We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed for half term. 2nd to the 9th of June. This is a good well run hotel, most points have been covered in previous reviews. Will add a few points that might be useful. There are at least 2 British members of staff, yes there are as many Germans as Brits. But this is not a problem. Can't understand what some people have against germans. In my experience, you won't find any bigger pains in the butt abroad, as some Brits. There's a wide range of good quality drinks available and high in alchohol. The only beer is Astrella, it's 5.4 alc vol and excellent. Towels are not allowed on sunbeds until 9:00am. Not all the rooms have been refurbished, the older ones are fine but the new ones are better. We had a quiet room that overlooked a side road. These have been refurbished and have large balconies. If you are considering the self-catering or half board options, there is a large local supermarket near, where u can get anything you need at local prices. eating out is very reasonable and lots of choice. Some drinks prices: Fosters- 2 euros 50 cent, Sanmiguel- 2 euros. There is a large bar called Delanys (unsure on spelling) that sells pints of Sanmiguel at 1 euro during the day and 2 for 1 at night. Hope this helps, enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,702)
There are newer reviews for Protur Safari Park Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

We booked here after having a great holiday at another protur hotel in Majorca but after reading some reviews got a little nervous!

First impressions
Outside impressive, lovely reception and staff well organised with fluent english

Room
Beautiful carpeted halls leading to just renovated high quality room. One bed apartment - bathroom with fab shower, lovely tiles and spotlessly clean. Bedroom huge! Loads of storage and more comfortable bed than home.

Living area
Comfy sofas, loads of room, microwave. Great balcony. Only complaint - no electric kettle just hob whistle one.

All inclusive
Ice creams for kids great - just grab from freezers near bars. Drinks - just sat when ;) food always available! Perfect for kids usual routine snacks etc. Self serve drinks at meal and snack service.

Food
Main restsurant great. Happily surprised that it's above what you'd expect. General offerings plus a grill with 2 'specials' is salmon and butterfly chicken and a 'wok' counter offering a stirfry service (fill a plate with meat and veg they fry it and you choose sauce). Only complaint which sounds silly us overly efficient staff! Wanting to take your plate the moment you've finished!


General
Great facilities with acess to shared protur water park, farm and theme restaurants. Nice extra that they didn't ned to do :)

Location
Next to spar shop and bike hire places (great 4 sweater bikes!) then 10min walk to beach, cages etc. prob 20 mon walk to bars and restaurant worth any note.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seasider453100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Returned today after 11 nights at the Safari in Sa Coma. Staff, Facilities and entire hotel operations were excellent. I would completely disagree with reviews making complaint with the buffet restaurant. The food was varied and presented very nicely. The kids club delivered by theThomson team were very well organised and engaging for our 5 & 7 year old. The beach in Sa Coma is beautiful and the Thomson reps were very helpful in advising us on day trips. The all inclusive option was good value for money, especially if you have children. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to Majorca.

Room Tip: Main hotel building was a good location, very clean and plenty of space. We were on second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Travelled here in 2007, with mom and two children, so 3 generations. One bedroom apartment on high floor was quite large and very clean. Towels changed regular. Lovely view of pool. all inclusive was great, entertainment was very poor. Amenities for kids is great, pools fab, golf course fab,good walking distance to beach. I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed at the Protur Safari Aparthotel for a week in early June 2012 in a party of 3 adults, 2 children and 1 infant.

The hotel was part of the large Protur complex in Sa Coma comprised of 4 or 5 hotels, each with their own restaurants and facilities. The sports/leisure facilities (tennis courts, all-weather pitches, driving range, bike hire, beach volleyball courts) are central and shared amongst the hotels.

Check in was straight forward, the apartments were spacious and clean and we had a great view of the pool area and the mountains in the background. The apartment had a small kitchen, but we never the cooking facilities, but the fridge and extra sink were useful.

There were loads for the children to do including kids club (both Protur and Thomson), pool, table tennis, waterpolo, volleyball, bike hire, archery etc, as well as playing in the swimming pools. There were 3 mini-golf courses all included in the AI option. We spent a couple of days in the attached La Reserva water-park (much reduced entry rates under AI). It was geared up more for younger children and the kids in our party loved it (and therefore we could relax!) but those wanting a more thrill-seeking water park with lots of fast slides etc should look elsewhere.

The grounds of the hotel were kept clean, the swimming pools are clean, a decent sized and there was a small pool for the very young children. Although the hotel is in an ‘U’ shape, with the pools in the middle, it didn’t feel like you were overlooked by a “hotel tower block”, it is well designed with plenty of palm trees and there are only 5 storeys to the buildings.

The evening entertainment was ok when there were outside cover-bands, but when it was the animation team, dancing and miming badly to backing tracks, it was pretty bad. Easy to avoid though, we played mini-golf, Euro-2012 was shown on the big screen in the main bar, played cards at one of the quieter bars or we went for a walk into town and onto the beach (about 10mins away).

The only real criticism of the hotel was the buffet restaurant, the food variety was average, most of the food was luke warm, it took a while for the food to be replenished and it was hit & miss whether the tables were cleared inbetween courses. Generally more staff were needed in the restaurant.
The food catered for the various nationalities staying there (predominately German), so sausages in garlic or battered artichoke were seen on the breakfast menu. There was a selection of local produce (mainly meats and cheese). I was a little disappointed that there wasn't a greater selection of local fish on the menu. There was a fish dish everyday, but it tended to be a rather bland tasting cod fillet.

The AI option was generally very good however. A good range of drinks included and generous measures were given. Ice cream was available throughout the day and cakes in the afternoon. The Country Grill snack bar had burgers, kebabs, hotdogs BBQ-ed in front of you.

You have to queue at the clubhouse (opened at 9am) to book any of the a la carte restaurants and the queuing often started at 8.30am. However we were able to book the Country Grill restaurant easily, much later in the day.

There are signs up around the pool-areas and hotel forbidding the reservation of sun beds before 9am. In early June, we experienced no problems in getting sunbeds after breakfast, even for a group of 5. However the sunbeds are really packed in around the pools and it’s probably a different story during peak times. No pool towels are supplied, so take your own.

In early June, there were enough guests to make it a good atmosphere and there were no major problems getting sunbeds, drinks at the bar or tables in the buffet restaurant, however during peak season I would think the hotel would be unpleasantly crowded and the resources strained.

Despite the slight negatives about the buffet restaurant, I would recommend this hotel for families, loads to do and the AI is good value. However one to avoid if you don’t like kids running around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anon057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel has had mixed reviews on here,however It must have improved immensely over the past year as we had a great time.We went for my mums 70th,party of 8.We were allowed to book into La Fontana(italian restaurant) via email,and the welsh manager treated us like royalty.Lovely table,champagne and birthday cake presented by singing waiters.Nothing was too much.Eating wise,Lovely foor in la fontana,pizza was spot on,La reserva argentinian grill,great BBQ food,eg steaks,chicken,etc.The main restaurant always had a great selection of food.Breakfast had a full range of cooked breakfast items,pancakes,unlimited juice,etc.For dinner,we had kebabs from the snack area,gorgeous,with full range of salads.The restaurant did a nice touch on jubilee day of strawberries/cream,jam and cucumber sandwiches.No problems with sunbeds as the hotel has addressed the issue of sunbeds reserved as any towel down before 9am was removed,so they have listened to the feedback.The 3 golf course of mini golf were great.The small pool area at the top next to la reserva is great for kids 3-10 with a small water slide,go karts/kids rides a euro each,climbing frames and trampolines free and even a bouncy castle of some days.Drinks were decent,there's 4 cocktails in the A.I. menu and all drinks you generally get at home.You could order as many as you wanted and bar staff magnificent and always friendly.The entertainment team were entertaining,the bald man was a character and great with the kids as they all were.Only thing that could be improved were the range of acts and the quality.Beatles tribute act,70s rock etc,would have got slated in my local...but that is the only qualms we had.The hotel is quiet after 1130pm,room was great with 20 channels including ITV,BBC1.Also they had a big screen for the football matches at Euro 2012,for all matches,which made for good watching when Germany and England both played.Room very clean,great facilities.Also free wi-fi in reception.You did have to queue to book speciality restaurants,however on some days,we called in at lunchtime and got a table,but would expect it busier over the summer.I would certainly return,it's great for families,older couples,not for singles or young couples,unless they don't mind kids running around.The kids club small girl with black hair was extremely professional and the kids activities were educational as well.Beach well within walking distance and lovely.Overall a great holiday all staff excellent,welsh manager will certainly go a long way if this is her chosen career!

Room Tip: we were on 3rd floor,lovely room,refurbished.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Just returned today from a good family break and was interested to read the reviews on this site (we went last year too). This is an ambitious hotel, being massive and looking to cater for large numbers of mixed ages and backgrounds/nationalities and stay at 4 star , whilst starting to age. Some bits definitely look tired and to prevent lower returning customers the refurb should be completed quickly.

Ultimately I guess it's very difficult to be all things to all people and be excellent. I'd say it manages to attain the 4* rating but needs to sharpen its approach to its food where it really should do better (it is ok) the flip side is that facilities esp. for kids (apart from poor gym) are good and staff were great.

I'd recommend it albeit it was expensive, but if you go in peak season be aware the busier it gets the more the hotel operates like an efficient machine...as you should expect given its size and what it's trying to do. Good luck.

Room Tip: Go for the refurbished ones!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJFR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sa Coma hotels
0.1 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Globales Bouganvilla
Globales Bouganvilla
#15 of 29 in Sa Coma
753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#3 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Safari Park Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Safari Park Aparthotel

Address: Calle Las Lilas s/n, 07687 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £90 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Safari Park Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protur Safari Park Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing