We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,913)
Filter reviews
1,913 results
Traveller rating
1,532
294
57
25
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,532
294
57
25
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden villa roof terrace hot tub bikini bar private pool washing machine bahiazul restaurant golf buggy superior villa secret escapes master bedroom the security guard high walls welcome pack onsite restaurant large supermarket mercadona supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
1,231 - 1,236 of 1,913 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I am currently at one of these villas and have just come in to go into the wonderful jacuzzi - however crossed the patio area to collect an item of clothing fallen to the ground and I AM aware that the area around the patio is VERY slippy when wet I was being really careful but still managed to slip on the wet floor and landed quite heavily. The villa is beautiful and has lots of lovely features but, for the sake of about 60m sq ft of non slip paint I think it should be addressed. More reviews when I get home - from a lady with a sore bum!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeygirl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We have just returned from a 7 day stay at the Bahiazul resort and stayed in Villa Bougambilla. We booked direct with the owner who was very helpful and sent us clear directions.

You will need to hire a car as the resort isn’t really in walking distance from the main town/sandunes etc. Avoid 'Orlando' car hire if you can, we booked to pick up our car from the airport which wasn't what actually happened, a bus takes you a few miles away to the car hire depot and you go from there. Waiting for the bus and queuing in the car hire depot took in excess of 3 hours which isn’t fun just after a 4.5 hour flight!

However, this was all forgotten as soon as we arrived at Bahiazul. Pascal met us at the gates and showed us to the beautiful Villa. The master bedroom is beautiful with a massive en-suite bathroom that had an amazing shower with about 8 showerheads! The other two rooms (one twin, one double) were also beautiful, both ensuite however strangely no doors separating the toilet and shower form the bedroom which for more liberal holiday makers isn’t a problem but if you are sharing with someone you aren’t related/married too it may cause issues for some people! On the roof terrace of the villa there is a heated Jacuzzi (amazing, particularly at night) , a seating area, BBQ, washing machine and speakers which work on a intercom system meaning you can play music throughout the villa. Downstairs are all bedrooms, the living room, kitchen, separate toilet and seating around the pool (cushioned sun-loungers, wicker table & chairs etc). What previous guests have noted about the privacy is spot on, the designs are very clever.

The pool isn’t heated however, the water was warm enough for a swim in April so I assume it will be even more comfortable in the high season months. Other people have mentioned the lack of an oven, which for 6 people did prove a challenge, but it is easily worked round with the BBQ on the terrace and more inventive food choices! There were 6 of us and we managed to eat well the entire week. There is a 24 hour supermarket a short distance away which is very expensive, you are better off with the Eurospar or Hyper-dino stores in corralejo a massive difference on price.

The restaurant on the resort was lovely, we ate there twice and went for breakfast once. Other guests have commented that they felt it was expensive but I didn’t think so as for the quality the food it was reasonably priced.

All in all, I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with Villa Bougambilla or the Bahiazul resort and can thoroughly recommend both!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We spent 14 nights here whilst the ash crisis blew over! We boked direct with Cesar and stayed in Villa Bougambilla. Upon arrival we were taken to our villa and Pascal (what a star) showed us around and how things worked. Within 2 minutes our son (Age 4) fell over near the pool and bust his arm!! Nothing serious but it meant we were extra cautious as around the pool is very slippery. The kids were delighted, and we dined in the restaurant on the first evening. The food there was excellent though due to the weak pound was quite expensive and we didn't dine there again, just popped in every few days to use the internet. Natalia who worked in the restaurant was lovely and always ready to make a fuss of the children.

We liked the layout of the complex, but feel that in August you'd struggle to have the privacy we benefitted from out of season. It feels secure and is well maintained, though our villa was due to have the pool re-surfaced as we left and it certainly needed doing. It didn't spoil things though.

Pascal was fab and even gave us a brand new TV part way through so that we could watch English News and keep track of the ash crisis, which luckily we did not get caught up in! The washing machine was a god send as we flew with hand luggage only, and the airer on the roof dried items in no time.

One problem with the site is that the power trips regularly, but the trip switch is next to the door so not a problem. Even when the trip switch couldn't save us, Pascal came to the rescue out of hours and got them to replace the melted fuse outside the villa! He advised us the site needs more power but the companies are very slow to provide. This meant our hot tub never had chance to get hot, as this seemed to be the main culprit for it tripping. However, it was so hot it was lovely to get in a cold hot tub!!

Bedrooms were lovely, an earlier review mentioned a damp smell in this villa which was slightly noticable for the first day btu if the villa's remain empty for a few weeks I suppose this is only natural. The Shower is amazing in the master bedroom, and we loved the cheeky skylight ;-)

We didn't use the BBQ as we didn't fancy the cleaning up afterwards, but the kids loved using it as a playhouse due the door on the rear side.

Piped music was great, though a couple of speakers didn't work and I was really gutted the pool lights needed replacing as they would have been a lovely feature.

Furniture was excellent, beds very comfy, kitchen better equipped than we expected and because we knew about the lack of oven we knew what meals we could cook and we managed fine. Great to have a dishwasher, a luxury as we don't have one at home!

Site well maintained, banana plants and Bird of Paradise flowers all over, plus Bougainvilea (sp?) and palms. Lots of crossings, lighting etc made it feel safe. Inside the villa, it was hard keeping the sofa's and covers clean, and leather would have been much more practical for us with 3 children 6 and under! We went Weds-Weds and our villa was cleaned on the first Monday which was a bit too early, and not cleaned again so we did have to clean and wash towels etc quite a lot.

We will possibly go back, maybe to the same villa, or maybe to another as I have read that some have Wii's etc which would be great on a 2 weeks hol when you have kids like mine who have to stay out of the sun as they are so fair skinned. It is sad that the Euro/Sterling rate will be the biggest deciding factor, as if the Pound was strong I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bimbalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Just back from Bahia Azul. The villas are really spacious and offer a good degree of privacy internally as alol of the bedrooms are accessed via the pool. The privacy outside is also superb as the pool area is only overlooked if your neighbours make a real effort and the spacious roof terrace offers almost total privacy.

Most of the villas appear to be privately owned so the standard of furnishings and the fittings will vary. We tried to book Villa Romana but it was unavaliable so we found another on Owners Direct.

All in all, we had a great time but our villa had no dishwasher, jacuzzi or full satellite TV - just basic obscure channels and BBC news. The beds were also very uncomfortable.

That said, we are going back to Bahia Azul in August to another villa; this one looks much better equipped.

As the complex is some way out of town, a car hire is recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I have read the previous review and couldn't have written it better myself. I agree entirely with what Mandy said about everything

We also booked Villa Romana through Raquel who was very helpful and quick to respond to e-mails

My husband and I were looking for some where special for my 50th birthday and we were drawn to this Villa by the beautiful photos on the Holiday Lettings website. We had priced up expensive hotels but no where would we have found some where with a 4 hour flight where we had both a private pool, a hot tub and a choice of 3 bedrooms for this price.

We were a little concerned about the distance from town as we do not like to drive on holiday as we like to chill and have a drink when we are out if we want to, but as it is made quite obvious that the villas are a little way out of town we budgeted for taxis which still made it a very reasonably priced holiday and taxis were plentiful.

Taxis we found varied between 3 euros 60 to 4 euros and you could call these from the villa through reception and they would pick you up and drop you at your door.

But much to our own surprise we actually ended up walking into town most days. It is not the most scenic of walks as there are a lot of unsold closed apartment sites on route and it does take about 45 minutes but it is pretty flat pavements by Spanish standards and downhill and there are several routes to choose from, but for somebody that doesn't walk any where it was certainly no hardship. If you have a car then you have no trouble. Within 5 minutes you would be in town and the roads were so straight and easy.

Usually when we are on holiday we hate just lazing around the pool (our last holiday was in Turkey where we were white water rafting and doing jeep safaris) but to be honest the villas are so beautiful, peaceful and relaxing we had to drag ourselves away and when we had been out all day we were perfectly happy to chill in the evening and watch a DVD (I think there was only one English channel on the tele.) so do take some. My husband even cooked a couple of evenings and although it was March it was warm enough to sit outside by the pool and have a meal and a bottle of wine as the lighting round the pool is quite romantic. We did manage a hot tub or two but that was a little bit fresh this time of year !!!!

There weren't many excursions available either and the water park and Baku weren't yet open so we used the buses to El Cortillo which is quite a pretty fishing village and then Puerto del Rosario (which probably wasn't worth the journey) but we were happy pottering around Corralejo by the time we dragged ourselves away from the apartment as there are plenty of restaurants to have a nice lunch of whatever it is that takes your fancy from Spanish tapas to Mexican, Chinese etc in quite nice settings.

There were a few things that we had thought might make the apartment abit more self-catering friendly (you will probably need your own basic essentials as the cupboards were bare). Probably not a lot of people want to cook when they are away and to be honest we found the supermarkets lacking in the fresh meat department , but having got back and thought about this we realised that in fact had we actually asked then Pascal the ever helpful site manager would certainly have found whatever it was we needed as nothing was too much trouble for him and in fact on my birthday he booked our table in the complex restaurant and we had a lovely bottle of champagne plus a birthday dessert. The staff were friendly and it is a beautiful restaurant. It was very quiet whilst we were there although the whole complex was very quiet, in fact it looks like a large number of them are unoccupied.

The only thing we thought with the restaurant was that the menu could have been a bit more exciting and then we would probably have eaten more often.

I was completely stressed out before I went away and have come back completely chilled out so thanks to Raquel and Pascal and all his staff for making my birthday so enjoyable and one to remember

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbiecLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews