We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL, GOOD FOOD, GOOD LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
bucks
1 review
“GOOD HOTEL, GOOD FOOD, GOOD LOCATION”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

just returned from the palmeras playa,we had a fab time nice hotel good food comfortable rooms sofa beds are two singles not a double and tv signal doesnt work in certain parts of the hotel,staff were nice but have to say the evenning entertainers were poor the professional shows were excellent but the two resident entertainers were not so good which was a shame as they did try,there are no night clubs in sa coma but there are two in cala millor which is the next resort along..
the beach is beautiful sand is golden and the water is lovely to,pedalo hire is 10 euros for an hour and 10 euros for the bikes that seat up to 5 people.the shops are local and sell all sorts,the market in monacor is worth a visit to.i would definatly go back we all had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    328
    102
    17
    9
See reviews for
625
564
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Having recently returned from our family holiday in Sa Coma, staying at the Protur Playas Palmeras aparthotel, we thought we would share our views.
This is a three star accommodation and to be honest, we were not expecting too much as we hadn’t paid the earth, we only wished for it to be clean and the food edible. However, the hotel exceeded our expectations on both counts.
-we were given a room on the 5th floor which was absolutely not a problem for us as we had lovely views over the pool and out towards the hills. The room was extremely clean, the kitchen area spotless. The bathroom did not show signs of tiredness and was also very clean, particularly the shower curtain, which is always a put off. The bedroom was as expected for a 3* - basic but clean. There was plenty of space in the wardrobe for our clothes (two adults and one teenager). Everything was spotless, including the cutlery and glasses in the cupboards.
-The reception and all other publics areas were also clean and presentable – the reception being furnished with very nice sofas and blinds – again not a ‘wow’ but very acceptable for 3*.
-We had the usual rush for the sunbeds in the mornings – but this is something that is expected and to be honest – it was not the germans getting up early – it was the brits! However, there is a balcony area which overlooks the pool and that is where we tended to go as it was quieter. The pool area can be quite shaded, one side in the morning and the other side in the afternoon, obviously. But generally the balcony area gets sunshine most of the day – a better spot.
-The food also exceeded our expectations. It is a buffet style restaurant and inevitably, the food that is less popular may get colder, but we could not fault the selection. There is a cold counter, salads ect, a dessert counter with a large selection of desserts daily and obviously the warm food. There is a selection of different meats etc and constant cooking to refill the hot plates. There was a good selection of food for children including pastas and fish fingers etc. A few of the Brits we overheard complaining about the food and we really couldn’t understand why. Obviously, if it was fish & chips or pie and chips they were looking for – don’t go all inclusive. We were in Spain and the food in very much the Spanish way of cooking and presentation. There was a constant selection of fresh fish which was lovely – but again, always wait for the fresh to come off the grill.
-The restaurant can become a little busy – the trick was to go to breakfast early (between 8.00 – 8.45am) as you would not have to wait for the fresh eggs or pancakes. After that, be prepared to queue – just get up that little bit earlier instead of complaining! Lunch was generally OK – no queues. We tended to have dinner later, again avoiding the rush and queue.
-The entertainment for the children was not British – but then we hadn’t paid double the price for a Thomson family resort so we did not expect it to be. There was a kids club and the entertainers worked very very hard putting on shows. They weren’t very good but they tried very very hard. One British family was actually quite shameful and told the poor guys that they were ‘crap’. Totally embarrassing – I think they moved hotels as well – obviously their expectations exceeded their purse in the first place – good riddance!
-We felt that some of the grumbling Brits were complaining also about the mixture of germans, dutch or Spanish. This is a resort that is quite popular with the germans and dutch so if they offend you, or you don’t want to mingle with foreigners, you are better off going to Blackpool for a holiday!
Overall, the accommodation was extremely acceptable for 3* and we were well impressed and enjoyed our holiday - obviously we are far more ameniable than perhaps some of the other 'moaners' but to be honest - all we wanted was to spend some time in the sun - which was plentiful. There was plenty of drinks and snacks available as well throughout the day but if you are looking for something a little better than acceptable, stretch your purse and pay for it. A few grand is nothing these days for a family of three - we well appreciate that if we want something better - we would need to stretch our purse to at least 4/5 grand - but when all you want is be to outdoors in the sun - it's not worth the extra - that's why we were satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinatab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Well I really do not know where to start. This place was so bad, I could write pages and pages. We went on a Thomson all inclusive deal for two weeks in July 2010. Dont be fooled by the first impression on arrival as the Hotel reception and frontage has been refurbished. The photo in the brochure must have been taken many,many years ago as the trees seemed quite small but now the pool area is like a jungle. Half of the day you will be in the shade. The food at this place can only be describe as dreadful. Every meal the food was almost stone cold from the soup to the main courses and the choice was awful. The set up is just the same as a school canteen so dont expect anything fancy. They had some show cooking, well show cooking with a deep fat fryer and a hot plate takes a bit of beating!!! They had just 1 toaster in this place for all the guests and you have to put it through twice, so be prepared for a wait at breakfast!!! I would not risk my kids eating in this place and it cost me a fortune eating out. Dont be fooled by the all inclusive tag either. Here are a few things on offer. In the morning a few bits of cheese and ham with stale bread, the afternoon some biscuits in boxes just left opened. Tequila sunrise out of a machine, coffee in plastic cups, late evening a few curled up sandwiches which must have been made from the left overs. One pump to get your beer from. There is no so called side pool bar here either they use the main bar for this which has a marble floor so you can imagine that when it gets wet. The enetertainment programe was to be fair a little short of pathetic. 45 minutes per night if you are lucky and some dreadful presentations. Very little for teenages in the day either, unless you like Jenga and a game with small plastic skittles that is.!! The attitude of the bar and restaurant staff was as awful they did not want to know you and would not even talk to you. Our room was basically clean but the smell first thing in the morning from the bathroom was a little tasty to say the least. The hotel is set up for German clients and I cannot see why a major UK tour operator would offer this place. Oh and be prepared to get up at 6 in the morning to get a sunbed, some were being taken at 3 in the morning!!!!
You will almost for sure have to eat out if you go here so try JJ,s and the Britania Bar in the town. We did try to get moved after 2 days here and the Rep did her best but the reservation department got a bit fed up of us keep contacting them so nothing was sorted, shame after you pay thousands for what supposed to be a good holiday. Of course this was our experience others might find it different so good Luck!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Was in a good location, only yard from the beach. Having stayed in the Protur Vista up the road however, which is a 4 star, theres no comparison and would def pay a little extra for better quality. Around pool area and stage area wasn't cleaned up as often as it could have been.,but a lot to do with people not binning their rubbish. Food was okay, but not a great choice, but then i'm comparing to the last couple of years staying at a 4 star. The staff however were excellent and very welcoming reception, Claire in particular. Being all inclusive means you have use of the La Reserva at the Club situated at the back of Safari hotel and is only about £7 for an adult. A change of pool area and a couple of water slides and all food and drink included too. Also the 3 crazy golf courses, but was disapointed that we had to pay for that as the palmeras wasn't included in the hotels who got it free, which i personaly think that it should be. We were only there for a 5 day break and that was fine, but wouldn,t go to this particular hotel for longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feefeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Having stayed at Protor Hotels before we were fairly confident this would be the same quality despite a lower star rating. We were wrong.

Having paid for all inclusive we were hugely disappointed with the food quality. It was ok for my 2 and 6 year olds, but all of the Brits we spoke to were equally as unimpressed. The choice was limited, thrown into the serving pots and always luke warm at best. Added to that you were expected to q for at least 10 mins to get each serving. This was down to the poor arrangement and lay out of the restaurant which results in everyone having to q fin the same line irrespective of what they wanted.

Generally the attitude of the staff was poor, but the exception were reception who were always helpful and friendly.

Pool is ok, but way too small for the number of guests. All sunbeds reserved by some ungodly hour, and we heard several families complaining about all beds being reserved before 6.00 am. We therefore spent no time by the pool at all and instead went to the beach, or paid to enter La Raserva, which is a Protor owned small aqua park at the other end of the resort. The was around 9 euros per person per day and so obviously not cheap for a family, particularly when you've already paid all inclusive rates.

The entertainment was very mixed. The usual Majorcan offerings mixed with the Hotel's own efforts. These turned out to be some of the funniest things we have ever seen, but I'm afraid not for the right reasons. The reps tried really hard and work crazy hours, but they are of poor quality and must have a tiny tiny budget to work with.

Overall the hotel was just a bit poor. The location is good for a family resort and only a few mins walk from the beach, but if you've been to other 4 star Protor hotels like the Safari Park don't expect the same!! It may be better with less guests in low season but the hotel's design simply cannot cope with anywhere near full occupancy and all of those all inclusive. It was clearly designed for a time when most guests would eat out.

2 star at absolute best.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTM1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed at Palmeras Playa from 18.06.10 to 03.07.10 and we had a very enjoyable stay. Overall very clean and well kept. We stayed all inclusive, my two kids aged 14 + 11 were able to eat loads at breakfast, lunch and dinner. If theres no meat or fish you like theres always salad or fresh bread and rolls or fruit. Also Pizza and Pasta and the usual burgers and sausages. The hotel is in a good postion for the beach which is lovely. The only thing about the hotel pool is it does get some shade, but at some parts of the day we were thankful for shade as it got really hot! As we were there early in season i'm not sure if this hotel would be as good in high season. It was starting to get much busier towards end of our last week and sometimes at breakfast and dinners we had to queue for the food. But all food cooked in front of you and very fresh. The only downside which is minor is most of the entertainment was German or dutch, although some nights a professional act performed. A small walk to the shops and beach, a nice promenade to walk along. The pool area was kept very clean but felt some of trees and bushes could have been cut back to create more space. Our room was one bedroom with 2 sofa beds for kids, a kitchen area with cooker, fridge and microwave even though we were all inclusive, was handy to have fridge to keep drinks cool. A lot of guests were German and Dutch but all very friendly and no rush to put towels on sunbeds in morning! Would have been better if more british families were there though mainly for company for my kids, but they still enjoyed swimming in pool and theres a snooker table and table tennis table which they played. Would return to this hotel but would like to see more British Families and more British entertainment!!

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Just returned from the palmeras, just wanted to add a few extra things as I think a lot has already been said in earlier reviews which are good. Hotel was great, room was great for a couple or a couple with some small children, wouldn't recommend for 4 adults not unless its a group of friends not needing to share beds! Pool is very good and there is plenty of loungers around though as stated before, the pool does not get the sun all day only parts throughout the day so sun worshippers hit the beach. Didn't experience the Germans reserving loungers as previously stated, despite lots of german guests, it oly happened once and it was the English who were reserving them despite it being low season and plenty to go around. Secondly rhe beach is great! We bought lilos and stated before is cheaper than hiring loungers daily, but if you do want one pick which one you want early and the man whom you pay will find you, 4.50 a day. careful in the water there can be strong undercurrents on choppy days. Toilets at the beach situated behind the little cafes dotted along the promenade. beach is very safe we left our towels etc and went for lunc one day, all fine just be be smart. Eating out, try Sillot for some good food, head for the beach but turn right at the spar and you'll be in Sillot (Sa Coma/Sillot!) We had the best food and service from Antic. English waitress and good prices. Try the Dolphin cafe for breakfast/lunch, its beside Burger King, and a restaurant called BIA near The Atlantic bar and Kings Head, BIA done great steaks. I'd avoid the Chinese not fantastic. Spars everywhere but there is a hug supermarket called Eroski up past the 60s Pub, follow the signs, huge and cheaper than Spar.
Lastly we done one baot tour white the Glass Botom boat on the White Cat, one round trip or you can hop on and off, nice trip, though we went on a choppy day and it was dificult getting on and off but the staff are very experienced and its always safety first.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eradna_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 29 in Sa Coma
357 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,191 reviews
21.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel

Property: Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Address: Avd. de les Savines, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel with 4 stars is one of our hotels in Majorca. Located in Sa Coma, it is located 100 meters from the Sa Coma beach and 500 meters from the small fishing port of s'Illot. Our hotel in Sa Coma has twin rooms and is perfect for families with children wishing to spend their holiday in Majorca. The outdoor pool is surrounded by gardens and terraces where you can enjoy the Majorcan sun. A full entertainment program with evening shows and activities complete the leisure on offer at the Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing