We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Have just returned from our second visit to this hotel & were not disappointed. All the staff are friendly & helpful, food choice and quality is excellent and room & facilities are all kept to a very good standard. It definitely deserves its 5 stars.
Last visit we were in building 1 & this time in building 2, both very good - indoor pool is also located in building 2.
There are 2 outdoor pools, one for families & children and one for adults, so if you aren't travelling with children you can still find a quiet area to enjoy the sun, pool & the great drinks they mix at the pool bar.
Make sure you visit the piano bar after dinner where you can enjoy a variety of evening entertainment & the staff in there are really attentive (and pour a good vodka & tonic!).
Liked it so much we have already booked to go back in September.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as they have moor of a view & are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    157
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
306
513
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Well we can only say positive comments about this hotel, we usually go on long haul holidays but decided we wanted to travel closer to home this year, we did our search via trip advisor and local holiday advisor and this hotel had excellent reviews and looked beautiful.
We choose a swim up room and stayed in room 005, the room was beautiful and the pool is a great option if you want a relaxing holiday, the pool was very well used as the weather was hot every day.
We personally don't enjoy the buffet experience so choose to eat in the al a carte restaurants which where all amazing you just have to pay a little bit extra but was well worth this.
We did have a look at the buffet and it did look lovely with lots of options and all food looked fresh. All the staff where welcoming and nothing was to much for them they go out of their way to make your experience staying at this hotel lovely, the manager personally talks to each guest throughout the holiday and asks if everything is ok, he even came to ask on our last night if we wanted him to arrange an early breakfast to our room as we where leaving before breakfast service started, little things like this is what makes this hotel stand out.
My husband used the spa and it was lovely.
We also eat at the Michelin restaurant which is just around the corner from this hotel which was an amazing experience.
This hotel in just as beautiful as some hotels that we have stayed in long haul destinations we would defiantly go back to this hotel again.
Thank you to all the team at biomar who made our holiday special.

Room Tip: If you can stay in a swim up room book this , we had sun from 7 am in the morning until 9 pm at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

By far the best hotel in Majorca and beyond, I write this while on the balcony of my junior swim up room, truly stunning. All of the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to help you, really nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is exceptional, I was worried that the buffet evening meal would be poor, however it is exceptional high quality and outstanding choice- it changes every night is is Michelin star quality. My Wife and I normally end up using the extra charge al a carte , but you do need to here it's that good.

Rooms are great, spacious, comfortable and spotless, we are in room 5 swim up and it's brill.

All round a wonderful hotel and we will be back( not even left yet)!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamlharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for two weeks in May 2014 and really cannot fault this hotel. The staff are great, food fabulous, think I put on a stone during our stay. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was lovely and the staff where great when we asked to move rooms as our balcony had a gap in the wall so we were worried about our little ones escaping, very accommodating. Although family friendly the hotel it was definitely more adult focused than some of the other Protur hotels in the area. Important to note though we booked with Thomson who told us we got access to the kids club in the safari hotel but we found out we were not allowed access to this (only after our kid had been) however luckily the Thomson kids club reps were lovely and said as it was quiet she could still attend for the few days we had left. There is a park at the back of the safari hotel with a kids pool, bikes and trampolines for the protur hotel guests which is lovely.
Would recommend this hotel, access to free activities and bikes, good entertainment in the piano bar - especially liked the funk band. Loved our time there.
Some people might want to know the hotel looks fab but some of the fixtures and fittings are not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RufusTPerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Been in 5star hotels and complexes all over the world,and have never been in one where the smiles broke every face,the friendly,courteous staff were a credit to the company.The hotel was absolutely spotlessly clean,the food excellent,rooms very comfortable,entertainment was very good at night, special mention to Jan in the piano bar and the boss Tony who made sure your stay was perfect.A BIG THANKYOU TO EVERYONE FOR MAKING OUR HOLIDAY!!!!.Also Alonso at the pool who looked after us and everybody with a smile. We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with not much of a view,but we weren't there to sit in the room or ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank silverfoxjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
On behalf of all the staff, we would like to thank you for such a nice review. Our goal is to make all our guests feel at home and happy when visiting us. We look forward to seeing you again at the Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were really looking forward to staying here, even rented a room with the private access to a pool that looked amazing luxurious and worth the extra ££. However, the pool area is right by the parking lot so all day people are walking right past you and there is no privacy. The food was mediocre and usually cold. Perhaps at it's busiest during the July/August school holidays when there are more people the food is fresher but we were really disappointed with the quality - definitely not 5*. At one of the restaurants we each ordered a starter and a main and the waiter looked at us and said "wow you must be really hungry" - not a smart sales move.

The room was nice, but the TV was so small and blurry they would have been better off leaving it out of the room altogether. Quite sad looking.

None of the staff seemed to know what was going on - when we would ask at reception where we could go for lunch at that time they sent us to the piano bar which was closed and we had to walk around until we could find somewhere ourselves. Another day, we asked about room rates the man told us the computer was slow and we should just look it up online ourselves. Overall we had the impression that no one really knew what they were doing.

One day we went to check out the spa and gym since we wanted to book massages. The woman at the desk there was so rude she practically barked at us. The area seemed quite nice, but when we asked her about the treatments she was so flippant and unhelpful we decided not to waste our money if the specialists were going to be like her.

It seems like a better place for families than couples, but even with kids I don't think we would have enjoyed the place.

In the end we left and went to a different hotel where we were much happier. Certainly will not be returning here.

Room Tip: Not worth spending for the private swim up pool rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cascade0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
First of all we would like to say how sorry we are that you feel that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and thank you for bringing to our attention certain elements of your stay especially when our staff were not as friendly and diligent as we would expect them to be; we have taken steps to make sure that this does not happen again. With regard to the other matters you have raised, we can assure you that we will look into them and make any changes that we deem necessary. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have submitted a previous review of the Biomar, and since then have been back twice - first visited August 2012 and returned twice last year in August and September. Like previous reviewers Sa Coma is not the greatest of resorts and the more I explored the less I was impressed. The Biomar however is certainly the jewel in the Majorcan crown. It has everything you need and more. Service is second to none and the food is excellent. I know good food and am a keen cook and I cannot agree with the reviewer who said that the meat was of a poor standard, I find it to be of a high standard and well cooked. Although, the argentinian meat platter served in the Terrace was raw - even for me - and I find that argentinian meat to be a poor second to good scottish organic produce. However, I was willing to give it a try and some folks really enjoyed it. The buffet is excellent for both breakfast and dinner and the Al Fresco dining is a definite winner. The hotel was busier last year than the previous year but staff still gave a great service and always with a smile. I have stayed here alone, and with friends, including teenagers who loved everything, especially the pool and the Terrace Grill burgers. If visiting with family please remember that you have access to all of the Protur group hotels and activities so check it all out before you go and plan a great trip.

I booked a double deluxe and the space was great. This is a very large room with great storage space. I have also stayed in a junior suite and this also is perfectly adequate. Last year I thought that some decor update was required as some areas were looking tired, but I daresay that management will have this in hand. The poolside beds are very comfortable, but again they were looking tired and the curtains on some were badly worn. I'm hoping that this has been addressed. I would be disappointed if this was not the case, but for now I am still giving the Biomar 5 stars for overall experience.

The entertainment is good and sitting in the bar or chilling at the poolside area is a lovely way to end your day. I overheard a woman complaining last year that there was no karaoke! There is, but thankfully it is outside the hotel and hundreds of yards away.

It is a popular hotel providing a great service, the value for money is excellent, to those that criticise queues ( only small and never for long) in the dining room and the standard of food then may I suggest you book a villa and self cater? You get what you pay for and the Biomar delivers this and more.

I am heading back early August 2014 and looking forward to a great time.

A big thank you to all the staff who work so hard to make that possible.

Room Tip: pool or reception view best from block nearer reception and view of either pool best from other bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kitchendiva g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
On behalf of all the staff, we would like to thank you for such a nice review. Our goal is to make all our guests feel at home and happy when visiting us. We look forward to seeing you again at the Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sa Coma
0.1 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
981 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 16 in Canyamel
357 reviews
20.9 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,093 reviews
39.5 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa

Property: Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Address: C/Baladres 5, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel Sa Coma
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel And Spa
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa Sa Coma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing