We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to leave”
Review of Valldemossa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Valldemossa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valldemossa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sad to leave”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

My second visit.

As an ex hotelier I very much appreciate what they are doing here. Excellent staff and a genuine attempt to listen to feedback. Nowhere is perfect but they certainly want it to be.

We loved everything about this beautiful hotel and felt the team running it were superb.





  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saddletramp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    32
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
174
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our second stay at the hotel and it was lovely to return. The location is wonderful and the views outstanding. The staff are all very friendly and helpful - and the chef is excellent. I can heartily recommend the duck tortellini.

One very small point is the cleaning fluid used to clean the bathrooms is a little strong and not that nice. We did have to keep opening the room door to air the room but this in no way detracted from the huge enjoyment we had from our stay.

Another thing to perhaps mention is that having breakfast on the terrace does seem to involve sharing your table with a very insistent group of wasps. We actually retreated inside on one morning to avoid them. I mention this only in case other travellers have problems with wasps.

Very much looking forward to returning again to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandB1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent the first leg of our honeymoon at this wonderful, historic and romantic property. The staff was attentive, the rooms quaint and accommodating and the breakfast was typical Mallorcan..... Ooooh the Mallorcan bread!! We stayed in one of the suites with its own terrace area and private entrance. It was a short (5-7 min) walk to the wonderful village full of shops and cafes. Sven, the manager, made us feel welcome and the front desk staff was perfect.
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorgeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was our 10th visit to Valldemossa, something that has become an annual family pilgrimage. We simply love the location, the tranquility and whole experience - it's a great place to unwind and relax from the pressures of daily life in the UK. Within 30 mins of arriving we are chilled!

The staff, many of who have been there for some time, are attentive, always responsive and happy. The food as always excellent - try the Soller prawn carpaccio! The views are to die for.

We have explored the island and stayed / visited other well known hotels but always end up at Valldemossa...our little piece of heaven on earth.

This year was the best yet, due mainly to the friendliness of the staff and simple touches like a refreshing pick me up by the pool at midday. Sven and Antonia are obviously having a very positive impact.

We are not alone in returning each year and often, as again this year, run into the same people who love the hotel as much as we do.

Valldemossa village is within 5 mins walking with a number of cafe's restaurants to provide alternatives to the stunning terrace restaurant at the hotel. Deia is 20 mins drive (hire car is best as taxi's can be unreliable and expensive) - arrive early to secure a parking space. With La Residencia, Sebastian's and Es Raco de Teix being the best places to eat.

We will be back again for sure :) Thanks to all the team at Hotel Valldemossa for another memorable stay.

Room Tip: Ask the reception staff and they will match the room to your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian_badcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the end of May after a turbulent few months and we were looking for a relaxing break to re charge our batteries.

Couldn't have picked a better place, only 25 minutes from Palma airport and a world away from the stresses and strains of a busy resort.

The hotel only has 12 rooms and a couple of suites, all with a balcony and some with a private terrace, all with beautiful views of the valley.

The pool was too cold (for us) at the end of May but the pool area was lovely and featured very comfortable sun loungers and an honesty bar!

The restaurant is excellent and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. We ate in one night and on Sunday lunchtime when they had musicians playing background music.

It's a short walk to the town which offers a selection of shops, bars and restaurants if you want to leave the hotel at any time.

I recommend the hotel whole heartedly to anyone looking for a 1st class peaceful destination that is close enough to a small town if outside distractions are wanted.

A word of caution, the hotel is on multiple levels and whilst there is a lift, it is necessary to climb and descend a lot of steps.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking down the valley and with it's own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I just came from a short break in this wonderful place in the heart of the Tramuntana. We stayed in a lovely Junior Suite, the room was huge and bright, with the best fabrics and very beautiful decorated. The restaurant is simply perfect, its has 2 terraces, one overlooking the countryside and the bay of Palma, the other one is a magnificent lookout to enjoy the views over the village of Valldemossa. Food and menu are delicious and the staff overall charming and professional to the extreme. A real relais&chateaux, don't hesitate to come, I'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Beautiful hotel, lovely hospitality spectacular location. We stayed there for one night only but wished we had been able to stay longer., we live on the island and had forgotten just how amazingly stunning the village of Valldemossa is. We had dinner in the hotel and tried the wonderful desgustacion menu. It was enough to rival many Michelin restaurants. I would highly recommend this for anyone in the need of rest & relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valldemossa
3.2 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
0.5 mi away
Mirabo de Valldemossa
Mirabo de Valldemossa
#2 of 3 in Valldemossa
171 reviews
2.9 mi away
Es Moli Hotel
Es Moli Hotel
#3 of 7 in Deia
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
825 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Sa Pedrissa
Hotel Sa Pedrissa
#5 of 7 in Deia
159 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hoposa Costa d'Or Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valldemossa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valldemossa Hotel

Property: Valldemossa Hotel
Address: Ctra Vieja de Valldemossa s/n, 07170 Valldemossa, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Valldemossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valldemossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valldemossa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of the corner of the Sierra de Tramuntana mountains in Mallorca where the hotel Valldemossa is located is such that Frederic Chopin defined it as The Most Beautiful Place in the World. And he wasn't exaggerating. The surroundings chosen for this boutique Hotel, formerly heritage belonging to the Carthusian Monastery of Valldemossa, are like something out of a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Valldemossa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valldemossa Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing