We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful place”
Review of La Casona de Yaiza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casona de Yaiza
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Yaiza
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights in October. The place is so incredibly quiet, we hardly saw anyone else, but that is what we were after! The rooms are dark as the building has two foot stone walls, but they are beautiful and decorated in a boutique style, and very clean. Our shower was particularly fabulous. No aircon so in the height of summer it might be a bit hot, but was fine in October. Free wi-fi in the restaurant and terrace area (can't get it in the rooms because of the thick stone walls!) We liked the little pool area, small and quiet. We also liked the jacuzzi on the roof, lovely to sit in that and look at the surrounding countryside. Staff were really friendly. The previous reviewer will be pleased to hear that all leaves were swept and the place looked very clean and tidy.

We ate at the restaurant two nights and loved it, great meals. Breakfast was fine for us, cereal, toast, jams, yogurt, fruit, ham, cheese etc. We didn't find much else in Yaiza, there is not real centre, there are two or three other restaurants dotted around but they were all closed on Monday and all seemed a little lacking in atmosphere. We drove to Puerto Calero about ten mins away which was a lovely place to spend the evening.

The only issue we had was that we had a downstairs room and we could hear every move the guests above us were making. Luckily they moved out after our second morning, but if it is a problem for you ask for an upper room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank splodgeness999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for La Casona de Yaiza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

My Wife and I have recently spent a most enjoyable week in Lanzarote, and consider ourselves lucky to have found La Casona. Having visited the island before, we already liked Yaiza and its location, and we think La Casona is a delightful little hotel.
We've never stayed in a hotel anywhere that we would say was absolute perfection, and La Casona is no exception, but it is such a charming place with helpful, friendly staff that we feel it would be churlish to mention any minor shortcomings. It is true that there are no staff at all around in the late afternoon / early evening (4.30 to 7.30), but that only bothered us if we returned during that period and wanting to relax with a drink. We got round this by stopping at the Centro de Artesania in Yaiza, where there is a pretty little courtyard bar, which also serves a nice plate of Tapas if we needed a snack.
We do think that the Bodega has been somewhat maligned in previous reviews. Breakfast is simple and repetitive, but so are most foreign hotel breakfasts. In the evenings we did notice that the guests who were on half board had less choice than us, but those we spoke to were happy with their meals. From the A La Carte menu, my wife had one meal which she felt was a little overcooked - grilled chicken breast, but everything else we had was really rather good. It was interesting that three French couples ate there every night, a few local Spanish couples came for meals (the staff were familiar with them, so they must be regular customers) and one English couple who were staying at the Finca de Salinas (whose restaurant is recommended in the Official Lanzarote Guidebook) paid a return visit because they liked it so much. To compare it with other restaurants, La Casona closes on a Wednesday so we went to La Era, where, despite the nice surroundings, the meal was very ordinary and bland. We also discovered that on this night the half board guests were asked to take dinner at the Bodega Santiago. Those we spoke to said that it was nice, but no better than La Casona. The music was certainly not intrusive, and the atmosphere generated by the ever smiling waiter, Ben, was light and cheerful and enjoyed by all.
Overall, this is where we'll stay on any future visits to Lanzarote, and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to any of our friends and family. A gem of a place.

Room Tip: Try for the first floor, it's quieter and lighter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenandAnn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I read about this charming hotel many years ago, and it was on my list to stay there. My expectations were quite high. Some experiences were positive, others less...
The village of Yaiza consists of almost only white houses. It is a very charming, lovely village. La Casona de Yaiza is located a couple of hundred meters from the center. It is a small hotel with only 8 or 10 rooms. Every room is different, and that makes it special. We had a very beautiful room on the upper floor, directly above the swimming pool. The room was in good shape, all in blue colour which is lovely. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom and big shower as well.
There is no air condition in the room. Temperature outside was 35 degrees and inside the room it was hard to fall asleep - it was much too hot.
Breakfast was quite rudimentary, little choice. Things which were there were ok to nice, but very limited choice. You can dine eiter inside or outside. We opted for a table outside which was very nice, and food was good. Keep in mind that this is a boutique style, tiny hotel. It attracts people who love and need PEACE and intimacy. Noone who comes here is looking for noise and entertainment. However, during dinner time there was such loud pop music that we decided to take our food upstairs to our room. We found it so silly to stay in a QUIET place where quietness was destroyed by a music style which is opposite of what Lanzarote and Yaiza respects. The waiter realized that we and also other clients were upset. He changed the tape and things turned to be fine...
The detail which bothered us most was the fact that the garden was not very well kept. There is a huge and marvellous bougainvillea bush. Of course such a plant needs care, and leaves which fall down have to be taken. There were hundreds or thousands of leaves on the floor. It would be a matter of 1 hour or 2 hours of cleaning every day to give a neat look to the garden. When we were there it looked quite neglected and far away from being cared. The pool area? Funny. I liked it a lot nevertheless it is small and narrow. My friend did not like it and felt sort of locked in there.
All in all I would turn back here, I liked it. August is a bad month to travel, it is much too hot. If one comes here in the winter, the lack of air condition is not a problem. And I really hope that the owner in the future will take 10-20€ per day into his hands to keep the garden in better shape. The hotel is so nice, so lovely, so cute. But to be honest, upon arrival we were quite shocked how neglected the gardens looked with all those hundreds or thousends of Bougainvillea flowers on the floor. It is a must to keep public areas clean and neat....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here in May this year for Ironman Lanzarote and loved it. Perfectly placed on the island, amazing breakfast with exceptional staff who were only too happy to help us, particularly when our daughter picked up a bug and was sick! They even offered to get up at 5.00 in the morning to get me breakfast, I imagine they would have carried me down the stairs after the ironman...thanks very much for a wonderful stay and the room was beautiful. Still not sure if I will do the ironman again, but definitely will return.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank djb1974uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at the self catering Villas Yaiza for two weeks having also arranged a Half Board option of having Breakfast and Dinner at the supposedly superb Casona de Yaiza restaurant. The restaurant is however not superb as some describe it! The a la carte menu is very limited, there were few specials and the standard of catering was only average. In the end we did not even have half board as that menu was just two choices. As a result we just had breakfast which was a generous continental buffet but the quality was nothing special. Bread, pastry and cereal selections were quite ordinary. There are two much better restaurants in Yaiza, La Era and Bodega Santiago. If you are thinking of staying at the Casona for the food you will be sadly disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here two nights and were very happy with the hotel. It is nice, full of character,and ideal for independent travellers looking for an "hotel de charme" rather than a large resort. We had a room on the first floor who was large, tastefully decorated, with a very big bathroom and a balcony. If we went back I would still book one of the rooms on the first floor. The ones on the ground floor seemed to me far less attractive and much darker while our was full of light and for us just perfect. We did not use much the common parts as we spent a lot of time travelling around in the island but the patio was nice, and we also saw a jacuzzi and a swimming pool. Yaiza itself is a nice village, very quiet, all white walls and green shutters, clean and well kept as 95% of Lanzarote (ie everything a part from a couple of very touristy places). It is a great place to stay as a basis to visit the island (in itself something I strongly recommend as it is a beautiful and surprising place). The breakfast was OK, nothing wrong with it but nothing spectacular either. If I were to go back to Lanzarote I would definitely stay again at La Casona. I would not eat there though. The restaurant has a good reputation and there are a lot of positive reviews so I do not know exactly what went wrong the evening when we ate there. Frankly it was truly awful, one of the worst dinners I ever had. But let's give it the benefit of the doubt and say that the chef just had a bad day at the office...

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

If you want a busy, lively and sociable venue for your holiday then this is not the place for you- head to a coastal resort!
We were so surprised by the lack of people everywhere. For Easter we expected crowds and lots of celebration but it was so quiet. The hotel was also quiet even though it was full.
The quietness also stretched to the staff who vanished after breakfast and werent seen till the evening.In that respect it is more like a guest house as you are left very much to your own devices - There is no help with trip planning unless you manage to catch Hosei as he is flitting between hotels. This did not bother us at all as we were happy to go and explore without help. For that a car is therefore pretty essential.The gallery is more of a collection of one persons work set in a cavernous downstairs space similar to Ceasar Manrique's wonderful volcanic interiors.
Unfortunately we were unable to use the pool as it was freezing- that would have been a huge bonus in our opinion, a little solar heating would have just brought the temperature enough to make it bearable as the outside temperature was a beautuful balmy average of 20-25 degrees.
The other guests were all very friendly and there was always availability in the resturant though I imagine that is not always the case, The food menu stayed the same and apparently doesnt change so we were forced to try other venues as we got to know the menu off by heart. (Dont bother with L'Era, beautiful venue but I wish I had cooked my own supper!)
The service is very Manyana everywhere, Dont expect to be served immediately. A 10 minute wait is average to have you gasping for a drink of anything that is fast! but the food at Casona de Yaiza is better than average and we loved variations of the pica (tapas?) which kept us returning.
Our rooms were spacious if a little cold in the evenings- a rug by the beds in winter might be an idea since the floors are all tiled. Each room is quirky which makes it an interesting place to stay. We were in downstairs rooms which do have a bit of a noise problem since all floors above ground level are wooden, every footstep is heard both going up the stairs(which were outside my room) or from the bedroom above which can be very noisy with shoes on(especially if your feet are cold)- Maybe a rug there would help too! On the whole I wouldn't hesitate to visit again and would highly reccomend the Casona. A fabulous mid winter sunshine destination.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are probably quieter due to the floorboards affecting those downstairs, Also our room...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spiderzSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaiza
3.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Hilario
Casa de Hilario
#2 of 5 in Yaiza
87 reviews
6.9 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
567 reviews
16.9 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
6.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona de Yaiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de Yaiza

Address: Calle Rincon s/n | Playa Blanca, 35570 Yaiza, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Yaiza
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Yaiza
Price Range: £93 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casona de Yaiza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Casona de Yaiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona De Yaiza Hotel Yaiza
La Casona De Yaiza Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing