We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Sa Coma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little gem in Sa Coma”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed at this great 4 star hotel for 11 nights from 18th to 29th October. On arrival we were greeted by Clare the very friendly receptionist and were checked in quickly and very efficiently. Our room was on the 7th floor and as we were at the end of the block we had a lovely terrace area with two loungers as well as a balcony with two seats and a small table. As previously mentioned by other reviewers, the rooms are really spacious, clean and modern. We had an enormous double bed which was extremely comfortable. The room also had a double bed settee, flatscreen tv, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom has an enormous walk in shower and all of the above made for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We found the food to be of a very good standard with a wide variety of dishes to suit all tastes. The staff in the restaurant and the bar staff work very hard we never had to wait for very long to be served drinks..

The entertainment included a Rod Stewart tribute act, Magician and acrobat as well as a number of other singers and were better than most other acts I have seen on holiday. Our
grandson loved the childrens' entertainers and always made sure to be out from dinner in time to join in with the mini disco.

All in all, this is a great value hotel in a good location close to shops and the beach and I will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Room 1729 has extra large balcony with sun lounger and gets sun until mid afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holidaybuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    335
    105
    17
    9
See reviews for
640
569
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

just back from this hotel oct 12th could not fault hotel food was excellent a big choice, very clean,staff friendly,rooms very big & very clean great pool bit cold i do not know how people can find fault with this hotel.good value,would tell anyone to go see for yourself you will be glad you did.we will be going back.

Room Tip: we had a room in b block near to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed in this hotel between 4th-11th October with my boyfriend and we had a lovely relaxing time away. The hotel itself was situated minutes from the beach, the rooms were spotless, the staff were friendly and the weather was absolutely gorgeous. The resort was nice, always a Spar around the corner in case we needed something and a few shops, typical for tourists buying little souvenirs and inflatables for the beach/pool. The bus stops just down the road proved very handy for us as we enjoyed a day out in Manacor + Palma. The beach was gorgeous, clear blue water and stunning white sand, absolutely beautiful picturesque scenery!

However, for families I would not recommend this resort out of season because although it's a lovely place, there isn't a wide range of things to do. After a few days, my boyfriend and I were at loss at what we could do, and sitting around the pool seemed like the only option. The pools location was also an issue sometimes, as most people still rushed out early to put their towels on sun loungers (the sun doesn't cover the whole pool area until late afternoon) so those who came down slightly later, were left seats in the shade. Also, considering we went "all-inclusive", the ranges of alcoholic drinks/soft drinks on offer was minimal which was quite disappointing as a young couple who enjoy a drink or two and although the food was delicious, as a fussy eater, i found it hard to find something I liked each day. My boyfriend also had fish one day and found about 5 sharp fish bones, which could have ended a lot worse if he had not been so aware.

The entertainment crew were hilarious, full of energy and tried to involve everyone as much as they could in the activities throughout the day. However, I must say the night-time entertainment wasn't very good so we spent most evenings sat up in the room watching TV.

Other than that, we enjoyed a relaxing break in this hotel/resort, but would not consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have just returned from a holiday to this hotel, I would recommend it to anyone who wants value for money in one of the biggest rooms we have ever had in any hotel yet.

I read reviews about the hotel before booking, they stated that the rooms were large but I still didnt expect them to be that large.

The room had a very large double bed which was over 6 ft wide, you could have gotten 4 adults in it and still had room to spare, no that I am recommending 4 people share the bed ha ha. There was a seperate seating area with a large sofa bed, which my hubby said was more comfortable than the bed, which had a firm mattress. There were 3 coffee tables 2 small one and a large one, an armchair, a flat screen tv, a cupboard with the fridge in it, with the tea and coffee making equipment on top of it, a dressing table with 2 drawers, and a large wardrobe containing the safe.

On the balcony there was 2 chairs a small table and a clothes drying rack, all of the balconys overlooked the pool and entertainment area, so if you wished to you could sit on the balcony and watch the acts from there.

The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels were changed daily. The hotel was sptlessly clean in all areas. They had a room opposite the pool area which was a launderette if you needed to wash anything while you were there.

The pool was very nice with plenty of sunbeds, however the water in the pool was very cold. There was a childrens pool which was very well used by the few young children who were in the hotel. You could not used the pool before 10.00am as it was cleaned every day.

The resturant was very good with an outside seating area as well as the indoor seating area, there was a lot of variety in the menu, but it was not just aimed at the british taste but european as well, there were a lot of different nationalities staying in the hotel which was reflected in the food on offer. They had 2 chefs working on the griddle, 1 for meats and fish and the other one for stirfry's which were delicious
For anyone who loves to eat this must have been like paradise, breakfast, then lunch, then afternoon tea at 4.00pm, then the evening meal, then at 11.00pm they put sandwhich's out in the bar. Needles to say I put on ½ a stone in the 2 weeks I was there.

The drinks were all self service in the resturant and the pool bar, they had pumps for beer and wine which you just pulled when ever you wanted a drink, as well as coffee and soft drink machines for you to use. In the bar there was bar staff, Mercedes,Paco, Marga, Jose and Kevin who were really friendly as were all the staff at the hotel.

In reception they had english receptionists as well as spanish, the Thomson rep Richard was very helpful, he was at the hotel every day. They also had a weighing machine in the reception area to weigh your cases before you left for the airport. Also just along from the reception was a room equipped as a gymnasium should you feel the need for some exercise.

At this hotel you are only a short 2 minute walk from the hotel to the beach,it is a lovely beach soft clean sand, the walk into the water was flat, and the water was shallow for a long way out which was ideal for anyone with young children, a soft sandy bottom in the water no rocks or pebbles although there is the odd patch of sea grass which sometimes washes up on the beach.

There are shops opposite the hotel and the bus stop for the local buses, as well as the stop for the train which runs between Calla MIllor, Calla Bona, Sillott and Sa Coma, it runs at 5 past each hour and is a novel way of getting around.

I wouldnt hesitate to go back to this hotel again as we had a very enjoyable stay, I would like to thank the hotel staff and management for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our room was classified as a superior room. Some of the rooms had a partition which could be pulled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trucklady6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed 8th - 22nd September 2012 all inclusive. We are a couple with two pre school children. I searched Trip Advisor before booking this holiday and we were very happy with our choice, this hotel is excellent. I cannot believe anyone who finds fault with this place.

The Rooms, like everyone has said, spacious, contemporary decor, very clean and fabulous bathrooms. Good balcony with a glass panel so it provides a good view of pool area. All rooms (seem to) face pool area so everyone gets some sort of decent view.

Food, one restaurant and a pool bar. Breakfasts good choice, everything you can think of, we enjoyed smoked salmon and scrambled eggs one morning and then a great selection of fruit pastries etc on another. Provided you have a bit of imagination, you could eat something different everyday for two weeks. There are two tea / coffee machines so no need to queue, don't listen to people who say there is only one, they are ill informed. Choices for lunch are either main restaurant or pool bar. Pool bar is more casual, providing selection of burgers, pizza, salads, rolls etc, all buffet style. If you prefer something more, the main restaurant offers three course lunches. Dinner was excellent, lots of choice, steak, prawns, fish, chicken all cooked on grill for you. Also, fabulous stir fry cooked personally for you. Also, lots of choice on salads, breads, fruits, desserts, all very good. You cannot fault this place, if people complain about the food, they are not putting enough imagination into choosing the right combinations. The choice was immense. As for dress code, I didn't think there was an issue. The management is clearly visible in the restaurant and we even saw the General Manager eating in there. We mainly chose to dine outside on the patio area, really pleasant and 95% of the time we got a table there no problem.

The staff are all excellent. Our cleaner, Bel was lovely and even gave our children some beach / pool toys to save us buying them locally. The Reception staff are very helpful, knowledgeable and in my opinion, very attentive and also cheerful! Special mention for Rachel, very good. Bar staff are all very good, never had to wait for a drink, again, special mention for Mercedes and Francisco who were both excellent. Excellent choice of drinks: cocktails, fruit juices, fizzy stuff, wine, beers. I usually struggle when on holiday to find a decent drink, the gin and tonics and rose wine were good. Cannot fault the choice or quality.

Location is excellent, two mins walk from the beach and shaded pool area for part of the day which suited us having two children able to play in the pool without worrying too much about sun over exposure. We did one day at La Reserva Waterpark which is part of the Protur group so it only cost up 25 euros for the full day which included all food and drink as you can use your all inclusive there.

If I really had to find some negatives, the entertainment was quite loud, it didn't stop our children sleeping and was finished by 10.30pm. The sofa bed was slightly uncomfortable but nothing you can't cope with for a couple of weeks!

Overall, this place is a very clean, well kept, contemporary hotel with lovely happy staff and an excellent choice of food and drink. We tend to not return to places even when we really like them as we like to try other places, however, I would recommend this place and go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dowlo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just got back from a great week 2/10/12 at the Palmeras playa . We loved the hotel. The bedroom was a twin superior , modern and spacious , tea and coffee making facilities . The shower room was also impressive with a big headed powerful shower which I didn't want to get out of !! We were in room 1228 which was just above reception so when coaches arrived in the early hours we could hear them. Our room got the sun in the morning , you need to be on floor 6 or 7 towards the pool in block A to get the late afternoon sun . The food was very good , varied selection and very nice desserts , but the sandwiches in the bar at 11-00pm need improving a lot or dropping because they let the hotel down . The hotel staff were excellent throughout. Hotel and pool areas are spotlessly clean . Entertainment was what you normally get abroad !!! You will have a laugh with hector riva sorry I mean Michael who is the hard working animation guy . Sa coma is nice but quite resort with a lovely beach and you have silliot and cala millor/ cala bona close by . We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank u-pies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at the Palmeras Playa from the 27th September to 4th October and had a great time. The hotel is modern, exceptionally clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are very spacious with fridge and kettle. Also I loved the walk in power shower, it was absolutely fantastic, I so want one at home now.!!!
The hotel is also in an ideal location for the excellent beach and the flat promenade is great for strolling along. It's also close to shops and bars and S'illot, Calla Millor and Cala Bona are within reasonable walking distance. The food at the hotel was really good, a special mention must go to the Chinese guy named Rong, he worked really hard cooking breakfast etc., most of the time single handed. I really enjoyed his omelettes. I do agree that they should put a proper dress code in place for the restaurant in the evening and this should be more rigorously enforced. Regards the entertainment, we watched it a couple of nights and really enjoyed a soul singer named E. Billy Thompson. The entertainment team, Lina and Michael work really hard. Just remember you are on holiday so join in and have fun instead of moaning.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room, A block gets the evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,248 reviews
21.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#9 of 29 in Sa Coma
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel

Property: Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Address: Avd. de les Savines, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel with 4 stars is one of our hotels in Majorca. Located in Sa Coma, it is located 100 meters from the Sa Coma beach and 500 meters from the small fishing port of s'Illot. Our hotel in Sa Coma has twin rooms and is perfect for families with children wishing to spend their holiday in Majorca. The outdoor pool is surrounded by gardens and terraces where you can enjoy the Majorcan sun. A full entertainment program with evening shows and activities complete the leisure on offer at the Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing