We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility!”
Review of Casa de Hilario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de Hilario
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Yaiza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We moved over to Casa de Hilario following a 1 night stay at her sister hotel, La Casona de Yaiza. La Casona de Yaiza was due to have some maintenance work done that week so the Owner, Jose, recommended we move to Hilario. I'm glad we did - both hotels are beautiful but this one was our favourite.
The hotel itself is located on a hillside just outside of the sleepy town of Yaiza. The views from the front terrace (we sat here each morning the eact breakfast) were lovely - you can see down into the pretty town and across the hills of the Timanfaya National Park. The hotel is unique in style - an oriental theme runs throughout with beautiful paintings, furniture and huge windows. There is a small heated pool (which got very warm in the afternoons!) with sunlougers. Again, the view from the poolside was fabulous. The hotel is extremely peaceful - as there are only 9 rooms you find that you are the only guest there a lot of the time. It feels as though you are staying at someone's home rather than at a hotel!
Jose is extremely helpful and friendly - he booked a hire car for us and was there every morning and evening to check everyone is ok. Although the hotel is not permanently staffed, Jose is just a phone call away if you need anything.
The breakfast was great - cereal, fruit, bread, cheese, a selection of sliced meats, yogurt, juice, eggs etc. Our room was huge (room number 4) - the bed was firm but very comfortable and could have accommodated 3 easily! There was a beautiful wall painting in our room and a huge shower and twin sinks in the bathroom. The only downside was that there was no fridge and no air conditioning, but this was not a major issue for us.
The main appeal of Yaiza is that you are staying away from the main tourist resorts. Yaiza is a small, pretty, countryide town with a couple of restaurants and a bar which is open in the evening. It is not a place to go for the nightlife (which was fine by us) and it is recommended that you hire a car to get around the island.
We had a great time staying at Casa de Hilario - it's a beautiful hotel in a great location. We will definitely be returning one day!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Casa de Hilario
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

Casa de Hilario is a special, relaxed place to stay, with a friend, as I did, or for a romantic break. Between them the previous reviewers have got it right, so I'll attempt to summarise those pros & cons so everyone can choose if it's right for them. Like a previous reviewer I'm a very well travelled media professional, unlike that guy however I had the benefit of his review & knew better what to expect, so was not disappointed! So to summarise those 'need to knows':
The Casa itself:
Gorgeous, beautifully decorated in a simple, but accents-of-eastern- opulence style - lovely terraces & living room to relax in if rainy. The little pool was beautifully warm when we were there & I took a dip every day despite the chilly winds. Other guests remarked that they had thought the pool was closed, but Pepe had told me though they keep the cover on to keep the heat in, guests are welcome to wind the cover back (it's fittingly a very small pool in this water short environment so very easy to uncover!) at any time - even at night. The view from the pool to the coast is across cacti strewn farmland - breathtaking especially at sunset. The Casa, & it's sister La Casona, are however 'village' rather than overtly rural based.
EXPECT: friendly staff who appear in the morning to make breakfast, maintain the grounds, make the beds & empty the bins. They disappear for the day & leave you in total peace (apart from other guests, who in our case were all very nice & peaceful & relaxed) Jose pops in morning & evening & looks around to see if there are any questions/problems - he really does seem genuinely to care that guests are happy & will give advice on any aspect of visiting the Island. nb.If you tend to feel the cold you may wish to request an extra duvet in your room (the ones provided are very light).
DO NOT EXPECT: Omnipresent staff. Hotel style 'top to toe' room cleaning. This is an unobtrusive style of service which suits the low key luxury feel - to allow you to feel (it seems) that this is 'your' Casa for the week. If you are looking for a high maintenance, pampered kind of luxury or feel unhappy in a very peaceful, unstructured environment this may not be the place for you. For instance there are no phones in rooms & no Reception. This is a place I feel, for the relatively independent traveller. That said, the Casona hotel is only a short drive away & I think it would not be hard to get help if you had a problem outside of the morning time.
Your Arrival: You MUST clarify with Jose before arriving:
a. the exact location/directions from the main road - it took a little finding!
b. MOST importantly, you must clarify with Jose that there will be someone there to meet you! I spent the first hour & a half of my holiday driving around Yaiza trying to find the Casona (sister hotel - 25 mins walk) to track down someone to let us in to our rooms! Luckily I speak enough Spanish to convince a maid at the sister hotel to phone Jose, who then sent the lovely Pepe to let us in, but after a long journey that was a stressful start & we would have been stuffed if we had not had the car! Jose was very apologetic & everything was perfect from then on, but do remind them that you are arriving!
nb. Jose prerranged car hire with Plus Car & it was a great service, easy to find in the airport, nice, newish car & good value at E100 for 4-5 days inc 1/2 tank petrol, 2 drivers & all insurance.
Rooms:
Are very pretty, individual, good sizes, with mosaic tiled bathrooms. Colourful & decorative (though tasteful & uncluttered)'. I had no.8 which was gorgeous, with twin beds & it's own little sun terrace. If it was a double bed it would have been perfect for a romantic break, so would work for romantic couples who prefer to sleep in seperate beds. A lovely couple I met there pointed out to me that their 'double' room, though lovely, was in fact 2 single beds linked, & that this seemed to be the case in most 'double' rooms (although not the junior suites) so if this bothers you check before booking.
Yaiza:
Is a small town & really does close in the evenings at this time of year at least, though there are several different options in the day. We did not see any bars, evening tapas bars or nightlife at all. As we do like a drink in the evening (& given that there are no fridges in rooms & that I was told by a fellow guest that the communal fridge in the living room was locked) this can be problematic. So it seems you need to either
a. buy your wine/beer cold on the way back to the hotel (there is a small supermarket on the road near the hotel) & a bag of ice to put in the bin/sink or
b. to take the rather more expensive option & drink in the very nice restaurant next door (has nice terrace to drink & eat on too) They are happy to sell you wine to take away & open it for you too - BUT it is 13 euros a bottle! I wish I'd talked to Jose about this though - as I have an inkling he would have arranged for the fridge to be left open if guests requested it...
Eating:
The restaurant next door sells good Canarian food, at reasonable to high prices, depending on what you order. It has a relaxed atmosphere. It seemed to be the only restaurant within 20 mins walk yet was closed on Sunday & Monday evening during our stay, so beware! The restaurant at the Casona, managed by the very efficient, very funny & perhaps slightly eccentric Hilario serves similarly priced, but in my opinion slightly more up market cuisine. The dining room there is really beautiful - a special place to eat & a good romantic option. Do book though on Sunday night as it seems to be the only restaurant open in Yaiza! Within 10 mins drive are: El Golfo (dramatic volcanic setting specialising in good fish restaurants) or the other way to La Quemada (tiny seashore village, bucolic & lovely & relaxed restaurants) or Puerto Caleta (a mini Puerto Banus - a bit tacky but a selection of internationally aimed restaurants (inc Chinese, Mexican, Italian). At this time of year places seemed to be taking last orders at 9pm. Jose can also recommend some good restaurants & vineyards at 10-15 mins drive.
Lastly - one of my highlights - breakfast!
A really good quality cold buffet: fresh coffee, fresh squeezed orange. Assorted fresh bread/rolls, lovely little warm fresh baked pastry, eggs (sometimes hard boiled, sometimes scrambled) several different good quality cold meat/salami options, manchego, local ewes cheese, brie. Fresh melon & a fruit mixture to eat possibly with muesli, yoghurts. Yum! Starts at 0830am & appears bit by bit (ask if what you want isn't there yet!) until 10-ish with an indoor terrace if it's chilly.
Internet - it's there & it's free but it can be difficult to get a connection - but this is a place to forget computers exist!
I hope this review helps - I've been as accurate as possible. And yes, I will be back - next time for a romantic break - in a junior suite with my boyfriend I hope!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank SusieHalldeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

A great bed and breakfast spot, so good that we noticed some guests expecting full hotel service and being disappointed.
Our bedroom was spacious and comfortable, wifi connection was good and the breakfasts were as varied as possible. The owner was away for the first week of our three week break but our wants were well catered for by his friend who had carried out the artworks on the site. This is a laid back place and suited us so well that we returned for a couple of weeks in December 2009. Since our return from the December break we have booked again for Oct 2010. Do expect friendly service, but this is a B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shoemender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

One of the main problems with reviews is that you don't know the standards expected by the reviewer, so I just want to tell you that I am a senior exec with a well known media company, and my wife and I have extensive travel and work experience throughout the World. Having said that, we are relaxed undemanding people who understand that generally speaking, one gets what one pays for. Casa De Hilario ranks as one of the greatest accomodation disappointments in our lives.

The establishment markets itself as an exclusive boutique hotel. The truth is that it is a B and B. In no way can it be regarded as an hotel. The rooms are nice and the communal buffet breakfasts are OK, but apart from that there are no facilities or service
whatsoever.

The small swimming pool has an inadequate number of sunloungers, there is no bar, and if you bring your own drinks there are no refrigeration facilities. We didn't mind that there wasn't a bar, but in the absence of one, we would have thought, at the rates that are charged, a small fridge in the room wouldn't have been too much to ask. The website tells you that there is a wi-fi facility, and that was important to us, in reality there is no internet access of any kind.
I don't want to be entirely negative, the rooms are nice (although our bed was dreadfully hard) and the location is lovely. Be warned, a car is essential, but Jose or his Wife can get you a good hire deal.
Our message is : don't expect much from this place except a bed and a reasonable breakfast and you may leave happier than we did.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ThommoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

What sweet, smal, peaceful stay we have had. This Hotel is a real gem. Just few rooms but all diferent. We have stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is locaded in Yaiza, better get a car or you will be lost. We was looking for something like a honeymoon, and it was just what we got.
There is a very smal, not heated, pool. We dint use it. Its not easy to find, but its just next to the, very good restaurant, Bodegon de Santiago. Yaiza is a smal town next to the Timanfaya Park and you have great view to the vulcanos and the sea.
The rooms are all decoratet individualy, very clean, there is just breakfast, which has not so much choises but for me it was more then enough. You can use the rest of the house, there is a wonderful livingroom upstairs with a fireplace and huge windows to enjoy the views.
What can I say: I loved the island and I loved the Hotel.
I just can recomend it if you want to stay away from this beach hotels full of people, noises and facilities.
There is Wifi but no phone in the Hotel rooms.
I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank melly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Suite ist super. Die anderen Zimmer sind schön aber deutlich kleiner.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaiza
0.6 mi away
La Casona de Yaiza
La Casona de Yaiza
#1 of 5 in Yaiza
128 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,938 reviews
9.6 mi away
Finca de la Florida Hotel
Finca de la Florida Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Bartolome
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
12.9 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#6 of 9 in Arrecife
128 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Hilario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Hilario

Address: Calle Garcia Escamez 19, 35570 Yaiza, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Yaiza
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Yaiza
Price Range: £88 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Hilario 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa de Hilario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Hilario Hotel Yaiza
Casa De Hilario Yaiza
Casa De Hilario Lanzarote/Yaiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing