We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food”

La Cantina Mexicana
Ranked #228 of 370 Restaurants in Corralejo
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Took my wife to this Mexican, her first time in such an establishment. The service was excellent and the food even better. We had planned to eat somewhere different each evening, but will definitely be going back here before we leave.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    65
    56
    29
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yuck!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Looked so inviting as my partner & I love mexican but my my never had a meal so awful not cooked mexican style at all!!!
What a mess on my plate the starter was the same as my main bland and cold some sort of chicken bits like cat or dog meat even my daughters pushed there fish fingers away they were awful.
So many other lovely resturants so much nicer & cheaper!

Helpful?
Thank Kate-wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wish I could bring it home”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Can't understand why this restaurant is in the lower half of Corralejo restaurants. We've eaten at La Cantina on previous visits to Corralejo, and had some very good meals there, and others we've spoken to have also highly praised it.

We took our family to La Cantina twice during our recent stay, and both occasions ate some of the best food we've ever had.

My son in law has always been a 'well-done' man in regard to his steaks, and it's taken a lot to move him to 'medium' - on our first visit last week he tried a piece of hubby's 'rare' Tex Mex steak, and two nights ago ate his own first ever 'rare' steak!!

On our first visit we tried the chicken fajitas and burritos which were good, but we decided the chicken Quesada was by far better and an absolutely enormous portion. It's nice that they enquire how spicy you wish your meal.

Children's portions are very generous, and well priced, and the kids appreciated their sweeties given to them after their meal.

Service is speedy, and the staff are so friendly.

The complimentary tequila shots were an eye-opener!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatterbox3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“More an event than a meal!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We ended up here by chance due to another restaurant messing up our reservation and we were so glad they did! This was quality food impeccably presented and accompanied by real hospitality from the excellent staff. A complimentary tequila with the bill really made the evening. Superb food and service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrGrumpy318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Standard Mexican. ”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Had a nice family meal here. Usual Mexican fare , I had the chimichanga wife the burrito and kids fajitas. Service was a little odd..I tried to order a frozen style cocktail and was clearly jot understood as the Chinese waitress kept shouting ' frozen! Frozen!' Then abruptly walked off and never brought my drink. Bizarre and comical.

Helpful?
Thank Ronwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina Mexicana also viewed

 
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to La Cantina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing