We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protur Palmeras Playa
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

It is a great location and immaculately clean and tidy. The entertainment was great, there was always something to do without it being intrusive. Food and drink was lovely and we could not fault it. The staff were brilliant and very attentive, rooms were some of the best we have ever stayed in not tacky and old looking like some similarly priced hotels in Majorca.

We traveled as a group of 10 including myself and my husband in our early twenties with our two children who were 2 and 3 months at the time, 2 other young couples and my parents and each age group enjoyed the holiday.

The only blip was the lift it was small and we waited ages each morning and evening (averaged at 10 mins but was between 15-20 one day) for it to come to our floor and even then it was usually full - we used to carry the pushchair down the stairs as it was quicker and easier. This was the one and only bad point but I would not let it put me off going back.

We stayed last August, in the height of the season and it did not feel crowded, there were always enough sunbeds, ques were short if at all and evening meals were lovely with a wide selection to choose from and plenty of it.

The hotel is close to shops and the beach, very relaxing holiday - if you are thinking about it, stop thinking and just book it, we will be definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool view - can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dalca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    324
    100
    16
    9
See reviews for
603
545
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

The best hotel in Sa coma for service and food without a doubt!! the reception team Carla, clair, Rachel and Dominique are fantastic!! Great location 30 second walk to the beach! rooms for a 4 star hotel are exceptional! All of the bar staff and managers are excellent! make use of the free packed lunch! and see the rep and get booked on the orange blossom trail and the pirates adventure dinner show!! Not to be missed!!! amazing Irish bar just down the road that is a must for any sporting events and amazing food!!! can't wait to visit again! Miss all of the great food! Anyone that says the selection is not good enough needs to take a good look at themselves and stop eating beans on toast all their life's ! Ur in Mallorca please don't expect liver and bacon! this hotels food choice is far better than any other I have seen on the island!

See you all again soon, much love xxxxx

(Paco,Paco, milyez!!!! ;)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Reemrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

First I would just like to thank the staff at the Protur Palmeras Playa for a fantastic holiday back in June 2012!! I booked the holiday for my family that includes my wife and two boys then aged 3 and 10 years, we booked through first choice. We arrived at the hotel that was modern bright clean and staff at reception were english and were very friendly and loved working at the hotel. There were genuine and always polite and very helpfull and we learnt that we could book the hotel through the companies website and our flights separate this next time would save alot of money, also the hotel can pick you up from the airport as well. The rooms were quite small however, we had two separate beds for the children and a sliding door and my wife and I slept on the sofa bed. Mind the only downside to the room was that the beds were hard, and the sofa bed softer the room had a fridge and kettle and excellent bathroom with excellent shower. We had a fantastic room view of the pool and we rented the safe in the room which was excellent. The pool area was brilliant for the children and the pool bar was good serving drinks and food, the ice cream was what you expect from an all inclusive hotel. The food was fantastic and we had plenty of choice, I can remember the chef cooking stir fir and that is the best I have had and the deserts were brilliant loads of choice. I remember one night we counted at least 25 separate deserts on display, always welll cooked and warm, staff at the restaurant were excellent and always interacted. The entertainment was as you can expect okay, but it was nice to sit and have a beer of two in the warm, overall this was value for money and excellent stay. You probably ask why wait to write a review 9 months later, we have just returned from a week all inclusive in Feb and stayed at Costa teguise in Lanzarote and the food was terrible and the holiday experience average at best it makes you appreciate the holiday that we had at Majorca in Sa Coma. We have booked flights again for june back to Majorca and hope to stay in a sister hotel and enjoy another great holiday.

The hotel location was fantastic and near to the lovely beach, only down side is Sa Coma was very quiet resort ideal for young families.

Room Tip: book direct with hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is a good hotel. I visited last year but I can still remember stuff about it, so please remember things may have changed since.

First off, it's a modern hotel. The reception is nice and there is always an English speaking receptionist (In fact, if English isn't her first language, she's done a damn good job of doing an Northern English accent!!). You have to put wristbands on to show how old you are which is a tad annoying (It lets the bar men know whether to serve you alcohol or not).

There are three sets of rooms. We were in a room just above the stage. The entertainment stops after 10pm I think, which is good because it's not on when you're trying to sleep, but it does mean that after 10pm that's it, there's not much to do. If you want to see the stage from the balcony, you will need a room opposite it.

Back to the entertainment- the animation team do a good job. They do something each lunch time (except Sundays). Sometimes it's a bit tacky (Like a paper plane competition), but other times it's OK. At night, the entertainment isn't as good as other hotels i've stayed in. It's difficult to get a table too.

There are two places to get food- the pool bar which is open at lunch time- and the restaurant which is open at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The pool bar serves fast food- burgers, chicken nuggets, chips, pizza etc. Not a problem if you like that food. The restaurant serves more 'posh' food, like fish, meats, pasta, salad etc. For breakfast, there is a cooked breakfast or cereals. The bacon is streaky so if you don't like to eat a lot of fat, you can forget having any bacon.
For dinner, you can go to the restaurant. There is often a lot of fish food. Probably not really much for kids who are 'selective' over what they eat. Don't be surprised if they come back with a plate of chips.

There isn't many tables for more than 4 people, so you may need to wait a bit to be seated if you have a larger family.

For dessert there is a range of ice cream and dessert type foods (Jelly, chocolate, ice cream, cream, fruit etc).

As with most hotels, you'll need to be up early to get a sunbed. If you've got a good throw and you're on the lower floors, you can get up at 6am, chuck a towel down onto a sunbed from your balcony and go back to bed (Unlucky if you miss!).

On the subject of the balcony, you don't get much privacy. The front of it is a big glass panel so everyone round the pool can see you on it. TO THE STAFF: I recommend you purchase some of that reflective plastic stuff. Stick it on the glass so people cannot see into the balcony but if you're on the balcony you can still see out.

If you like to spend the day in the sun, be prepared to chase it. It will move across the sky during the day which means the sunny spot will move from one side of the hotel to the other.

There is also free ice creams for kids- they are the equivalent to mini milks in the UK. There is also cakes in the pool bar- be quick though as they go quickly.

The pool bar is fine, but the problem is when the food comes out, people get out of the pool to eat. That means you have dripping wet people in swimsuits fingering the food (Not nice when a hairy half naked & wet 55 year old man is devouring the chocolate cake).

You can exit the hotel from the back entrance (by the pool) but you need your door card to get back in. It is locked at 10pm (I think, or it could be 9pm) so you have to walk round to the front entrance.

If you look on google maps, you will see a lot of construction on the hotel premises- don't worry, that's all gone and there is no construction now!!

There is a few shops to the left of the back exit of the hotel, but the main parade is right, down at the beach. There is a whole beach front full of shops and restaurants (which you can't really see on google maps!). If you're a keen photographer, walk right along the beach to the little bridge and you'll get some amazing sun set photos there. Across the little bridge, there is a market once a week.

You also get the black guys selling you fake watches and sunglasses. If you want to pay €10 for a fake watch and the guy won't do it, you can move along to the next man in the row and ask him. As you do this, the guy who just refused to sell it at €10 will come over and speak to his mate in African or whatever and then all of a sudden this guy won't sell it to you for €10!! If you keep going away and coming back they recognise you too! (Don't do it too much as they sometimes go off on one about how the English always want a low price but never buy-- whoops!). If you are looking at some watches and the guy isn't there to help you choose, his mate will come over and assist so you're never quite sure who is selling what. If you realise they've all disappeared, it's probably because the police appeared so they all run off (Look out for the black guys with rucksacks who are walking round when the police are patrolling- that's the fake watch sellers!!).

There is a small castle type building that you can go in (to the top) and get a nice panorama photo of the area. You can see it on google maps- it's in got trees around it and it's quite small. To the north of this hotel.

That's all I can think of at the moment. Message me if you have any questions and I will try to help!

Room Tip: All rooms are good- none are ground floor. All face inwards to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Blarblarblar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel August 2012. We cannot fault the staff that work at the hotel they were fantastic especially the bar staff. The level of cleanliness was exceptional and the food was excellent with a wide range of choice. However, the pool area was restricted in space and because of the positioning of the pool area next to the hotel it meant that at any time of day only one half of the pool was in the sunshine which changed as the shadow of the vast hotel swung around. There was a lack of thought when it came to the number of sunbeds provided in comparison to the number of guests staying at the hotel. In order to gain one of these magic dust sunbeds you had to get up very early (before 7am) as any later and there were none. This is not my idea of a relaxing all inclusive holiday if I am required to wake up as early as I would in the uk. In the evening time the seating areas can only be described as clostrophobic. It felt like once again there was a lack of thought put in to the layout of the hotel. It felt like farm animals clustered together. Also there were many children on the balconies shining laser pens in your face and eyes. Although this is not the fault of the hotel itself it did make it difficult to relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Palmeras Playa, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
We thank you for your comments. We will look into the matter of the sunbeds and seating arrangements for this coming season and are sorry if this detracted from the enjoyment of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We went here in august 2012, it was the most amazing place eva.From the moment we arrived the reception staff were so friendly and helpfull, our cases were taken upstairs to our room and when we walked in it was a WOW moment , it was huge!! Lovely balcony overlooking the pool.The weather in august was red hot, even the staff were sayin it was 1 of the hottest augusts for years.Now what can i say bout the food??Absolutely fantastic ,there was a chinese chef just cooking stir frys , u just picked wat u wanted , wateva sauce and he,d make it for u , the sweets were just as delicious wif hot chocolate fountains and fruit on skewers mmmm.Make sure u go to the italian night that they invite you too , your made to feel so special with bottles of cava in ice buckets , bottles of wine and a nice liquer to finish off ya night FANTASTIC and thank you palmeras , all your staff are brilliant what a wonderful hotel , so nice were coming back in june and september next year xxx

Room Tip: We had rooms on the blue side, much easier to get to bar and restaurant, we overlooked kids pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank caroline t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This hotel is by far the best 4 star hotel I have ever stayed in, i would even say that it is better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in. The staff are all friendly and extremely helpful and from check in your needs are there priority e.g. At the time we stayed there my child was 18 months old and after a long day of travel we needed to get to our room and as we had just missed lunch they had us some food made to keep us going till evening meal. We stayed in one of the hotels apartments which was extremely clean and spacious having everything you need, the reception staff (who I cant praise enough) even arranged another fridge for us to keep my sons milk in. Televisions in the rooms have all basic UK channels, comfy furniture and bathrooms are lovely and clean ( even though we did have a minor issue with a leaking shower" which may I add got fixed within 20 minutes of call to reception FANTASTIC "!!!) The food is amazing with a variety of choice breakfast, lunch and dinner for most people. Due to the shape of the hotel it is not the best for the sun as it doesn’t heat up the pool much as there is a only small parts of the pool area that catch the sun, apart from that the pool and bar area are always clean and plenty of staff around if you need anything (even the annoying entertainment people!!!! "Only joking they were not that bad").Just a nice walk to shops bars and beach and some lovely little restaurants nearby, if you don’t fancy the hotel one night.
The one major fault that was my only issue the whole time we were there was the OVER LOUD entertainment. If you are there with a small child it is far too loud for them to sleep and goes on every night till 12ish, which as most parents will agree you need your sleep with a small child. Apart from that would 100% recommend this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SCOlow_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 29 in Sa Coma
350 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,137 reviews
44.6 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Palmeras Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Palmeras Playa

Property: Protur Palmeras Playa
Address: C Aritja S/N | Urb El Dorado, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#3 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protur Palmeras Playa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel with 4 stars is one of our hotels in Majorca. Located in Sa Coma, it is located 100 meters from the Sa Coma beach and 500 meters from the small fishing port of s'Illot.Our hotel in Sa Coma has twin rooms and is perfect for families with children wishing to spend their holiday in Majorca.The outdoor pool is surrounded by gardens and terraces where you can enjoy the Majorcan sun.A full entertainment programme with evening shows and activities complete the leisure on offer at the Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Palmeras Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Palmeras Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing