We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protur Palmeras Playa
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The entertainment team are fantastic, as are the whole staff team. We felt very relaxed the whole time we were there. We had a few minor glitches that were resolved immediatly so we can't complain. The food is mostly very good, one night was particularly special while we were there with King Prawn stands and chocolate fountain etc. You will never be hungry on all inclusive, food just keeps appearing. I can recommend the Sangria and Cocktails, even the wine on tap is nice. Our tip is - if you have children - get them involved in the day activities so they can win their medal!! Proti dollars are equally fun - to exchange for little treats at reception. Cleanliness is very good but we felt the room floor hadn't been cleaned properly as there was dust and a wrapper from a previous family but it is clean overall. The sofa bed - for a superior room in a 4 star - was not acceptable but we had such a lovely time - it didn't spoil our time at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FairyMay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have taken note of your comments regarding the cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    320
    100
    16
    9
See reviews for
586
537
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel First impressions of this hotel were great, hotel was clean modern. When we arrived at reception we were told our room was not yet ready and to go and enjoy the facilities and come back 1.5 hour later, not ideal when you've been travelling with a 2 year old since early hours of that morning but as promised 1.5 later we were given the cards to our room
Rooms are lovely we had a superior double which was huge! Bathrooms were lovely and designer must have great taste as the tiles were exactly the same as what I have at home! Only downside to the room is that it was not cleaned every day I do think maid service should be standard especially at a 4 star
Pool area was too small for the amount of guests it had, granted we were there in peak season but I could literally count the freckles on the poor guy on the next lounger! You were packed together like sardines and spent majority of my time apologising for bumping someone or trying to fight my way out of the rows of sunbeds! not to worry though because just literally 100m down the road is a beautiful beach that would give any carribean sea a run for its money! This beach is gorgeous, crystal clear waters perfect for my daughter as was so shallow and even though it was busy it never felt over crowded, there was only one day were the sea had a warning flag due to the waves ( rip princess sa coma and ray berris that were swepped away lol) I'm not usually a beach lover but by the end of the holiday we were professional beach goers even buying our own parasol which must admit saved a small fortune as to hire on the beach was 5 euro per day and we paid 9 euro for one at the local shop
Restaurants and food were nice you could never go hungry and always managed to find a table, during busy times this place was like a school canteen but that could also be avoided once you knew what times were peak
We also ate out a couple of times for a change once at a chinese and another at britannia bar, although there are plenty of places to eat in sa coma it is missing that more high end place to eat that people could go as a treat or a special occasion, pub grub put me off a lot of the places we walked past.
Staff really do work hard at this hotel from pool cleaners to entertainers they literally work their socks off! as for the entertainment it was good, I think people do need to realise that this is a hotel that needs to cater for all ages/backgrounds (I did over hear a table talking about how rubbish the entertainment had been)etc and therefore it does do a good job in the variance of the shows, I particularly liked the rod stewart tribute all the way through to the dj who literally did not say one word into his microphone but we were in hysterics every time he picked up his big red phone (who was he calling? We decided he was calling a taxi in the end) my daughter loved loved the mini disco and even I got partial to a couple of the songs and would often find myself humming along and joining in when the parents were called up!
I have fallen in love with sa coma as a resort its clean beautiful it still has its spanish charm so it doesn't feel like a sunny blackpool type place, the resort is much bigger than I expected and for someone like me who likes nothing better than a spot of retail therapy there were enough shops to keep a smile on my face throughout my holiday
Would I return to sa coma- in a heart beat
Would I return to this hotel- would probably look at a different hotel next time

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenimae00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you and your family had such a good time. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Palmeras Playa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

GOOD BITS
Hotel rooms are lovely, spacious great walk in showers huge bed and very clean. Very well positioned lovely sandy beach just 3 minutes walk away. Food great and always lots of it (always managed to find something to eat and my 5 year old daughter is a tad fussy). Beer, wine and fizzy drinks on tap (orange juice disgusting and red wine served chilled = odd).
The Reception staff were brilliant can't fault them at all and the service in the restaurant and around the hotel was very good.
Kristina (Animation Team) was great with the children - Thank You !

DISAPPOINTING BITS
I found the pool too small for the number of families staying (and cold the sea is warmer), if you could swim without a Lilo hitting you in the head it'd be a miracle. Sun beds were always taken by 9am, and it was very difficult to move around the sunbeds to get to the pool (huge lack of space). I mean you'd be laying on a sunbed 3 rows back from the pool next to a group of people playing table tennis with the entertainment staff - not ideal.
The sun shades half the pool during the day and the other half in the afternoon, because the Hotel is in a U shape when you go out onto the balcony everybody can see you, your neighbours have an almost full view (not private at all).
The evening entertainment was good the childrens show was a little repetitive and could have lasted a bit longer (it's supposed to last an hour but half of that is taken up giving out awards). The entertainment finishes at 11:30 as all the rooms over look the entertainment area it can be loud and still be heard from the room, so if you have small children they may struggle to sleep through the noise.

Overall the hotel is good, but its just trying to do to many things in to little space. I would go back but not to that hotel. Just too busy for me.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 7th floor
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Penitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
We thank you for your comments and are sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Make sure you get your towel out by the pool early!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed there from 11th August 2011 for one week and found the hotel of a very high standard. It is clearly geared for families and the facilities and entertainment is designed ith them in mind.

Having read the reviews this hotel has clearly been Completely upgraded since last year. The reception area is bright and spacious, reception staff were helpful and cheerful. The rooms were i have to say exceptional and large with a fantastic walk in shower.

The food was what i would expect from a 4 start all inclusive holiday. There was plenty of choice at each sitting and certainly enough varity to keep my five and ten month olds full.

I have noticed some comments about the busyiness of the restaurant. My view on this is to bear in mind there were a lot of families there during our stay and they all tend to want to eat around the same time so it can get a little busy around 09.00 for breakfast and 19.00 to 20.00 for dinner. Remember the mini disco starts at 20.30 so most families try and get there little ones through their meals before that. If you stick outside these times they the facilities are much less congested.

Having said that we didn't fail to get a table or high chair during our stay.

Now for the pool. Yes it is a little small for the number of guests but again we had no proble getting sun beds and the fact that rooms overshadow the pool area for part of the day we found good with little ones.

The hotel is 2 mins from a fanstic beach which is shallow for a good 100 metres out to sea.

So in summary, if you have young children and what a low key holiday with loverly people then I would highly recommend it. It you want a quiet holiday away from children then go to a couples only hotel.

Well done to the staff for working so hard. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcphed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

From the outside this looks like a lovely hotel with its flags and water feature and glass afrontage and inside the hotel lobby is lovely but average , nothing special but clean and cosy (plenty of seats , a cloak room and desks where at certain periods of the day you will find tour reps and independent travel advisors. The reception staff (particulary a lively Welsh lady) are just so friendly and will take the time to ask about your day and to be as helpful as they can. Our room was basic but nice (the wadrobe was a nice suprise plenty of space) I think we had a very basic apartment and from what I see of the rooms on many websites they seem to have other more luxurious rooms. The rooms however are plenty space for two and have a nice cosy feel rather than the luxury touch. The hotel facilties are lovely for families (with a large outdoor pool that is clean and safe with plenty of space to sunbathe, plenty of fun entertainment is present and there is music playing most hours at the hotel (but its not loud or aposing). The restaurant is very busy and cramped and the food is a bit touch and go (breakfast in wonderful) but the lunches and dinners are a bit samey and the quality of food a bit suspect (I and a friend were both ill after eating from the restaurant). The bar is modern but cosy and has an extensive drinks menu to keep a cocktail lover happy. The hotel is clean and tidy and doesnt have a cluttered feel , I feel its perfect for families, near to local shops the beach, restaurants and just a short bus stop / or train ride away from local towns, also not a long commute away from capital city Palma (worth a visit for those who get bored of the samey samey British tourist shops and places to eat and drink). A lovely welcoming hotel, dont expect too much luxury but if you want your little ones to feel welcome then this place is perfect. But also dont be fooled that its all family family family the bar and private balconys and secret hideaways by the pool allow couples to enjoy each others company but relax.

Room Tip: Research the suites / rooms before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhoebeStangerMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chingford london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

A nice aparthotel we stayed all inclusive, clean and well maintained l, a genuine 5 minutes walk from an excellent beach, abundant supply of buffet style meals,nice bright rooms and comfortable public areas, nice friendly staff, but sadly pool seemed a tad small for the size of the complex with common early morning sun bed race ,evening entertainment was a bit dull and unlikely to excite many between 11 and 70 years old,but overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jzephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#9 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
44.6 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
17.9 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Palmeras Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Palmeras Playa

Property: Protur Palmeras Playa
Address: C Aritja S/N | Urb El Dorado, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protur Palmeras Playa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel with 4 stars is one of our hotels in Majorca. Located in Sa Coma, it is located 100 meters from the Sa Coma beach and 500 meters from the small fishing port of s'Illot.Our hotel in Sa Coma has twin rooms and is perfect for families with children wishing to spend their holiday in Majorca.The outdoor pool is surrounded by gardens and terraces where you can enjoy the Majorcan sun.A full entertainment programme with evening shows and activities complete the leisure on offer at the Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Palmeras Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Palmeras Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing