We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa El Morro: home away from home”
Review of Casa el Morro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa el Morro
Ranked #1 of 5 Yaiza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent two weeks in Casa El Morro together with out two children and we loved every minute of it. We stayed in casa Aljibe which was great with two small children as it's very secluded, has a wonderfull terras and is close to the pool. The pool area was amazing. Sheltered from the wind but with magnificent views and surrounded with beautifull Balinese beds. Absolutely relaxing! Casa El Morro is also ideally located for visiting the most beautifull beaces of the island and the Lanzarote vineyards.
Last but not least, all the people of Casa El Morro made you feel at home from the very first moment! I would definitely recommend Casa El Morro to my friends and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in El Aljibe which has one bedroom en a sofa bed. This was grat with two small children as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank KikiM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you very much for our lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It´s great to hear so many good comments, we really appreciate them.
We would love to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for a week to enjoy a relaxing holiday in a quiet and peaceful place. And this is exactly what we got. Casa el Morro is tucked away in the small town of Uga just off the coast and past the main beach resorts. It is run by Raquel and colleagues with several self-serviced apartments in a renovated old farm building. It has a lovely atmosphere and feels calming and relaxing from the moment you enter the premises. Our apartment was lovely - it was nicely decorated with a mix of Spanish and Asian style furniture and accessories. It also had all necessary amenities, including pots, utensils, towels, etc. in the kitchen. There is a shared pool that is sheltered from the wind so that you can enjoy it even if the wind is too strong to sit outside the apartment. Breakfast is served outside in a separate breakfast area and Raquel teaches yoga in her own yoga studio.

This is a great place to relax and unwind, and is good value for money. A few things could be improved, however. On our day of arrival - a Saturday, we noticed late in the afternoon that we didn't have any electricity. As there is no staff in the afternoons during the weekend, we were unable to reach anyone until later in the evening. With food bought from the supermarket waiting to be refrigerated, cooking to be done and lights needing to be turned on, this was quite an inconvenience. Breakfast was lovely, particularly on sunny days, but less pleasant on cold and windy days as it is being served outside. The selection of foods was good but with few guests staying at this time of year, this meant that the same homemade loaves and cakes were being served three days in a row at which point they started tasting rather stale. Finally, the strong winds (not uncommon on Lanzarote) prevented us from sitting outside on the patio next to our apartment, something that could easily be improved with wind screens.

Do stay here when looking to go somewhere small-scale and unique on tourist-filled Lanzarote!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeetieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Owner at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and taking your time to point out all small details, which definitely makes all the difference when choosing a holiday on this island.

When guests arrive at our house we always give instructions to find the key and their accommodation, but we now also give instructions so that guests know that there are cards to be inserted to turn the electricity on, and we include this information in our information pack prior to arrival. This is a very good point and we appreciate you mentioning it, thank you. :)

We have a reception, but because we are a small, family run place, our opening hours are not 24 hours like big hotels or resorts. We are always available on our phones, and we often come over in the afternoon and evening to check on things, talk to our guests and see that everything is ok. Our idea is "minimum intrusion", so people really feel as if they are in their own house and feel totally at home and undisturbed and at peace.

About breakfast: we are always trying our best so that everything is fresh, home-made and tasty. The month of May was very quiet and I will keep an eye so what you experienced does not happen again. I usually bring the cakes and breads I make in the morning, and I myself attend and serve the breakfast most days, so it would be good if any complaint could be pointed out there and then rather than waiting until later, because we are always very happy to assist and sort out any problems straight away, if at all possible.

The breakfast area, although being outdoors, has big sliding doors and windows of glass and is surrounded by mature trees and plants, so is very protected and a lovely place to have breakfast. In all our accommodations we have ways to protect our visitors from the wind, either palm trees (a lovely natural wind screen), glass panels and/or stone walls. Unfortunately, this year the whole month of May was extremely windy, it was blowing a storm almost. I´m afraid it is very difficult to avoid this because sadly, we can´t control the weather.

Thanks again for your thoughts and suggestions, and we hope you will return and enjoy another peaceful holiday at our house.

Regards,
Sat Raj Kaur (Raquel)
Casa el Morro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My family and I spent Christmas in this LOVELY place. You feel you're in a peaceful place , the view from the house is so amazing, so relaxing....I really recommend Casa El Morro, the familiar treatment is also crucial for choosing this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We really appreciate your lovely words.
We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be great to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Spent a very relaxing chilled out week at Casa Hubara. Lovely and remote and peaceful. Well fitted out. Everything you could need in a self-catering property. WiFi an added bonus. Warm welcome from Chris when collected keys and helpful when accidentally switched of fridge. Good spot to totally unwind and relax. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank PhilipC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review. It´s great to hear you have enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for choosing us to spend your holiday with us, we would love to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We've stayed here for three times now and every stay was a treat! Beautiful island and Casa el Morro is really like a little paradise...Quiet, but close enough to towns and beaches. Sitting by the pool you have a wonderful view and the gardens surrounding the houses are lovely. Raquel is an amazing woman; sweet and always ready to help. If you're into yoga, there's a beautiful "building" to exercise; Raquel herself offers lessons too.
I loved the cats; they didn't come into our apartment (unlike the lizzards...I prefer cats I must admit).
We are very glad we've found this gem; if we could, we would visit this special place every year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rolin010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely words about our house, they are much appreciated. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Looking foward to seeing you again in the near future.
All the best,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

we spent a week, at casa el morro, in 2008. it was one of the best holidays in our life. at our arrival we met a beautiful young woman who was pregnant..she was raquel! our room "casa leo" was perfect: big space, beautiful forniture and a lovely patio where we had unforgettable breakfast in the morning and cocktails in the evening. lanzarote is a unique, wild and strong island. we visited all the cesar manrique's sites and I recommend it to anyone who spends a few days in lanzarote. if you like surfing, you can find great waves, if you like beaches you are in the right place..also good food and nice people like raquel. you have lots of stuff to do and at the end of day you come back to haven.. at casa el morro! laura and davide from milano, italia

Room Tip: casa leo was a dream for us..but i'm sure that each room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank babalga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Laura and Davide,
It´s great to hear such a good review. Thank you very much for choosing us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Looking foward to seeing you again in the near future.
All the best,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

You will never forget. A piece of your heart will always stay there. As the whole place - with the very spiritual Raquel, the owner in the middle - is close to Paradise. Quiet, exciting, amazing, above everything you see before. Of course Manrique and the local people did and do a lot for the unique island. And yes, the landscape is unbelieveble too. Search every small pieces! And have a rest at the pool or just in your terrace, room just listening the wind, and your thoughts.
I firs visited in 2007, on my own, then 2009 with my best friend, and my friends follow me...I wish i can afford to travell there every year. It would be perfect for me.

Room Tip: On my 2 trips I had two type of accomodation, La Troja was perfect first, but second time we loved o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morvai_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad you liked the place so much. Your compliments about our house are much appreciated.
We would love to see you again soon.
Kind regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaiza
2.5 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,108 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Casona de Yaiza
La Casona de Yaiza
#1 of 5 in Yaiza
135 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Caserio de Mozaga
Caserio de Mozaga
#1 of 6 in San Bartolome
103 reviews
8.1 mi away
Casa Tomaren
Casa Tomaren
#1 of 2 in Mozaga
182 reviews
19.6 mi away
Casitas Tabayesco (Cozy Casas Canarias)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa el Morro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa el Morro

Address: Calle Morro 1, 35570 Yaiza, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Yaiza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yaiza
Price Range: £101 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa el Morro 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Casa el Morro we offer Environmentally Friendly Holidays in unique & stylish accommodation for groups, couples, families & solo travellers away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas, near Timanfaya National Park and the vineyards of La Geria. Our Yurt, Suites, Cottages and Villas are situated in Lanzarote´s most unspoilt areas. We serve only farm fresh, organic food, and Yoga Classes, Massages, Ayurveda treatments and therapies will add a very personal touch to your holiday in Lanzarote. At the family-owned finca of Casa el Morro we offer 7 individually designed, fully equipped and self-contained suites and cottages and a yurt, plus 4 traditional Canarian farmhouses (“fincas”) in the countryside of Lanzarote (Charco el Palo, La Geria, Femés and Maguéz), and a 2-bedroom, 2-floor apartment with spectacular views right next to the beach in Mala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa el Morro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa El Morro Hotel Yaiza
Casa El Morro Lanzarote/Yaiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing