We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Our second home”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have been using Tres Islas for over twenty years. We love the location, the weather and the service we get, so go there on average two or three times a year. It is especially beneficial in the winter months, to leave the cold and greyness of Britain behind. The staff know us there and we are always made extremely welcome: it is a home from home.

There is always a huge choice of food for both breakfast and evening meals and it is always fresh. One of the real five stars this hotel has is its restaurant.

Room Tip: Great views of beaches both north and south on the seaview side of the hotel. Rooms on the dunes si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dr Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    513
    134
    26
    20
See reviews for
321
1,014
86
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Oh what an amazing 2 week holiday (25 Dec - 8 Jan). Our 4th visit and excellent as usual. Food good and varied but the Krystal Restaurant has lost its direction in that food wasn't as exciting as in previous visits (infusion dining historically with unique food).

Requested a high floor room prior to arrival and this was given. We have had 3 room types at the hotel (standard, Pool view and junior suite) and in our opinion the rooms overlooking the volcanoes are best for late afternoon sun on the balcony, esp in the winter.

A big thanks to Carlos, Luz and Antonio who are very client focused and professional whilst having personalities too - see you all soon.

Location is amazing, and I personally agree the hotel is a retreat for adults minus children! Oliva club beach hotel next door is more geared to children and families but the standards are much lower (food, furnishings). Corralejo is a short taxi or bus journey away for a change of scene and if you like bars with music/djs the kiwi and Waikiki are excellent for some late dancing (club music).

Met so many repeat visitors and friends again and hope to see them all again soon!,

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Palmtree68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay from New Year's Day. Previously we considered the hotel outstanding. This time.... Good but something has changed that we can't quite put our finger on. We were told whilst there that the hotel is now owned by Thomson and we think that is the issue. We returned for a third time because it was very 'couple friendly' - this time that has certainly changed in the main. Don't get us wrong, we are no way anti-kiddie but the hotel at this period seemed to be more 'family catered' than previously. Many more children staying than previously, with entertainment schedules posted etc. We have to agree as some previous posters have said that the hotel seems to be trying to cater for all groups but in doing that it has lost it's 'uniqueness'. Food is still good, location great but this really is not a hotel for children - the Olivia Beach next door caters far better. Seems a shame that the Tres Islas is trying to actively attract families when it is not set up for this ( no family rooms, menu etc). Similarly it is not appropriate for couples to have children racing up and down reception, chasing around the piano bar and inflatables in the pool. Five hours of screaming through two walls and across a hallway for a fractious toddler doesn't help either couples or parents! That said, for the final few days the experience of previous stays returned. It just seems a shame that the hotel has lost some of its previous sparkle and attentiveness since it has changed hands. Will we return again? Not sure. Location is amazing but perhaps we may investigate somewhere more adult-only. A shame as we love this place and the staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from Xmas day to new years day with four children . hotel is lovely and after reading some reviews before we left ,we proceeded with caution .all I can say is go there if you want a beach holiday with a great hotel this is it .it is not in town and we felt this adds to its charm .after all a cab to town for 6 of us was 7-8 euros!!! .food is great, loads of choice couldn't fault it and I'm a chef by trade . we were greeted every night in Spanish !! .i think if we expect everyone in the world to be English spoken then 'stay at home '. The hotel has a varied clientele but judging by the amount of reviews I'd say the percentage was a lot higher than people have posted on here .you could go on about WiFi being unstable .gym not state of the art .but overall this is a great place to visit .has a great feeling throughout .we booked through Thomson and rep was great ,catamaran trip to lanzarote was memorable. Many thanks to Thomson .riu and all the great staff at tries islas for a lovely Xmas and new year .

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our 4th Christmas stay here, from 21st to 28th December. We spent a wonderfully relaxing week over Christmas at this hotel. If you have never been before, it is worth noting that there is not really anywhere to stroll to in the evenings apart from along the beach. Corralejo is an hour and a half's walk away, although taxis are always available outside the hotel and there is a bus stop nearby. The hotel is right on the beach itself and shares it with another Riu Hotel which is just a few hundred yards away. To one side is a nudist beach, although we saw very few nudists the week we were there. There also seems to be schools of various water sports, although we did not investigate these activities during our stay. We would agree with Consultant12 that standards have dropped, more noticeably since the arrival of the Thomson group. We too noticed that the carpets are in need of a change, however general standards of cleanliness were very good whilst we were there. Bedrooms are spacious with plenty of wardrobe space and hangers and bathrooms are well fitted with shower over bath and hairdryer. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, although our Holiday Rep was able to obtain kettles for those who really wanted them. We were disappointed to note that we had to pay a non-refundable sum for the use of the safe in our room which has previously been free (not sure how much now but think it was around 16 euros for a week!). Staff were, as usual, extremely friendly, although we acknowledge that they do tend to favour the German clients. This is not an issue for us as we speak both Spanish and German to some degree and have no expectancy that the rest of the world should speak English. The public areas were always clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and accommodating, the food was excellent with a huge choice of dishes each evening, and the general ambiance was very pleasant and relaxing. There were more children here this year than in previous years which is surprising given the fact that the hotel does not offer family rooms, although they do offer an extra bed in a double room. In our opinion, this hotel is geared more towards adults with its piano bar, spa facilities and boutiques. Yes, it does have limited daytime and evening children's entertainment, a children's paddling pool and a games room (pool @ 2 euros a game which is rather expensive, and ping pong) but we didn't spot any special menus for children at the pool snack bar or the main snack bar. Sadly, in trying to be all things to everyone this hotel is compromising its standards and its charm. I'm not sure that we will return in the future.

Room Tip: This was our 4th visit and in the past we have never had to pay for a sea-view (as the majority of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hebrides2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shillingford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a week at Tres Islas
Champagne reception before the gala dinners
gala dinner on Xmas night and New Years eve were superb with free drinks throughout
nice present left out on New Years Eve

Hotel decorated for festive season

Weather was great - able to eat outside for breakfast

99% of guests german so it was peaceful and quiet around the pool area - if you want to chill out this is the place with a fantastic beach outside - if you want night life and action stay in town. The Island is barren and not pretty but this hotel and beach is great for a winter sun escape 4 hours flight time

Only negative RUI really need to upgrade the wifi connection

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main beach are fab but you have to pay a supplement - our room overlooked the kite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLS849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busby. Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Can't fault this hotel for its standards. Rooms are kept spotlessly clean, very helpful staff, well maintained grounds and pools, and the food was so varied that we never contemplated eating out.

The restaurant has two sittings, 6pm and 8pm and a table is allocated to you on your first night. Service is prompt and the buffet service areas are large and accessible from both sides so there never seems to be any queues despite the large number of diners at each sitting. Fish dishes feature prominently both as starters and main courses, alongside a great choice of usual beef, chicken, pasta and vegetarian, all of which are excellently cooked and replenished with fresh supplies frequently. Every night saw a different hot dessert - watch for the hot raspberries with rum - brilliant !
Only downside was that the restaurant managers appeared to favour the large number of German clients and all spoke excellent German but not so good English. The hotel has a much higher German clientele (about 80%) than British and this does reflect in the language problem at reception and especially in the restaurant. Every time we walked into the restaurant we were welcomed by a 'guten abend' instead of a 'good evening' and it was similar with the breakfast staff.

The hotel itself does have two problem areas -
One is the gym and spa which are next to the sewage disposal unit - and it does smell terrible. We thought perhaps it was only because the wind was blowing in the wrong direction, but unfortunately on our daily visit to the gym it never got any better.
The other is the main entertainment room. It has been built with large pillars down the middle of the room which means that as there is limited seating directly in front of the stage, the majority of seating is behind the pillars and all have a very restricted view of the stage. It's impossible to see the acts on stage because of these pillars and even if an act such as the dancers use the area in front of the stage, you keep losing site of them. Bad design.

Despite what's been said above, we did enjoy our stay but wouldn't rush back.

Room Tip: High floor, balcony, facing the pool/sea. Some receive the sun only in the morning until about 2.00i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busby_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
891 reviews
2.4 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,305 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Address: Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 5 km from Corralejo * Renovated in summer 2007 * 5-storey building * Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach * 5 km from various shops * 35 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tres Islas Hotel Corralejo
Riu Palace Tres Islas Corralejo
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing