We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Read's Hotel is a lovely hotel in a lovely part of Majorca, it just did not feel like a 5 star resort. The rooms are showing their age, the bathrooms need some updating, the towels were a little thin, the bedding not superior. The restaurant was poor, we ate dinner there one night and then went to town every other evening. Breakfast was OK, the usual buffet of bread, cheese, meats, juices and cereals. The bar area is interesting but the cobwebs in the ceiling and corners were a big detraction. The spa - is where the lack of maintenance really shows, the spa was not fully operational, sauna was off, steam was off, etc... and the windows in the pool and hot tub area were filthy, and looked out on broken pool lounges that were left behind the building. We rented bikes which were nice, we were surpried that we did not get a "fitting" or any sort of technical support, but not a major complaint. The staff was exceptional, the owner friendly and witty, but all in all, not what we expected for the price and the hype.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyS-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReadsHotel, General Manager at Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment from your stay at Reads back in May. Unfortunately no complaints were made during your stay as we would have been pleased to discuss these with you and find solutions. The spa is maintained on a daily basis and has it´s own dedicated cleaner 7 days a week. The steam rooms and saunas are available from 16h every day unless guests request otherwise. We find there is little demand for these facilites during the day when we have groups of cyclists out all day which is why the facilities are always prepared at 16.00h for the afternoon. This is explained to each guest via their personalised welcome letter and also verbally and at the same time explained that if the facilities are required earlier you only need to ask. Commenting that the restaurant is poor is your opinion but we see that other reviews are most positive and full of praise. Looking through other reviews of Reads we see clearly that we please many guests but seemingly not all. Thank you, for your kind comments about our staff, we certainly are very proud of our team here at Reads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a family run hotel in a quiet location just 30 minutes from Palma. If you're a cyclist it is wonderfully situated for the Tramuntana mountains. If you're not a cyclist, there is a very pleasant spa and the train from Santa Maria is a quick hop into Palma. What marks this hotel out is the service. The owners are very much in attendance keeping an eye on things and the staff, many of who have with with the hotel for some time, are very efficient and responsive. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was an excellent size with a sitting room and a terrace. Some of the decor is starting to look a little faded but nothing of any account. The food is well prepared and presented with a good choice. There is a light and airy dining room or the pool terrace.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Food was disappointing with little choice and the room was tired and in need of a refurb but very clean. The owner is a star full of whit and charm. The staff are so incredibly friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble making me feel slightly guilty for a negative rating. This is no longer a 5 star hotel it had shades of Fawlty Towers however having said that I would return in a flash but not pay quite so much for the privilege.

Room Tip: Stay in the garden rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfingbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We booked a night at Reads on the recommendation of a fellow traveller on the flight out to Mallorca for our two week self-catering holiday in June. Our more usual accommodation is in the north of the island and we thought Reads would be a nice place from where to explore Palma. It was a bit of a random decision but, like many spur-of-the moment actions, an extremely fortuitous one. Our stay simply could not have been bettered. Our room was perfect, the bed comfortable, the bathroom scrupulously clean and stylish and the decor far from dated. The main house is beautiful, light and airy and the spa is suggestive of an opulent Roman villa: the whole place produces a feeling of instant relaxation and calm. My husband enjoyed two perfect spa treatments while I swam lengths in the indoor pool and then relaxed outside, enjoying a gin and tonic and my book.

Our lunch was delicious, eaten around the outdoor pool, and dinner was equally as imaginative and refined. Both were served perfectly.

We cannot wait to return to Reads and were genuinely sad to leave. We wish we'd spent our entire holiday there and are just about to re-book for 2014. If we possibly can, we'll also be squeezing in a short break in the autumn. Rarely have we felt so at home and relaxed in such a smart hotel (despite having visited many over the years). The previous reviewer who was so unfairly critical and nasty must clearly have mistaken Reads for somewhere else because I do not recognise the place they are describing in their review. Their comments seem very odd to anyone who has actually been to Reads. Oh, and the dogs and cats only enhanced our stay with their character and impeccable behaviour. We just loved it.

Room Tip: The rooms we saw were all good but we stayed in Room 6 which was a Junior Suite. It was lovely, wit...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReadsHotel, Owner at Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay; the accommodation, facilities and our restaurant here at Reads. Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share them with other travellers. We hope anyone considering a visit to Reads will read your review which has made us all very proud, knowing that we are achieving good results from our hard work and happy guests that wish to return. We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at this beautiful Hotel and Spa in May. It was my second visit and first for the two of us. Right from the planning stage the owners were fully involved and helpful in every way to ensure that we got our requirements for a break - a mix of spa; one for a seasoned spa-goer, the other a first-timer and cycling- this time the other way around; one of us a very experienced and fit longer distance cyclist and me at the other end of the scale as regards cycling! The whole stay, from the moment we arrived was perfection - the 'snack' provided for our late arrival, the room, the meals, service, spa, pools, the quality of the bicycles - my partner returned from a day's cycling in a state of ecstasy about his cycling experience whilst I had enjoyed a facial in the spa; time in the hotel boutique, lunch by the pool and a siesta. Over the next two days we both set off for more gentle rides to the nearest villages where restaurants and bars are in plentiful should one wish to eat there. The two dogs and a cat (one of the dogs was a temporary stay for a very good reason) were delightful and made it feel even more like a home from home. Mr Brown (dog!) is so well behaved and never enters the dining room. We really couldn't fault the Read family, staff or hotel/spa - if I could I would make this a regular break!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rupertbear54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a place to go for pure relaxation. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Yes, you might find other hotels that offer a more conventionally 'five star' service, but Reads is about character and privacy and personality. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms that was comfortable, spacious, well equipped and had a glorious view over the countryside to Santa Maria and the hills beyond. We had a hire car for the week and got out to see Palma, Soller, Deia and other parts of the island, but we also had some lovely days by the pool and lounging in the hotel. The spa facilities are great and the relatively small capacity for the hotel means that you are never crowded, never unable to find somewhere to relax on your own if you want to. Our one week felt more like two. I have never felt more relaxed at a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This eclectic hotel provided us with a quiet and relaxing week in idyllic surroundings. Away from the crowded coastline it has a rural setting and provided us with a quiet and restful break when we could recharge our batteries. The staff are excellent and the hotel which is run by a family is quite unique. A very romantic and peaceful setting it is just a few minutes by car from the local station which takes you into the centre of Palma in just a few minutes. The food has plenty of Majorcan touches and the menus are very creative. Meals were eaten outdoors by the pool. There is an outdoor pool and indoor spa. A quality establishment this is somewhere to chill out and get away from the stresses and strains of everyday life. The story of how the hotel came about is quite amazing and is all down to the hard work and determination of the family. Somewhere very different. Remember if you want anything just ask. In the fourteen years since we were last there it has just gone from strength to strength!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReadsHotel, General Manager at Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your Reads Experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our team looked after you so well. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria del Cami
7.9 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
9.3 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
852 reviews
13.0 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
11.1 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
539 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness

Address: Carretera vieja de Santa Maria Alaro s/n | S/n, 07320 Santa Maria del Cami, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Santa Maria del Cami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Maria del Cami
Price Range: £139 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance hotel, invites you to live a unique experience in this traditional manor house, with a history of more than 500 years, which has become an exclusive rural hotel oriented in the wellness and well-being of our guests. Set in a unique setting, with spectacular views of the Serra de Tramuntana and surrounded by 30,000 square meters of carefully designed gardens, we offer our guests a dreamlike landscape in the most tranquil space surrounded by real countryside, only 15 minutes from the center of Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reads Hotel Santa Maria Del Cami
Reads Hotel And Spa
Reads Hotel Majorca
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness Majorca/Santa Maria Del Cami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing