We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW WOW WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protur Palmeras Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Palmeras Playa
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
milton keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

MODERN NEW AND VERY CLEAN

We have just got back from a weeks stay at the Protur Palmeras and what can i say.

The rooms were AMAZING massive and so modern, 4 of us were in the room and we could still have held a party.

The pool was nice and big and the pool bar is brand new and served some really nice food. The evening meals were really good as well with a great choice especially the kids, the breakfast was average normal bacon and scrambled eggs.

The entertainment was really good and was different every night, and the kids club was excellent and they worked so hard. We will be coming back again if the prices stay ok, but i reckon they will soon be sky high as the standard we got was almost perfect.

A really top 4 star hotel and some aspects were 5 star.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room and it was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sharonwhite1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    316
    97
    16
    9
See reviews for
577
525
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Checked in on 7th Oct 2010. Place dead.. given our room keys and went off to find them. The outside of the room smelt of tobacco and the inside stank!! .. We went inside and opened up the balony doors onto a small balony, and were shocked to see such a small area of patio for sunbeds and the tiniest pool! The hotel must have been 8 - 10 floors high and this time of year hardly any sun was going to find its way in. The hotel was shaped in a U shape. We unpacked and went to find lunch. We paid for AI (all inclusive) what was on offer - beef burgers, chips, tortellas, and some beans. Me being veggie opted for tortellas and was revolted .. cold, salty - inedible. We go on many AI holidays and this was not the food we expected! We went to the reception and they advised they were closing the following friday and we were the last guests before their re-vamp - there was only 30 guest there then!!....but we were told this would not affect our stay and everything would be as per normal. We thought we would see what was for dinner and duly went on a tour. Dinner was slightly better not much - there was no choice - so if you go here i hope you like chips. We went to the bar - stood there for ages and hepled ourself to drink - there was no staff, We thought if we slept on this it would be better the next day... the beds were -- well saggy -, if you are under 5ft you may be OK... We had breakfast - that was ok but then the pool..they said it was cleaned.. we saw them remove the leaves but the was water cloudly - i wouldnt have let my dog swim in this.. there was green algage around the edge.. enough was enough and we and anther couple soke to the rep and eventually were upgraded to what we call and AI hotel and had a good holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmb51068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

I came back from staying at the Protur Palmeras Playa Aparthotel yesterday. It was a good holiday but there were major room for improvements. There was not enough variety of food available and too much fried food on all inclusive. The lettuce was continually wet and the sweetcorn was thick and sticky. The bacon was uncooked and the scramble eggs were dried up. There was no Bacardi or Smirnoff Ice which was clearly indicated on the menu. There were also ants everywhere along the bar.

The staff were not friendly. We tried communicating with them on several occasions. They were ignorant and dismissive. They only know a few words in English. Some of the waiters were known to work there for more than 10 years so I'm surprised they had not gained experience in English. The only waiter that was friendly was called Peter. He was funny and very sweet. Claire was also helpful. She worked at the reception. The lifeguard was also very friendly as well as Claire's son who worked in the kitchen.

The shower was poor quality. We waited for more than 10 minutes for the water to get warm and the sink tap was loose. There was a disturbing smell from the toilet. The toilets in the reception were not clean. We could not open the door properly either as it only opened half way and the light kept switching off which was annoying.

The hotel was not situated on the beachfront as indicated on the holiday brochure. I think the hotel was catered mainly for Germans.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

We have recently returned from a holiday in Sa Coma, Majorca ( 28th August-8th September 2010) and stayed in the Protur Palmeras Playa Apartments.
While I have no complaints with the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms, in fact the hygiene in that matter was excellent, I feel I have cause to complain about the standard of food and the entertainment of the hotel.
The hotel is an extremely large hotel, which should potentially cater for thousands of holidaymakers, so can you please tell me why A) we were informed when booking the holiday-as per brochure detail- that there were NO daytime activities for ALL ages?? We were told that there would be poolside entertainment, I.e; water games, poolside quizzes etc; the only time we saw anything was a table tennis match on the last day between the entertainment staff and my partner and friend, we even supplied our own rackets!!? We believe that there were a couple of games for the children (ages around 2-6yrs)...majority of which were either Spanish or German! In our party we had a 13 yr old a 15 yr old and a 17yr old..all of whom do not wish to do drawing competitions!! They are also a bit old for Barney the beaver to give them a certificate!!?
The evening entertainment was diabolical! In all my 15 years of travelling have I ever come across such poor entertainment! I paid around £600 a head to come to this hotel and all we got was budget style entertainment that the children could easily have put on themselves! While I am not knocking the hard work and effort that the two entertainers put in, for they worked every day and night bless them, but the hotel, for that size, should be able to afford proper entertainment for the guest not tin pot sketches on a ramshackle stage! When the show wasn’t put on in German, the English was very poor..the ‘paid’ entertainers were obviously budget i.e. Abba girls who couldn’t dance, mimed a lot of their songs and had costumes that had seen better days...we actually left halfway through and went to the nearby bar where they had the same sort of entertainment only you could tell the difference in quality..and we didn’t pay for that!! Every night the so called entertainment was terrible, in fact during our ten day stay we didn’t stop once to see it through! We paid for an all inclusive, i.e drinks all night and we couldn’t stay to drink them! I have been to some budget hotels over the years and the entertainment has been outstanding, this hotel..there are no words to describe it!!
We discovered on the 2nd day of our arrival that we were also staying in a primarily German Hotel! Whilst I have no issue with the Germans, I lived in Germany for many years, I am British and therefore would like to stay in a British Hotel! The majority of guests were German, and the staff primarily spoke German or Spanish and the guests were at best arrogant or rude! There were several other British families who were there who apparently had also been misinformed about the nationality of the hotel and of the entertainment and also of the poor food options and were as disappointed and as upset as we were! In fact there were at least 2 families, that we know of, who requested a transfer to another hotel within the resort! With there being 7 of us, we could not afford this option! My partner also approached the rep about a early flight home due to the situation!!
The food was average, majority of which was German or Spanish cuisine, and after eating most days, the majority of our group suffered from upset stomachs due to the amount of oil and fat fried choices! ( this was also the case with the cheap wine, beer and coke etc..) On one day the majority of food being offered was pretty much all fried!! Whatever was left over was being used for the next few days in a different dish! While I am all for using food up, I do that at home, I do not want to see it for 2 days after the original choice! I have stayed in all inclusive hotels for the last few years and have never had any problems such as this! We actually ate out on an average of 5 days out of the ten, but because of budgeting and the fact that we had paid for the all inclusive, we were forced to eat what little we could at the hotel! One woman whilst we were there (and one of the families that were moved) had not eaten much more than toast for 3 days due to the stomach upset from the food!
I have always trusted Thompson, and the booking agent was great too-only informing us of all she knew via the brochure, but I have to say this was the worst holiday I have had the misfortune to go on, and I shall certainly be thinking twice before I book through them again!
The kids were bored due to lack of entertainment, the food and drink was poor quality, the nationality of the hotel was inappropriate for what we were looking for, the resort itself mainly catered for Germans and the entertainment was a shambles...would you have paid £600 per head?? I think not!
The reception were great, the rooms lovely and clean and a regular maid service for change of linen, towels etc, the hotel mainly sits in shade due to the way the hotel is built so your not likely to get sun there for more than a few hours, the resort and hotel caters for germans, the food and drink tolerated and the entertainment..PUH!- in german that translates..shiser! (though the entertainers def earn their bread and butter!)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minxx_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

On arrival the receptionist was more than helpful, kindly moving us from th 5th floor down to the 3rd floor( The hotel has 6 floors).
The apartment was clean and is sized as pictured in brochures.

The meals sadly seemd to get worse the longer we were there. There are some nice grilled meats, but the fish is always covered in some weird Salty tomato or Salty cream sauce. the foods were mostly fried,even the cauliflour/broccoli and spinach were ALL deep fried in batter, I think a preference to the food being made for the German guests would not be an exageration. I would describe myself as quite open to other cultures but we honestly might aswell have gone to Germany, they made approx. 95% of the guests and the hotel catered for this. The live entertainment ,some dire German pub singers mostly, meant English guests rarely stayed for the inclusive drinks at night and left the hotel, my son spent the holiday dancing to songs at the mini disco, that surprisngly..... were in German. Sadly he struggled to communicate with any children as they all spoke German.
Very Stoic people that were seemingly indifferent to or unaffected by joy, grief, pleasure, or pain. Making it very hard to know whether to smile or frown at the people you shared your space with for a week. and sadly the whole of Sa Coma is a haven for Germans.

The Spainish were very very warm and friendly, but this was sadly erased by the above.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Just back from a week at the Palmeras Playa, went with daughter & family, children aged 9, 6 & baby 6 months and son & his girlfriend. We weren't sure what to expect, not always easy to please a mixed age group but we weren't disappointed. Reception staff very friendly and helpful on arrival. Rooms were adequate for the purpose, although | would say the sofa beds are probably best suited to children, Although we were all inclusive we had the full facilities as if we were self catering,microwave, cooker etc ideal for my daughter to make up baby bottles and feed the baby as his mealtimes did not fit in with hotel mealtimes.

The food is excellent, plenty of choice at every meal, there was always something to please everyone, too much choice if anything!

We visited the waterpark La Rancha, twice during our week. Cost about £8 each for full day which included unlimited food and drink all day, including ice lollies. Travelled to Cala Milor on the bus and came back on the land train, for a change of scenery. Walked into Sillot a couple of times.
Great for a family break.

The street market near the Brittania pub ion wednesday evenings is well wortha visit. Not too big and not lots of satlls selling Tshirts and bags like in some places!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legallass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Having spent two weeks at this hotel we came back totally dejected and frustrated with what can only be described as a very poor standard hotel. Reading some of the other reviews i feel some people must be very easily pleased. The standard of food in this hotel was nothing short of disgraceful, forcing us to eat out over half of the holiday. Not what you expect when you have paid over £4000 for a holiday, the food should at least be warm and edible offer a variety of choice. We were not looking for "pie and chips" and fully appreciate Spanish cooking. Having travelled all over the world this was by far the worst "all inclusive" deal we have had to endure.
The apartments were basic and cleaned regularly but if you were unfortunate enough to have a room on the first 3 floors of the main block your view would be nothing other than over grown trees. This shadowed most of the pool area for vast proportion of the day and hence made obtaining a decent sunbed even more challenging. Who does expect to be up between 6.30 and 7 whilst on holiday just to try and get a bed that would be in the sun? Certainly not us!!!
The entertainment was of a very poor standard and whilst fully appreciate the two entertainers worked very hard they were fighting a losing battle with a hotel this size and the number of guests. Never have we experienced such a poor entertainment team - where were the rest of the entertainers??
I could go on and on about this place but all i can say is we don't consider £4000 a small amount of money and whilst fully endorse one of the other reviews that you get what you pay for - but we simply did not get what we paid for here and came home feeling very short changed!!
Book at your peril

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baker031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
17.9 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.5 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#9 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Globales Bouganvilla
Globales Bouganvilla
#13 of 29 in Sa Coma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Palmeras Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Palmeras Playa

Property: Protur Palmeras Playa
Address: C Aritja S/N | Urb El Dorado, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#3 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protur Palmeras Playa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel with 4 stars is one of our hotels in Majorca. Located in Sa Coma, it is located 100 meters from the Sa Coma beach and 500 meters from the small fishing port of s'Illot.Our hotel in Sa Coma has twin rooms and is perfect for families with children wishing to spend their holiday in Majorca.The outdoor pool is surrounded by gardens and terraces where you can enjoy the Majorcan sun.A full entertainment programme with evening shows and activities complete the leisure on offer at the Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Protur Palmeras Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Palmeras Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing