We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Alford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very clean family hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We checked in around 1130pm and was pleasantly surprised to receive a ticket for the resturant at that time whitch we went down to which was a cold meat salad and just what we needed after traveling that time of night ! We were allocated on the 5th floor which I thought was too high for having young children so we went promptly back to reception to ask for a ground or a first and I felt the English receptionist was a bit rude when she shook her head and said come back in the morning ! Surely this is a common complaint that happens all the time ? Anyway after breakfast we were showed our new room first whitch we were delighted with on the first floor ! The pool was very over crowded from 10.30 am then quiet at lunch time then chaos again at 2pm till around 5.30 generally as we did visit 9th -23july it was peak season so did exspect it to be busy ! We visited the reserva park which you did have to pay but was well worth it as very quiet with sunbeds a plenty ! There seemed to be plenty of sunbeds around the main pools but if you wanted ones at the edge then you had to go down around 8.30 and reserve with towels which is better if you stay till 9am Incase hotel staff removed them so 8.30 not bad compared to other hotels you need to get up at crack of don ! Food in buffet was excellent we stayed for 2weeks and never got fed up with choice so we only visited the Italian once which the reserving system was a joke queuing at 8am for a club house that opens at 9 just to book a table that night surely the hotel needs a better system ! My only complaint about buffet was the 9pm finishing time as if you went their 8.50 the staff are actually clearing food away so by the time you go for a sweet they have been cleared away so that was a real pain as some days we were still in the pool at 7 and ment it was a bit of a rush trying to get down at a decent time for meal ! The bar staff were all excellent but the entertainment was just awful ! Especially the hotels entertainment staff ! You couldn't fault their effort but all there shows we're them dancing and miming to abba / grease and adding their own touch with a roar between beats was just terrible but as I said you couldn't fault there effort ! The other shows were a lot better ! I also thought the hotel entertainers did a excellent job through the day with activitys like football table tennis darts ! I also thought the free bike hire was excellent and the tennis so all in all a clean friendly safe hotel that just needs a couple of tweaks and would be perfect

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    537
    193
    51
    32
See reviews for
1,172
209
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay as a couple. Was extremely impressed with the hotel and the facilities on offer. We were initially given a room over looking the road and asked to change to a pool view which they allowed us a couple of days later.

Not sure how anyone can complain about the food. Yes chips are on offer all the time but it does cater for everyone and if you want more then go 5*. The chicken nuggets were amazing and tasted like popcorn chicken from KFC! Lunch time you did have to queue for the kebabs, yet the Germans still pushed in!
In the restaurant at night we sat immediately on the right as you go in as we found this a lot quieter and less chaotic. Had to queue quite a while for the stir fry but it was worth it! Also just read another review that said they waited at the table whilst the other went to get food. As a couple ourselves we never found this an issue and just got some drinks and put them on our table before going up for food.

If you weren't bothered where you sit during the day then there is absolutely no need to reserve sunbeds. Some days we were up at 10/11oclock and still managed. However, I did make the mistake of putting towels down one day at 8am before going to book the speciality restaurant and came back to see they'd been folded onto one bed! I later found out that if you reserve beds before 9am then you have to sit on them!

We found the pool behind the country grill really nice. Before we went some reviews said it was the quiet pool but whilst we were there it was more of a kids pool. I think this is due to the depth of the pool in comparison to the main pools. We managed to reserve the big double sun beds which were really nice.

We ate in the Italian restaurant whilst there. Getting up at 8oclock to queue isn't a very good system though. They don't allocate you a time and just say to turn up between 6.30-9. This could be improved. We sat outside which was nice.

My only disappointment was that they didn't have towels round the pool, you had to take your own.

Definitely go and see pirates whilst you are there!! It's a little pricey but so worth it. It's about an hour and a half away in Magaluf. You will come out amazed!!

Would most definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just returned home from a fabulous 2 weeks stay at this resort. I have nothing bad to say about it. It really annoys me that there are always the one person who would like to moan about everything. We were all inclusive and and there were nothing wrong with the food and drinks that were given to us. Our boys Joe and William thoroughly enjoyed it. In fact my eldest son got upset the night before because he did not want to go home as he had met so many friends and enjoyed his stay. My other son William was the entertainer and loved attending the mini club with Tessa and Lauren (the reps) and had a fantastic time. Yes we had to stay by our sun beds from 8 until 9 but it was better than getting up at 6am to get a bed in another hotel.

We probably paid just as much as the next person and we thought it was a well deserved four star. We have stayed in many 5 star resorts and this was just as good. The only thing we would do different is book directly with the hotel as Thompsons were awful, we hardly saw any of them.

Finally I would like to thank the bar staff at the resort. The boys absolutely loved them. They always had time to speak with my boys and I will never forget that.

I hope people will ignore the negative comments made and hope you will enjoy just as much as we did.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gualeguaychu, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel should probably be classified as a reasonable three star hotel. All rooms have been recently refurbished and are air conditioned. It's not a bad place to spend your holiday, provided that you can avoid its major negative points.

Good things
- There are several large swimming pools, which are never too crowded so always enough space. A bit annoying that they are only open between 10am and 6pm, and if you want to reserve a nice sunbed you have to physically occupy it between 8 and 9am.
- Most rooms are spacious family rooms, though the "twin rooms" are half the size and a bit too small for a long holiday.
- The hotel is generally very clean, though inexplicably they don't clean rooms on Mondays and Fridays, ostensibly to give their cleaners two days off (obviously not capable of organising shifts).
- Staff are very friendly and are all capable of communicating in English or German.
- Beach is around 500 metres away.

Bad things
- The food provided on the all-inclusive option is the worst quality imaginable. They basically have a self-service canteen and cart out large trays of stuff. They make very heavy use of the frier, and very little is fresh. Most food looks like it comes straight out of a packet frozen or is long-life industrially produced crap. There is a suspicious level of reappearance of food. Although some things (omlettes and pancakes) seem to be make frensh, you eventually realise that they are just using mass-produced ready prepared long-life mixes.
- I am pretty sceptical in particular about the meat quality. The colour of their hamburgers prior to cooking is some sickly white-light pink colour, so not much meat in them at all then. They fry in so much oil (one also wonders how often they change their oil) that they taste of oil rather than meat. Generally, the only "meat" on offer is hamburger, pork or chicken.
- The fish on offer inaviably comes out of a tin or, occasionally, is fried.
- The theme restaurants are a joke. The tapas bar is patently a place for recycling left-overs from the canteen: none of the usual stuff on a tapas menu and they serve complete crap. The Italian restaurant is the worst I have ever eaten in: chicken stroganoff (for them this is Italian food) identical to a tray from the canteen, pasta worse than tesco own brand, frozen pizza, and tiramisu (also from the canteen) made without coffee.
- The Argentinian grill is probably the least worse. However, their idea of a steak is a cheap cut of pork, and they again serve up the usual dose of cheap hamburgers and chips worse than macdonalds quality.
- Drinks on the all inclusive menu are rubbish too. The beer is ultra cheap and watered down. The wine tastes nasty. "Cocktails" come out of a slush machine, contain practically no alcohol and are made with squash rather than juice. Shots included are the type you would buy in lidl (no offence, but just to say they are the cheapest available). I saw the wine list for payment once, and it had a really strange mix of unheard-of wines.

After a couple of days of this I started to feel guilty at making my daughter eat this rubbish. (Eventually she too - a 4 year old - worked out that it was garbage and spent the whole time eating bread and fruit.) Finally gave up and started eating in outside restaurants.

Final gripe is about Thomson. After deducting the cost of booking direct with the hotel from what I paid to them, there was a difference of €1800 for three people, to cover 2 airport transfers and return flights. Seems a bit of a rip off to me. The kid's club turns out to be either 2 hours in the morning or 2 hours in the afternoon (depending upon age). Compared to what was on offer for German or Dutch speaking children this was completely shambolic.

Recommend that anyone thinking of going book direct with the hotel, and above all do not choose the full board option (family rooms have a kitchenette, microwave, fridge etc.).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the minigolf course. Poolside rooms are noisy in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123boh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel. We stayed in a apartment and must say that it was really good, spacious, clean and well appointed. The hotel itself is MASSIVE and although a lot bigger than we would normally go to I have to say that it is a good hotel. The hotel is clean, with a few good pools, plenty bars and activities for kids. The evening entertainment is decent although repeated 2 weekly. The dining halls can be manic with so many people that we found it quiet stressful. The food that is served is about standard for 4* all inclusive in Spain (again not brilliant) every evening in the dinner hall there are stir fry's made to order and they are brilliant (we lived on these). During the stay you can eat at the 4 restaurants on the complex once (don't get excited as they are not a la carte) the Italian is by far the best, the Tex Mex was good although it is self service buffet style which is very disappointing as you hope for table service from separate restaurants. The Argentinian is poor (just a glorified BBQ) again self service. To book these restaurants you have to queue at the "club house" which opens at 9am be prepared for an early start as people start to queue at 07:45 and the queue can have 60 people in it by 09:00. Bare in mind the restaurants have limited numbers so it could be fully booked by the time you get the the desk!The hotel really need to think of a better way to do this. La Reserva waterpark is a small waterpark with 3 or 4 small flumes that can be booked for 12euro per adult and 6 euro kid but is a really nice day as it has a pool bar, all food and drink are included in the price. We found the staff to be very polite and helpfull. My oldest son managed to dislocate his toe but we were well looked after by the hotel staff (Rachel the English manager was brilliant) taxi arranged to take us to hospital and contacts for translator etc given. The only negatives for me with this hotel is the booking of the restaurants and the lack of lifts and the fact they are very small (can wait 10mins sometimes)
Sa Coma itself is run of the mill Spanish holiday town. Full of English themed bars and restaurants and Tat shops selling ashtrays and inflatables. The beach is lovely and the walk to the nearest town S'illot was nice.

All in all a good holiday hotel with lots to do set in a run of the mill Spanish tourist town.

Would I return?..... No, purely as Sa Coma just isn't our thing and the hotel is just too big for our liking.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mdoug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

booked this holiday as part of cruise and stay through thompson. 2nd july one hour drive from airport to hotel,on arriving at hotel as we arrived late we got a quick check in,and were asked to leave our luggage in store as the dining finished at 9pm. we were a/i the room was large well airconditioned, very clean .even disney channel on tv for kids ,you could get to sleep on in morning without worring about sun beds as there were plenty,there were different places to eat food was excellent ,mini golf ,play park for kids , different activities each day for kids.beach is with in 100 yards along with shops n bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greysteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalding, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having just got back from a week's stay at the Safari Park we (a couple in our mid to late 20s) felt compelled to write our first ever holiday review!

The hotel itself was great, newly refurbished rooms that were cleaned 5 days a week whilst we were there. Prior to flying out we had emailed and requested a pool view room, which when arriving in the early hours we were very happy to find we had been allocated.

The food in the main buffet restaurants was to a good standard, plenty of choice; however we did find that it was tricky to eat together due to the fact that one of us always felt compelled to stay at the table while the other filled their plate. As others have mentioned, the other restaurants are great, but the booking system could be improved, we were queuing at the clubhouse by 8 most mornings to ensure we could get a table. The issue for me with this is that they allocate a table, but not a time slot, it's simply a case of turn up anytime between 6.30 and 9.30, so when it's booked it's booked, perhaps two separate sittings would be better, one from 6.30 - 8 and then another from 8 - 9.30, that way they could get double the amount of customers in and less people would leave the club house disappointed. The staff in all of the restaurants and bars could not have done any more for us or been any more polite, which makes a nice changes from some hotels.

Yes, the sunbeds are "reserved" prior to 9, but it is all nationalities that do it, us Brits are as guilty as others. We went to breakfast via the pool each day just after 9 and always managed to find 2 sunbeds together.

The beach is nearby, 15 minutes as some have said is a bit of an over exaggeration, I walk reasonably quickly and could easily do it in 5 minutes, but allow around 10 minutes to stroll down.

We travelled with Thomson, and our transfer caused us concern initially as there was no rep involved with us at all at the airport, however once at the hotel, we cannot speak highly enough of our rep Tom. After an excursion pickup time changed without us being informed, (we didn't complain) Tom insisted on compensating us for the inconvenience and gave us some euros to cover food at the airport as we were flying back the next day.

All in all a great holiday, would be ideal for families but we had a great time as a couple and would happily go back!

Room Tip: We were 5th floor pool facing, and had the end room in the block so it was a case of straight down t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.2 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
0.8 mi away
Globales Bouganvilla
Globales Bouganvilla
#14 of 29 in Sa Coma
651 reviews
22.3 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Safari Park Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Safari Park Aparthotel

Property: Protur Safari Park Aparthotel
Address: Calle Las Lilas s/n, 07687 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Safari Park Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protur Safari Park Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing