We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately a FAMILY experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We enjoyed our week at the Sa Coma Safari Park Hotel which we shared with our daughter, son-in-law, and two grandchildren (aged 7 and 9). This was a first trip abroad for the children and they had a thoroughly good time.
The hotel is enormous (we estimated 2,000 guests when it is full); our apartment was excellent, in a quite location. I would be concerned if I were to be accommodated close to the entertainment area as that could be very noisy in the evening. The rooms were spotless (no cleaning though on Mondays and Fridays), beds comfortable, air conditioning welcome.
Food in the self-service cafeterias was excellent, with different choices each evening and a special feeding station for the children. The existence of two cafeterias plus outside eating areas meant that the dining areas were not stuffed full of people and clattering like aircraft hangers! The show cooking (stir-fry) was worth trying.
Breakfasts were good with freshly prepared omelettes and pancakes (Mickey Mouse shaped for the children). A late breakfast was served between 10 - 12.30 close to the Jungle Pool.
Lunch was either in the cafeterias or barbeque style at the other end of the site. We opted for the BBQ each day and found a nice shady location where be pushed together tables and created a lovely place to eat. We found cushions hidden behind the BBQ area which made the seats less uncomfortable. After lunch the girls fed the carp in the nearby stream - very relaxing.
The themed restaurants were worth trying - although you need to get up at the crack of dawn and queue for a booking (curious shoe queue with lots of bare-footed, drowsy holidaymakers lolling on sofas in reception) - you use your key card to book so remember key cards for all the people you are making the booking for (I had only ours and reception created one for our daughter's family). I was there just after seven and was already seventh in the shoe queue! We dined at the Argentinian restaurant, located in the nearby Water Park; where the meat-eaters enjoyed good selection of barbequed steaks, there was also some pizza and salads for vegetarians. We also ate at the Italian - this must have been the highlight of our eating experiences in Sa Coma, wonderful ambience in a quiet location with waitress service and wine from real bottles!
The pool area was totally overwhelming when we arrived (very tired after a 3am departure from home and a one hour transfer); rank upon rank of sunbeds! However we soon found the Jungle pool which was much quieter and less crowded. Whilst up at 7am on the restaurant booking expedition I reserved sunbeds and Cabina (know it was against their rules but 'hey ho' did it anyway). This forethought made the pool experience wonderful for us all. Towels on sunbeds - it must be the English!
The girls were a little intimidated by the size of the place and did not venture into the kids club, in any case they were enjoying fun in the pool.
The Water Park is part of the huge Protur complex (also includes the Sa Coma Playa, Gran etc); we paid E8 for adults and E4 for children to go in on the Thursday, the place was not full; it was also not the type of 'water park' we expected, just a couple of slides, swim-up bar (which was closed for part of the day), and small children's play area; quite disappointing. Moreover, the food queues were enormous (around 30 minutes); they needed to either not charge or charge a smaller nominal amount, in many other hotels this type of 'water park' provision is part of the hotel pool complex. I assume that the charge is intended to limit the people using this facility - if so the strategy probably worked. They began to turn us out at 4.30; definitely not worth the expense - although our children can enjoy themselves anywhere. We did not make a second visit!
The Mini disco demonstrated how totally geared up this place was for children - entertainment was designed specifically for multi-national children; they all loved it (as did their parents). By the end of the week we were joining in with 'Heads, shoulders, knees and toes' and could give a good rendition of a German children's song which involved swimming!!
The entertainment for adults was variable, but we managed to enjoy each evening. We took our scrabble board and a pack of cards and made some of our own fun too.
All inclusive is an interesting experience, we resisted the temptation to over-indulge and came home just a couple of pounds heavier. The men reckon they made a profit on this holiday!
Next time we will find a hotel which is smaller .. this was just too big for us, but that is personal choice. Overall the holiday experience was great. Think hard about what you want from a holiday before booking this resort though, and if you want a quiet, cultural, family break this is definitely not the place to choose.

Room Tip: Upper floor at the back the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank ClareandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel with our family. It has everything you need for a great family holiday. One thing that was different from last time was that you had to pay for the big water park whereas previously it was free.When i queried this I was told it was because the hotel had been revamped and they had to recoup some costs.
Also to book the themed restaurants you had to queue in the reception area early in the morning to ensure you got a reservation. I think there should be a fairer way to do this.
The apartments are very spacious and clean as is the hotel.
We would definately book this hotel again. it has something for all ages and the staff are very polite and helpful.
Our experience at Palma airport on the way home was a nightmare due to strikes by baggage handlers. We boarded the plane 30 minutes late and our cases were not on the plane. They got delivered to the house 4 days later ! Whilst Thomson reps were always available at the hotel there was not a rep on our bus or at the airport . This was upsetting because we did not know what was happening or if we had missed the plane.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We travelled on 16 July for a week (3 days before school holidays) all inclusive with 2 grandparents, my 2 children and partner. We couldn't have been more pleased with our overall holiday! Sa coma is a lovely place, Porto cristo is a small bus journey and is a must see, small beach cove area too it's beautiful, Cala minior is an Amazing beach a little better than as coma but sa coma is still a lovely place and is only 5 mins walk.
The hotel is clean and tidy, cleaners work around the clock to keep things spotless. The rooms are lovely too, lovely decor, beds a little hard but I liked it and partner wasn't that keen but still good to sleep on, sofa bed is the sofa just with the cushions taken off but is big enough for a grown adult, baby cot in our room was fine, still loads of room, hair dryer was powerful enough not to need your own, loads of storage space, 2 double wardrobes with shelves and loads of hangers, TV with itv, kids programmes in English, think it was called pop-kept kids amused while we got sorted. I think the the rooms are big enough for 3 kids-1 baby and 2 older, then 2 adults, not sure if that's allowed but could be done.
The food was good, buffet restaurant was quite large; although when the school had broken up the queue were quite big and quite packed on the tables. Food was a good quality but sometimes a bit samey ; that's like most all inclusive places I think. The themed restaurants seemed a lot of aggravation to get booked, queue from 7.30 for machines to open at 8.30, people put their footwear down to form a queue so you could sit down in the wifi area. Luckily I was close to the front, the Indian restaurant was fully booked even though there were only about max of 20 people in front, we booked tex mex and that was nice. But that was the only themed restaurant we went to.
The pools were good but we went to the la reserva pool quite a lot which you pay 8€ per adult and 4 I think for kids, but what's nice is there are is a maximum capacity so it didn't get too busy, lovely food, slides and swim up bar fab. It opens at 10 till 5. The other pools were still good though, quite deep for younger kids but there was a smaller pool that was better for younger kids. Staff were all pleasant and helpful, entertainment programme was good. Although as it's huge hotel there are lots of different nationalities so the kids entertainment was in 3/4 languages, all still understandable as they just took it in turns to let everyone know what's going on. Oh try the spa too! That was amazing!
We would go back there tomorrow!!! Loved it, kids more importantly loved it and also one of the grandparents that's a little fussy at times loved it too so it's got to be good!!!!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Kirstie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just returned from our first family holiday with our 1 year old daughter. We had a brilliant time!! The hotel was modern and clean, staff were really friendly and helpful and room was very comfortable. We stayed all inclusive, the food was excellent lots of choice and options for those with dietary needs, gluten free, dairy free etc! Also big supermarket 2mins away and can keep items in fridge in hotel room if need be.
The water parks next door are a must!! ( 1 is free, 1 is €8 all inclusive 10:30-17:30)
We booked through Thomson who were brilliant throughout the whole trip. Our holiday couldn't have gone better and will most certainly return and recommend this holiday to friends and family.

:-)

Room Tip: Entertainment area can be loud in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jenniedashian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Our flight was delayed so we arrived late at night & our 'greeting' left a lot to be desired. The guy at the desk noticed we had a baby with us & said there was no cot in the room (we definitely booked one), so we asked if we could have one & he said 'no'. We also asked for a safety deposit box & he said 'no'. There was no offer to help with luggage even though we were struggling with cases & a baby. I appreciate these gents may not be receptionists but surely they could be trained in the basics!

The hotel is of a good standard & the gardens are lovely. But as mentioned by previous reviews the booking system for the restaurants is rediculous! who wants to get up at 6.15 / 7am on holiday to queue in reception to access a machine that opens at 8.30 !

The beds are solid & extremely uncomfortable, we asked 3 times for mattress toppers but seemingly a lot of other people thought the same because all the mattress toppers were already lent out & there was a wait list! Unfortunately we never got our toppers.
Our room was clean & had lovely decor but it had 2 patches of damp on the walls & there was another damp patch in the corridor.

The gym was tiny and extremely hot. No air con & no music.

The Animation team, life guards and the lady who ran the fitness classes were all very good & the Thompson reps were always visible & available to help.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Trixi2Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director Comercial at Protur Safari Park Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry about the problems you encountered when checking in. We have taken steps to make sure that this doesn't happen again. We are again sorry for the problems the restaurants' booking service caused you and again we are looking at ways to make this less stressful. We are pleased that in general you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived in Sa Coma and were shown to our 1 bedroom apartment. It was huge and immaculately clean. The bathroom was very modern and again extremely clean. The food in the hotel was very good, vast selection and lots of choice every night. We ate at the Country Grill for lunch and sometimes breakfast, the food here was lovely and again a great selection for everyone. There were fridges dotted around filled with ice creams all of these were free and all good quality from Nestle.
There were literally hundreds of sunbeds, you could get one at any time of the day which is fantastic, not having to get up extra early was a lovely bonus.
Lots to do around the complex for kids and catered for families.
My son who is 15 was a bit lost as not much for him, until he met a friend and then found more for his age group, such as crazy golf and a driving rage.
The entertainment worked really hard and did their best but it wasn't the best I've seen or the worst either, good for some background noise whilst relaxing with a drink.
Would definitely return as the place was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for 1 bedroom apartment as they are huge, a high floor gives you a nice view x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SandraFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just returned from a week's stay at this wonderful hotel. I travelled with my partner, son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren (8 and 1). The hotel was absolutely wonderful, it was clean, the rooms were spacious and the animation team were great. The food was plentiful and very fresh with plenty of choices. There was loads to do and the pools and gardens a real pleasure. We had a fantastic holiday and would definitely return. Well done to all the staff who were always polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the entertainment area if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank lynpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Globales Bouganvilla
Globales Bouganvilla
#12 of 28 in Sa Coma
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 28 in Sa Coma
1,049 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
45.2 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Safari Park Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Safari Park Aparthotel

Address: Calle Las Lilas s/n, 07687 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £115 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Safari Park Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protur Safari Park Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Safari Park Aparthotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing