We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourteen Wonderful Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Read's hotel is privately owned and managed by the Read family, Mr & Mrs Read, Marcus and Simone , who are always available to ensure the smooth running of the hotel.
Relais and Chateaux membership gives the high standards that we expect and the Michelin Star, held by Felix Eschrick, the Head Chef, ensures a sublime dining experience.
The hotel is a thirteenth century Mallorquin manor house which Mr Read has lovingly converted and filled with an eclectic collection of antiques. There are various categories of rooms and suites both in the main house and the converted outbuildings. Should you wish to celebrate a special occasion, the Sultan's suite would be an excellent choice for a long weekend.
The situation of the hotel was perfect for us as it was our intention to explore the Island. The hotel sits peacefully in the middle of its own land and vineyards just outside the town of Santa Maria del Cami which has excellent rail and road links, south to Palma and north west to Pollenca. We hired a car which was delivered to the hotel and we covered 1100 kms exploring all points N,S.E&W. There is very easy access to Soller through the tunnel and to Palma on the Ma13.
Our fellow guests were an international clientele, some, like us staying for fourteen nights, others for seven and some for short breaks of three or four nights, a very tempting option when in need of some serious R & R.
At this time of year evening meals, both a la carte and the bistro menus are taken in the Bacchus restaurant, whilst at lunchtime the bistro menu is available outside under the canopies by the pool. We viewed Felix's spotless, gleaming kitchen where he created a special vegetarian option for me one evening. You can, should you so wish, enjoy his Chef's table in the kitchen, where he will prepare for you a ten course tasting menu.
We enjoyed excellent treatments from both Romy and Andy in the spa with its huge pool with massage jets and sauna, laconium ( our favourite) and ice rooms.
I shall miss opening the shutters in the morning to a vista of the rising sun, the ancient olive trees and the magnificence of the Tramuntana Mountains bathed in sunshine and shadow, an experience that will stay with me during our grey Winter days.
To summarise, in my opinion, Read's is a Country House Hotel, with a superb dining experience, excellent outdoor and indoor pools and spa with the most helpful and caring staff and an owner whose passion for his creation is evident in the overall ambiance of this very special place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontagueSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2009

Big great rooms. Ok breakfast. Great lunch and EXCELLENT dinner at Bacchus. The spa was ok but only one out of the five different saunas was in function, the traditional one. I recommend to have the Chefs Table situated in the kitchen area with Chefs menu. We had a great time with team Felix and his nice chefs. The wifi did not function very well and the guest computer was like visiting a museum,)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hama007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Just returned from an amazing spa day and lunch at the fabulous Reads in Santa Maria.
arriving knackered, stressed (husband, babies, business) and in need of care and attention, i was greeted by Simone, and immediately i could feel my shoulders loosening and i quickly forgot the mayhem i had left behind! I had a quick tour of the gym, steam room and all the other spa rooms that you are welcome to use. All stylishly decorated and extremely clean.
i had booked a facial beforehand, and after relaxing by the pool i was greeted by a lovely Spanish beautician and led into the treatment room. The music, lighting, and wonderful smells, all induced a semi-sleep as i laid there and had my wrinkles smoothed away. After an hour of bliss, i was left to relax,(and i definately looked 16 again) and that was it, i am hooked! I spent the afternoon lazing comatosed by the pool and surrounded by the most immaculate beautiful gardens, until i became a little peckish. I ate outside at the Bistro, poolside. The waiter service and the food was fantastic, and in Mallorca, this duo is hard to find. Even if you are not staying in the hotel, you must go for lunch (or i expect dinner is just as good). i have not had such a delicious meal or such professional service, in the 4 years of living here!!
I am now hassling Mr CasaB, to get babysitters for a long weekend and to treat ourselves. i am already getting excited.!!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
Thank casaBmajorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We first visited Reads a couple of years ago and had one of our best holidays ever. We um'd and aah'd about returning - would it be as good as last time?

In the end we decided to give it a week and then go somewhere else on the island for a week. Once I'd looked on the web site and talked to them however, the deal was so compelling (compared with 2 years ago) that we booked for the whole 2 weeks.

We had nothing to fear. Everything was as good, if not better than last time. As returning clients we were treated like royalty (well, almost!) and the sun shone for the whole 2 week period which always helps.

The staff were all fantastic with nothing being too much trouble. There is now a terrace by the side of the pool from which both lunch and dinner were served. This had a fantastic ambiance particularly in the evenings.

There is a new chef as well. Marc Fosh is quite an act to follow. Felix Eschrich, however has taken over and subtly changed things without detriment to the whole eating experience.

The menues are less stuffy and the choice between the 2 restaurants somewhat blurred so you could basically choose anything from either menu. The food however was just as tasty and beautifully presented.

All in all, it wasanother great holiday which will linger long in the memory. Our thanks go to the Read family and all the staff - we'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoveoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We dined at Bistro 33 for lunch and found it to have exceptional food and service - all at reasonable prices. The staff were welcoming and friendly and it was refreshing to learn that the owners of such a beautiful, well kept hotel were English. We spoke to some of the guests who were staying there and it seems to be the perfect place for a stress free relaxation break. We got the impression that it was a very well run, bonefide family business where the family members are very hands-on and keep the place looking and operating immaculatey. We will certeinly recommend it to friends and return to use the bistro/restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwmbran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I booked this hotel for two nights with my wife to celebrate the end of the financial year. We wished a couple of nights away from our six moth old baby too!

I arranged a limo as a surprise, through the hotel, to pick us up from the airport, which was good, although I forgot that E Class Mercedes limos in Europe can be pretty basic, so was not as comfy as I imagined (and Mrs MB didn't notice!).

From the outside the hotel looks immaculate and this was repeated throughout. Stone floors and antique furniture was the feel. I liked it.

We stayed in a junior suite on the first floor that had a nice balcony looking towards the pool. I would call it antique Spanish chic - the wardrobes, tables, chest of drawers. It had a B&O TV that had Sky TV to watch the tennis.

We were booked into the Michelin starred restaurant for Friday and Saturday nights. We drank our bottlwe Veuve that I had ordered for our arrival and headed down for dinner. Normally dinner is outside but due to storms forecast it was inside. Very smart dining room with funky music playing through speakers hidden behind beams.

We ordered margarita's from the bar and drank them up on one of the verandas then took our table for dinner. I belive that the food was excellent but after another bottle of rose and desert wine I must admit that I forgot what we had. I do remember the cheese being very good though.

In the morning we had a late breakfast (in the same room as dinner was in) which was a fairly standard European affair.

We headed to the pool and laid in the sun on our sun loungers. It was fabulous. No and again we would dive into the pool to cool off, or order drinks from the barman who hovered around now and again.

We had lunch in the bistro restaurant. Again, the food was excellent, as were the couple of bottles of rose wine. It was served under a mariad of parasols by the pool. The sun was pretty hot and there was no breeze.

Mrs MB had a treatment or two in the afternoon while I lay in the sun. We left the pool at around 7 PM since it was lovely and peaceful (no pesky kids splashing in the pool).

We chose the 9 course extravaganza menu for dinner, which was excellent. We are always a bit dubious of these after going to L'Enclume (see previous review) but it was excellent. Very well prepared and presented and this time served outside by the pool. The restuarant occupies the spot where the bistro is a lunch time, while the bistro gets a new location outside the spa. (We did feel slightly superior in the restaurant and am sure those in the bistro look on enviously!).

That evening we ended up sitting at the bar drinking cocktails chatting to the barman, who is the brother of Mrs Read (I am sure she has a first name!), and Mrs Read. This was all very pleasant and was interested to get a history of the hotel and how it is run etc.

After a alcohol induced long sleep, we repeated the previous days activities by lying in the sun, having a boozy lunch then Mrs MB having some treatments. After her final treatment I joinined her inside in the spa.

The spa is amazing, with massive pool, hot tub, five rooms with varying levels of heat and humidity, incude a cold bucket of water poured over your head and a room to rub yourself with crushed ice! I was a bit annoyed that we had not found it earlier.

Interestingly Mrs Read had told us that they had built the spa a few years back at great expensive but no one ever used it, but rightly enough, no one goes to these hotels of there is no spa! Surely they should have shown us the spa when we arrived rather than just pointing at the door to it.

We lay in the sun until about 7 PM, paid our bill, got into our taxi and left.

Total bill was around £2000 for the two nights (Two nights in junior suite, limo transfer, two lunches, two dinners, lots of drinks, champagne in room, cigars, spa treatments).

I do think it was quite expensive but this was mainly due to the cost of the junior suite, which was completely unnecessary since we spent to time there other than sleeping.

We do a good number of these type of trips (see other reviews) and did rate Read's Hotel but am not sure we would go back. There are two reasons for this. The first is that I think it is slightly more suited to those a little older than us. We are mid thirties and I think my folks would have been in their element. The second reason is that because the hotel is run by an English family, you do miss out on any Spanish experience - it was strange to have spent a weekend in Spain and never actually heard any Spanish being spoken. The problem is that if you take away any sign that we were in Spain, then we might have just as well have saved the cost of a flight and gone to the Crab and Lobster for the weekend........

If you want somewhere with lots of sun, no noisy children, brilliant food and an excellent spa, then you will not be disappointed at Read's Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheYoungLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Have just spent two nights at Reads to finish off our 18 day holiday in Mallorca. We couldn,t have asked for a better end to our wonderful time on the island. Our room was beautiful with lovely views, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, the house and gardens amazing and the food the best we have ever had. Just can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savannaNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria del Cami
5.8 mi away
Cas Comte Petit Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
889 reviews
14 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 15 in Canyamel
460 reviews
11.1 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
925 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sa Torre de Santa Eugenia
Sa Torre de Santa Eugenia
#1 of 1 in Santa Eugenia
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness

Address: Carretera vieja de Santa Maria Alaro s/n | S/n, 07320 Santa Maria del Cami, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Santa Maria del Cami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Maria del Cami
Price Range: £146 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance hotel, invites you to live a unique experience in this traditional manor house, with a history of more than 500 years, which has become an exclusive rural hotel oriented in the wellness and well-being of our guests. Set in a unique setting, with spectacular views of the Serra de Tramuntana and surrounded by 30,000 square meters of carefully designed gardens, we offer our guests a dreamlike landscape in the most tranquil space surrounded by real countryside, only 15 minutes from the center of Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reads Hotel Santa Maria Del Cami
Reads Hotel And Spa
Reads Hotel Majorca
Balance Hotel Reads Health & Wellness Majorca/Santa Maria Del Cami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing