We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculately clean, ultra helpful & friendly staff, fantastic food & only 120 mtrs from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protur Palmeras Playa
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Immaculately clean, ultra helpful & friendly staff, fantastic food & only 120 mtrs from the beach”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We usually go for a villa for the main family holiday, so an all inclusive hotel deal was uncharted territory for us this year. What a pleasant surprise this tuned out to be. From the first minute when we were greeted by Dominique in reception (who was brilliant every time we needed help or info) we found all the staff really friendly & interested in helping to provide a great service. The bar staff were fast & friendly as were the restaurant staff. Being all inclusive, we expected to have to queue endlessly in a Butlins type of environment, but it really wasn't like that at all. Even at busy times, we always managed to seat 6 in the restaurant & if there wasn't a table immediately available, the waiters laid one in a flash. The food was fab! Our expectations weren't high, but the range & quality of dishes was great at every meal time. If we didn't fancy a full sit down lunch in the restaurant, there was an excellent pool bar stacked with salad, burgers, sausages, pizza etc plus draught beer & soft drinks all on a self service basis.
The only bad points for us:
The pool seems a bit small for a hotel of this size.
There are not enough sun beds, so you have to join in the 'get up early & put your towel out' brigade, despite notices saying that unattended towels would be removed before 9am, although we didn't see this being enforced at all.
Same problem with tables & chairs in the evening. If you like the look of that evenings entertainment, you need to eat early then get outside to grab a table. Several occasions we watched the acts on the outdoor stage from a sun bed!
That said, we had a great week & came away wishing we'd booked for 2 weeks - that can't be bad a thing ?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patch104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    324
    100
    16
    9
See reviews for
603
545
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week stay at Protur Palmeras Playa we all found the food exceptionally good and varied to suit all tastes. Staff were all courteous, friendly and eager to help. Rooms were very clean and all round the hotel was kept tidy by staff. Pool facilities and entertainment were all good with the entertainment team working hard to make the holiday special for all. Only very minor point but chairs not comfortable in the outside area. All of our group had a very good time and would revisit the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed for one week from 25th July. Family of four with two boys (18 and 15). We had two rooms next to each other on the 6th floor, overlooking the pool.
Positives:
Rooms large with balconies. The bed area can be closed off by sliding doors, and the seating area has a sofa, dressing table and stool, fridge and flat screen TV with British channels. Bathroom is big with a huge shower. Rooms are really nice and cleaned daily. The sun moves round the hotel during the day, so you only get sun on the balcony morning or afternoon (we had evening sun which was nice). Would suggest a room overlooking the pool rather then the entertainment area, which can be loud.
Service is very friendly and efficient – they will always try and help.
Food was very good. Breakfast in particular was excellent - loads of choice. All self-service, hot and cold drinks.
Lunch was either a snack in the pool bar, or a full blown lunch in the restaurant. We only had lunch there one day , but the hotel provides free picnic lunches if you order before 8pm the day before which was a really nice touch and which we took full advantage of.
Dinner was very good as well - plenty of choice. The puddings looked spectacular and our boys LOVED them – a little too sickly for my taste, but there’s plenty of cheese and fruit, so not a problem.
Lovely Italian evening (why not Spanish??) one day in pool bar area. You were allocated an evening for that, and ours was pretty empty which was a shame as it was the best food of the week and made a nice change being waitress served.
I would say this is an ideal hotel for families with younger children. The entertainment for them seemed excellent, and they all appeared to be having a wonderful time. If you are staying as a couple or with older children, be aware that it is very family orientated and there are lots of kids running round until quite late.
The hotel is in a really great location in Sa Coma. Lovely resort right next to a lovely beach which has a great evening atmosphere. We tended to go for a stroll right along the 'promenade' in the evenings to watch all the things going on (and to avoid the evening entertainment in the hotel which was very average).
Also very good position for getting around the island, particularly if you hire a car as we did. On exploring the island, we were really happy we had chosen to stay in Sa Coma.
Free Wi-Fi in all areas in the hotel with good reception.
Negatives:
Not shown to our room on arrival - got very lost and had to return to reception, hot, tired and annoyed - not the greatest start.
The pool area is very crowded and the sun beds very tightly packed. They have (supposedly) brought in a new policy of not being allowed to reserve sun beds before 9am, but frankly most didn’t take any notice and were still laying their towels out by 7am. We tended to go out during the day, and when we came back mid-afternoon we could never get sunbeds together. Although I appreciate there’s not a lot the hotel can do, this was very frustrating when you’ve paid a lot of money and did impact on the enjoyment of the holiday. The actual pool however never seemed overly busy.
Although drinks were always available, it was quite awkward to get water. All the drink fountains had fizzy drinks in which we don't like. You had to queue up to ask for water which was slightly annoying. Water should be available in a pump at the bar, or in bottles.
Had a couple of issues with the Thomson rep on site – suggest if going out and about then ask reception and book independently (including car hire) – Thomson’s own excursions are expensive and not necessarily as good. Reception are very knowledgeable on where to go and how to get there.
Generally: Very good hotel especially for families in great location with good food and service, but expect it to be very busy in peak season.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxonLioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We holidayed with another couple between 10-24th July on an all inclusive basis. The hotel is clean, smart and modern. The staff were the nicest and most helpful & attentive that we have come across in years of going on all-inclusive holidays; nothing was too much trouble and they always had smiles on their faces.

There is "entertainment" during the daytime by the pool to cater for the kids and adults - the reps try to encourage people to join in but are polite and not pushy. The music was sometimes too noisy in the morning but it didn't last too long. However, if you want a very peaceful holiday, this might prove an irritation.

The main pool area was not the largest and at least half is quite deep (2m - 2.15m). The sun shines on one side of the pool in the morning and the other in the afternoon, so lots of people switched sides to suit their preference. Quite frankly in July, a full day in the sun would have been too much. The pool is not really made for swimming lengths. There is a beautiful beach 2 minutes stroll away, so the size of the pool was never an issue.

The food was of a very high standard and I would highly recommend the "cook to order" section, which featured two types of fish, steaks, chicken fillets and a couple of veggie options each night. There was sometimes a wait of 5 minutes, but it was worth the wait. One corner was dedicated to local Mallorcan specialities. There was food available all day by the pool - watch out, you could easily put on a lot of weight over a couple of weeks!

In the bar, the cocktails (like Pina Colada) were very nice & refreshing (on a previous holiday at another hotel they tasted of toxic chemicals). The spirits were of a high standard and we did not find it necessary to pay for the top end brands. Service in the evening stopped at midnight - there was a supposed to be a limit of one drink served after 11pm, but we never had a problem getting served multiple times between 11pm and midnight. The main area became very quiet after 11pm. We witnessed no rowdy behaviour at all.

The entertainment was OK, although that wasn't something we focused on.

The room was large with a separate seating area with TV, leading out onto a balcony. The bathroom was large with a super drench shower. WIFI is free and you get a code and password to login. The speed isn't great and the service drops out from time to time. There is a safe in the room (chargeable) and fridge (not stocked).

The beds were very hard but, when we asked, the staff put a topper of the bed and that solved the problem.

There is room for storing luggage if you have a late flight.

Suggested things to do:

1. Rent a bike and take the coast road (cycle path) to Cala Millor and Cala Bona. Don't rent from the shop immediately across the road - turn right out of the hotel front entrance and there is a much better place 200 yards down on the left; loads of quality bikes at good prices. Mallorcans treat cyclists with respect so it is a lot safer riding than in the UK, and it's mostly flat. Another place to go to is in the opposite direction south past S'Illot, there is an idyllic cove 5 minutes further where catamarans drop people off to swim. You can climb down and swim from the rocks.

3. Explore a little further by bike and go beyond Porto Christo to Porto Christo Novo. There are 3 coves close by, the first of which (Cala Mendia) is located down a walk way / path from Passeig Infanta Carlota or from Passeig Alfonso XIII. It is lovely!

2. Rent a car (we used the same place we hired the bikes from) and drive to Colònia de Sant Jordi on the south coast where there are a beautiful series of bays to the east of the port, where you can swim in lovely clear water.

https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?ie=UTF-8&q=map+sa+coma&fb=1&gl=uk&hq=sa+coma&cid=0,0,5349774625589783355&ei=Bs_-UdzbOMa_PLz0AQ&ved=0CL8BEPwSKAAwEA

4. There is a one star Michelin restaurant in Sa Coma - Es Moli Den Bou. A "meal" there is a truly amazing experience. Go for the tasting menu with the wines if you can.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the first floor. Rooms in blocks B and C further away from the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I travelled to this hotel for a week 27th July -3rd aug as a family of 10, the youngest been my daughter at 14 months and oldest my dad in his 50's. this hotel was excellent, the reception staff spoke good English and helped anyone they could and nothing seemed to much trouble (from conversations I over herd!) check in took around 5-10 mins max and the lovely lady at reception took us to the lift and around to our floor. We occupied 4 rooms between our party and were all next door to one another. Our room was massive and spotless, me and my partner had a room with our 2 year old and 1 year old.we had the bed settee already made into a bed for our son and a cot in the bedroom for our daughter, there was still enough space to move around with 2 pushchairs and 3 suitcases. The bathroom was a walk in shower which was very nice and big but has no door so when trying to shower 2 little ones was sometimes a little problem but nothing major. The rooms had a fridge, tv (cbeebies, itv 2 and various news channels), hair dryer, large mirror in bathroom and at the dressing table. A double wardrobe in the bedroom has a safe and extra blankets as does the single wardrobe in the living room. The balcony is a good size to with a table and 2 chairs and you can't lock yourself out lol. The curtains had a blackout curtain behind them in both the living room and bedroom which we thought was really good for our 2 little ones as they were waking later! We were In block A overlooking the pool, which got the sun at late afternoon/ evening so if your wanting a sunbed til late afternoon sit near the pool bar! Rooms were cleaned, beds made (including the cot bedding) each day, the floor was moped and little animals made from towels! Our towels wernt cleaned til day 4 but that's cos we didn't know you had to put them on the floor if you want clean ones! So once we did this they were changed and we had more than enough towels each day. We could not fault the rooms one bit.
The food was excellent, my partner can be quite fussy but he had more than enough food each day to choose from. Breakfast is from 8-10.30, then a late breakfast is on til 12 (I think!) lunch is 1-3.30 and dinner is 6.30- 9.30. The breakfast has juice, hot drinks and fizzy drinks (all self serve) a cooked breakfast was always on offer with English sausages which were lovely. Hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, beans, foreign sausage, fried eggs and bacon. Sometimes they had pancakes to.You can toast your bread in the 2 machines available and they had bread rolls on offer at each meal. There was a selection of doughnuts, pastries and English cereals like sugar puffs on offer ech morning. You could get a wide selection of yoghurt Aswell like little childrens ones to adult ones. They had jan, honey, choc spread, syrup etc. the usual ham n cheese and fruit such as melon, pineapple and peaches. Lunch was again a big selection of food From chips to fish and meat such as chicken drumsticks or nuggetts. a wide variety of freah salad was available each day with a selection of fish such as muscles, prawns or tuna. dinner was divine... if tou could not find something to eat then you are you must be very very picky!! You can also eat at the pool bar on a lunchtime which is more like takeaway food such a s pizza (never seen in main restaurant ), nuggets, fish fingers, wraps and kebab meat (sometimes), chips, burgers and big sausages. Burger buns and hot dog buns are also there each day. The food here is also as good here as in the main restaurant.
At dinner There was a vairity of fish, chicken, pork and beef dishes. Always a variety of food and you end up been spoilt dor choice! There was always the usual chips and pasta but different dishes each nite. On a dinner time the chefs will also make you a stir fry or cook you a piece of fish or chicken in front of you if you wish. I didn't see the same dish twice in the week we were there. The desserts on a lunchtime and dinner time ate amazing, im not a dessert fan but i had a few to many ! the presentation of all food is lovely and you can not failt it. You can not go hungry at this place, they are always taking food trays away and replacing them sometimes before they are empty! The chefs and waiting staff are lovely and will always help if they can, nothing is to much trouble. All drinks in the restaurant are self serve, fizzy drinks, coffee/ tea machine n juice is always on offer and wine and beer are available from lunchtime. The pool bar is also self serve but there is someone there to give you spirits, water, juice and slush puppies (kept breaking!). You can also get cakes at the pool var from 4pm daily. Once the pool bar shuts (6pm)you can get your drinks from the evening bar which is not self serve but they will make you anything you want.. The kids cocktail is lovely ESP when they added vodka to it as was the slush puppy, Food and drink was lovely throughout our stay and we had no problems with it. The Italian nite you get to go to was ok, not much choice but a nice change (served at the pool bar )
The Sunbed issue..... It wasn't personally a problem for us as I didn't want to be next to the pool with 2 little ones but I was up by 8 each morning and the 'good spots ' right next to the pool had all gone . I was once up at 7am and went onto the balcony to check out the situation and saw a man asleep sideways on a sunbed with 5 towels around him on the sunbeds. That was bit wrong. The next thing is the people occupying the beds next to the baby pool had no children and then when I saw children splashing (as they do) they asked them to stop... I mean don't sit next to a baby pool if you don't want to be splashed and you don't have kids anyway so move lol. It was an issue though... People putting towels down and then go out for hours on end, this seemed a bit unfair to others, again not an issue for us. It does state at the restaurant about not putting towels down til 9am but nobody followed this rule. Half way through our week more people had arrived so I wouldn't like to be ther in next couple weeks as it was getting busier and busier do I can see it becoming a real big issue. The pool is not massive either and there are No tables in between sunbeds and there are no gaps to walk through to baby pool so you have to go right round (again not a prob for us but herd some complaining ). each nite the sunbeds were cleaned by a man who hosed them down. the entertainment was ok, had a magician one nite, flamingo dancers another, a band another and a lady signing now town another- oh and a rod Stewart singer! Again towards the end of the holiday people were watching the shows sat in sunbeds as there wasn't enough tables or chairs! Can see it becoming a prob soon when busier! The entertainment through day was bit bad for kids, the girl tried bless her but the boy wasn't much good, as did the fitness man! The gym was good to (as my partner told me!) the beach is amazing, we paid 14.10 euro for 2 sunbeds and a parasol which lasted all day. There are spars on each corner but you pay more for 'English brands'. The sister hotel vista badia has a little water park which was lovely and xan walk to... 12 euro adults n kids 6 euros, under 3 free.not massive so good for primary school age. The resort is nice and clean Aswell. Would come to sa coma again but maybe not this hotel as I like to try others. But overall no problems for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateANDian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

4 of us spent a week at the Protur Palmeras Playa 23rd July to 30th July 2013 - two adults and 13 year old twins. Having looked at many reviews we chose this hotel mainly based on the comments on cleanliness, food, the quality of accommodation and the atmosphere. I have to say we weren't left disappointed.
Everyone has their opinion and ours is that this is deserved of a 4* holiday resort hotel - I don't think you can truly expect it to be like a four star city hotel, after all this is as I say a holiday resort hotel.
The food was good, our girls are picky eaters and always found something they liked at each meal. My partner is vegetarian and again loved the selection. The deserts were great and I am also a convert now to having chorizo for breakfast!!
The pool area, well we never put towels down before 9 and always found 4 beds together with parasols if we waited until after 9. The pool is big enough and even with game playing in there you still had room to have a leisurely swim. Bear in mind this is more a family hotel so if you want to do lengths in the pool without having a beach ball hit you on the head look for an adult only hotel!
Only criticism of the pool area is more of other guests not taking rubbish to the bins and this ending up being blown into the pool. The hotel could do with doing a clean of the pool halfway through the day to extract the plastic glasses!
Entertainment is a bit weak, I had to laugh at a mime artist trying to do an hour and a half set - we just went into the bar and played cards! I don't especially mind the entertainment as we make our own or go for an evening stroll. Head west along the beach throu S'Illot for a lovely evening walk and see the locals getting together at the beach and surrounding bars for beach volleyball games.
Both this and the Sa Coma beach are beautiful, the latter being no more than a 2 minute walk away. Watch out for the miriad of electric scooters though, they are a pain.... Cala Millor is easily walkable in about 20/30 minutes and has more shops and another great beach, or go on a boat trip - plenty to choose from that leave from Sa Coma.
All in all a great resort and hotel and we would love to go back next year. Thank you to all the staff for your hard work in ensuring the standards are kept high while giving that all important personal touch. A special thanks to the cleaner who diligently dealt with the bomb site that was my daughters room all week!

Room Tip: We stayed in block b which I would avoid as the playa blanca hotel behind played VERY loud music lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

19 july-2 aug 2013. Just got home from this fantastic hotel to which we have spent the last two weeks. We were a family of five and had two rooms next to one another and they were cleaned every day to a very high standard. The bathrooms were a lovely size and the drencher shower was to die for. The hotel staff whether it being reception, pool bar, dining areas were all very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. All areas were kept very clean at all times and the food was of a very high standard with lots of choice. The entertainment team throughout the day and evening kept the children entertained and even aerobics and water basketball for the adults was very popular. This was our first time to the east coast of Majorca and we were very impressed and will definitely be returning !!!! The Jones family Herefordshire.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 29 in Sa Coma
350 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,137 reviews
44.6 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Palmeras Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Palmeras Playa

Property: Protur Palmeras Playa
Address: C Aritja S/N | Urb El Dorado, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#3 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protur Palmeras Playa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel with 4 stars is one of our hotels in Majorca. Located in Sa Coma, it is located 100 meters from the Sa Coma beach and 500 meters from the small fishing port of s'Illot.Our hotel in Sa Coma has twin rooms and is perfect for families with children wishing to spend their holiday in Majorca.The outdoor pool is surrounded by gardens and terraces where you can enjoy the Majorcan sun.A full entertainment programme with evening shows and activities complete the leisure on offer at the Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Palmeras Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Palmeras Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing