooms are clean and tidy but nothing special. My bed collapsed on our last evening and we were moved to a Family Room on the first floor, but it took nearly an hour to get this organised. The entertainment is appalling and very amateurish, only one act of the seven nights of our stay was decent. The food is OK, plenty of choice but can sometimes be luke warm. The grill section can be great dependant upon who is manning the counter, burnt on one side and pale on the other is not my idea of good food. Service is quite good but suffers if the restaurant is very busy. We were all inclusive and choice was limited, only 5 cocktails available, the red and white wine are best decribed as wet, but the brandy was excellent. We won't hurry back this wasn't the best 4 Star Hotel we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 15 on the 5th Floor and above have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MANCS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.3 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 28 in Sa Coma
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,181 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#1 of 3 in Cala Mandia
1,900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seasun Siurell
Seasun Siurell
#16 of 28 in Sa Coma
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Marfil Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Marfil Playa

Address: Calle Card 1, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sa Coma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sa Coma
#5 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £50 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Marfil Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HIPOTELS Marfil Playa, a 4-star all-inclusive hotel in Sa Coma, Majorca with an indoor and outdoor pool and stunning views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hipotels Marfil Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Marfil Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Hipotels Marfil Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing