We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I visited the Gran Playa on the 17th July for 7 nights with my fiancé and my 17 month old son. I had read reviews prior to going and was a bit apprehensive. Upon arrival the hotel looked ok, nice and fresh looking and on the way to the hotel on the bus we saw shops etc close, so knew it was in a good location. We were at reception for 2pm, we were told our room wasn't ready to leave our cases and go have lunch by that time it would be ready. That was fine and we done that. Lunch seemed ok, not a great choice, but we were all tired and hungry, we all eat. Returned to reception again to get our key for our room to be told to wait another 20 mins, we walked round the hotel and returned 20 mins later ... to be told it would be another 40 mins. Baring in mind we had a very overtired and grumpy baby, I told the man at reception we had waited long enough and if the room wasn't clean they could clean it when we were in, this wasn't an option and we were made to wait. Seemed as though the guy behind the desk was used to people complaining. The hotel is clean and maintained really well, our room was perfect for us, always got services and clean towels everyday, pool area was clean and tidy and sunbeds fine! really pleased and started to wonder what the fuss and bad reviews were about! Breakfast was ok was a typical fry up which all brits im sure are happy with, was also cereal and fruit which was great! Toast with white or brown bread and baguettes. Lunch and dinner was a let down. Its not that the food was poor quality or anything, just extremely repetitive. Lunch was the same as dinner, Monday was the same as Tue and so on ... Pork steaks, meat stew, rice, pasta, pasta sauce, chips! these were the main everyday lunch and dinner dishes! There was no 'holiday food' pizza, burgers, hotdogs etc. Sometimes found it hard to fond something for a one year old to eat apart from dry pasta. The first few days were fine we all eat and were full but by day 4 it was getting boring and we started eating out. There was a lot of nationalities in the hotel so I understand it must be hard for the chefs to be able to please everyone, but this seems to be the main complaint. We heard alot of complaints and angry holiday makers throughout the week. To be honest I don't agree with the reviews saying 'hell hole' 'don't stay here' 'never again' etc .... It was a good hotel but choice on buffet needs to be addressed. We had a great holiday. Don't think we would return , only because the worlds too big a place to keep going to the same places. But if you are reading reviews after booking and feel apprehensive, please don't youll have a fab holiday here and if you agree with the food there are lots of small restaurants around the hotel and its really cheap to eat out. :)

Room Tip: Pool view room is a defo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Receptionist. at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Arlene D,

We apologize for the inconvenience you had at check in time. that day one of our cleaning staff was injured and we did the best to have your room ready.

we make note of your suggestions and we will do our best to improve our services.

Thank you another time for your value comment.

Kind Regards,

Fran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    244
    179
    105
    116
See reviews for
334
233
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

In this day and age there is no excuse for anyone not to know all about the hotel they have booked to stay at. I read the reviews looked at the price and made a decision...and I have to say I was more than pleased with my choice. Our party was 4 friends looking for somewhere affordable to stay for 3 nights whilst we visited friends in Magalluf (I know we could have chosen somewhere closer but it suited us). The food was always freshly cooked and always plenty of it (couldn't comment on breakfast, didn't surface 'til lunch) the drinks where cold and service was prompt and polite. Many have said this but do your research and make a choice. You won't be disappointed if you do choose this hotel. One last thing we stayed in the annexe and had the pool and loungers almost to ourselves every afternoon, it was very quiet at night and the hotel was only 2 mins walk away. I will be looking at the blue sea again for a value holiday. Thank you to everyone there for looking after us so we'll.

Room Tip: I would ask for the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Receptionist at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Phil W,

We are glad to know that you appreciated our service and facilities and that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon!

Kind regards,

Fran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here from 14th June until the 28th June all inclusive. I found the food was very poor and there was not a great selection. We would eat breakfast in hotel and manage by with lunch but we eat out every night for our dinner. For the size of the hotel there was only about 14 trays of food to chose from. There was always plain pasta with 2 sauce to chose from, chips rice and the salad selection was tray of lettuce tray of tomato and a pasta made with what looked like left overs from breakfast or day before. The snacks available were very poor, 2 choices one was always chips. The hotel states they have a kids club and they don't. The entertainment is also very poor. I had 2 children of ages 4 and 8, there was nothing for them to do. The entertainment guys that go around try and entertain the adults through the day with few games of either riffle shooting, darts or catch a stick before it hits the ground. They try and entertain adults more than the children, out of the whole 2 weeks we stayed they played one game of water polo with the kids. The entertainment at night was also very poor which made everyone that stayed in the hotel go out at night elsewhere, the kids disco was 4 songs then it went onto bingo if they had enough players. The rooms were ok, clean enough and pool was good. I also found the bar staff were very moody and hardly had a smile on there face. Usually the bar staff will have a laugh and joke with you when your away but they hardly even spoke to you here. I would only recommend staying here if you plan to go out a lot. We went to jj's or Brittania for a meal, would recommend these restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Receptionist at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Joanna T,

We would like to thank, in the first place, for sharing your point of view with us, any sort of comments are valuable to improve the standard of our services.

We apologize if we did not meet your expectations and we will talk about your suggestions in the next head meeting.

We really hope we might get the chance to change your mind and welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Fran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sa Coma hotels

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just come back from this hotel, very clean and well presented. Close to all local amenities and the beach a short walk away. However, the food was good-quite hot but a bit repetitive. The hotel rooms were clean and towels changed every other day, the beds were very hard and could not sleep on them. There is a sofa provided and slept there for most of the week.
The entertainment was very poor, one animation rep called Jeremy thought he owned the place and would not listen to guests requests. The music was on that loud even the children were covering their ears and most people were sitting outside. A good hotel if you need a base while you explore Majorca.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Receptionist at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Ruth T,

First of all, thank you very much for your review. Your opinion is very important for us, so we make note of your suggestions and we will do our best to improve our services.

Regarding mattress Inconvenience our Housekeeping team is always able to find a solution. In reference to entertainer we apologize if we did not meet your expectations we are working to improve our service.

Kind Regards,

Fran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was a spur of the moment break and we had a nice week and met some great people. The area leading up to the hotel looked a bit disappointing when we first arrived and we wondered what we would find - but our room was serviced most days and everything was spotlessly clean. I couldn't find an English speaking channel on the TV but we weren't there to watch television! There wasn't a great deal of choice in the dining room but we never went hungry as we always found something nice to eat.The majority of the staff, especially in the dining room were very helpful and friendly. The pools were well maintained with a lifeguard in attendance every day.The entertainment guys worked had during the day organising activities but the evening entertainment was disappointing - kids disco, quiz or bingo - we only had a live act on one of our nights and the All Inclusive bar finished at 11:00pm. Sa Coma is a great resort with the beach being just a short stroll away from the hotel and it's central for loads of lovely places on the coast. On the downside, it took quite a while to get to the resort from Palma airport but on the whole, it was good value for money as we had a very enjoyable holiday and didn't pay a fortune for 8 nights AI accommodation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the same side and the hotel is a little way back from the sea, so as far as I k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Receptionist. at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Janice F,

First of all, thank you very much for your review.

We are proud to read that you spent a great time with us and that you enjoyed in Sa Coma Beach.

Your opinion is very important for us, so we make note of your suggestions and we will do our best to improve our services.

We hope to see you soon having a relaxing time in our hotel!!

Kind regards,

Fran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My partner and I booked this hotel as a last minute holiday. We were a bit skeptical about how it was going to be from the reviews we read but we needn't had worried. Our room was clean, we got fresh towels daily and most of the staff were very polite and helpful. The all inclusive food was okay. Nothing spectacular and there wasn't a great variety but we didn't expect there to be with the amount we paid. It is only a short walk away from Sa Coma beach which did get quite busy but there was always space to sit or a sun lounger to hire. The area that the hotel is situated is fantastic. There is so much to do! You can hire so many types of vehicles, from childrens electric cars, push bikes, quad bikes and electric scooters, all at a very reasonable price. There are lots of different styles of restaurants to chose from and loads of little shops to buy any gifts or souvenirs. Overall for a cheap, last minute holiday I think it was brilliant and would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Receptionist at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Holly B ,

First of all, thank you very much for your review.

We are glad to know that you appreciated our service and facilities and that you enjoyed your holiday in Sa Coma with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel very soon!!

Kind regards

Fran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good point the hotel was clean. It was cheap so you get exactly that.It's not one of those magic deals where pay less get more:)
The rooms were cleaned well but didn't get any shampoo or shower gel top up for whole week. Dangerous electric fittings in the rooms, no remote control for tv, warm fridge and bed head side shelf will make you swear every day as you are guaranteed to hit your head even when you sober.
Entertainment was not entertaining at all.How much one guy can possibly do running round? Food very boring. Dessert..well never tasted anything quiet like it and it's not good meaning.
Some of the receptionists not very good at understanding English, other staff acting like they and guests are invisible, no good morning not much eye contact, weird.
Location quiet good, close to sea and in the middle of the town.If to ignore 10 homeless cats right by entrance than can say the area is quiet well looked after.
If you want it cheap all food and drinks inclusive place to sleep than that's the one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Inese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Sea H, Receptionist at Blue Sea Gran Playa, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Inese S,

We regret if we do not meet your expectations, Thank you to share your point of view in order to improve our service.

During your staying we provided in your room shampoo and shower gel sachets, Actually we have dispensers in shower bath. Regarding your problems in room , we offer tv remotes at reception for 10 € deposit and our maintenance team is always able to fix the fridge or change it.

In Reference to food, we have different kinds of menus every day with a lot of choice to satisfy all tastes.

Thank you for your value opinion.

Kind Regards,

Fran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
2.0 mi away
Blue Sea Don Jaime
Blue Sea Don Jaime
#56 of 58 in Cala Millor
925 reviews
9.5 mi away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#11 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Verde
Blue Sea Costa Verde
#22 of 44 in El Arenal
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#9 of 29 in Sa Coma
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Gran Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Gran Playa

Property: Blue Sea Gran Playa
Address: Plaza Estepes 5, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Gran Playa Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea Gran Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the popular beach resort of Sa Coma, on the scenic east coast, the Blue Sea Gran Playa is the ideal for those who want to enjoy all the attractions that the beautiful Mallorca has to offer. Tourists come from all over Europe to relax on the beaches, to swim in crystal clear waters, discovering the rich cultural heritage of the area and taste typical Mallorqian dishes. The complex itself has 2 outdoor pools, a solarium with hammocks; playgrounds, and surrounding gardens in which you can relax yourself and soak up the sunshine. There is also a cafe and snack bar plus a buffet restaurant. The apartments are equipped with a balcony or terrace, living room and bathroom. If you wish to eat in your apartment, all of them offer a kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sea Gran Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing