We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Recommended visit”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Excellent friendly unique hotel. Superb rooms with every comfort you need and more. Enjoyed first class dining. Wonderful lounge/bar area. Decor and atmosphere warm and restful. Beautiful indoor spa/swimming pool and another large outdoor pool. Easy drive to Palma if wanted. We definitely wish to return !!

Room Tip: The Moroccon style suite is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelsewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    30
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
19
132
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We enjoyed a couple of mid-week nights at Reads during August, You must bear in mind this is a family run hotel not a corporate and as such owners tastes prevail. First impressions for many will be it's like walking into and antique/bric-a-brac store and there is an ecclectic range of room styles from moorish to modern contemporary.

The location is good just a short drive from Palma and the airport with the Tramontina mountains as a backdrop and just a short drive to two pretty villages.Santa Maria having a large Sunday market and winery. The owners, their family and staff were all welcoming, friendly and helpful. The food was to a very good standard and although we had use of a car during our stay, decided to eat all meals at the hotel.

The weather was exceptionally hot during our stay so our only minor criticism was the air-conditioning struggled and therefore fridges in the rooms would not go amiss. A great base if you are a keen cyclist.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house benefit from views of the mountains, although the cottage suites in the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have been going to Reads every year for nine years and cannot recommend it hightly enough. You cannot beat their friendly service, cleanliness, peace, good food and very own wine from their vineyard. We look forward to going back each year and wish we were able to stay longer. Mr. & Mrs. Read and their family go out of their way to assist with any problem you have and take pleasure in doing so. We have the same cottage each year for its scenery and tranquility. The gardens are beautiful and the roof terrace a perfect place to see the sun go down.. Do go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just returned after a wonderfully relaxing break at Reads. Booked for a week and stayed five weeks! Perfect location, two great pools, outdoor and indoor; poolside calm and wonderfully relaxing. Excellent food both at lunchtime and at dinner and the nicest, most helpful staff I encountered in the whole of Majorca. Wonderful hotel, perfect place to chill out. Each day the hotel suggests something you can do in the day and I had a wonderful time following up their suggestions with a trip the the Palma fish and fruit markets and a day touring the local wine estates, which was fascinating. The hotel is in the most stunning location and nowhere is more than a short drive. I used it as a base from to explore the island while looking for a house to buy and it was always wonderful to get back every evening and have a superb meal and mix with other guests. Very friendly atmosphere. Spotlessly clean, calm and supremely relaxing. It goes right to the top of my list. Just superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the beautiful, always-changing view to the beautiful Taramuntana mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 654Paulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waw
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Maybe it was nice and trendy 20-30 years ago, but the world has changed and the Reads not. Pity, as it has a peaceful location in the middle of nowhere and big potential. Common rooms are stacked with "Altwaren", terrible collections of everything, dusty, shabby and unnecessary. Rooms are outdated, smelly and worn out. Spa is just awful, looks dirty and very old. It is 2-3 stars standard for 6 stars money. avoid!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maledi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReadsHotel, Owner at Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
The hotel simply is not as described in this review. A collection of beautiful antiques, collected over many years by the owners, are on display in cabinets. The reviewer describes these as"Altwaren." German for scrap. The bedrooms are not "outdated, smelly and worn out." The 650m2 spa was built 5 years ago and is proud to be listed in the new Tatler Spa Guide 2013 as one of "The World's Top 50 Spas." It is recommended, after reading this review, the reader visits the Reads website and chooses between an anonymous review and the reality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A must visit! family run hotel in the mountains and near to Santa Maria. Spa exceptionally good and worth every penny.

Look forward to a 'chill-out' next year..............

the local village hosts good restaurants also well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms and suites are good from what I could see...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Reads is quite unique.
Lovingly restored property in a tranquil,countryside location but with very easy access to Palma.Very comfortable rooms and suites,beautiful outside pool,elegant indoor pool and spa and very spacious public rooms. The hotel has ben run for many years by two generations of the Reads family who,together with their friendly team,ensure excellent but unobtrusive service at all times. Dining by the pool on fine cuisine after drinks on the roof terrace provides the perfect ending to the day.
We have been coming to Reads for many years,will return again next year and unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria del Cami
9.3 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
785 reviews
13.0 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
928 reviews
3.8 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cas Comte Petit Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
3.1 mi away
Sa Cabana Hotel Rural & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness

Property: Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness
Address: Carretera vieja de Santa Maria Alaro s/n, 07320 Santa Maria del Cami, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Santa Maria del Cami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Maria del Cami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reads offers the ultimate chill out experience. Enjoy the 650m2 Vespasian Spa offering heated indoor pool with hydro-therapy jets, jacuzzi, thermal circuit steam room; sauna; laconium; ice cave; foot reflexology podium and 5 experience shower. Treatment rooms and a couples suite offer a full range of ESPA and Vespasian Signature treatments. Open all year, this privately owned, luxury hotel with just 23 rooms and its own vineyard, is just 20 minutes from the city of Palma. The Hotel has two restaurants both with outdoor dining terrace. An outdoor pool, tennis court and dedicated cycling centre add to the many activities available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reads Hotel And Spa
Reads Hotel Santa Maria Del Cami
Reads Hotel Majorca
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness Majorca/Santa Maria Del Cami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing