We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worthy 5 stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“worthy 5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights booking a suite half board.
We arrived late into the night and were met by the night porter who fully explained procedures and accompanied us to our room.
On entering there is wardrobe space befoe entering the lounge area which has a sofa and armchair,. There is a unit with mini bar and flat screen tv which has BBC 1 2 News and Sky News. This has patio doors leading onto the 1st balcony. our room overlooked the first pool which is between the two blocks of rooms. We were at the end nearest the restaurant/reception/bar block which I would reccomend as the other end is near to the road which leads into Caal Millor and could be a bit noisy.
There are sliding doors leading into the spacious bedroom with plenty of wardrobe space which has the deposit safe which has no extra charge. The bathroom is opn plan from the bedroom which may not suit everyone with the bath, two sinks and the clear glass shower. The toilet door is frosted glass. The fittings are excellent and as with the rest of the suite, everything is spotlessly clean.
A point to be made about the room was that we did not hear a sound from the outside or another room so the soundproofing as described was excellent which at some Hotels including 5 stars cannot be said
The restaurant is spacious, light and airy and buffet style. There is an outside eating area.
The presentation of the food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner with a show cooking area. If I was to be critical of one thing about this Hotel, it would be this in that there was normally only one chef in this area and at times there was a backlog of guests waiting for their order to be cooked. There were occasions that the meat/fish was undercooked but the plus side was that providing the food was cooked to your liking, you were receiving freshly cooked produce and not food left lying in troughs. There is plenty of other food which is ready cooked and the cold meats/salad choice was very good with a soup to start. Something I do not normally eat are the sweets but there was plenty of nice looking items for those who do. There was a cheese board with 4/5 different chunks.
The staff in the restaurant were excellent, very attentive to the guests and tables were normally cleared very quickly.
The pool areas were very clean and spacious and there did not appear to be an issue with sunbeds which included 4 poster double beds.
Entertainment is low key so if you are a party animal, this is not the Hotel for you. The Piano Bar had mainly an easy listening singer/duo/trio which I found pleasant.
There is the attached Spa area offering all kinds of services, one of which is offered free to guests is the Spa pool circuit which I found very good and went each day.
Overall the service given by this Hotel is excellent and was tested by two calls I made to Reception when the air conditioning failed and there was an invasion of ants in the lounge area. On both occasions the engineer/maid arrived within 15 minutes and the problems rectified.
Comments have been made on Sa Coma, the resort and whilst I bit apprehensive, the actual resort itself is certainly not as bad as some resorts i have visited in Majorca. Yes, there are no plush poser bars/restaurant/shops but there are plenty of those which offer a fair range of alternative eating/drinking venues other than the Hotel. The resort has a nice clean beach and the rest of the Hotels are mainly 4 star. So as for Sa Coma itself, I would say accept it as it is, its not that bad as painted.
So overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly consider a revisit to a Hotel at which the staff certainly played their part in ensuring that guests enjoyed themselves

Room Tip: Block B facing the 1st pool nearest the restaurant block which has the sun afternoon onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tommy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are sure that the information you give will be useful to others who visit us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    138
    33
    6
    2
See reviews for
280
459
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights in June this year and the hotel was amazing. The staff could not have been more helpful, they are so very hard working and always friendly. We would certainly return to this hotel as we could not fault it in anyway, however it was so peaceful and relaxing and this may not suit everyone especially if you are looking for lively night life.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room but would not have minded which room we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flitzylooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edge, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Hotel - Excellent, very clean, contemporary in its design and worthy of 4+ if not quite 5 of its stars.

Suite - We had suite 139 in the second of the two buildings. Exceptionally clean, well appointed bathroom with separate rain shower, toilet and large bath. Lovely bedroom, two king beds together making one super king. Two TV's one in Bedroom and one in Lounge, each with a good selection of channels. All the usual things you would expect, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, iron etc. There is no turndown service, but towels were changed on a regular basis and beds were changed as often as you requested.
Pool - Two pools, one with swim up bar and large Jacuzzi. Second pool much quieter, we spent most of our time here. Lots of sunbeds and some cabanas. Despite signs to the contrary people still felt the need to reserve beds first thing in the morning and then not use them until later in the afternoons.

Food - Good buffet selection for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was available from 7.30 to 11am and dinner for 7.00 to 10.00. Gentlemen are required to wear trousers to dinner. You can dine in any of the three other restaurants. Asian, Italian and Spanish. There is an additional 15 Euros per person for dining in either of these which, is well worth it as even though the buffet was very good, it can get a bit boring. We dined in the Asian and Italian. If you choose the Italian, try and get a table outside on the terrace. They rotate the restaurants open on a daily basis

Bar - Bar staff were very efficient and friendly. Tended to see the same staff most days so they quickly got to know people and took the time to stop and talk. There was live music on two of the seven nights we were there. Again, the bar was never crowded and usually only closed when the last guest had left

Facilities - We hired bikes from reception, leaving a 10 Euro deposit. There is a Spa, but we did not use it. The second of the hotel blocks housed the indoor swimming pool in, again we did not feel the need to use it, but as with everything else when we took a look round it was well maintained.

Resort - Sa Coma is a short walk away, and I cannot see from reading other reports why it was given such a bad report, but then we were not looking for lots of bars and restaurants. We walked from the hotel to Sa Coma beach, past some bar’s and restaurants and if you walk further along the beach you will come to Cala Morlanda and another beach. Continue on along the coastal path to a secluded cove and lovely views out to a clear blue sea. There is an excellent cycle path all the way from the hotel to the cove which is about a 30 minute gently cycle.
If you walk left out of the hotel and continue down the road past a ‘crazy golf’ course you come to a roundabout. Take the exit past the supermarket on the corner and you will come to Cala Millor. A long stretch of sandy beach, again with a cycle path. Continue along the beach and you will find a selection of bars and beachfront restaurants. If you go up one of the side streets, off the beach you will come to a pedestrian area which has a wider selection of shops, bars and restaurants. This pedestrian area runs parallel with beach front and is directly behind the hotels. The walk from the hotel to Cala Millor is about 15 minutes and well worth an early morning or evening stroll.

Staff – All the staff at the hotel were genuinely friendly, efficient and warm. The hotel manger was very visible around the hotel and took time to speak with everyone.

Guests - The hotel guests were a nice blend of couples, young and old, young families (but only a few) Germans, English and Spanish.

Conclusion – Go if you want to relax in comfortable surroundings. We have visited many different hotels throughout the world I would definitely return for another relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank champagneboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are sure that the information you give will be useful to others who visit us. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Biomar Gran Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We have just returned from The Protur Biomar after a fantastic relaxing sunny 7 day break.
Like most of the reviews prior to this, all I can say is, if you are going here in the near future for a relaxing break, you will NOT be disappointed.

The hotel and all its facilities are immaculate, the rooms are superb (we were upgraded to a junior suite on arrival) the food is fantastic, varied, fresh and plentiful. The pool area and sun-loungers are the best we've ever seen!

The hotel has free wifi in almost every area which is very fast and of good signal strength. even at the poolside! Guests were probably split 40% Spanish, 40% German and 20% British / others, whilst we were there.

Pools: There are 2 outdoor pools (plus a baby pool) and 1 internal pool. They are kept spotlessly clean, sunbeds are aplenty and very very comfy. There is a swim up bar at one of the pools which is quite unique. There is an element of some people putting towels on the sunbeds to "reserve" them, but we saw the pool attendant removing them after a while. Though at no time did we struggle to find a sunbed where we wanted.
The main pool did get a little busy at times with one or two noisy little ones, but we moved to the other pool where it was i little more peaceful.

Rooms: Spacious, beautifully appointed and quite contemporary. Bathrooms are fabulous with a separate walk in shower, bath and double basins. Hairdryers, toiletries etc supplied. 2 beach towels are provided (dont bother taking any towels!). 2 Balconies either offering pool or sea views mainly. There are 2 flat screen tv's in the rooms, mainly showing german / spanish programmes, but also BBC1, BBC2, ITV and Sky News.

Food: Breakfasts are fantastic, so much choice and quality it is unbelievable! Dinner is equally as good with show cooking also. There are 3 other A' la carte restaurants ( we only tried the Italian - which was very good) and also a Terrace Grill for Lunches. We found the food to be the best of any hotel we have ever been to.

The hotel: The hotel is beautiful throughout, very tastefully furnished and is enormous! All staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel manager is always around ensuring everything is running perfectly. He greets every guest personally! The hotel itself is very quiet, if your looking for somewhere peaceful then this is the place. If you want nightlife then maybe not. Sa Coma is not such a nice town, a few "bars", but I guess if your staying in a hotel of this quality then naff bars are not your thing! The evening entertainment in the hotel consisted mainly of a quiet piano bar with occasional singers / musicians. Drinks prices in both restaurants and the piano bar were very reasonable. There are other bars / entertainment parts of the hotel, but these weren't open during our stay.

In Summary: A genuine 5* hotel in every respect. Perfect for a relaxing break. Would we go back? Absolutely definitely!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear that you had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Biomar Gran Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Returned last tuesday after 14 most enjoyable days,even though first week's weather was more like England's .Second,wholly sunny week compensated.The hotel is only 3 years old and 216 rooms are split between 2 five floor blocks comprising 38 double rooms and 174 junior suites plus 2 single rooms and 2 duplex suites We were upgraded to a junior suite,possibly because one block was unoccupied,save for three nights when the hotel hosted a large gathering of Volkswagen Concessionaires from all over Spain and their families..Unlike most hotels we have stayed in recently there were very few members of the grey army (to which my Partner and I belong.and also very few British accents.This possibly because the only brochure it seems toappear in Thomsons A La Carte. There were many toddlers ,mostly very well behaved.The Protur Group own 5 hotels in Sa Coma,together with an excellent Spa and a large Sports Centre. I agree with the last 2 reviewers and do not want to repeat their comments.However I should say that the sun beds round the 2 outdoor pools are the most comfortable we have ever lazed on.I also must say how pleasant it was for the hotel director Senor Pulgserver and his other managers to stop and greet virtually every guest as they passed by.Finally and just to show that even the best hotel we have ever stayed in is not quite perfect,despite a multitude of thermometers around the excellent food ,the bane of hotel buffets remains unconquered,cooked food was often not warm whilst the ice cream oftenwas.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greebo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you had a good stay - despite the weather! We thank you for your comments on the food temperature and will certainly look into that. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

The reviews of this hotel are very accurate in that the facilities and standard are excellent.and the spa is a must to visit with all the hydro pools and aroma steam rooms. We booked half board and were extremely impressed with the standard of food and the huge choice at both breakfast and dinner. the selection changed daily and included freshly cooked fish and meats hot dishes and cold table and the deserts were to die for! There was also a good choice of wines at reasonable prices for a five star hotel
.We were also upgraded to a junior suite with a seperate lounge 2 balconies and a fridge/minibar. Well worth asking for.
However what made our stay extra special had to be the service from all the staff everyone was so friendly and helpful but especialy Julio the resteraunt manager who took customer service to another level. He allways had a welcoming smile and went the extra mile to please even getting ice for our cool bag.
The resort itself had some poor reviews but although purpose built we found it to be very clean and the beach was a pleasant surprise with soft white sand and lovely clear water ideal for swimming. We hired a car and found getting around the island very easy.
The break of 5 days was so relaxing and enjoyable we would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel on all levels,

Room Tip: upper floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bristolgirl3260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is very nice to receive so much positive feedback. We will pass this on to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Just returned from three glorious days at the Biomar. What a hotel - it was absolutely stunning. The staff were so friendly and efficient, the bedrooms were amazing, and the food was excellent with a great choice. Can't fault this place, it was perfect. A bit more expensive, but well worth it. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monica_russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that you are thinking of returning and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
45.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
42.0 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
34.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
39.5 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa

Property: Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Address: C/Baladres 5, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel And Spa
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing