We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Peaceful location, wonderful service”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a family run hotel in a quiet location just 30 minutes from Palma. If you're a cyclist it is wonderfully situated for the Tramuntana mountains. If you're not a cyclist, there is a very pleasant spa and the train from Santa Maria is a quick hop into Palma. What marks this hotel out is the service. The owners are very much in attendance keeping an eye on things and the staff, many of who have with with the hotel for some time, are very efficient and responsive. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was an excellent size with a sitting room and a terrace. Some of the decor is starting to look a little faded but nothing of any account. The food is well prepared and presented with a good choice. There is a light and airy dining room or the pool terrace.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    30
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
19
132
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Food was disappointing with little choice and the room was tired and in need of a refurb but very clean. The owner is a star full of whit and charm. The staff are so incredibly friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble making me feel slightly guilty for a negative rating. This is no longer a 5 star hotel it had shades of Fawlty Towers however having said that I would return in a flash but not pay quite so much for the privilege.

Room Tip: Stay in the garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfingbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We booked a night at Reads on the recommendation of a fellow traveller on the flight out to Mallorca for our two week self-catering holiday in June. Our more usual accommodation is in the north of the island and we thought Reads would be a nice place from where to explore Palma. It was a bit of a random decision but, like many spur-of-the moment actions, an extremely fortuitous one. Our stay simply could not have been bettered. Our room was perfect, the bed comfortable, the bathroom scrupulously clean and stylish and the decor far from dated. The main house is beautiful, light and airy and the spa is suggestive of an opulent Roman villa: the whole place produces a feeling of instant relaxation and calm. My husband enjoyed two perfect spa treatments while I swam lengths in the indoor pool and then relaxed outside, enjoying a gin and tonic and my book.

Our lunch was delicious, eaten around the outdoor pool, and dinner was equally as imaginative and refined. Both were served perfectly.

We cannot wait to return to Reads and were genuinely sad to leave. We wish we'd spent our entire holiday there and are just about to re-book for 2014. If we possibly can, we'll also be squeezing in a short break in the autumn. Rarely have we felt so at home and relaxed in such a smart hotel (despite having visited many over the years). The previous reviewer who was so unfairly critical and nasty must clearly have mistaken Reads for somewhere else because I do not recognise the place they are describing in their review. Their comments seem very odd to anyone who has actually been to Reads. Oh, and the dogs and cats only enhanced our stay with their character and impeccable behaviour. We just loved it.

Room Tip: The rooms we saw were all good but we stayed in Room 6 which was a Junior Suite. It was lovely, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReadsHotel, Owner at Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay; the accommodation, facilities and our restaurant here at Reads. Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share them with other travellers. We hope anyone considering a visit to Reads will read your review which has made us all very proud, knowing that we are achieving good results from our hard work and happy guests that wish to return. We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at this beautiful Hotel and Spa in May. It was my second visit and first for the two of us. Right from the planning stage the owners were fully involved and helpful in every way to ensure that we got our requirements for a break - a mix of spa; one for a seasoned spa-goer, the other a first-timer and cycling- this time the other way around; one of us a very experienced and fit longer distance cyclist and me at the other end of the scale as regards cycling! The whole stay, from the moment we arrived was perfection - the 'snack' provided for our late arrival, the room, the meals, service, spa, pools, the quality of the bicycles - my partner returned from a day's cycling in a state of ecstasy about his cycling experience whilst I had enjoyed a facial in the spa; time in the hotel boutique, lunch by the pool and a siesta. Over the next two days we both set off for more gentle rides to the nearest villages where restaurants and bars are in plentiful should one wish to eat there. The two dogs and a cat (one of the dogs was a temporary stay for a very good reason) were delightful and made it feel even more like a home from home. Mr Brown (dog!) is so well behaved and never enters the dining room. We really couldn't fault the Read family, staff or hotel/spa - if I could I would make this a regular break!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rupertbear54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a place to go for pure relaxation. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Yes, you might find other hotels that offer a more conventionally 'five star' service, but Reads is about character and privacy and personality. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms that was comfortable, spacious, well equipped and had a glorious view over the countryside to Santa Maria and the hills beyond. We had a hire car for the week and got out to see Palma, Soller, Deia and other parts of the island, but we also had some lovely days by the pool and lounging in the hotel. The spa facilities are great and the relatively small capacity for the hotel means that you are never crowded, never unable to find somewhere to relax on your own if you want to. Our one week felt more like two. I have never felt more relaxed at a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This eclectic hotel provided us with a quiet and relaxing week in idyllic surroundings. Away from the crowded coastline it has a rural setting and provided us with a quiet and restful break when we could recharge our batteries. The staff are excellent and the hotel which is run by a family is quite unique. A very romantic and peaceful setting it is just a few minutes by car from the local station which takes you into the centre of Palma in just a few minutes. The food has plenty of Majorcan touches and the menus are very creative. Meals were eaten outdoors by the pool. There is an outdoor pool and indoor spa. A quality establishment this is somewhere to chill out and get away from the stresses and strains of everyday life. The story of how the hotel came about is quite amazing and is all down to the hard work and determination of the family. Somewhere very different. Remember if you want anything just ask. In the fourteen years since we were last there it has just gone from strength to strength!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReadsHotel, General Manager at Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Reads Experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our team looked after you so well. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Reads Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to relax and unwind in the most beautiful environment. Everything was perfect with top quality staff, food and facilities. There are bikes available for the active and various classes to attend if you want to. The spa is top-class and the pools are just lovely. The meals are off the highest quality with ample choice for both meat eaters and vegetarians. The staff and family make you most welcome and cater for all your needs. I can't wait to go back ....

Room Tip: I stayed in room seven which was very spacious and has a lovely terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissieW13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria del Cami
9.3 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
788 reviews
13.0 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
931 reviews
3.8 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
3.1 mi away
Sa Cabana Hotel Rural & Spa
12.2 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness

Property: Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness
Address: Carretera vieja de Santa Maria Alaro s/n, 07320 Santa Maria del Cami, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Santa Maria del Cami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Maria del Cami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reads offers the ultimate chill out experience. Enjoy the 650m2 Vespasian Spa offering heated indoor pool with hydro-therapy jets, jacuzzi, thermal circuit steam room; sauna; laconium; ice cave; foot reflexology podium and 5 experience shower. Treatment rooms and a couples suite offer a full range of ESPA and Vespasian Signature treatments. Open all year, this privately owned, luxury hotel with just 23 rooms and its own vineyard, is just 20 minutes from the city of Palma. The Hotel has two restaurants both with outdoor dining terrace. An outdoor pool, tennis court and dedicated cycling centre add to the many activities available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reads Hotel Santa Maria Del Cami
Reads Hotel And Spa
Reads Hotel Majorca
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness Majorca/Santa Maria Del Cami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing