We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We would definitely go back"”
Review of Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Europa
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Holiday from 14th to 21st Oct 2013. What a lovely, relaxing, quiet and calming place to stay. If you want a break this time of year, with no screaming kids and you don't mind not having entertainment etc, then this is the place to recharge batteries ! We found Sa Coma itself to be a very peaceful place and the gardens this hotel is set in just adds to the relaxation. Staff were excellent, nothing to much trouble ! We only had one very minor problem with ants in our bedroom on the second floor, but they were easily dealt with and never returned. Our room, towels, linen and appliances were all clean, so no complaints there either. As I said, we would have absolutely no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

After our very bad experiences at another self catering apartment, last year, we didn't know what to expect from the Europa. What a wonderful surprise we had after we booked in with Manageress 'Irene', who also doubled as the Lifesaver at the pools. The rooms were clean and bed linen and towels were change every couple of days. This young lady MUST be worth her weight in gold. Her husband, Miguel, became a personal friend and we found that nothing was too much trouble for these two, their care and attention to details were phenomenal. I feel sure they will be promoted in the business when 'boss' Juan finds out about them.
Everything worked, the microwave, the cooker, the shower etc, etc. and we had our own small kettle.
We did have a small problem with ants in the living room, but the trick was to, politely, ask them to leave, and they all trooped out and did not return. 'Allez vous en, s'il vous plait', and they went. I also did this back at home some years ago and have never been troubled with ants ever since.
My friend Miguel is trying hard to learn the English language and I hope I gave him a little help with the phrase book I left with him. Keep at it, Miguel, maybe you will become a UK TV Cameraman in due course.

Room Tip: Remember how to move the ANTS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here 22-29 September 2013 with my partner and three year old. I was unsure what to expect because of some of the negative reviews on trip advisor but we all loved it and would go back. After considering a number of options this was an inexpensive accommodation option, however having walked around the resort I believe it to be a little gem, much more intimate and relaxing than some of the other big local hotels, set in fantastic gardens. We tend to go to the beach so didn't really use the pool that much but it was clean. The rooms are basic but spacious and we had everything we needed. We had a ground floor room, there were a few ants around but not in the room itself so they did not bother us. We found it to be a great base to explore from. Miguel and Ireana were very hospitable and responsive to our needs. Their spoken English did not present as a barrier to us, in fact we enjoyed talking to them and it was a great opportunity to learn a few words and phrases in Spanish. I tend not to return to the same resorts or hotels because I like to explore and try new places however having been there we have already talked about going back. Sa Coma is an excellent resort for families and those with younger children especially in September when it is a little cooler (but still plenty hot enough). In terms of tips: don't go expecting 5*, try your hand at a little Spanish, for local cuisine try 'El Sol' and avoid using the spar shops opting instead for the larger 'hypermarket' it is much cheaper and where the locals shop (the hotel staff have a map and will be happy to direct you). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just got home from here, and i will never ever return. on arrival we went into our room and was greeted by hundreds of ants at the front door, we were on the top floor. the socket for the tv was hanging off, with wires exposed, not so great with a 4 year old. we complained but as the staff couldn't speak english we got absolutely nowhere. the cupboards when we opened them were covered with dead ants, and even the wardrobe was infested. we used a full can of ant killer throughout the week and was told there was no more. the pool was stone cold, and was 80% in the shade so had no chance of getting a sunlounger in the sun! also, in the week we were there, the maids only came into the room twice. The shower curtain was covered in mould and the shower head was no better. filthiest hotel i've ever stayed in, i didn't expect the ritz, however clean towels are a must in my book. we stayed basic last year in turkey, and the hotel was fantastic, as my review stated, all for £11 each for the week. this cost £420 and was filthy. never ever again, however the reort itself was fantastic and beautiful. we found a bar that was english run called the dug out, the food was amazing, however not as amazing as the owners!!! even if they are st helens and liverpool fans, nobodys perfect :) oh and a trip on the safari is a must!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just returned from the Europa apartments, we really enjoyed it our apartment was basic but clean, we saw ants outside but none in the apartment which was on the ground floor, there is ant spray in the apartment if you do see any. Michael who is the manager was very friendly and helpful as are all the staff, they don't speak very good English but if you make the effort they will do their best for you. It is very convenient for the beach and the resort, both are lovely, the apartments are near but set back enough to be quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

After staying a week in the Europa holiday, it was better than i thought it be, we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was a average size, some people had a problem with ants, but if u keep ur room clean it wont be a problem, pool area was nice and clean, advise against drinking the local beer from the pool bar, as of a group off 7, 4 was ill.
Its very basic but u get wot u pay for,
Recommend eating at jjs bar, good size portions, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 276nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week at the Europa and we were glad to come home. We arrived to a lovely pool but that's all that was lovely. We found a mouldy plate of food in microwave, dirty pans and plates in the kitchen. It was so dirty we didnt eat once in our apartment the kitchen had no kettle or toaster they have to be hired and one plug in hob to cook on the kitchen was filthy. The bathroom was filthy taps were rusty and the shower head snapped off while the sink in the bathroom leaked when taps used. Probably the dirtiest place we have stayed in and wouldn't return. Such a shame they're in a great location and Sa Coma is lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maccajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
17.7 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#33 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#4 of 13 in S'illot
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Som Siurell
Som Siurell
#16 of 29 in Sa Coma
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Appartamentos Club Sa Coma
5.8 mi away
Canyamel Garden
Canyamel Garden
#15 of 15 in Canyamel
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#17 of 29 in Sa Coma
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa

Address: Calle Dalies s/n, 07687 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range: £24 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Sa Coma
Europa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing