We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa el Morro
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ona Las Brisas(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
HL Club Playa Banca(Playa Blanca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
118
44
3
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
44
3
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla geriayoga roombreakfast roomhome made cakesyoga classesa wonderful staywe've stayedlarge living roombeautiful oasispool areapalm treeslocal townbaby bathdifferent typespeaceful spotnice surroundingsfamily holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This place exceeded any and all expectations we had. Raquel and Beatriz are so lovely and they have created a truly special zen space. Being well removed from the hustle of the tourist 'hotspots' was an extra bonus (it's a small island so nothing is very far so don't worry about being in the middle of nowhere relative to the island. It only feels like that.). The apartments are beautiful; the nonstop breeze on the island and dark dark skies made this among the most memorable vacation spots I've ever been to.

I'm almost hesitant to post this review... I want to keep the place a secret, one of those "only if you know" places. But that's not good karma so here it is world: CASA el MORRO is a bucket-list destination.

And be sure to pick Beatriz's brain for secret spots to go that aren't on the map.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank TerrettDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are very happy you had such a good time in our house. It´s always nice to hear good compliments, so thanks again for your comments.
We will love to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent two weeks in Casa El Morro together with out two children and we loved every minute of it. We stayed in casa Aljibe which was great with two small children as it's very secluded, has a wonderfull terras and is close to the pool. The pool area was amazing. Sheltered from the wind but with magnificent views and surrounded with beautifull Balinese beds. Absolutely relaxing! Casa El Morro is also ideally located for visiting the most beautifull beaces of the island and the Lanzarote vineyards.
Last but not least, all the people of Casa El Morro made you feel at home from the very first moment! I would definitely recommend Casa El Morro to my friends and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in El Aljibe which has one bedroom en a sofa bed. This was grat with two small children as they slept in cots in our bedroom but for older kids I would choose one of the houses with two bedrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank KikiM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you very much for our lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It´s great to hear so many good comments, we really appreciate them.
We would love to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for a week to enjoy a relaxing holiday in a quiet and peaceful place. And this is exactly what we got. Casa el Morro is tucked away in the small town of Uga just off the coast and past the main beach resorts. It is run by Raquel and colleagues with several self-serviced apartments in a renovated old farm building. It has a lovely atmosphere and feels calming and relaxing from the moment you enter the premises. Our apartment was lovely - it was nicely decorated with a mix of Spanish and Asian style furniture and accessories. It also had all necessary amenities, including pots, utensils, towels, etc. in the kitchen. There is a shared pool that is sheltered from the wind so that you can enjoy it even if the wind is too strong to sit outside the apartment. Breakfast is served outside in a separate breakfast area and Raquel teaches yoga in her own yoga studio.

This is a great place to relax and unwind, and is good value for money. A few things could be improved, however. On our day of arrival - a Saturday, we noticed late in the afternoon that we didn't have any electricity. As there is no staff in the afternoons during the weekend, we were unable to reach anyone until later in the evening. With food bought from the supermarket waiting to be refrigerated, cooking to be done and lights needing to be turned on, this was quite an inconvenience. Breakfast was lovely, particularly on sunny days, but less pleasant on cold and windy days as it is being served outside. The selection of foods was good but with few guests staying at this time of year, this meant that the same homemade loaves and cakes were being served three days in a row at which point they started tasting rather stale. Finally, the strong winds (not uncommon on Lanzarote) prevented us from sitting outside on the patio next to our apartment, something that could easily be improved with wind screens.

Do stay here when looking to go somewhere small-scale and unique on tourist-filled Lanzarote!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeetieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Owner at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and taking your time to point out all small details, which definitely makes all the difference when choosing a holiday on this island.

When guests arrive at our house we always give instructions to find the key and their accommodation, but we now also give instructions so that guests know that there are cards to be inserted to turn the electricity on, and we include this information in our information pack prior to arrival. This is a very good point and we appreciate you mentioning it, thank you. :)

We have a reception, but because we are a small, family run place, our opening hours are not 24 hours like big hotels or resorts. We are always available on our phones, and we often come over in the afternoon and evening to check on things, talk to our guests and see that everything is ok. Our idea is "minimum intrusion", so people really feel as if they are in their own house and feel totally at home and undisturbed and at peace.

About breakfast: we are always trying our best so that everything is fresh, home-made and tasty. The month of May was very quiet and I will keep an eye so what you experienced does not happen again. I usually bring the cakes and breads I make in the morning, and I myself attend and serve the breakfast most days, so it would be good if any complaint could be pointed out there and then rather than waiting until later, because we are always very happy to assist and sort out any problems straight away, if at all possible.

The breakfast area, although being outdoors, has big sliding doors and windows of glass and is surrounded by mature trees and plants, so is very protected and a lovely place to have breakfast. In all our accommodations we have ways to protect our visitors from the wind, either palm trees (a lovely natural wind screen), glass panels and/or stone walls. Unfortunately, this year the whole month of May was extremely windy, it was blowing a storm almost. I´m afraid it is very difficult to avoid this because sadly, we can´t control the weather.

Thanks again for your thoughts and suggestions, and we hope you will return and enjoy another peaceful holiday at our house.

Regards,
Sat Raj Kaur (Raquel)
Casa el Morro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My family and I spent Christmas in this LOVELY place. You feel you're in a peaceful place , the view from the house is so amazing, so relaxing....I really recommend Casa El Morro, the familiar treatment is also crucial for choosing this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We really appreciate your lovely words.
We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be great to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Spent a very relaxing chilled out week at Casa Hubara. Lovely and remote and peaceful. Well fitted out. Everything you could need in a self-catering property. WiFi an added bonus. Warm welcome from Chris when collected keys and helpful when accidentally switched of fridge. Good spot to totally unwind and relax. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank PhilipC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunikiran, Manager at Casa el Morro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review. It´s great to hear you have enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for choosing us to spend your holiday with us, we would love to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,

Laura Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews