We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Superb large hotel that caters really well for lots of people. Had emailed hotel prior to deaprture to ask for some basic provisions to be left for us as a late night flight. Arrived to find water, jams, butter, bread,milk, tea and coffee in room. Lovely modern room though we had to pay a small supplement for this but was well worth it. We were on the fourth floor overlooking a large pool which had a lovely sunny balcony. Blackout curtains so able to nap late afternoon in the room for the kids (ages 11 and 7). Lots to do: mini golf, park, small water park, football, archery, snorkelling, all included in the all inc price.
La Reserve 10 euros each adult and 5 for the kids but really worth it as slides and beautiful pools. we went 3 times over the 10 days!
Beach lovely and clean. Worth a visit.
Food: breakfast great choice, cooked breakfast, cereals, fruit, toast, omlettes and ancakes made to order.
Lunch was mainly barbecue style with fruits. Shame no sandwiches, ham etc.
Evening meals in the restaurant were ok, not great but certainly something to find for even a fussy eater. La Fontana the Italian was absolutely beautiful and worth the queue in the morning to get tickets. Tried the tapas at Sa Bodega but not to our tastes.
Visited the Spa hotel adjacent for a tretment- excellent and very realxing. Quite reasonably priced too.
Staff helpful, hotel very clean. Not at all noisy except for evening entertainment which you expect. Some great tribute acts such as Il Divo, Abba, Rod Stewart. Cannot understand the negative reviews for this hotel and I am very fussy!!
Would definately recommend to anyone.
Tip:If you have any particular needs/requests email before you go- ask for Sabine. She made sure everything we asked for was in place for our arrival and you cannot ask for more than that!!

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the pool in updated wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,303 - 1,309 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Returned from a week here and have to say it really was lovely. YES it is very busy, but I was fully prepared for that as I knew it was School Holidays and a large hotel. We wandered down to pool just before 9am never struggled to get a bed - and at least 3 times saw towells being removed from subceds by staff. Only once did we struggle for a bed - and that was at about 12.30 after being out for the morning. Our room was lovely, very spacious - massive balcony and very clean - we could hear the entertainment - but this stopped by 2300 so certainly no problem the one night we went back early. The canteen was loud and was busy, but again - you should expect this if you are going to a hotel of this size... breakfast was lovely, omelette cooked for me every morning lots of fresh bread and fruit. Food in the evening was not really to my taste but I am a very fussy eater - I always found something to eat and the rest of the family were more than happy. We also ate at La Fontana (lovely) and the Country Grill which was amazing and we never queded to book just popped round after the rush at about 10am. Lunch we used to just pick up from the bbq by the pool - again lots of fresh fruit on offer as well - and kids loved just having a bbq in their swimming shorts and not having to dress to go to the main areas. They do play music round the pool did not interfere with us as only for a few hours in morning and night - pools were never too busy to have a swim. Never had to wait more than a few minutes to get a drink at any of the bars and good selection of drinks. Agsin I have to stay the staff at this hotel work so hard they really should be praised on this all with a smile in the extremely hot weather we had. On to the German situation - yes lots of Germans at the hotel - but not a problem at all did not encounter any issues with this to be honest there were a few unruly kids but they were British.... I would go back and would not hesitate to recommend - its a lovely place and suited our family down to the ground (kids aged 12 and 14)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nic522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

What can we say !! This was an absolutely terrific holiday. We have twin girls who are 3 years old. They had the best time ever. Everything at the hotel is done with guests in mind. The hotel is absolutely spotless, always cleaning throughout the day. There's so much to do at the hotel 2 weeks is just not enough time to fit it all in. We always had no trouble in getting sun loungers.The hotel removes any towels that are put on sun loungers before 9am and i can assure people this does happen everyday. The food is good you certainly won't go hungry here. We particulary enjoyed the stir-frys.
I would say the complex is a 75/25 split in favour of the Germans but this never bothered us as the English can be just as rude. We met some lovely German people in fact. The evening entermainment is cheesey but good fun. The girls loved the mini disco and both the Protur Entertainment team and the Thompson kids club staff were great with them. We were there for the opening of the Olympics and the hotel actually changed the evening's entertainment to accomodate those who wanted to watch the Olympics. At no point was music turned up, in fact it was turned low and there was a good atmosphere in the bar where everyone was watching. I suppose if the olympics are that important to people they should book there holidays around these events and not in the middle and stay in the UK.
The only negative i would say is the people smoking aound the pool. At the end of the day this is a family resort with lots of young children and they should not be subjected to passive smoking. Finally we would like to say a massive thankyou to everyone who helped make our holiday so special and we would recommend without question this resort. So much more then just a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WirralStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Sunday 5th August we just returned from a week at the Safari Hotel with our grandson. The hotel is okay quite clean but so overcrowded and sun beds all taken by 9.00am so you need to get up early and sit with your towel until after 9.00am for fear of the bed being taken by another guest. The CANTEEN is a joke the breakfast was awful, the lunch at the daily barbeque was edible but as for dinner it’s the worst food we have ever eaten in our lives. I can’t tell you how bad the food is and we ate out for half the week as we couldn’t cope anymore with chips and whatever they decided to put with them for the night. The entertainment is very average with exception of Abba show which was well sung. The rest of the nights were a massive let down performed by bad hotel staff and a show producer that should have retired 100 years ago. Our grandson is nearly 8 years old and there was not a great lot of things for him to do and the kids clubs where very average. To sum our week up he enjoyed the week and we hated it and we certainly won’t be going back or recommending anyone either.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Arrived at the hotel late at night. Staff were waiting at reception to lead us to our rooms and give us some basic information.
We got to our hotel room with my fourteen year old son and my seventy eight year old mother, to find that there was no water in our hotel room. My son was dehydrated after the long journey, and needed something to drink. He searched the reception for something to drink, with no luck. My mother wanted a cup of tea and was surprised to find that there were no basic supplies, unlike most hotels.
The all inclusive meals were great. They had a wide range of food to choose from, however the hotel restaurant was like a battlefield. It was very crowded and loud.
Everywhere in the hotel was completely spotless. The cleaning service was very good.
There were lots of activities to participate in, however we found this quite difficult as my mother was unable to take part.
On most days we sat by the pool in the sun. We couldn't relax in peace, since there was constant terrible music playing through the loudspeakers around the pool and an over joyous voice calling to us in 4 different languages. There should of been a separate area for those of us who wished to lie peacefully in the sun and not be constantly disturbed.
We sat down to watch the Olympic opening ceremony. The sound system was a joke, we couldn't hear a thing that was being said because of the loud terrible music of the mini disco. When our national anthem was played, the mini disco music was disrespectfully turned up. We sat paitiontally for team Great Britain's athletes to parade. Spain's athletes came out and all the waiters cheered. As soon as Spain had finished, the waiters told us that we had to leave! This is a key part of British culture and the Olympics will not be held in London for another 70 years. All the people watching found this very disrespectful, as we missed our nations team.
The all inclusive drinks were great, but when we sitting in the pool bar in the evening we always felt like we were unwanted guests. Shutting the bar and clearing all around us.
If I had younger children this would of been close to the perfect holiday, however I do not feel they accommodated us very well.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Safari Park Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

We thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay but are sorry for the inconvenience caused when you were enjoying the Olympics.
We trust that this did not totally cloud the other aspects of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Myself wife and 14 year old went 26.7.2012 and just got back. excellent hotel with loads of brill facilities for older kids ie tennis, squash, bikes, 54 hole mini golf, climbing wal,l inline skating park, archery, rifle, and pistol shooting, water polo, volleyball all FREE!!!!. ( just go to club house to book). Excellent new superior room with no bath but large walk in shower. Can get bbc1 and itv 1 in room.( just see reception for instructions). agree with all comments re food but try country grill and argentinian as both excellent in evening where you get to sit outside and have a choice of over 10 different meats in a lovely setting. this is a very busy hotel and very large in size but do not be put off. Easy to get served at bar whatever time of day as lots of bars and a real nice atmosphere in the evening with lots of different places to sit and relax. Mini golf open until 11.00pm everyday just go to main hotel reception for a ticket every time you play. we have been to around 8 all inclusive hotels and this one has by far the best daytime activities and facicilites. thanks to protur safari for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j70boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Family holiday to this hotel including two children and a young baby at the Start of summer holidays.
The hotel it's self is always kept very clean and tidy wherever you go gardens, dinning halls, reception and rooms are spotless.
I did not realise how big this hotel was the down point not being able to get a subbed unless I got up at 7am and sat there til 9am whist towels were already laid out on other beds with no one on them !!! The hotel states no towels to be left before 9 am unless they would be moved (this did never happen)!!!
Having a pram I needed room to put this in shade the sunbeds are so crammed in that you can't get anyspace in between so the baby would be parked in front of pool (not safe).
The food times were not long enough 8-10 for breakfast so come 930 is was packed dinner the same finishing at 9pm we was in there on our first night at 830 and food was already being taken away!!.

I don't agree that in the brochure it names all the restaurants but does not state u have to book these and there are limited spaces that are shared between all the hotels on the protur group near by , so whilst one parent on sunbed and one with children still in bed this was not possible for us.

Having to go and book everything i.e mini golf is very annoying.As it clear you are all inclusive by the bands so that should be enough.

La reserva which u also have to queue to book and then queue to get in at €30 cost for my family once you do get in it is lovely in there bed spaced out food is much better in there and I would not call in a mini water park. I think the safari should have that on there grounds anyway as a family hotel it was very basic for young children and the baby pools were very small.

I myself would not return to this hotel I found it too big and busy and would not rate it a 4 star and lots of Germans at this hotel the resort is very nice the beach is lovely and would highly recommend the pirates show it was amazing and my children loved it !!!

Room Tip: The refurbished part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sa Coma hotels
0.1 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Globales Bouganvilla
Globales Bouganvilla
#13 of 29 in Sa Coma
850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#6 of 29 in Sa Coma
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Safari Park Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Safari Park Aparthotel

Address: Calle Las Lilas s/n, 07687 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £119 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Safari Park Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protur Safari Park Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing