We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protur Palmeras Playa
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but ...”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The hotel and staff were great, the only thing that let it down was the number of screaming uncontrolled children allowed to run around in the evening in the bar area - it was the only thing that made us decide that we would not go there again, which was a shame as the food was the best we have ever had in an all inclusive hotel, even had a packed lunch when we went out for the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suenandoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    323
    100
    16
    9
See reviews for
603
544
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just returned from a 10 day holiday at this friendly hotel. All of the staff are hard working and eager to please holiday-makers. We had a great relaxing, enjoyable holiday, which is mainly down to the staff who welcomed us, fed us, provided drinks and cleaned. In all our travels we have never experienced such a happy, accommodating, hard working crew. It is a winning formula which their management should be justly proud.
That friendly atmosphere created by the staff seemed to rub off on the hotel guests as well. We met a number of other couples and families who all agreed that the staff had improved their holiday experience.
Food: Good choice of breakfast, full English fry-up or continental, full range of cereals and fruit. Lunch is a choice of buffet restaurant or pool snack bar. Dinner: range of starters, soup (hot or cold), salads, salmon, prawns and various canapes. Main courses options included various meat, fish and vegetarian dishes or yet another alternative of having a stir fry of grilled fish or meat cooked individually for you by one of two chefs while you wait. Sweet course, which has been described by other contributors, was plentiful and excellent. Sandwiches provided in main bar at 11 p.m.
Drinks: Wine, beer, soft drinks and coffee or tea were available via dispensers or machines in the buffet restaurant. Also self service beer and soft drinks at the pool bar during the day. We found the best G&Ts were from the pool bar during the day. No problem queuing or waiting for drinks at the main bar in the evening. Range of cocktails and spirits all served with a smile.
Entertainment: Good professional acts in the evening ranging from good tribute acts to an elusionist and mime artist. Best for us was a Beatles duo who not only were good musicians and singers but also an excellent comedy act. The animation team, Arron and Imke with occasional help from Carlos, worked extremely long hours and on occasion seemed over stretched to cover their many duties, even though they never flagged or stopped smiling.
Rooms: The recently refurbished rooms lived up our expectations. Excellent shower/wet room. Modern, clean decor. Small but perfectly formed balcony. Great, efficient and quiet air conditioning. Flat screen TV with five British channels (to catch up on the Soaps and the latest cricket score). Rooms expertly cleaned daily.
Sun bed blocking: Many people read of the antics of the usual selfish few reserving multiple sun beds at the crack of dawn. On our holiday the first week was quite civilized in this respect. However, near the end of our holiday one of the maintenance team went and had to removed some 60 to 70 towels from unoccupied sun beds at approx. 8.45 a.m. - Bravo ! ! ! Some of these had been “reserved” at 7 a.m. - and this hotel is 95% Brits.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank egretclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Travelled as a group of 9 in July.

Great hotel, rooms are very modern, rain shower is great but floor can get slippy. Rooms cleaner daily to high standard.

Food was generally as you'd expect in an all inclusive, although the stir fry made by Kong was very good.

Drinks were local brand, but all generally ok.

Pool area we found a little cramped, but not as shaded as we'd expected, at least some parts had sun until early evening.

Evening entertainment area again felt a little cramped.

Went to the Italian, made a nice change to be served and drink wine from a bottle in real wine glasses.

Great location, 2 minutes from th beach.

All in all a great week, nice hotel, would stay again, but definitely out of peak holidays for schools. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome. The hotel is very clean and modern and the staff are lovely. Our room was spacious with separate bedroom, a fridge and a kettle. The food was amazing - never have we had such a choice and the desserts were to die for. There seemed to be food on offer all day, even sandwiches arrived in the bar at 11 pm! It is very close to the beach and it is a lovely evening walk along the sea front. Although the hotel was full it didn't seem crowded. No problem getting a table in the dining room or a sun bed round the pool. Not many older children but lots of pre-schoolers who had a whale of a time. The entertainers worked so hard with them and the children seemed to love them. We will be back next year, probably with friends.

Room Tip: W were in block A and had a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CATLOVERS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We went for a week's holiday 2-9 July 2013 and it was fantastic! We have a 4 year old, he absolutely loved the pool which was clean and well kept (cleaned every morning) and the whole pool area was hosed down every night. The entertainment team were fantastic with the children, lots of variety and a cool play area/club for the kids which gives them a break from the heat. Imke and Aaron, the entertainments team were great, they really work very hard. The staff in the hotel are so friendly and always smiling I literally can't fault anything. The rooms were clean, and there is separating door between the two sides of the room even a fridge in the room. The air con was fab too. The hotel is well worthy of its 4* status. The restaurant and general food was absolutely fine, the variety was fine too. We even got a bottle of bubbly on our wedding anniversary!

The hotel is a 2 min walk from the beach and there are local shops and bars....not that you really need them! It is the most family friendly hotel I have ever stayed in. I have never booked the same hotel twice but we are seriously considering going back next year. I highly recommend he hotel to any family with children, brilliant!!

Room Tip: We were in Block A, it was fine, sun on the balcony all afternoon/evening. We were on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A First Class Hotel. From the moment we entered the door all the staff made us feel welcome. Excellent spacious rooms including a settee and a lovely view from our 6th floor room. Food superb, especially the desserts. The restaurant staff, chefs, Bar staff and reception were all extremely friendly and helpful. Also the trip we booked with reception - coach, boat, tram and train was extremely enjoyable. Plus the animation team were very hard working and the evening shows were varied and most entertaining. The whole hotel and pool areas were spotlessly clean. We could not fault anything, we had a fabulous 2 week holiday. Thank you Protur Palmeras Playa.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor no.1617 - lovely view over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare1947PPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just back from 14 nights in this hotel and I have to say it was fab!!!. The reception staff and Lucianne from First Choice are very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The bathrooms are lovely with a large shower. We traveled with our son (age 5) and daughter (age 21 months) we found it a bit awkward showering our daughter as she is use to the bath but a blow up boat filled with water soon sorted that out!! The food is of a very high standard, lunch in the pool bar was great for the kids (Burgers, Sausages, pasta, salad etc) and dinners (especially the gala dinner) are lovely. Lots of choice from plain pan fried chicken to freshly cooked stir fry made on the spot. The staff in this hotel are second to none, very friendly and great with children. One waiter Javi was excellent especially with my son, but all are friendly and nice. The all inclusive drinks are great especially the cocktails. I was slightly worried before travelling as I didn't find much info about kids entertainment, but no need to worry about this Imke and Aaron are great my kids just loved them. The mini disco was the highlight of their holiday and my son loved the kids clubs. Aarons round the pool entertainment was great could not fault them xx
We spent one day at the wee water park and I would recommend this for any one travelling with children under 10. The pool area is great if you have children as one side is in shade on the morning and the other in the afternoon. Don't worry about the previous reviews about the sunbeds as the hotel have this now sorted we did see towels being taken off beds by staff if no one was with them before 9am. The hotel is very secure you need a key to get in the side door and this door locks after a certain time on a night so everyone has to go through reception. I would definitely book again as would the majority of the people we spoke to. Info I only found out when there that I think will help with packing

1) They have hairdryers in the rooms
2) You can hire an iron from reception
3) Towels can be hired at reception for 15 euro deposit and you can refresh whenever
4) The Spar is across the road and they sell pampers nappies

So have no fears you have picked the right hotel just wish it was us going back!!!!! Enjoy xx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 29 in Sa Coma
348 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,134 reviews
44.6 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Palmeras Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Palmeras Playa

Property: Protur Palmeras Playa
Address: C Aritja S/N | Urb El Dorado, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#3 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protur Palmeras Playa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel with 4 stars is one of our hotels in Majorca. Located in Sa Coma, it is located 100 meters from the Sa Coma beach and 500 meters from the small fishing port of s'Illot.Our hotel in Sa Coma has twin rooms and is perfect for families with children wishing to spend their holiday in Majorca.The outdoor pool is surrounded by gardens and terraces where you can enjoy the Majorcan sun.A full entertainment programme with evening shows and activities complete the leisure on offer at the Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Palmeras Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Palmeras Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing